App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Disciple Logo

Disciple

LIMITED OFFER ON NOW: GET 25% OFF!

(14)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Disciple Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

40

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.62/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

What I love most is that this is a true solution to having my own native app without spending 50k to hundreds of thousands to have something that is completely my own.
All of our members who have joined our app since launching have said that they love the app more than Facebook. They love the clean and user friendly interface.
I think the organization of this software is great, its clean, straight to the point and its user friendly.
Many times renewals get rejected in stripe which makes it frustrating for admins and members.
The inability to have banner feeds for users to see when promoting.
Limited Integration Options: Disciple may have limitations in terms of integrations with other third-party tools or platforms.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


40 reviews

Recommended

RK
AvatarImg

Ryan K M.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product and service!

Reviewed 4 years ago

The sales process with Mo was easy and not pushy. Very clear and easy to comprehend and the service with my account rep [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been phenomenal.

Pros

The Disciple platform has allowed us to connect and share information like never before. We were previously using a Wordpress members site and tried every forum and app program under the sun. We tried Buddypress, bbPress, Peepso, WP-Foro, Appresser, Mobiloud, Bizness Apps, AppyPie, you name it, we tried it. We tried all the cheap options and once we committed to Disciple, it's been a smooth ride ever since.

Cons

Disciple is still fairly new and while everything works perfectly and we've had zero issues, they are still behind a little on features including admin design control and ability to turn off and on different features. Each update has brought on welcomed enhancements and upgrades though, so I expect it will all work out. The company is also based out of London, so communication can be a challenge for us as we are in the U.S with different time zones.

EB
AvatarImg

Erika B.

Photography, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best decision our company has made!

Reviewed 3 years ago

We were very frustrated with the user experience of Facebook groups and felt very limited by Facebook's rules. All of our members who have joined our app since launching have said that they love the app more than Facebook. They love the clean and user friendly interface! We are happy that we're able to connect with our community in a more meaningful way and bring them educational resources and other things that we'd have never thought of doing inside Facebook's groups feature.

Pros

I loved how easy it was to set up our own private community. Disciple has been very easy to work with, and they handled all the actual set up for us which freed us up to be able to be creative with the look and feel of our private community. I love not having to fight with Facebook's algorithm anymore because that means our members actually see the content that we're publishing into our community!

Cons

The inability to livestream from desktop is probably what I like the least, I would love the ability to screen share while going live from desktop to share course material or other things during our live videos.

HS
AvatarImg

Hayley S.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Fab product, only let down by tech issues & poor attitude from support

Reviewed 4 years ago

The onboarding process was great. Our Community Specialist and then our Community Success Manager were both absolutely fantastic; really helpful and responsive. The app had some technical issues which we would expect initially, but these have been ongoing and feedback tells us that this has resulted in some people leaving or not using the app. When I personally experienced an issue with a long load...

Pros

We loved how quickly this app was ready to go. It was the ideal solution to connect our community when the UK went into lockdown and our support groups had to stop. We most like the forum, private messaging, and post scheduling features. The ability to create and arrange folders has been helpful too.

Cons

There have been a number of technical issues that have resulted in people not using the app, such as it taking a long time to load or suddenly closing down; or the buttons and text being colours that meant they couldn't be seen on certain phones whereas they were working fine on others. There were issues with the welcome email displaying incorrectly, that meant we had to use plain text. Initially we were surprised to find that people's messages could be shared outside of the app, but this function was updated when we asked.

Vendor response

Hi Hayley, thank you so much for your feedback. It's great to hear that you found it quick and easy to get set up, and that you're enjoying all the features our platform offers your community! We take any issues with the app really seriously and investigate any issues that you're having, as we really don't want our users to be experiencing crashes or slow load times. Our team works to isolate and...

PJ
AvatarImg

Padraig Joseph D.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quality Product - Great Value For Money

Reviewed 2 years ago

Fantastic! The customer service has been impeccable. I spent 3 months researching dozens of different platforms and Disciple is head and shoulders above the rest.

Pros

The member directory using customisable user profile fields is very powerful. The livestreaming functionality is the best in the market (especially now that RTMP is available). Having a stand-alone independent platform (with the option to white label) was the game changer.

Cons

Profile images are optional - I'd prefer them to be compulsory.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback Padraig Joseph, we are delighted that your app has been a game changer! That's exactly how we want all our customers to feel. We're so happy to be on this journey with you and look forward seeing your community continue to thrive. Best wishes, The Disciple Team

AM
AvatarImg

Alex M.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Disciple is an awesome product

Reviewed 3 years ago

The overall experience has been exceptional, customer support from Disciple is very good. Response times are brilliant and it does feel that they go the extra mile to ensure that issues are quickly resolved.

