App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Lumen5 Logo

AI-based video creating, editing and marketing platform

(26)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Lumen5 Reviews - Page 5

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


138 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andrew Jude S.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best text to video software I've seen so far

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've had a very good experience with Lumen5. I wish it were more affordable. But I'm still a big fan.

Pros

I really like Lumen5. It's super easy to use and provides professional like video from just a piece of text. There is no excuse to start a YouTube channel or post videos regularly on social media.

Cons

It's a bit pricey. I'd also like to see more templates and more animations.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kerushan G.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best software for rapid video making

Reviewed 6 years ago

I needed something that could give our business a quick and efficient production line when it comes to creating video content for clients. This is clearly the best.

Pros

The workflow provides the BEST solution for rapidly producing video content. The speed at which content is produced makes this a clear winner. Also, this software also solves the problem of attribution.

Cons

The range of available stock video footage and music themes could be better.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easily create videos from blogs

Reviewed 6 years ago

Create videos from your blogs and easily repurpose your content.

Pros

I easily created a video with no video editing skills. This is a great way to repurpose my content in video formats. A video will get more engagement than a blog or an article.

Cons

It really begins a pain when it does not extract the actual article from the link but extracts all other paragraphs from the link. I think this will be solved in the future.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Naveen D.

Online Media, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

My social media followers love me more now !!

Reviewed 6 years ago

A good tool to try out to change your blogposts to videos in a short period of time.

Pros

Lumen5 converts all of my blogs into newly made videos which are semi-professional to be honest in the output which gives me an upper hand from my Social Media competitors.

Cons

The only thing which I do not find attractive is the pricing of the service and also during some sessions it doesn't extract all the info from the page.

SG
AvatarImg

Stephanie G.

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

fast but limited way to create informative text based videos for social media

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Fast and intuitive interface simple video and text editor Up to 1080p HD video quality Multiple fonts, though I think only a few fonts work well for this type of videos Square videos for facebook and instagram unlimited videos on any plan :)

Cons

No vertical videos for Instagram stories or Snapchat Limited customization on text placement no way to shorten scenes or add custom transitions

PB
AvatarImg

Prakashan B.

Management Consulting, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Overall VERY Good

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very Good despite some negative experiences here and there!

Pros

Customer support initially was not that great but when communicated in great detail came back with very positive approach. Appreciate that, as you corrected your initial negative appraoch to a very positive one. Thank you.

Cons

Changes that are happening constantly..Maybe fix all the problems fast and make it available all the times.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Claire C.

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Wow! This text to video tool amazed me from the word go!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Convert text to video in minutes! And oh-so-easy to use.

Pros

1. It is free 2. It is smart - it automatically adds images (if you want) that fit the text! And some images even move 3. In minutes, you can have a video, with music, from text

Cons

I don't like that I can't brand it, and that there is no CTA that can be used, unless of course this may be in the premium version which I am not currently using.

JC
AvatarImg

Jesse C.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Very basic advertising product

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I recommend this for small businesses getting off the ground who need to market their product or service.

Cons

As an experienced videographer it is very limited to features.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Leah P.

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I love that this product takes my blog posts and makes them videos

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

This is a wonderfully useful software! It helps me to repurpose my blog into an interesting video that increases engagement in a different way.

Cons

I'd like to have a little bit more flexibility with adding different fonts of texts. I am on a plan that doesn't allow this and I believe it should be part of the simple plans as well.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Manuel C.

Photography, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Improve your SEO with Blog videos

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

If you have a blog, you should know that video is amazing and will help you boost your SEO. You can do it now by using the same content you already have. Just need the URL of an article and Lumen5 will take care of the rest.

Cons

The software can be pricey, but over time will become a really good investment.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Makes video making so quick & easy!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It will automatically pull quotes and imagery straight from your blog every time there's a new post - from there, you can just edit an already (basically) finished product.

Cons

The audio options can be a bit cheesy. I also wish there was a url generated with each video produced, rather than having to download it.

MC
AvatarImg

Megan C.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Frustratingly close to perfect

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, this is a great program for creating social videos at scale. It would be ideal for smaller shops without dedicated design resources. More sophisticated marketing campaigns can supplement work with this tool but must recognize its limitations.

