This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Adobe Commerce Logo

Adobe Commerce

Site content and customer journey management for eCommerce

see alternatives

Adobe Commerce Reviews - Page 2

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


544 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Not for the beginner or for most users!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I wouldn't recommend unless you have a lot of money and the right team in place. Don't try to figure it out yourself.

Pros

This is such a robust software. you can run many websites and share the same cart. If you know what you are doing magento is super powerful. It's great if you are doing millions of sales per month on your website.

Cons

This is not for most people and even if you have a big company, there are other tools that are easier and just as good. Also for google ranking, it's much better to use a wordpress site. It's very difficult to use and the developers tend to be more expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Expensive, There Are Better Options Out There

Reviewed 3 years ago

This platform is not for first-timers. You have to be very detailed on what you want, and be very aware of the costs involved. It's not a good platform for a small ecomm team to manage on a day to day basis.

Pros

This platform is super customizable, which is a big deal for a fashion brand who is very stringent on their look and feel.

Cons

The time and money it takes to make changes is much more than, say, Shopify. You also have to factor in costs of server performance, which is difficult if you are trying to grow a business and need to forecast traffic in order to make sure your site does not crash during a rush.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

If you build it they will come really should be if you build on here you're stuck!

Reviewed 4 years ago

The platform is not plug and play the way Magento presents it to be. You are really only buying an outlined platform of how your site will approximately look. Most of the real work and heavy lifting still needs to be done in the programming. Not what expensive templates are supposed to deliver. Unless you can hire an in house experienced Magento developer stay away. You will either be taken advantage of and pay way too much for your site's development or be stuck with a foreign company impossible to communicate effectively. Almost all of the well know e-commerce platforms are easier to maneuver and have considerable affordable US based skilled help.

Pros

the ability to display and manipulate graphics is second to none.

Cons

We purchased megento 2.0 platform for our ecommerce site. We asked our friends at Magento to recommend some developers. My partners and I are fairly savy HTML programers and quick learners. We picked Magento because it came with a solid template and touted it's back end admin ease of usage. We figured we would hire a developer to make sure we had a correct skeloton and basic map of what we wanted...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

eCommerce Simplified

Reviewed 3 years ago

Having worked with numerous eCommerce solutions, both free and paid, I would say Magento comes on top as the best ever. It is the best solution for small to large businesses.

Pros

Magento is an easy to use ecommerce solution. It does not require a lot of technical knowledge to manage. It has all the necessary feature required for an eCommerce platform; from Search Engine Optimization to Catalog management. It has a large community thus easy to get support.

Cons

It may require purchasing a few more extensions so as to achieve specific objectives e.g. In case you need a multi-vendor platform, you will have to add another third party extension as Magento itself does not offer that. It may need an experienced developer to customize.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Full display control

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

When I make a website on Magento, I know for sure - how I arranged the elements on the page, so they will be displayed to all users. It sounds a little silly, but only if I have not tried to create my own site. Many designers, especially the free ones, have a display problem, so I'm glad that everything is displayed correctly in Magento, as intended by our developers.

Cons

Out of the box, a certain number of payment systems are available for connection. To add my own payment systems, I need to develop modules myself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerful but at times complex

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall I like it. There are a lot of developers or extensions out there to help you get everything sorted.

Pros

It is open source and free, allowing you to do pretty much anything you want. It has the freedom of a very powerful blank canvas.

Cons

A lot of the basic functionality needs to be upgraded using 3rd party software and you need to either develop it yourself or purchase from third parties, which can cause many irritations. In addition it is a very heavy program and requires serious computing power to run, which can be costly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Almost Perfect ECommerce CMS for Mega Stores

Reviewed 4 years ago

If you are a megastore and want to add over 1k SKUs for your store, Magento can be Solution for you. If SKU's are below 1k, I would strongly recommend using WooCommerce or Shopify. It 'll be a much cheaper option. Extensions, Themes are quite expensive and plus the developers cost for customization is quite expensive as well. But it's all totally worth it if you are running a store with good earnings and good traffic. Small CMS like WP has always had scaling problems. But not Magento, it is totally built for scaling stores. Not recommended for small business or Startups.

