This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

EFI MarketDirect StoreFront Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

We have the backing of a powerful team and that makes me feel very comfortable. Again the user experience is so easy to navigate that up selling and selling to market segments never has been so easy.

thomas k.

Comprehensive operator view. Have had a great Professional Services Consultant that has help train me and given direction to achieve our goals for web-to-print and integration.

Thomas P.

My overall experience with the software has been a good one, thank goodness. It has kept us up to date with new technology and has increased sales within the business.

ashlee n.

Cons

I nearly lost a client because I didn't have access to immediate technical information to get their Store Front to perform correctly.

Andrew D.

I'll be switching over to another company at this point and reteaching how jobs are to be submitted to our shop.

Don R.

So if we decide to update pricing in one system, we have to update it in multiple places which causes more work and more potential for errors.

Melinda A.

Overall rating

4.1

5

4

3

2

1

32

48

14

3

0

82%
positive reviews
89%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


97 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best Web to Print Option Available

Reviewed a year ago

Our experience with EFIMarket Direct has been exceptional. Tech support team has always been very engaged on finding solutions to problems to every day problems. They have developed two custom reports which have been very helpful. And they are always on call when we upgrade (we're self hosted). It's one of the big reasons I recommend this software.

Pros

The thing I like most about the software is that it is built for selling custom printed products. Any other run of the mill e-commerce option will not have any level of option needed for printers. (From simple things such as impressions, and page counts, to complicated things such as variable data and mailing lists) Also, other e-commerce print solutions do not allow you to customize products like MarketDirect StoreFront. We have previewed other options in the past and StoreFront is always the clear winner. From being able to have multiple cost sheets, easily building products and specs, options for layouts, and gathering data from queries and reports. Nothing else comes close.

Cons

I wish we had easier options to change colors and headers/footers of the site layouts. Our University has a specific color pallet required for departmental sites; I have to do a lot of custom work just to change banner colors. Also, some layouts look a little outdated. For a site to be trusted by the user; it should have a more modern esthetic. Last but not least, I wish the product views would show bleed - and if the document doesn't fit the page selected it would be great if it showed an error and ask the user to pick a larger page size.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A very good software package that could be best in class with the right core adjustments

Reviewed a year ago

Overall I consider MDSF a really good product, with a lot of potential for truly being best in class. We have hitched our wagon to MDSF, although at the time it was mostly due to being integrated with other EFI products. From a strictly web-2-print system, there are others I've used that I prefer based on certain customer requests and features. From an personnel interaction standpoint, I have nothing but positive things to say about MDSF. The team is great and over the past 1-2 years, the direction of the product seems to be going in a really positive direction.

Pros

The software package has been very stable for us, which is very important. Many features are in place that we enjoy using that do not require being purchased ala carte, so you don't feel like you're being nickeled and dimed. Over the past 1-2 years, several of the enhancements and upgrades have really gone in the right direction for small - medium sized businesses and solved holes in the EFI solutions model (i.e. MDSF Fulfillment, being able to add a customer to a product for filtering, the new UI experience). Support has always been great for the product when we have needed it, and professional services has always been great when needed.

Cons

There are some foundational pieces which MDSF was built upon that are definitely showing their age. Having your profile address fields and the checkout shipping address fields tied to the same requirements checkbox doesn't make a ton of sense as the purposes of these fields are completely different in many cases. Another thing is only having 5 customizable fields for user profiles. Another is the...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

MDSF Review

Reviewed a year ago

I inherited MDSF when I started at AHS, but have work extensively to correct issues from when it was set up and have a goal of a completely automated workflow from user order entry to order delivery. So far, MDSF has been able to help in achieving this on the order entry side. We have reworked all our products, over 2500 active, to be able to auto submit all static products and have them pushed directly to our Fiery based DFE equipment. In addition, we have used hot folders and Fiery DFE so we can submit all Ad Hoc products. We still have some stumbling blocks, but are pushing to have them fixed and currently have about 85% of our orders automated.

Pros

Flexibility to create products. Ease of use for users. Comprehensive operator view. Have had a great Professional Services Consultant that has help train me and given direction to achieve our goals for web-to-print and integration.