Pros

Lumen5's many stock visuals and audio components make it easy to create social-friendly videos on a variety of topics. The storyboarding feature is relatively intuitive, so it's pretty easy to dive in without much explanation.

Cons

While there are a ton of ways to customize your content on Lumen5, there's definitely a ceiling to what you can achieve. This ends up being a bit frustrating because you get so close but so far.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Quick and easy videos!!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I love Lumen5! I can make quick and eye catching videos to use for marking and to share information. They offer a free plan and the ability to upgrade for better features.

Cons

You can't save your custom branding unless you have the business plan, other than that I don't see any other cons.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alyse N.

1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

LOVED using this for a recent social media mother's day promo I did for my business

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Very easy to upload your own photos and the quality of the stock photos is excellent. The final product was quite impressive. Looks very professional.

Cons

While there are a bunch of music choices, I didn't really care for many of them. The quality on the base priced software was not that great compared to that of the upgraded.

RD
AvatarImg

Ruben Damián L.

Writing and Editing, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Realmente Útil para hacer un video en minutos

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Con un par de clics y un texto, Lumen5 te hace un video bastante atrativo. Se puede editar, cortar, añadir. Bastante bueno para videos inspiracionales para las redes sociales. Lo recomiendo

Cons

no encuentro nada que agregar, cumple su función!

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

EK
AvatarImg

Erik K.

Internet, 501-1,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Make a quick engaging video

Reviewed 3 years ago

overall experience has been good. I am planning on moving up to the paid tier to enjoy the better features and remove watermark

Pros

Ease of use, and ability to get started quickly making quality videos

Cons

Could use more free content to really make it easy to make multiple videos with new content on the free tier

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Thomas W.

Computer Software,

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Rapid video development, but don't think everything is made for you

Reviewed 6 years ago

Convenience in making video without dedicated video tool and expertise.

Pros

Easy to get started in making beautiful cookie-cutter video. Rich content library and intuitive design.

Cons

The content generated by the AI is very basic. In the end, I recreated everything, but it's kind of expected anyway.

ES
AvatarImg

Erin S.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Product!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use this platform to make short trailers to promote my guest on my 2x/week talk show and they LOVE them!!

Pros

Lumen5 is so simple and quick to use to make amazing short videos that look professionally done!

Cons

Haha. That the music options changed... I had a theme song!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Volkan O.

Computer Software,

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Prepare videos fast from your blog posts

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I like the user interface of it. You can prepare videos very fast and it's intuitive. There are enough fonts in the library.

Cons

I think it can supply more flexibility. Text places can be arranged more detailed. Maybe they can consider adding audio too.

AR
AvatarImg

Ashley R.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and works great

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Helpful to make videos easily either of yourself or showing your screen (or both!). Have used it to teach coworkers how to do a few steps of a process and it’s easy to make a video and share it

Cons

Nothing stands out as amazing but there isn’t anything really bad about it either. With videos it would always be nice to get filter options

SB
AvatarImg

Saagar B.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good, simple and colaborative toold for quick video creation

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Is easy to integrate in any workflow, specially if your are using for quick and simple videos e.g for Linkedin

Cons

Usual stuff with admin reletad stuff - e.g invocing and subscribtion

BV
AvatarImg

Brian V.

Design, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Video Creation Software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Fantastic experience!

Pros

Makes creating videos easy. Everything from explainer to marketing videos are no longer hassle.

Cons

A few minor bugs that have been resolved and the lack of a few features that are on the roadmap. Other than that, it's awesome.

mj
AvatarImg

mujib j.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, self-employed

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Video Editor!!!

Reviewed 4 years ago

awesome

Pros

Wide range of royalty-free media music and awesome templates, and flexible uploading methods quick downloading speed well worth upgrading.

Cons

Ability to add voice to script on the free version

MS
AvatarImg

Mike S.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fantastic Software to Convert Article Into Videos

Reviewed 6 years ago

Converting written content into video form is an invaluable service for this era of social media.

Pros

Just add a link and you can use Lumen5's software to create videos rather effortlessly.

Cons

Take some time to fully understand the interface.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Lumen5 for Video posts

Reviewed 5 years ago

I would still use this for promotional or personal use, as free is always great :)

Pros

I like that is free and there are a lot or readily made templates available to choose or edit.

Cons

it is not much user-friendly for beginners.