Pros

Disciple is feature rich. The team is very clear about the road map, and the users can have a say on the priority of the features being built which is really great. In the 6 months that I have been using the product, there are constant updates and improvements. The software is very easy to use. Great community to help resolve problems and help support oprate and set up your community.

Cons

Some of the integration applications or interfaces can be clunky, not always seamless. In comparison to other solutions, it's quite expensive.

JL
AvatarImg

Jeffrey L.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A community platform ready to go!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Fantastic. From my first sales call, to my first onboarding call - the team has been amazing. The Collective is a great asset for new customers.

Pros

It is pretty intuitive - especially if you understand the model (which you can get a great taste of by using The Collective.

Cons

Still struggling with the menu/folders functionality. Not entirely clear how to set this up the way I want. This is probably the area most admins will have to generate the most amount of content for - so would be helpful to have extreme clarity on how this works.

Vendor response

Hi Jeffery, Thank you so much for sharing this feedback. It's great to hear that you are finding your platform intuitive and powerful. There is some guidance available on the menu/folder functionality here: https://resources.disciplemedia.com/en/how-do-i-decide-on-my-app-menu You can also always pop a question in The Collective for a quick response from our team and other customers! We look forward to seeing your community continue to go from strength to strength! Best wishes, The Disciple Team

NP
AvatarImg

Nicole P.

E-Learning, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Solid community for the cost

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, we have had a good experience with Disciple. We use this as an app based community to support our members and it allows them a good space to connect that feels native to our brand.

Pros

We have had a good experience with Disciple overall. There are some features lacking, but it seems that they are continually working to have a better product. Customer support has been great. I love the ability to have a white labeled mobile app community that feels like an app native to our brand. The cost is also very affordable as compared to other platforms.

Cons

There are definitely some areas that need to be improved. You aren't able to add events to outside calendars (such as google calendar), time zones don't sync with the user, there are limitations as to what you are able to add within the community and formatting.

CH
AvatarImg

Catarina H.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Why I chose Disciple Media

Reviewed 3 years ago

My Disciple community's main benefit has been building meaningful connections with my members in a more intimate environment. Engagement is also more effortless in this type of platform.

Pros

I especially like the ease of use, features, and functionality of Disciple Media. Its clean design helps to cut much of the noise, and I enjoy the possibility of creating and controlling my rules without having to play by the laws of a third-party platform.

Cons

Compared to other competitors, Disciple media misses many integrations like Zapier and other third-party apps with automation services.

LC
AvatarImg

Laura C.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Disciple helped us to finally launch our community

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Disciple is very easy to implement, customize and launch! We were ready to launch in 2 weeks and had the first users coming in right after. The feedback from the community is positive, most find it easy to use, intuitive and sleek design.

Cons

There are some features that are missing to build an even stronger community - like 1:1 video chats, group video chats. With a content heavy community, it would also be great if members could bookmark articles, save them in their profiles and experience a more customized environment.

VS
AvatarImg

Virginia S.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

3 years and still going!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Honestly, it's been awesome. I work closely with them and they, me. I feel like I'm a part of the community and have a voice in the improvements being made. This company is absolutely amazing and beats so many that take a more cookie-cutter approach.

Pros

What I love most is that this is a true solution to having my own native app without spending 50k to hundreds of thousands to have something that is completely my own. It's been amazing to work with the Disciple team. They are truly there to serve me as a client. I have a dedicated success manager that works with me and is super helpful with some of the regular needs of keeping compliant and up to date with Apple and google play.

Cons

Since this is a smaller companies the rate at which new functions comes out is slow. But, I've found it's worth the wait. They listen, and I've been heard with many features released that I have requested.

AS
AvatarImg

Abdelrahman S.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pros and cons of Disciple

Reviewed a year ago

One aspect I really appreciate about Disciple is the ease of community management. The platform's intuitive interface and customization options make it simple to create and manage my online community. I also find the engagement features, such as discussions and event organization, to be effective in fostering interaction among community members. Overall, Disciple has helped me build a thriving community and enhance the overall user experience.

Pros

Community Engagement: Disciple provides a platform for creating and nurturing online communities, allowing users to engage with like-minded individuals, share knowledge, and build connections.Customizable and Branded Experience: Disciple offers customization options that allow community owners to tailor the platform to their brand and specific community needs. This can help create a cohesive and unique...

