App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program) Logo

Open-source and on-premise image manipulation software

(19)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program) Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


3,479 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Nice Photoshop alternative for basic image editing tasks

Reviewed 2 years ago

As a digital marketer, I’m using GIMP as an alternative to Photoshop to cover my daily Social Media purposes. Although it is a nice Photoshop alternative that copies almost all of its tools, it is obvious that the user interface has a way weaker design, but for an open-source free software, it offers a decent solution. GIMP is suitable for daily micro-tasks such as resizing, blurring, cropping, layers...

Pros

- Easy installation - Open-source/free software - Includes almost all the essential Photoshop tools

Cons

- Outdated UI - Some tools (shrink, selection) are way more complex and time-consuming - Sometimes the exported result is not of the requested quality(maybe that depends on the user’s skills level) - Absence of Shapes tool which is helpful in Photoshop

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bruno F.

Photography, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Professional – AND FREE – software

Reviewed 5 years ago

I currently use GIMP as my main image editing software. GIMP is in the level of greatest image editing softwares. And I highly recommend it to everyone. GIMP is super complete. With this software and a little creativity, the sky is the limit.

Pros

Think of an image editing software with professional features, a huge variety of tools to edit your images, all of this at your fingertips with streamlined visuals, in intuitive, beautiful and very, very useful software on a daily basis. For those who have never heard of this before, the name may surprise, but it's GIMP that I'm talking about. This software basically accepts all sorts of images, has...

Cons

It takes a while to load when you start the software. But that's something completely justifiable due to the amount of functions and tools (and taking into account that other editing software also takes a while to load). You can open the software and go drink some water in the meantime. No more trouble.

ML
AvatarImg

Michael L.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best free image editing software

Reviewed 10 months ago

I downloaded it after using photoshop and I got used to it quickly after switching. I never had any problems outside if a folder has thousands of items in it, when choosing to make an export to name the export and to choose what file type it will be, it loads every file name into the browser which can make it lag if there is over thousands of items in the folder being opened.

Pros

It's fully free and it's designed to be quick to learn and use. Missing some settings photoshop has, but overall does the same job or better.

Cons

Missing some of the bigger features of photoshop and the extensions. But in most cases they aren't needed for most needs.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ronald L.

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It proved to be a very powerful tool and a fantastic OPEN SOURCE competitor in the market.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Saved me a lot of money and made easy some of the common tasks I have as photographer and web content administrator.

Pros

Well, obviously, it's open source! That means it's going to cost you nothing. Even if you compare it to other popular paid software around there, Gimp is not going to let you down. All the basic and mid-range functionalities are available and user friendly as you're probably used to. If I want to mention a specific thing that I love from GIMP, it's that you can Ctrl+Z when you mistakenly add a point...

Cons

Slow evolution during its opensource nature: 7 years happened from 2.8 to 2.10, but Gimp 3 is estimated to be out at some point of 2018 so this might be changing due to the success of the last update. Shortcuts: moving to Gimp can take a couple of days of adaptation if you're used to work with other software because the commands are completely different, but as I said, it's just a couple of days. Also, it can get tricky if you want to automatize some parts of the edition. It can be done if you follow the right steps but I think they need to improve that part and make it more user friendly.

WW
AvatarImg

Wesley W.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Value every moment with graphics manipulation yard

Reviewed 2 months ago

Amazing customer support team. The free trial has enough features to train any newbie.

Pros

Creating a satisfying moment starts with keeping a record of it. GIMP helps me value every second of my life by creating a design element and scripted images. It is quite easy to use and implement. The dashboard will amaze you.

Cons

It requires great attention to master every bit of this tool inorder to build a perfect design. Also, knowledge in at least one programming language is needed for a great design. All thanks to the free trial, it is a great learning experience.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ideal for retouching photos

Reviewed 6 years ago

Actually for me personally it has been a great advantage to have Gimp because I can use it on any machine without the need for licenses, and it works a lot for the retouching and editing of photographs that is the main use I have given to it and that I have recommended to my supervised that they use. It's easy, fast, it's light, it's practical and no more expertise is required.

Pros

As an editor of an internal communication medium on a daily basis, and in the absence of private licenses for the installation of software recognized for graphic editing, Gimp became an ally for journalists who had to edit their photographs daily before uploading it to the news portal . The ease of installation, and ease of use for editing and retouching photos in size, color, brightness and resolution is for beginners and there is a lot of information and online tutorials for those who do not know it.

