This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Adobe Commerce Logo

Adobe Commerce

Site content and customer journey management for eCommerce

see alternatives

Adobe Commerce Reviews

Reviews summary

Overall rating

4.3

539

5

4

3

2

1

254

205

66

8

6

85%
positive reviews
92%
would recommend this app
How would you rate Adobe Commerce?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pros

Magento has a very popular community edition, which is free and open source. It's relatively easy to set up, and have a great feature set.

RC

Renato C.

Magento is a great and responsive platform which is essential these days when everyone uses mobile devices and recommend it for e-commerce platforms.

JV

Jefferson V.

There are many free and paid extensions to extend the features. It is very easy to write code, so you don't need to hire a programmer to use this CMS for a great customization job.

mt

magatte t.

Cons

But all this requires a lot of resources. We needed a terribly expensive hosting in order for the online website to withstand the load.

BH

Brittany H.

Which resulted in an almost abandoned and forgotten open souce version.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

I dislike that after signing up for Magento I was bombarded by calls from telemarketers working for them that tried to sell me upgrades and other integrations to the platform.

RB

Rachelle B.

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


539 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ricardo P.

Founder

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Working with Magento

Reviewed 8 months ago

Transcript

Ricardo P.: Hi, I'm Ricardo. I'm CEO, and I give Magento a five-star rating. For more ratings like this,...

Overall Rating

Magento Commerce Review

Reviewed 9 months ago

Transcript

Sonja: Hi, my name is Sonja. I am a customer support representative. I rate Magento four out of five...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

By FAR the best platform our company has used for E-Commerce

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great E-Commerce platform that any small business owner should turn to when hosting their own website platform.

Pros

Magento can do almost everything and anything and there are so many plugins and addon's from the Magento community that pushes it far beyond just a website platform into something else that can really be tailored to fit your websites needs. Our Company came from the Yahoo platform and that was just a 4 wall padded cell compared to Magento which is beyond anything we can fully utilize to its maximum potential for our E-Commerce business.

Cons

There is some learning curve to Magento; however, with a little time it is easy enough to master and ends up having much more functionality and versatility in the long run.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best CMS Platform for E-Commerce Websites

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The security is best compared to other CMS platform such as WordPress, Joomla, etc.

Cons

Little complicated to use the CMS as it's little complex. The cost of themes and plugins is expensive. So if user wants to have base minimum application to develop he / she has to shell too much compare to other CMS platforms.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Magento - great features

Reviewed 3 years ago

My experience with Magento was a bit tough during the learning process but after that it has been awesome. I would always recommend Magento.

Pros

First, I want to say Magenti is not as easy as shopify but with a little bit of learning, I was able to handle it. Magento is an excellent store building platform with great features and customizations. I was able to download Magento open source for free. I love the fact that they have an excellent active global community that's ready to thrash any problem. Did I say this software made for any type of business, products or services.

Cons

Free but I needed to pay for hosting, domain, add ons, payment processing etc. If you want great specs and features then you've to pay.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Magento makes our website look great! There are a LOT of layers to the software.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We are able to manage our website in house without having to hire too many outside contractors. We can personalize and update as things come up. It's nice to be able to have this control at our finger tips.

Pros

There are SO many options for personalizing the look of our website. Also, creating associated SKUs from a configurable SKU speed the process along, especially considering we are multiple clothing lines that we produce and release each year.

Cons

A lot of things that seem "normal" on website we visit cost extra to add to our platform. There is no simple way to bulk price change or discontinue products. We use simple SKUs and configurable SKUs and would think that the information would trickle down from the configurable to the simple SKUs that are associated to it, but they don't. So for price changing, we have to go into every single simple SKU (all sizes within all colors) to make any updates.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

As a developer this software was amazing. As a user there is a lot to cover.

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's a big awesome piece of software, but if you just want to run a simple e-commerce site, it's not for you.

Pros

Magento is rich in features and functionality. As a developer I loved working on this platform, mainly because the developers who wrote it took a lot of care and did things right. If you test it and think it's cumbersome, remember this: it's not built for running a single website; it's built for running a business. I ran 15 websites off one instance of Magento, using cross-site pricing, coupons, and integration to our ERP system.

Cons

It's big and it's heavy. There are ways to make it faster, because you need them. It has a high-ish learning curve for a developer, so do be aware of this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Robust, very flexible, all you need to manage eshop and scale

Reviewed a year ago

E-commerce system with very rich functionality. Admin options easy to comprehend, promo options easy to set up. New options can easily be added via 3rd party paid extensions which makes the process fast and easy. Great ecom platform for big eshops!

Pros

Very robust e-commerce system that handles, hassle free, huge product catalogue and e-commerce traffic. Easy promo setup options, discounts on product and cart level easy to configure, add one easy to apply using third party extensions.

Cons

Setting up the shop and then supporting it is a bit complex and the effort is worth it for big shops with high turnover volumes

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

If you are looking to upgrade your e-commerce experience, Magento is the software to use

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

With the vast list of Magento developers out there, creating extensions and customizations, there really isn't anything you cannot do with Magento. When our website out-grew the smaller platform we were running, we migrated to Magento and didn't look back. It's a powerful system that can work for any size business, but really shows the power on larger websites.