Cons

Lack of support for NCR, pads and certain booklets. Time consuming to set up. Need professional services to help with set up and that gets expensive. Many issues that have been encountered and reported to support are still issue. So far, Version 11 is a step backward. Too many issues, features either don't work or aren't available from previous versions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 4 months ago

MDSF makes the daily workflow much easier. Inventory control is very easy with MDSF.

Pros

Market Direct Store Front's integration with EFI PrintSmith is very helpful on a daily basis. It allows customers to place orders and the orders come directly into Printsmith. It allows for easy creation of job tickets.

Cons

Two way talking with Printsmith would be helpful. It does on some things but not everything. If this could be worked out it would be a superior product in my opinion.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Works well

Reviewed a year ago

For the most part it's been great. Updates occur regularly and we see improvements.

Pros

Setup and deployment was easy. Customizability was pretty good, and people on campus use it daily.

Cons

It is advertised to integrate well with PrintSmith Vision, but we have issues with communication between both systems that requires employees to go in and fix tickets frequently. Price changes have to be added to both systems because one doesn't push to the other.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

my store front experience

Reviewed a year ago

Our customers like using the ordering systems and can easily see the product they need to order.

Pros

I love the integration of our products into our store front. Easy for our customers to order and for us to implement. There is a learning curve at the beginning, but once you have created your templates, adding products is easy.

Cons

The learning curve in setting up templates is challenge. Not an easy task for the average person.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Storefront

Reviewed a year ago

The software is not what we were shown in the demo and we struggled along to find out we were sold the hosting option but it would not allow the custom reporting our customers needed so we were switched to a self-hosted option almost a year into our struggle.

Pros

It offered a lot of features and some customization.

Cons

It is so customizable it's hard to pin down or complete what is needed. It is like wanting illustration software from Adobe and they give you the programming language to write it yourself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Success in the making!!

Reviewed a year ago

The time it took to set up the framework for Printsmith Vision and Market Direct Store Front was significant. However, the time spent has been well worth it. The benefits are paying Great Dividends today!! After years of false starts with other Web Building tools my experience with EFI and Market Direct Storefront has been EVERYTHING that I was looking for!! In less than 4 months we were trained and able to build multiple Store Fronts.

Pros

Integration of Market Direct Storefront (MDSF) with Printsmith Vision (PSV) created a Very Nice Automated path to production. This saves us Hours every day by eliminating the need to interpret email and telephone orders to create Job Tickets. Manual entry was error prone and slowed the process of getting jobs into production. The integration with our Fiery is also Automated and eliminates the need for the operator to set up the Rip. It already knows the Rip Settings and Quantity so the operator mounts the requested paper and releases it to Print. We also use MDSF for our Sign Shop, Garment Shop, and Advertising Specialty divisions. EFI is doing a lot of work to make Market Direct Storefront a leader in the market. Thank You EFI.

Cons

We create Store Fronts for many Clients who's users don't need to know about our production facilities. I'd like to see a simple Administrative way to customize each Store Front with unique Contact info where our print shop is anonymous. I'd also like to send the Order Notification from each Store Front to different email locations in a readable format so that Our Customer can see that Their Users...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great at what it does, not flexible for what it doesn’t.

Reviewed a year ago

We were able to replace ~40 websites with one DF license. It’s improved turn around time for website changes and streamlined pricing and product creation.

Pros

Integrates well with Pace, but can stand on its own if needed. For the products it handles, DSF is first in class. It works amazingly well at building products and pricing correctly.

Cons

The print industry is constantly evolving and I’m not sure how well DSF is keeping up. It doesn’t handle products like semi-customizable tshirts with any amount of grace. Even building a book where cover and text are printed separate is a little cumbersome and a weird end-user experience, at least if it’s connected to Pace.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Company Size Matters

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

I am sure MarketDirect Storefront is a fine software for larger organizations. The available tools and options can make this a competitive web storefront.