Pros

For Store that has over 500 or 1000 products, Magento is perfect from them. Adding bulk products is quite easy. So many customizations and classes available for generation coupon cases or sale cases. Can easily handle big traffic.

Cons

Have to have basic knowledge of PHP and html. Server has to be good. Atleast VPS or Dedicated. Very complex user interface. Extensions and Themes are extremely expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overall A Great PHP Ecommerce App

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I have in development, project manager over 4 years (enterprise level). The Magento core is designed such a way you virtually can do anything with it. What i liked most about magento is that most of the common ecommerce functionalities are built it, and it save you a lot of money and time.

Cons

I am happy that M2 has been out for last few years. I wish there was a easy option to switch code from M1 to M2. M2 is a platform change, and requires me to rebuilt. I am sure somebody will create a module soon.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best eCommerce platform for small and medium stores

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have recently migrated to magento2 from magento1 and we are very satisfied with the performance of the platform. The migration process was smooth although we needed outside developers help to do so but we got a much better, stable and faster platform with built in Full Page Cache.

Pros

1. Community edition is completely free. 2. The latest Magento2 is way much faster, secure and stable. 3. One can start a store with just the vanilla installation. 4. Readily available hundreds of plugins. 5. Easy interface to manage orders and products.

Cons

1. The latest magneto2 needs good server infrastructure to run smoothly which can be a little bit costly. 2. To change something minute in theme one needs developers help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the best E-Commerce suite

Reviewed 2 years ago

Working with Magento is quite easy, and simple to manage.

Pros

Magento is a very powerful web application to create e-commerce store, with ease, it's highly customizable, it has a quite big community, many plugins, themes to make your store as complete as you need it.

Cons

The non-community version is quite expensive and its no the best for small, medium companies. Also, the themes and extensions are quite pricey compared to others.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A complex but very useful CMS

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

In the online store, created on the CMS Magento, you can functionally manage prices. Due to this function, it is possible for a certain category of buyers to offer individual prices, for example, to give discounts to regular customers. In addition, you can reduce the price for a while. You can also organize various actions, for example "when you buy this product you will receive free shipping or xxx as a gift." All special offers of the store can be collected on one page of the site, and, to make it you can be excellent in design from all other pages.

Cons

CMS Magento is designed for experienced administrators, since the control panel in it is quite complicated, and you will either need to spend a lot of time studying it, or hire an experienced specialist. The main drawback of Magento is the English-language management interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Full featured ecommerce website solution

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

An oldy and a goody. Magento is very mature and is much more modern since their 2.0+ overhaul. Because it's mature, you can find integrations into many other solutions easily... payment gateways, ERP integration, etc. Includes many features that competitors such as WooCommerce charge extra for.

Cons

Not the easiest thing to setup, but it is very capable so it's worth.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Magento eCommerce

Reviewed a year ago

One of the best open source CMS to build robust, flexible and scalable website. You have control over its design lots of management tools.

Pros

Great management tool, SEO feature is top notch. Very mobile friendly and has capabilities for testing. Easy to configure with third party integration. With single install you can manage multiple stores. High support from community.

Cons

Bit expensive if you compare it with the other platforms in the market and if you want the ownership it cost a lot.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Ecommerce Platform for beginners

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Was easy to learn and train others with, love the ability for extensions galore.

Cons

Theres minor issues that majorly mess with my OCD and although it may be how the developers coded something it shouldn't be possible. Such as when needed multiple of the same item of a selected product box, then going to the quantity and making it a 2 the box unchecks itself so you have to go back and check it again before it will add to my products. Small things like that are annoying.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very powerful software, with some complications

Reviewed 4 years ago

A very functional website that caters for complex product scenarios

Pros

Magento is a very powerful piece of software that allows web developers to create almost any possibility. We have developed some very complex products on our website that require formulas to calculate live pricing.

Cons

For admin entry and non-developers Magento can be very clunky and hard to work with. Unlike some rivals that are set up for ease of use. Magento needs developer background and knowledge of coding.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Magento is #1 for any large business!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Amazing program for any large business needing a solid shopping cart system that is also highly controllable on the backend. Our team created an exception website using it, product addition and editing is easy once trained, and the SEO spike helped us tremendously.

