App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program) Logo

Open-source and on-premise image manipulation software

(19)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program) Reviews - Page 100

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


3,479 reviews

Recommended

SM
AvatarImg

Steve M.

Medical Practice, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GIMP Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Animated GIF was easy to create and there are videos and instructions available if needed.

Pros

Where to start...GIMP is probably the most capable image manipulation tool available anywhere for any price. I have personally used it to create animated GIF images for a CT scan of a beating heart. It worked great.

Cons

Cons...the only con is maybe the user interface might take a little getting used to but there are so many functions that I am not sure how it could be made simpler.

TB
AvatarImg

Tabitha B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love this utility!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The fountain of information that is available and free resources to use in conjunction with it. Not to mention the very professional media I'm able to produce utilizing it.

Cons

It's a little complicated, with so many resources though it is easy to figure out.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best free software I've used

Reviewed 6 years ago

I use GIMP to make flyers, visit cards, etc... It's very easy once you learn it

Pros

Above all the free softwares, I find Gimp is the most qualitative You'll find almost all the features that exists in it's competitors paying software

Cons

Like its competitor, you'll need many tutorials and time to know how to use it properly

DS
AvatarImg

Daniel S.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Gimp Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Positive - meets my needs and is free.

Pros

Value is great with gimp - it meets the performance capabilities of much more expensive software packages for free. I also enjoy the ability to customize the UI.

Cons

It has some quirks that I don't experience in photoshop, most notable when working with many layers.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Low dollar cost, high time cost

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Can't afford what I want and just about everything is junk. This is very good, but not always intuitive.

Cons

There are some things it cannot do and some that I just haven't figured out how to do. It's not an easy program to master.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Free image editing for the brave.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The price-to-feature ratio. There’s nothing this feature-rich for free anywhere else. If you need to do some hardcore image editing here and there, GIMP is the only solution.

Cons

It’s slow. Like, insanely slow. Even on a decently competitive computer, opening GIMP takes forever. Some of the design choices aren’t great either, but for a free platform I certainly am not expecting the level of polish that a (MUCH) more expensive suite would have on offer.

PG
AvatarImg

Petar G.

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great way to edit an design images without breaking the bank .

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

GIMP is an easy solution to having to pay monthly fees for a bit more sophisticated software .Very reach in features and has an intuitive way of operating once you get the hang of it .

Cons

It takes a while until you know what you are doing on it ,especially if you are used to dealing with other programs.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great alternative to Adobe Photoshop

Reviewed 5 years ago

GIMP is great in a pinch but wouldn't recommend it for heavy photo editing

Pros

GIMP is an open source alternative to commercial photo editors and has a good market within the consumer/prosumer user base

Cons

It's not as natural to work in as Adobe Photoshop and it isn't developed nearly as much today as it was before

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Free Image editing alternative

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The best fee alternative to paid Adobe Photoshop for basic/advanced daily image modifications that are required. It is also a Multiplatform tool, which is nice.

Cons

Some features are "hidden" but overall I was always able to achieve wanted result using some tutorials.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Music, 501-1,000 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Interesting free alternative

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Gimp have a lot of functionalities on image editing that no free open source software have.

Cons

The GUI could be better. Not very good-looking.

JM
AvatarImg

Jonathan M.

Machinery, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Gimp

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like how you get most of the Photoshop features without having to pay for Photoshop. The ability to use the CLI to apply the same rotations and other actions on the images time and time again is very nice.

Cons

It is a steep learning curve to use this software.

TD
AvatarImg

Tom D.

Photography, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Gimp for those who can't afford "the others"

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've always been happy with GIMP since I learned it was available ALL those years ago! I break it out every so often when the "other" editor is giving me trouble and it's very reliable!

Pros

Very easy to use and has little to no learning curve.

Cons

The kernel is a bit slow when applying some masks and altering tools.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Wolfie T.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Certainly not Photoshop

Reviewed 4 years ago

While it is a great free alternative to Photoshop, I would only recommend that someone use Gimp if they're trying to save money. I do not see professional photographers opting for Gimp over Adobe.

Pros

I love that this is a free alternative to Photoshop, which you can no longer buy out-right. It has many of the same features and functions, and can accomplish 99% of the things that Photoshop can.

Cons

I stopped using this software because it is a bit clunkier than Photoshop. I'm a long time Photoshop user, and wanted to give this a try, but found that the shortcuts are different, and the locations for each tool are more difficult to find.