Cons

The problem is for companies with fewer than 10 employees, and without full time IT specialists or web manager, success is very difficult. After one year of working on our site using employees that have other job functions, we are not much closer to any success. You need at least a 15-20 hr/week employee to create, manage and update your website along with updating PrintSmith Vision. It is not the best solution for small employee companies.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great storefront on it's own

Reviewed a year ago

Overall the building process can be quite easy after using the software for a while and learning what works with our product management system (PrintSmith). SmartCanvas has been quite hard to figure out with little guidance from EFI but is very promising. In general by its self MarketDirect Storefront is strong, but could use a lot of tweaking when talking to other modules. After a few years we have grown our ticket templates to a few hundred and have grown our products to a few thousand. Planning out your categories up front will be crucial for customers to be able to find what they are looking for.

Pros

I like all the different type of options when it comes to products, I appreciate the level of customization across the entire backend such as printing services, papers, products, design, etc.

Cons

Some services and specs, filled out by the customer, don't come across to our PrintSmith depending how you have that setup. We had to rebuild all ticket templates in PrintSmith (yes a second time) in order to link products up to ticket templates from our storefront. This was our workaround, some things still don't come across until recently, SIZE wouldn't come over from the storefront into PrintSmith,...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great functionality but alot of work up front

Reviewed a year ago

With the new system we are utilizing some of the features like business card templates where the client fills in their information and proofs it themselves before we even see it. Then its direct to print from there. Do no real work on our part is needed. We are able to do less work on the backend of things from an administrative standpoint and that takes a huge work load away from very few staff.

Pros

I love that the software integrates well with PrintSmith our printing and accounting software. The easy of using the different template options is a very simple process. Clients seem to find the navigation of the new site very user friendly and easy to use. The integration however was a very difficult item to over come. It was a very time consumer task to accomplish.

Cons

There are certainly features in the old system that would be nice to have in the new system - such as being able to drag and drop line items from one to reorganize things. It would also be very helpful if you were able to have more than 1 invoice open at a time to be able to create new orders based off multiple invoices by dragging and dropping into a new one. The integration with PrintSmith was not...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Just what we needed!

Reviewed a year ago

I personally am willing to discuss further how well it works and what it all can do as i am so pleased with EFI and there willingness to help anytime. We have the backing of a powerful team and that makes me feel very comfortable. Again the user experience is so easy to navigate that up selling and selling to market segments never has been so easy.

Pros

The best part of Market Direct Storefronts is that all our customers say that it is so easy to navigate making training a non issue. When users can navigate easily it makes them use it more! We were able to merge this system together with the EFI MIS we are using to run our business streamlining job creation and billing considerably. Same goes for the build(s) very intelligent software and easy to prepare sites. We probably use 75% of what the system currently has available to us; only because we haven't had the customer requests. The software has many further options that we are still using as requested by our customers.

Cons

We have had customers come up with a few challenges for the software but we usually find either a workaround using storefront options or reach out to EFI service people and they can either help immediately or have professional services build or add to an upcoming software update.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

My view through the healthcare lens

Reviewed a year ago

My overall experience is good. Implementation and transition from EFI webhosted to on premise took way to long to move and it seemed that we were running into things that had never happened before. The product is good when set up correctly. You all are going through major updates and changes. This is positive for your customers. A new approach to roll outs, documentation and streamlined access to help when you use an additional EFI product such as PSV would be so helpful.

Pros

I appreciate that it has a look and feel of an amazon type experience. Customers in health care don't know or understanding printing. They want easy or shall I say intuitive experiences that remind them of something that they've done before on common ecommerce sites.

Cons

I think that the maintenance of the store front from the "administer" side needs some improvement. The Admin area seems somewhat outdated. Limited in some respects of what other similar products offer in the space of day to day upkeep. My organization has to engage a freelance person who has experience with the tool to simply do things that should be simple but are really complex.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Big positives and small negatives for us

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has definitely impacted our workflow and efficiency in a very positive way. We are a large healthcare system with lots of form inour storefront. The ability of our users to see and interact with documents when ordering is a HUGE improvement over our old "blind" ordering system. Now that jobs flow autmatically into our PrintSmith Vision system, we no longer have to do the massive amount of data entry for billing that our old system required. This saves 10-15 hours per week on the admin side of things.