Cons

There is definitely a learning curve and a cost associated with customizations. You get what you pay for in Magento developers, so it's important to find the right one. It will cost you more for doing custom work than other platforms, but once you find the right one, the possibilities are endless and it will last.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Magento is best for the Ecommerce websites ( Note : Magento is Not best if you are not technical )

Reviewed 3 years ago

Magento is Best in case you have a huge structural website like having Multistore - Multi language - Multi Currency but at other end you must have good fund to maintain that. Alternative is Shopify which is easy to use but when you need functionality in shopify its all Compromise.

Pros

- Open Source and Free - Best Community Support - Latest Version updates - Multistore - Multi language - Multi Currency and many more feature which can only Achieve by custom costly development - Best Payment Gateways inbuilt like Paypal, Brain tree, Kalrna etc Best Available Ecommerece Solution in the Market

Cons

- Speed of magento is horrible - Theme is Expensive - Extension are expensive - Developers are Expensive - Complicated Structure

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Community 2.0 version is the way to go!

Reviewed 3 years ago

We've been with Magento for 10 years now and we do not see a reason to go to any other platform as most are subscription based which is not so great for you.

Pros

Great platform to built your Ecommerce website. If you have programming knowledge you are all set! If not, you can hire a Magento Developer to get exactly what you want out of your website. Lots of extensions to customize the user and backend experience. V2.0 has made the backend experience on par with other platforms.

Cons

You need to know how to code to get a well functioning website. It is not as easy as shopify to setup and get running. However there are many developers who you can hire via upwork and other freelance websites.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good for e-commerce websites

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This was a good platform for our global e-commerce website. We did use a developer to build it out but was easy to dive into and help build out some pages to help the project stay on track with launch. You do have to have some background in websites and coding for some parts but most sections it is easy to plug in in the information. They allow you to handle your SEO easily and create up-selling, cross selling and promotions easily.

Cons

I didn't like that there are some glitches but I think that is common for any platform. The glitches do require you to have a developer who is familiar or certified to build websites in Magento.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

good solution to manage and create multistore

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

multistore website is easy to create using this solution, used for large companies

Cons

little bit expensive for mid rand and small companies

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The Great Magento Commerce

Reviewed 2 years ago

My team were able to run a relatively large 10,000 page E-commerce store without many technical issues, more importantly the website was able to get indexed and rank well within Google. Changing products and listing items was relatively simple to do.

Pros

Magento has a wide range of functions and features with the ability to add modules. It is SEO friendly which is critical being able to amend the meta page title, meta descriptions and add in schema markup. A function Google uses to pull in review stars, price, and stock levels within the search results snippets has been invaluable.

Cons

You will need a developer to set up and configure the E-commerce platform properly due to some of its complexities.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It is NOT as simple as it seems to be

Reviewed 3 years ago

If you decided to go with Magento, get ready to work with installing PHP packages, checking your PHP versions, working with XML for any theme customization. Despite all downsides and dependencies/sensitivities of Magento... somehow I still believe that it is a very solid and reliable solution... :-)

Pros

All you need "out of the box" for your e-commerce project. Clean and modern design. Good performance of the store front (front end). Able to handle BIG stores. API friendly. Good official documentation.

Cons

Very sensitive to PHP versions and packages. You do need to be a developer in order to get going with it. Lots of most important stuff is actually done through CLI... so get ready to work with black screen of SSH interface. Slow admin's interface (back end). Requires more server resources (it is almost impossible to run a Magento store on a shared hosting; Magento 2 official docs recommend a minimum of 2Gb dedicated RAM...) I do not like this one, but... real Magento developers are EXPENSIVE... this is not WordPress for you. Very small official marketplace for themes and plugins (extensions), as well as most of them either do not work at all (the free ones) or way too overpriced (those that do work).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great software, but needs a lot of effort to make it work well

Reviewed 4 years ago

A good working e-commerce website based on open source code.

Pros

There is an opens source version that may work all right. I am not a developer and neither a technician and I could set it up by myself. Even when it takes hard work. There are plany of extensions to give your site the look and feel you want. And works well with multi language sites.

Cons

It is recommended for shops that has more than 1 million dollars of yearly revenue. After using it for some years, I see why. I think it can be fine for shops that sell more than 200.000 dollars per year. But it may need to have a developer working on at least some hours per week.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Definitely the best ecommerce platform

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's a really advanced platform so for this reason it might be a bit difficult to use for some, but besides that it's just fantastic. Magento has anything you'd ever need in a ecommerce platform, so that's why I recommend it 9/10 times. That one other time is usually for beginners - maybe they should try something else or at least prepare to learn a lot.

Pros

It definitely has the most extensive feature list, that's for sure! Catalog management, SEO, gift registries, customer service, order management and dozens more! If you want a really advance e-shop, Magento is your #1 choice, that's for sure. Advanced, really customizable, safe, always supported, that's why I love it.

Cons

If you're just a beginner, it might be a little bit difficult for you at first. But once you get used to it, you'll definitely love it. It cannot get better for ecommerce.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good E-commerce Platform.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Modern looking shops with great options of expansion. Multiple Payment options and Secure.