Cons

Learning Curve: Users may find the initial setup or learning process of Disciple to be challenging or time-consuming, particularly if they are unfamiliar with community management platforms or if the interface lacks intuitive guidance.Limited Integration Options: Disciple may have limitations in terms of integrations with other third-party tools or platforms. Users may desire more seamless integration...

AG
AvatarImg

Annie G.

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Overall, disappointing

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, I feel like I sank a lot of time and money into something that was not the right solution for my business. Maybe it could work for others. But I've switched to Mighty Networks and am finding it a lot easier to get people engaged there and find the help they provide to be a lot more effective.

Pros

I like that they had their own app and the general look of the whole thing and ease of setup.

Cons

I spent a lot of time setting up a community app w/ Disciple and in the end found it to be not a welcoming experience for users. I really wanted to make it work. But the UI was lacking and whenever I looked for support they sent me to big folders w/ tons of info rather than outlining a success path. It felt like an uphill battle to get engagement going.

Vendor response

Hi Annie, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry that Disciple wasn't the right solution for you in the end. We want all of our customers to have a joyous experience with their app and so we take all feedback really seriously. We have recently rebuilt the console so that it looks much clearer and has a more intuitive user experience. We are also making continuous improvements to how members experience the platform and have been getting really positive feedback on recent updates. Our support team has listened to your feedback and they are working to provide more customised support depending on the customer's needs. We wish you all the best with your community and want to thank you for taking the time to help us improve. Best wishes, The Disciple Team

AS
AvatarImg

Alex S.

Music, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Disciple Review from Full Circle Music

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been good overall. During the process of getting our app created I will say I wasn't happy about the speed of communication and Disciple working with Apple on our behalf. We had a tight deadline which was communicated on the front end, so I would have liked Disciple to be more aggressive in resolving issues that Apple had with the app. There have also been a few things that are frustrating that can't be changed like URLs for example. But I will say support has been great at helping with what they can help with.

Pros

We really like the member directory and badges features. We also love that we have our own app and the amount of control we have on the backend. The simple, sleek design is easy to navigate.

Cons

There are still some things that aren't as customizable as we would like. Here are a few examples: Not being able to upload mp3s. Not being able to send files in DMs. Search ability isn't great. When you search you should be able to see any post from any group you are in that has that content. Not being able to turn on the "connect" option for DMs. No timestamps on messages. Not being able to change the thumbnail on video uploads.

MW
AvatarImg

Mark W.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fantastic app platform has brought our community to life

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great product - well designed, reliable, flexible, community-focused and easy to use. And supported by a great team too - super helpful and responsive, giving time generously whenever needed and going above and beyond to investigate issues when needed.

Pros

Proven and well-designed platform which great functionality which allowed us to launch a high quality app for our community with minimal effort and maximum impact. We had high hopes and the results have exceeded our expectations. Our community loves using the app, it gets great engagement and the support from the Disciple team has been first class. Highly recommended

Cons

When we first launched there were a few minor quirks and potential areas for improvement, as with any application. But Disciple has already rolled out enhancements for most of these and seems to have a strong pipeline of upcoming changes which will further enhance the user experience too.

IN
AvatarImg

India N.

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Disciple Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is a very easy-to-use system for both admin and members

Cons

I think there is a lot to be desired with the backend analytics and managing of content. Being able to have mixed media folders would be incredibly helpful. Greater customisation of the emails would also be beneficial.

Vendor response

Hi India, thank you so much for your feedback. As a company, one of our goals is to ensure that each of our customers has a joyous experience with their app. Therefore, we've just introduced a new analytics dashboard that presents insights into your members' behaviour more clearly than ever before. It should now be a cinch to see vital insights such as who's posting, liking, commenting and how...

ED
AvatarImg

Emma D.

Photography, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best alternative to Facebook groups

Reviewed 4 years ago

Disciple gives me a safe place for my community to meet, with no data mining, no tracking, no third party ads. It's a clean interface, easy to schedule, and with improvements being added every month.

Pros

It's ready to go straight out of the box. I wanted an alternative to Facebook groups that was private and functional. My community love the new space - I was worried about making the switch but should have done it years ago. Very easy on-boarding but many layers to the software so you can develop it in a way that suits your community. Lots of help from the Disciple team - I've had an issue sorted out within an hour at 8pm on a Friday evening.

Cons

Disciple have already addressed my main concern - there used to be no formal way to suggest improvements but now we have our own app for community managers to discuss improvements.