SM
AvatarImg

Sam M.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great option if you are just starting out or doing simple photo editing

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using GIMP for 14 years and I have no complaints

Pros

It is free and powerful! It is a good option to use if you can't afford photoshop

Cons

It is lacking a more modern/slick user interface like Canva has and it is also not as powerful as photoshop

BH
AvatarImg

Brianna H.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best for photo editing

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Great photo editor tools. Easy to learn tutorials.

Cons

Crashes sometimes but as long as im saving its not an issue

ES
AvatarImg

Edwin S.

Sports, 11-50 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Transform images like an expert on a budget

Reviewed 6 years ago

Gimp offers such an extensive range of features that more often than not it suffices when there's a quick need for a photo touch-up or designing some quick artwork for articles.

Pros

The palette of features is so extensive that to some extent I find that you are mainly limited only by your imagination when it comes to the possibilities of using Gimp. There are the traditional photo formatting tools, but there are tons of special effects and colour transformation tweakings. Great for designing various elements for applications such as buttons, or logos, or icons.

Cons

I could do with the image scaling functions to be more sharp. I use the scaling rather much when I edit photos.

TF
AvatarImg

Tracy F.

Publishing, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Gimp Impresses

Reviewed 6 years ago

Everything about GIMP has been delivered as promised: a good solid program, no download glitches, and a pleasure to use.

Pros

So much functionality in a free graphics program; I was delighted! This little freebie has a lot of power and much more sophistication than I had anticipated. It's the best of the "lite" graphics packages I've tried.

Cons

May not be for beginners; Gimp requires a fundamental understanding of how graphics software operates. While anyone with a passing knowledge of other graphic programs will find it easy to use, and a good help program is available online, it can be intimidating for the non-graphic artist.

PN
AvatarImg

Paul N.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A free alternative to Adobe's photoshop

Reviewed 6 years ago

By using GIMP, licensing costs are largely reduced

Pros

It is easier and free to acquire, takes up less computer resources while providing many professional photo editing features available in photoshop

Cons

It lacks the image layering format provided by Photoshop which is important in making precise image adjustments

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Political Organization, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great free alternative

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

This has all of the basic functionality that any good image-editing program has -- you're not missing anything, and it was a free download

Cons

I really don't see any cons with this. If I was a graphic designer and was used to Adobe Photoshop, I may not like Gimp, but for an amateur editor, it is perfectly fine.

AL
AvatarImg

Amanda L.

Computer Games, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Works great!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I’ve used it over the years because I can’t always afford Photoshop, but it does everything I need just as good.

Pros

If you can’t afford Photoshop, this is a great alternative. It works amazing for game assets and has so many tools to use. Helps get things done quick.

Cons

There aren’t any cons I can think of. It’s simple!

KS
AvatarImg

Killian S.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Le meilleur logiciel open source et gratuit pour la retouche photo

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Gimp est sûrement le logiciel de retouche photo open source et gratuit le plus complet et le plus puissant. Ils offrent de très nombreuses fonctionnalités. Il rivalise à son échelle face à Photoshop.

Cons

L'interface de Gimp est assez complexe à prendre en main.

Showing original review in French. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Garrett S.

Entertainment, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Can't believe it's free.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

When it comes to free Photoshop alternatives, you can't do much better than GIMP. While it obviously has its limitations when compared to more robust (and expensive) software, it still offers an insane amount of depth that goes even deeper as your skills become more advanced. I just wish I knew programming language so I could experiment more with its script functionality.

Cons

In terms of overall functionality, GIMP doesn't quite stack up to the Creative Cloud, but it doesn't come with a subscription fee either. It's hard to count the few missing features as a point against a free program.

AG
AvatarImg

Anton G.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

99% of the features for 0% of the cost

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Free, FOSS. We try our best to use FOSS products as far as possible, especially as we like to avoid subscription lock in.

Cons

Not the easiest app to get going with, and there have been some reasonably priced newcomers to the market that don't rely on subscriptions, such as the Affinity products.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Marrietta m.

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Awesome and impressive update

Reviewed 6 years ago

Awesome new image from multiple image layers

Pros

I love the simplistic work flow that can make even people without a good design background look like pros

Cons

Gimp used to take a long time in starting, but this has been fixed in their new update, which also includes new layouts

GM
AvatarImg

Gayge M.

Animation, self-employed

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Decent. I only use it for Minecraft textures, so no biggie.

Pros

It helps a lot compared to a program like paint 3D, especially with game texturing. It’s a lot easier to manage sizes.

Cons

The learning of it, you have to look online for a guide. Also the brushes and layers are quite confusing.