Cons

Very little publicity about its existence and the new features that the new version brings; besides, it is not intuitive for other functions that are not simply the retouching of images or photographs; as a competitor of photoshop it's a great alternative, but for quick and easy designs for social networks, there are other more intuitive programs for people who are not specialists in design program management. The official support is not very clear, and you should always resort to tutorials from other users.

kr
AvatarImg

kyle r.

Music, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best image manipulation program because its free.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've use this as a layering program mostly. You can edit images to higher quality and even splice images together very quickly. This is a great program for any level of artist.

Pros

It's powerful rendering abilities and it being free to the user makes this program great for anyone learning or wanting to expand their editing knowledge.

Cons

The menu selections are very overfilled.

JC
AvatarImg

James C.

Construction, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GIMP at a glance

Reviewed a year ago

I use GIMP on a daily basis. It comes in very handy since I work with a lot of images. This is a hobby of mine

Pros

I like the thousands of tools and images offered.I like the ease of use The help files and the tutorialThe fact that it is free and a very good competitor to Adobe Photoshop

Cons

The loading time that it takes the program to open. That is the only thing I dislike about GIMP.It is basically a very good program

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Gimp - A Versatile and Powerful Image Editing Tool

Reviewed a year ago

My overall experience using Gimp for image editing has been very positive. I appreciate the platform's versatility, customization options, and strong community support. While it can be challenging to navigate at first, I have found that with practice and experimentation, Gimp offers a wealth of tools and features that allow me to achieve my desired editing outcomes. Overall, I would highly recommend Gimp to anyone in need of a powerful and flexible image editing tool.

Pros

There are several things I like about using Gimp for image editing. First and foremost, the platform is incredibly versatile, with a wide range of tools and features that allow me to manipulate images in virtually any way I can imagine. I particularly appreciate the ability to work with layers and masks, which makes it easy to edit specific parts of an image without affecting the rest.

Cons

While I find Gimp to be an excellent image editing tool overall, there are a few drawbacks that I have encountered. One issue is that the platform can be quite complex and overwhelming for new users, particularly those who are not familiar with image editing terminology and techniques. Additionally, while Gimp is a powerful tool, it may not have all of the features and capabilities of some of the more expensive commercial image editing software on the market.

AD
AvatarImg

Alessandro D.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Free, open source, useful Image editor

Reviewed 2 years ago

I use this software daily in order to make, presentations, to write a lot of my notes or simply because I want a new background for my PC. Once you become familiar with it it's useful and, you can basically run it on any PC.

Pros

This is a FREE software which you can use to crop, edit (colour, add shapes, rescale, tilt, mirror, add layers on, draw on, put on perspective, blur, alpha filter, add lights and so much more). You can save you images in either .xcf, which is the native GIMP format, so you can edit the file later on, or export it in a ton of different formats: png, jpg, gif, pgm, pmb, psd, pdf, tip, bmp, xpm and many more. The fact that it's free and can run on Linux, Mac OS and Windows is definitely a pro, since it means that you can use it on any PC, be it at work, at home or literally anywhere... oh, and there's a portable version too, so you don't even have to install it (for instance on the PC at work).

Cons

In the beginning it could be a little difficult to understand some things and personally I had to figure out how to hide the two default panels with the most useful commands, when they cover the image you have to edit. Anyway it's not really too big a deal, since on the net you can always find a lot of forums and/or videos with useful tips and commands.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An amazing open-source image editing tool - GIMP

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, we use GIMP for our internal poster creation or color correction of internal event images. At times, we also use it for client deliverables. GIMP has to offer alot but only at a price of reliability. You cannot rely on this program 100% of the times, but easy solutions can fix the small issues most of the times.

Pros

1. Open-source: is by far one of its biggest advantage. It is available freely to everybody and is maintained by open-source enthusiasts over the globe. The tool is replicated with the biggest image editing competitors and therefore, becomes easy to use for anyone new. 2. Precision: is something that does not come easily in open-source tools. However, GIMP is different in that aspect. For sharp image editing, GIMP provides precision, be it color grading or slicing an image.

Cons

Stability: I have faced issues like, the tool stops responding at times. I have also felt that at times, the buttons becomes un-clickable and if you try to click a button, the button above it starts working. These types of bugs can easily be fixed with new releases, but since this is an open-source tool, there are no finite cycles being followed for new releases. Therefore, be prepared to experiment in-case you face these. I usually un-intalled and re-installed the program to fix the issues.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Cristian Z.

