App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Lumen5 Logo

AI-based video creating, editing and marketing platform

(26)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Lumen5 Reviews - Page 6

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


138 reviews

Recommended

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use to create videos

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Makes creating "social videos" quick and easy. Just import text or point to a URL and it's "ai" will pull out excerpts and stock video to use. You can easily edit the video and the text with limited formatting options. Overall, for a basic social video, it's quick and easy to do.

Cons

The free account requires you to put in a large outro credit to Lumen5. The interface is a bit buggy at times, but not a deal breaker. Depending on the length and complexity of the video, it does take a while to process and create the video.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Yadah K.

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I can't believe this even exists

Reviewed 6 years ago

Those beautiful videos with the text you see all over Facebook and Instagram? You make them with THIS amazing program!

Pros

It uses my SSL to automatically create gorgeous, branded videos of my blog posts! It helps cut them down into bite-sized chunks to better share all over my social media channels, has fantastic soundtracks to use, and the end results are always gorgeous! I was so happy when I discovered this nifty program!

Cons

The sentence length allowed can be quite limiting, but it's optimised for easier viewing which makes it understandable.

SR
AvatarImg

Stephanie R.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Game changer!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's SO easy to turn a blog post into a video- which gets way more attention on social media!

Cons

I wish there was the option for longer videos.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Pharmaceuticals, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product

Reviewed 6 years ago

Excellent

Pros

Easy to create videos. Anybody can create videos

Cons

Nothing to write. I only wish there were more good quality videos.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Basic is too basic

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It was very easy to use and gets you a simple video for free.

Cons

In order to get any type of creative looking video, you must go beyond the free version.

FG
AvatarImg

Florian G.

Computer Games, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lumen 5 Review

Reviewed a year ago

All in all the start was hard but after you get to a point where you know how to work with the basics its fairly easy to use and outperforms most of the other products.

Pros

It is really performant when you compare it to other products. There are many possible ways to use it, when you have figured out how to.

Cons

A more detailed desciption wouldn't be too bad. I felt like it was quite hard to get started with.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nefer L.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Repurpose Your Content Into Video

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been very satisfied using Lumen5 to repurpose old content and share them on my other marketing channels for my clients. The occasional bug will happen because it's a young company, however, I am highly content with their tool.

Pros

Lumen5 gives me the ability to take old blog posts and give them new life by creating short videos from them that look professional and share them on social media or Youtube.

Cons

It would be nice if they expanded their selection of music.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The video creating cloud-based platform to create engaging high-quality videos in minutes.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The best feature of lumen 5 is the automatic conversion of a blog post or written content into video on complete automation and the library of stock footages and HD images.

Cons

I've doubt about their claim that their software use AI to create videos because when you make clip based on the sentence it matches the media to any of word in the sentence based on Media tag or keyword.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A fantastic tool for quick video making!

Reviewed 5 years ago

This tool is fantastic and easy to use. I couldn't ask for more.

Pros

Lumen 5 is one of the easiest tools I've used. In minutes you can make great and eye-catching videos. It is especially great for turning written content into video form. Really really love this software.

Cons

The free trial is limited in the quality of videos you can make and so you will probably need to upgrade.

CH
AvatarImg

Camilo H.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple, painless

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The videos look great, if you make a balance between the time invested and the result is a big win. Simple to use. After 30 min you are ready to start.

Cons

We used it mostly to convert text to video teasers to promote in social media, however we struggled with the fonts and finding a common branding.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Helpful tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Although I was using Lumen5 only sometimes, not on a daily basis, it was helpful for a average marketer. It's easy to make videos and the process is very intuitive.

Cons

The tool is quite expensive. As I was not using it on a daily basis, it was not worth the money at that time.

CJ
AvatarImg

Charles J.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lumen makes vlogs easy

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great way to promote blogs visually as well as creativity YouTube content

Pros

Love the curated content from blogs as well as being able to edit and change as needed.

Cons

If I had anything to change it would be being able to easily use a different image on every slide

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Heather A.

Consumer Services, self-employed

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Perfect for anyone just getting started with video

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

it's easy to use and you can upload a blog post and have it automatically create a video which is a great time saver

Cons

the fact that their branding is at the end of each video but that's only fair as i only use the free version