TD
AvatarImg

Thomas D.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Better Than Most

Reviewed 2 years ago

good, glad I chose it

Pros

Out of the box with good support, professional look

Cons

Content posting with many idiosyncrasies that may restrict engagement

Vendor response

Hi Thomas, thank you so much for your feedback! We're so glad that you love the professional look and feel of your app, and that our team has provided you with the support you need. That's what we aim for! It would be great to hear more about what you mean by the idiosyncrasies that may restrict engagement. Our customers normally report greatly improved engagement on their platforms than they were...

CM
AvatarImg

Craig M.

Sports, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GAME CHANGER, TO A VERY GOOD GAME!

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is like working with a genuine partner, who recognise how their own success is intrinsically linked to that of their customers. It is an actual pleasure. Even the finance folk are great when billing time comes around.

Pros

The speed to active, ease of use in back end and for members, regular and sensible upgrades, brilliant support and love how they promote the community for the host users to learn and support each other

Cons

I am used to finding work arounds, so there isn't anything I don't like. Always scope for improvement but Disciple are all over that constantly.

BC
AvatarImg

Beth Chana W.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Love disciple!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great! Very helpful and friendly team to work with.

Pros

I love how easy it is to set up your app and customize it for your needs!

Cons

I feel that there are many features that I don't even know about through the backend since the backend is so extensive.

Vendor response

Hi Beth, Thank you so much for this feedback. It's so great to hear that you are loving your Disciple-powered platform! Please be in touch if you'd like any help exploring those features. We know it can feel a little overwhelming at first, but they all exist to maximise your community engagement and we think you'll find them all very straightforward to use once you get going! Best wishes, The Disciple Team

AM
AvatarImg

Andrea M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Affordable and user friendly paltform

Reviewed 2 years ago

Easy to use, some glitches every now and then. Friendly staff

Pros

Groups and Folders are a great way to organize content

Cons

Would like to have more access to raw data regarding assets and member behavior

Vendor response

Dear Andrea, Thank you so much for this feedback! It's great to hear that you're finding your platform so intuitive to use and are making the most of Groups and Folders! We have just updated the console and analytics so that it is easier than ever before to access and interpret vital insights into your community's behaviour. We do also offer the option to upgrade to a custom dashboard if there are metrics specific to your community that you'd like us to build for you. It's great working with you and we look forward to seeing your community continue to thrive. Best wishes, The Disciple Team

NK
AvatarImg

Nik K.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Disciple community launch

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great. easy, efficient and transparent with all dealings with clear value proposition and clear breakdown of whats available with options.

Pros

easy to setup, great cms, instant value for users. enabled me to focus on other areas of the business while the team could go on with focusing on the product launch.

Cons

n/a - all of the competitors promise more features but were vague about how good these are or how they are delivered. Disciple was different here.

CM
AvatarImg

Christopher M.

Religious Institutions, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product in the ever more important community space

Reviewed 2 years ago

very positive

Pros

Building community instead of pushing out content is encouraged

Cons

Nothing really, many new things were added over the course of our use

Vendor response

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback Christopher, we are delighted that your app is working so well for you! We're so happy to be on this journey with you and look forward seeing your community continue to thrive. Best wishes, The Disciple Team

JL
AvatarImg

Johna L.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

It's Okay, But Could Be More

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have found it seems to be limited, or not enough when we have tried to do extra things. Other platforms offer more to the admin users to engage with users, with extra tools. Disciple does not seem to be there yet.

Pros

We like having a separate platform to have a community gather outside of big social media platforms. Being able to promote our own products to our users.

Cons

The inability to have banner feeds for users to see when promoting. Notifications seem to be sent to users but are not available when they come into the platform web or mobile

PG
AvatarImg

Paula G.

Arts and Crafts, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Everything in one place!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We love having all of our members in our Disciple App! Member engagement is soaring and we've grown to 1000 members in just 4 months. It's so easy to use on the front end and the back end.

Cons

Renewals are tough. Many times renewals get rejected in stripe which makes it frustrating for admins and members. This may be a stripe issue but another payment outlet might work better.

RG
AvatarImg

Rebecca G.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Extremely happy, a well-rounded company with excellent customer service.

Reviewed 5 years ago

My experience with disciple media was top-notch. Their team is a fantastic group of people, extremely helpful and very knowledgeable.

Pros

The ease-of-use. Disciple software is very easy to use, I love the ability to send out push notifications, have individual administrative posts, folder and sub folder capability and so much more.

Cons

I have to see the price. It is a little bit expensive if you are just building your subscriber ship. It’s unfortunately the reason we ended up Migrating to a new platform.