Arts and Crafts, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gimp, una herramienta gratuita muy potente

Reviewed 2 years ago

En lineas generales, GIMP me ha resuelto los problemas de edición que he tenido, siempre con soltura de forma rapida y sin problemas, una herramienta muy recomendada para cualquier usuario que necesite realizar trabajos de edición de imagen y no vea necesario adquirir un software de pago.

Pros

GIMP es un editor de imágenes increíblemente versátil y potente que te permite hacer muchas cosas diferentes con tus imágenes. Puedes recortar y ajustar el tamaño de tus imágenes, añadir texto y dibujar sobre ellas, aplicar efectos y filtros para cambiar el aspecto de la imagen, y mucho más. Y lo mejor de todo es que es completamente gratis y de código abierto, así que puedes descargarlo y usarlo sin tener que preocuparte por pagar licencias o cosas por el estilo. En resumen, GIMP es una herramienta genial para cualquier persona que quiera editar imágenes de manera profesional.

Cons

Algunos usuarios pueden encontrar la interfaz de GIMP un poco abrumadora o confusa al principio, especialmente si no están acostumbrados a trabajar con editores de imágenes avanzados. Además, aunque GIMP es compatible con una gran cantidad de formatos de archivo de imagen, algunos usuarios han informado problemas al trabajar con archivos RAW de cámaras digitales. También es posible que algunas personas no estén satisfechas con la calidad de algunas de las herramientas de dibujo y pintura de GIMP en comparación con software de pago especializado en ese ámbito. Sin embargo, estos problemas son relativamente menores y, en general, GIMP sigue siendo una excelente opción para quienes buscan un editor de imágenes gratuito y completo.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rodrigo A V.

Arts and Crafts, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Free and open source editing software at photoshop level

Reviewed 2 years ago

The commercial value of photo editing tools makes it high and it is not always available in work teams, although it is not of constant use, it fulfills perfectly the function of photo editor.

Pros

Gimp is a free photo editor, free and free, with tools comparable to those of photoshop, although with some limitations, but it fulfills the purpose to perfection, It allows you to open and edit PSD files and other formats, occupies few memory and processor resources, which makes it optimal for computers with low hardware capacity and is available for Windows, Mac and Linux.

Cons

The cons of Gimp are few, it does not have support although it has created a community that fulfills that function, the functions are limited compared to photoshop, it does not have support for CMYK image.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Industrial Automation, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Gimp- Great to have

Reviewed a year ago

I use GIMP on a daily basis to do all sets of tasks which could range from removing background to texture creation and image filtering. Compared to Photoshop, I believe Gimp is an easier image-manipulating software to use. Unfortunately, when most people try a new software they can easily get stuck in the first hour and just abandon it. That's not the case with Gimp since you get accustomed to it very quickly. GIMP has actually better workflow and ergonomy than Photoshop. The selection tools are just incredibly good which is a big help whenever I need to do precision work. All-in-all, It is a simple and fun software to use.

Pros

The aspect that for me stood out the most is that Gimp is an open-source software. Therefore you do not have to pay anything and you get a great software in return.

Cons

If you using Gimp for more specific works, you have to be aware that It lacks a few "important" aspects such as the support for high bit depth images (.hdr, .exr) which is very useful for those of us who work in the 3D industry, and support for CMYK. Photoshop has hundreds if not thousands of additional features and capabilities,

SP
AvatarImg

Simone P.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GIMP Software Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use Gimp all the time and have done for years. This is my go to platform for any of my Graphic Design work. I also use this software linked up to a Graphic Display Drawing Tablet, and it still works just as good. Saving work is simple due to the software having every file format you could think off. Finding tutorials for Gimp is easy and an online forum with the Gimp Community are always happy to help. This is a great piece of Software, and I can safely say I will be using Gimp for many years to come. I would recommend it to anyone, beginner or advanced.

Pros

I have been using Gimp for years now, and would never feel the need to swap to another software. It seems to have all the features to do what I need it to do. The best pro for Gimp has to be the fact that it is a free open source software. Gimp is a great piece of software because it is free, anyone thinking about learning image manipulation, or animation can test the waters without having to have paid lots of money for other software. The second has to be that it competes easily with the top paid software in the same genre. The multi layered editing works great, and the software is easy to learn and use. Gimp supports many formats, meaning work can be saved in different formats depending on your need. It is easy to gain plug-ins for Gimp as well to help customise it to your needs.

Cons

It can seem overwhelming if you are new to this kind of software, but to be honest, this would be the same to anyone who hadn't used image manipulation software before. Sometimes Gimp can have the odd glitch, but the platform is updated regularly so doesn't cause many problems at all, as this always seems to get resolved.