Pros

Many features offered out of the box. Relatively cheap than other products in market. Easier to use when compared with other systems. Many payment options available.

Cons

Development and customization can be time consuming. It can get expensive pretty fast. Reporting features are not that great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Is good, looking forward to future versions

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've always been a big fan of Magento CE and run several stores with that software. So imagine my excitement when I was invited to beta test Project Stratus (Magento Go). That feeling faded when I realized that I was most likely an alpha tester. When Go was launched, I cautioned them that the program was not ready for rollout. The complaints about Go you've read are legitimate; the lack of support,...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best CMS

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Your customers shopping experience could never be better. Absolutely insane amount of custom features, extremely fast, and heavily equipped for SEO. For someone who is versed in web development this software has everything you could possibly want to start your business.

Cons

As with all eCommerce that involve the complexities whether its Prestashop, osCommerce, or Open Cart, and so on. It takes a lot of skill to set up a fully functioning site with the custom modifications that you need. If you are not adept in web development having a site with software like this can be very expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great speed for a big online store

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We have choosed magento as being the best software in it's category, and it did not let us down. The team we hired for developing our store was a top agency in building stores and we finished one monthe later with a top of the line online store. The best thing when you choose Magento, it's that when you ask for something it can be done, that not being the case with other ecommerce platforms.

Cons

The cost is an issue for any startup or business, but it will be very quickly absorbed by the happy cusotmers that would return and the breeze of maintaining a big online store.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Solid eCommerce platform with a quirks

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I'm a Magento 2 Enterprise Cloud user, and I find the bundled services (CDN, Caching, Reporting, etc) to be of great value. They are also PCI compliant and support a wide range of payment methods, shipping, and integrations. The platform is just booming right now and seems to have a great future.

Cons

Magento 2 Cloud Edition comes with a few restrictions for the sake of security. Those restrictions are a problem with extensions that aren't optimized for the cloud version. Cloud is a new product so developers are catching up with the specs. The installation of new features via extensions could also be a problem for non-developers. You will find WooCommerce, Shopify, and Prestashop click based approach more efficient in this aspect.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Not for the beginner or for most users!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I wouldn't recommend unless you have a lot of money and the right team in place. Don't try to figure it out yourself.

Pros

This is such a robust software. you can run many websites and share the same cart. If you know what you are doing magento is super powerful. It's great if you are doing millions of sales per month on your website.

Cons

This is not for most people and even if you have a big company, there are other tools that are easier and just as good. Also for google ranking, it's much better to use a wordpress site. It's very difficult to use and the developers tend to be more expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Expensive, There Are Better Options Out There

Reviewed 3 years ago

This platform is not for first-timers. You have to be very detailed on what you want, and be very aware of the costs involved. It's not a good platform for a small ecomm team to manage on a day to day basis.

Pros

This platform is super customizable, which is a big deal for a fashion brand who is very stringent on their look and feel.

Cons

The time and money it takes to make changes is much more than, say, Shopify. You also have to factor in costs of server performance, which is difficult if you are trying to grow a business and need to forecast traffic in order to make sure your site does not crash during a rush.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

If you build it they will come really should be if you build on here you're stuck!

Reviewed 3 years ago

The platform is not plug and play the way Magento presents it to be. You are really only buying an outlined platform of how your site will approximately look. Most of the real work and heavy lifting still needs to be done in the programming. Not what expensive templates are supposed to deliver. Unless you can hire an in house experienced Magento developer stay away. You will either be taken advantage of and pay way too much for your site's development or be stuck with a foreign company impossible to communicate effectively. Almost all of the well know e-commerce platforms are easier to maneuver and have considerable affordable US based skilled help.

Pros

the ability to display and manipulate graphics is second to none.

Cons

We purchased megento 2.0 platform for our ecommerce site. We asked our friends at Magento to recommend some developers. My partners and I are fairly savy HTML programers and quick learners. We picked Magento because it came with a solid template and touted it's back end admin ease of usage. We figured we would hire a developer to make sure we had a correct skeloton and basic map of what we wanted...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

eCommerce Simplified

Reviewed 3 years ago

Having worked with numerous eCommerce solutions, both free and paid, I would say Magento comes on top as the best ever. It is the best solution for small to large businesses.

Pros

Magento is an easy to use ecommerce solution. It does not require a lot of technical knowledge to manage. It has all the necessary feature required for an eCommerce platform; from Search Engine Optimization to Catalog management. It has a large community thus easy to get support.

Cons

It may require purchasing a few more extensions so as to achieve specific objectives e.g. In case you need a multi-vendor platform, you will have to add another third party extension as Magento itself does not offer that. It may need an experienced developer to customize.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Full display control

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

When I make a website on Magento, I know for sure - how I arranged the elements on the page, so they will be displayed to all users. It sounds a little silly, but only if I have not tried to create my own site. Many designers, especially the free ones, have a display problem, so I'm glad that everything is displayed correctly in Magento, as intended by our developers.

Cons

Out of the box, a certain number of payment systems are available for connection. To add my own payment systems, I need to develop modules myself.