Pros

Fairly easy customization of look and feel. Plenty of built in UI templates for those that can't/won't play with code. Good user management controls. We haven't any any load handling issues even with almost 2000 products and 900 users. EFI support has been responsive and proficient. Good user support forums. It has integrated well with our PrintSmith Vision install.

Cons

Redundancy of some settings. The admin interface has lots of redundacy and is cluttered and inefficient. Batch product import or creation needs a LOT more work. No ability to batch publish items to categories. No ability to create snapshots or backups of settings to revert to in case of user error. Occasional random little glitches/changes (like sort order settings or other fine detail) that pop up occasional or following an upgrade. The inability to create a job template "on the fly" when creating a product that doesn't fit an existing template.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Long time user, and still happy.

Reviewed a year ago

I've been working with MDSF for over 10 years and have seen quite a bit of improvements over the years. Now it really does seem to be an exciting time to be working with it, as they have made some changes to the administration interface that will drastically improve the usability. Somethings I have been wishing for, for a long time. There might be other products that do one of the things that MDSF does well, and maybe even better, but not all of the things that MDSF does combined. We are talking about one off items, variable items, finished goods, shipping, kits and integration with different MIS.

Pros

There is quite a bit of customization and security that can be done with the interface, even with multiple storefronts. I really like some of the new changes to the administration pages, which makes it much easier to manage all of the data we have in MDSF currently. Seems like EFI sees that their customers are using it for more products than they originally had planed. We started our over 10 years ago with maybe 50 products, and now we have almost 8,000 products being offered to about 120 different storefronts.

Cons

Tech support is hard to reach at times. Especially by phone. But at least when you do, the techs are quite knowledgeable. Calculating taxes is a problem if you are selling outside of your state. But there are add-on options for that.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

EFI MarketDirect StoreFront

Reviewed a year ago

Having this storefront has been highly beneficial to ColorMark. Many orders are received everyday with very little effort. With the automation built into the system, orders are take and sent directly to Rips for printing.

Pros

Straight forward setups. You can have a client online in very little time. Connects well with Pace for ease of job tickets and inventory control. As well as bi-directional communication with all the above as well as Process shipper.

Cons

In some cases we have stores that might have more than 1000 franchises that buy through the store front. When it is necessary to make changes and it needs to be done to many of the stores there is no easy way to address this problem. Opening up one customer at a time make a change and close, way to cumbersome when you compare that to either the universal importer or pace connection, where all changes can be made in under a few minutes. Additionally, the reporting is completely non-existent. After adding individuals to a site it would be nice to download all of the data to look for errors, missed data etc. No way to do that with this software. Can't even get to the Database to download from there.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Mid Market Suite

Reviewed 2 years ago

There is no doubt the Market Direct Storefront is a huge time saver for us. BUT it has also opened up opportunities for clients around the world, where they wish to offer a "storefront" to their staff around the world, helping them maintain brand consistency. DSF was one of the main reasons for engaging with EFI.

Pros

The software really is end to end with full integration and automation. EFI are also very open, easy to work with and it feels like a true partnership. The solution they offer covers everything we want and need to run our business and there is a constant drive to improve, to listen to customers and work with you to ensure you are getting the most out of the product. I particularly like the integrations with our equipment and other systems, which aids automation and efficiency. And for us the connection with DSF is a real plus, enabling us to process regular orders and open up opportunities we wouldn't normally be able to fulfill.

Cons

it is a little unfair to comment on this as we are about to upgrade to the latest version, but its fair to say my biggest bug bear at present is the number of clicks. This is something I know has been addressed in the latest version. My only other grumble would be that the software can get "stuck" if you change a production method from say litho to digital within an estimate, it can sometimes take a few attempts for it to recognise the change.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

10 year user of ever improving MSDSF

Reviewed a year ago

very good

Pros

Allows user and company admin access and ever improving back end with great customer support.

Cons

Nothing right now.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Market Direct for InPlant

Reviewed a year ago

We have not yet fully launched the system after having it for many years. It was purchased long before any of us that are here now began. It is my understanding that the system was launched and being used then it was learned that it was not a full MIS system. The organization then purchased another EFI product, PrintSmith to do the management functions for the shop that were desired and the integration between the 2 systems was difficult.