EG
AvatarImg

Elisabetta G.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

When it's free you have to try

Reviewed 4 months ago

I remember using GIMP for the first time when I was in middle school, during a photography course. I re-opened the sofware after almost 15 years, and with a little surprise I noticed that the interface remained the same. However, it makes its job well. I used GIMP to learn how to edit and manipulate pictures, without investing in expensive softwares, and in general I can tell that it satisfied me. Even if it is not very popular, I think it stands up well next to other grafic softwares if you use it to do simple tasks.

Pros

GIMP is an open-source software, it means that is free. The possibility to learn graphic design or at least how to edit pictures more "professionally" using a free software is priceless. Not only it is free, but it also has some very good features: there are loads of image editing tools, very good text tools, a strong layer support.

Cons

Unfortunally the software is not very popular, and of course the outdated interface does not help. The widget layout is a little cluttered, and for a beginner it can be very frustrating. Moreover, the performance in general is very "slow" and sometimes even simple copy and paste operations can cause little glitches. One important malus is the fact that GIMP can't open raw camera files without a third...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Fedra S.

Photography, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A free and easy-to-use software

Reviewed 5 years ago

As a photographer I like to try different tools to edit my photographs. Gimp is a tool that I used in my student years and I still use it to make small adjustments or correct colors and when I need to work with a software that doesn't use a lot of RAM since it's one of its advantages.

Pros

One of its biggest advantages is that it's free compared to others that are more known but at the same time very expensive. It's an excellent alternative for students or small business owners who can't buy paid software. The tools are easy to use, they have quite precise focus and blur tools and you can create your own brushes and modify them, configuring the levels of appearance, scale and use. It offers a large number of filters that can be configured to give customized finishes and a large color panel. Gimp is compatible with any operating system and it's a light software, you can add pluggins since it's an open software and the official website has many tutorials to learn how to use it.

Cons

I would like the interface to look more modern and be a bit more friendly. I also believe that it lacks more tools to be able to compete with the great design programs of the market. Unfortunately, it is not such a well-known software and people are still betting on the payment software; however, being an open source software, it should evolve and improve over time, but the add-ons are outdated and all are spread over the Internet, in addition to the complicated installation. If they could organize the add-ons, keep them updated and look for a friendlier way to install them, they could really outperform other popular design softwares. The text editing tools are pretty basic.

TR
AvatarImg

Taara R.

Computer Games, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

GIMP: The Photo Editor and Drawing Program for Everyone

Reviewed 10 months ago

I tried GIMP many, many moons ago, and did not like it at all. However, I downloaded it again about 2 years ago, and it had changed and improved so much, I thought I would give it another whirl. I am glad I did. I use it mainly for image editing, and it is my one and only go-to image editor now. Once you start learning all of the options, it is a very powerful tool, and the developers have made an amazingly useful program that has stayed open-source which I support 100%.

Pros

The thing I like most about GIMP is that it has about a zillion and one features that can be implemented. It is a complete replacement for Photoshop for a budget business, and can even be used for almost all image needs if you were to just use one program. GIMP is also open-source which I fully support, and free, but it is so useful, you will want to donate!

Cons

The thing I like most is also the thing I like least... it has a zillion and one options! If you have ever used Blender, it kind of reminds me of the same sort of interface. It can be easy to get lost in all the options, windows, and docks if you aren't a daily user.

GP
AvatarImg

Giuseppe P.

Management Consulting, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Valido programma entry level per editing fotografico, facile e intuitivo

Reviewed a year ago

Questo utile editor fotografico è stato utilizzato per qualche mese in attesa di poter passare a qualcosa di più professionale, dopo aver mosso i primi passi nel settore. Si è rivelato un programma efficiente e ben progettato, con qualche limite solo nelle funzionalità più avanzate. Gli aggiornamenti non sono frequenti, ma è comprensibile data la natura del progetto.

Pros

Semplicità di utilizzo, interfaccia intuitiva e ben organizzata, validi strumenti di editing, curva di apprendimento semplificata per principianti.

Cons

Qualche problema di stabilità occasionale, soprattutto in presenza di immagini di grandi dimensioni. Gli aggiornamenti del software non sono frequenti.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Gimp is a great alternative to Photoshop - and Free!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Really impressive to see how Gimp has grown over they years. I'm an advanced user when it comes to handling image manipulation but I'm not photographer/designer level. There are a lot of features available, like handling RAW and SVG files that I haven't even played with. Overall, a free alternative to Photoshop? That's pretty amazing. And yes, you can open .psd files here in Gimp and work on content very similar to how you would in Photoshop. I haven't had to use their technical support but have found information in their Help area.