Cons

It isn't easy to use for just anyone, you need some training but that isn't difficult to pick up in classes. The only criticism that I have since I do think it is the best out there

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The best customizable ecommerce solution

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The most customizable software solution for all your ecommerce needs. It can scale really quickly, it accept a lot if integrations with api's and you can customize all the processes and needs of your online shop, regardless of the products you sell, being them virtual or phisical.

Cons

It needs a great team to set it up, and also to maintain it's functionality on a daily bases. But in order to achieve great performanses you need a good start

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The most popular open source ecommerca platform

Reviewed a year ago

Magento is overall a good platform to base a medium-size e-commerce operation upon.

Pros

Magento has a very popular community edition, which is free and open source. It's relatively easy to set up, and have a great feature set.

Cons

Since version 2 came out, the developer experience has worsened, as despite using more modern technologies it's a lot more complex and the amount of time spent on fixing bugs has strongly increased.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Ecommerce Platfrom

Reviewed 3 years ago

While its competitors may be "easier" to use, I find Magento to be much more robust and professional. Definitely give Magento a look if you or your ORG are in the look for an upgrade.

Pros

I like the fact that updates are less intrusive than WooCommerce and other competitors. Its also a much more robust option than its competitors

Cons

The only downside I've discovered is the plugin list is thin and a little on the expensive side compared to its competitors.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Incredibly powerful platform for big e-commerce, but takes significant hosting resources to run

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Magento is very functional, with ever possible iteration and variation on an e-commerce style you can imagine. Bundled products, individual products linked and recommended together, alternative sizes / colors / options, etc. No problem. Setting sales up in advance with dates and times set for the sale to start and stop. Bulk editing / uploading of products or product images. Customize the checkout process. Anything you can think to modify or do differently, Magento can do that.

Cons

It's a bit of a learning curve to find your way around and understand how things work, but that's to be expected with something so powerful. The worst part is probably not with Magento directly, but with the hosting companies available. It takes a ton of hosting resources and a lot of hosting sites out there will tout themselves as being capable or even excellent for Magento hosting, but most are not. They are relying on the customer to use Magento for a small-ish store, in which case it might work. But once you start uploading hundreds or thousands of products, it slows to a crawl and is completely unworkable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Informing yet hinder-some to navigate.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I benefited from the software by being able to access data at will without fears of inaccuracies or missing data. It allowed for me to pull data relatively easy for sales reporting in excel and other formats.

Pros

I am a big advocate for detailed date without historical limitations and Magento does a good job at capturing accurate data and listing it in a way that is moderately accessible to its user.

Cons

I am not a fan of the functionality of the product however, I feel the navigations tools are very dated and I am hoping Magento 2 has fixed some of these issues and made the program more modern and less dull.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Need a personalized website then magento is for you

Reviewed 4 years ago

As I mention in the beginning we have our website though magento and not only is it the best web design but also has all the features that you need to have a top of the line website for your business.

Pros

We have our website through magento. The features that are offer are so much more than your basic websites.

Cons

Could be much simpler to use but we have a professional team that we take care of any issues. I do seem to always have to flush the cache

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Open Source Ecommerce Software Great for Flexibility

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great platform worth considering- many brands are just fine on the open source "community" edition that doesn't have any license fees.

Pros

If you have to customize any part of your ecommerce operation, such as a tricky ERP integration, Magento is hands down the best solution.

Cons

The enterprise edition, aka Adobe Commerce, isn't cheap and monthly hosting costs can add up for merchants- but it's still worth it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Magento is one of the top eCommerce software packages

Reviewed 5 years ago

Lots of orders on our site that are processed successfully without much interaction on our end.

Pros

Implementing Magento into our website (and Wordpress site) has allowed us to easily take payments, submit license codes, and send receipts to our users.

Cons

It's complex. VERY complex. If you want to customize it, you need to know programming or be willing to spend lots of money in add-ons that can do what you need.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

E Commerce for all

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I am using Magento for 2 years. It contains everything you need for running your own online shop without having enough experience. You need to be a developer if you need something more complex. However, I think Magento is the best eCommerce framework at the moment.

Cons

I didn't like Magento 1 before. When Magento 2 was released I thought that everything is perfect, but it is not. In my opinion they don't need knockout JS inside framework. It is so complicated and can be replaced with something like Vue Js or similar.