Pros

Unfortunately I am not yet conversant with the software. The previous employee set it all up and then left abruptly so I am not yet trained in it. It seems to work fine and I know many others that use it - however, as with most integrations, it doesn't work easily with other MIS systems such as PrintSmith Vision. We had to have programmers do things for us that it seems others would have encountered and would have been made part of the 'normal' programming of the software.

Cons

Ease of integration with other systems. Redundancy with information needed - mainly multiple price lists that have to be maintained and be consistent. For example, we must set pricing in PrintSmith, then convert the pricing structures for Digital Storefront in a way that matches - so that when a customer brings work through the on-line site, the pricing is consistent if they bring work direct to the shop and we use PrintSmith. So if we decide to update pricing in one system, we have to update it in multiple places which causes more work and more potential for errors.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Digital Storefront

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall the usage of the MarketDirect Storefront platform is positive. We are able to easily receive orders and move them into production. We are also able to easily customize sites to fulfill different customer needs.

Pros

Overall the software is easy to use for both administrators and end users. For end users the sites are very easy to navigate and use. For administrators it is easy to customize site HTML and CSS if you have the skills, or it is easy to use the default templates if you do not. It is also easy to create and manage products, users, and user groups. We have several thousand products hosted on our sites. We are able to run our storefront job tickets into our MIS system with ease.

Cons

While the software is easy to use for basic tasks, there are issues with more high level functionality. Part of the issues we have, stem from some of the administrative menus being cluttered and confusing. There are also some settings that are only available as overall site settings, and are not customizable for individual companies. Batch uploads/changes of products needs work, as it is currently very basic and the products need further configuration after they are uploaded.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

EFI Market Direct Store Front Review

Reviewed a year ago

Does the job, just wish it was less complex & time consuming to set up and the software ran quicker so I don't spend so long waiting on screen redraws.

Pros

Loads of functionality, looks good to end users when set up properly. Lots of new features on the horizon. Relatively easy to go through the ordering process for end users.

Cons

Complex and time consuming to set up. Missing some features that competitor software has had for years. Inability to turn some features off which detracts from the overall user experience. Can be glitchy at times. Compared to what we were using it can be sluggish in performance. Takes way too long to get suggested improvements developed and into the software. Would be really handy to have two way communication with our estimating system (Printsmith Vision)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Educational Printing and Partner Printing

Reviewed a year ago

Overall has been a great asset to our organization.

Pros

This resolved a deficiency in our order management and billing and revamped how we control job flow to individual printers as well as divisions. Also assist is our supply orders for a large multi location campus. Also centralized most of our functions into one location

Cons

Original trainers did not stay with company very long and also had a tendency to do things themselves instead of training us how to do, so we ended up needing to contact service or train ourselves to figure out what they did. Site is customizable but needs a someone who understands causality of why each section works with the other for system to work. Accounting system could use work. Though you can customize report content there is need to still rework the reports after being run to meet comptrollers requirements.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Dynamic Views

Reviewed a year ago

Its a great value added system for printing company, I've been using Market Direct for 5 years and its really help in the digital printing environment. Less touching point and save a lot of time with Fiery integration

Pros

The dynamic preview before buying a print product, Client love to see how the customize product look like before ordering.

Cons

Lack of reporting and doesn't integrate with Australian shipping companies and can't connect to external DAM

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

digital storefront not updating...

Reviewed a year ago

i have had terrible luck trying to get my site updated and have finally given up. this is the second time i have come to this point and the last time it cost me $8,000 for professional services, on top of the yearly maintenance. i'll be switching over to another company at this point and reteaching how jobs are to be submitted to our shop.

Pros

i have been using this software since August 8, 2008 in a fully operational JDF workflow that is the envy of every print shop that's visited. Digital Storefront and our JDF workflow made it possible for our very small shop to output a TREMENDOUS AMOUNT of small jobs very efficiently for both our customers and my staff.

Cons

buggy updates while updating our self hosted site.