Pros

I've been using Gimp since the early 2000s and have used Gimp on Windows and Mac. They stay true to what they do, which is offer excellent affordable (free) open source software alternatives. I'm also a Photoshop user. I love that Gimp has grown over the years to really offer a solution that can give Photoshop a run for it's value. You can import your images, and have all the features you'd expect to see from Photoshop (filters, layers, etc etc). Gimp is a stable open source tool. I've never done a deep dive into how Gimp and Photoshop uses resources but I feel like Gimp has a lighter footprint on my Macbook when I'm running other apps.

Cons

If you've never touch photo editing software before you need to get to know the tools offered - this will be overwhelming for someone that doesn't have an interest in graphic arts, or getting to know some cool imaging software. An easier tool if you're looking to do some simple photo handling would be Fotor (also free). If you're familiar with Photoshop then you would need to adapt to Gimp, but...

JP
AvatarImg

Jacopo P.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Buon editor di immagini facile e funzionale, quasi perfetto

Reviewed a year ago

GIMP viene usato con una certa frequenza in ufficio per piccoli e semplici ritocchi alle immagini, dove può risultare perfino più rapido di Photoshop o software analoghi. Dispone di molti strumenti di ritocco e sicuramente può sostituire programmi professionali in molte attività, ma non tutte (ad esempio se bisogna lavorare in simultanea su più livelli).

Pros

Facilità d'uso, interfaccia utente piacevole, buona fluidità del flusso di lavoro, molti strumenti di ritocco disponibili.

Cons

Ogni tanto ha dei lag e può chiudersi inaspettatamente lavorando su file pesanti. Aggiornamenti non frequentissimi, gestione dei livelli poco efficace.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

MK
AvatarImg

Marius K.

Information Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

If you need occasional image crop and edit this is the software to get.

Reviewed 3 years ago

As I'm a programmer photo manipulation is not the biggest priority so paying for adobe cloud was not a thing high in my priority list.

Pros

It's free and open source can not beat that. Does simple photo manipulation tasks without a problem. While it's not straight forward to use as Adobe Photoshop, It was easy to pick up.

Cons

It's free and open source so not the most user friendly and polished version of photo editing software. UX could be better.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chamath N.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Most powerful free and open source photo editor in the world

Reviewed 6 years ago

I had a good time with GIMP and I worked many times with GIMP every time it works well. As I’m not a professional photo editor I able to get done my tasks very quickly. I had a hard time to learn GIMP there wasn’t good tutorials and documentation is not well as I expected but however I used YouTube videos to learn most of it. I can recommend GIMP for non professional photo editors who are looking for a free and alternative for Adobe Photoshop. If you are a professional I think you better to spend some money on Adobe Photoshop

Pros

I can say GIMP is the most powerful free and open source photo editor in the world. I’m using GIMP to do small photo banner editing for my web designing projects. I can list down few points that I most love about GIMP -It’s free and open source -Regularly updates are fixing available bugs in the software -I can run GIMP on my low end PC very smoothly and fast -Customization enabled and can use plugins, scripts that developed by community -Works with many Operating systems like Windows, Linux, MacOS, etc….

Cons

When I started to using GIMP I had a bit hard time to learn it documentation and some video tutorials are bit outdated. GIMP is good for non Professional photo editors compared with Photoshop. For the Cons side I only experienced that.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rikaz S.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An amazing service even when free!

Reviewed 2 years ago

GIMP is a pleasant, easy to use and most of all free!

Pros

I have been using GIMP for over 5 years. It's a true alternative to commercial image editors. It is quite easy to use and follows the interfaces of other popular image editors. It is able to produce images for web and other digital media. It has much of the same color palettes and filters available in other software.

Cons

The only major drawback I see is the lack of CMYK support. Those needing to work with the print industry will have to look elsewhere. While there is no customer support the GIMP forum offers many solutions from other users and experts.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Belladonna D.

Consumer Goods, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I pledge allegiance to the best little Image editor on the internet!!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This tool is a very solid image editor . It ranks up there with its much more expensive competitors and delivers first rate quality work, I am very glad for the vast variety of file formats available when I save a project. I am also glad the price is so attractive I can have all my staff and vendors using the same software.

Cons

Gimp is not very intuitive to use. It's hard to figure out how to use the various tools without first viewing tutorials.