App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Ning for Businesses Logo

Social Networking, Community

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Ning for Businesses Reviews

Overall rating

2.9

/5

12

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6.12/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

nicejob
circle
hivebrite

Pros and cons

Ning for me was a great adventure in learning a new platform.
Wonderful way to connect company-wide with the message boards and chat functionality.
Helped me to create my community, good design studio, ease of use.
I have never had as many problems with a website as I do with Ning. I have never had an experience as bad as I have with Ning.
You will look very unprofessional advertising a website with constant problems, that is constantly offline, and when it is, rarely works correctly. There are better website platforms.
We were also able to prove this with clear emails. But Ning has been stalling us for several months now and refuses to pay us back.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


12 reviews

Recommended

EM
AvatarImg

Elena M.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ning seems to be alive again. Support is cool

Reviewed 7 years ago

I suggested Ning software for building alumni community of my college.

Pros

I saw their new design - it`s cool. It`s a good sign that the company is moving ahead. And I wouldn`t risk to change a tested since 2013 Ning to a new product. Especially now, when Ning adds new features.

Cons

It has been quiet for a long long time. Previous management didn't put any efforts to contact with creators. Let's see what will happen after their big changes.

Vendor response

Elena, thank you! We are aspiring for more and making big changes within to make your user experience better. You are welcomed to share your thoughts with our customer support. Always yours, Ning :)

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Shahram S.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Most reliable online Community Builder site

Reviewed 6 years ago

Great platform for very small staffed community sites!

Pros

We build a Ning site for our Non-Profit community. it grew to 3000 members within 2 year! Since I was the only webmaster, I needed a platform that saves me all the technical work and let me just administrate it, and Ning was the choice!

Cons

Customer support was not as fast, but they did respond by next day. The rss feed modules would not update at times and I had to empty the cache for the site a few time. But no big deal.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Susan D.

Design,

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Ning for me was a great adventure in learning a new platform.

Reviewed 6 years ago

I got my feet wet with online marketing with Ning as my first and still most loved content management system. I learned a great deal.

Pros

I used Ning for three different attempts at building a social network that was self-sustaining over a period of several years. What attracted me to it was of course, having my own niche social network where like-minded individuals can come to support each other in their online or offline pursuits. The Ning community and web site is a niche social site in itself and that is a built-in peer support...

Cons

In the beginning of my Ning journey which was approximately nine years ago, I noticed that there was a great deal of concern by Ning users about some of the developer features and the lack of a member payment feature. For instance, the Facebook sign in feature didn't work right for years. That was a development issue. I believe that most of the earlier development bugs were worked out through...

RO
AvatarImg

Rachael O.

Publishing, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Solid solution for creating a company-wide social network

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Wonderful way to connect company-wide with the message boards and chat functionality.

Cons

It would be nice if the maximum file size limit was increased, as we often have to store files on a separate server and link to them on Ning.

SB
AvatarImg

Sandra B.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Helped me to create my community, good design studio, ease of use

Reviewed 7 years ago

Very easy to use, great support working 24/7

Pros

Design studio, extensive guides and support, forum feature. There are the top. Also I loved that in the future I can create events and send email broadcasts.

Cons

Trial period is only 2 weeks - which is quite short for me, as I needed time to attract members and see how to communicate with them

Vendor response

Thank you for being sincere! We do care and read your reviews, it's our motivation to become better and give more. You know that we are open for discussion, so you can write to our Customer Support as well. Will be excited to chat with you:) Always yours, Ning.

MY
AvatarImg

Monty Y.

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I have never had as many problems with a website as I do with Ning!

Reviewed 4 years ago

My experience with NIng has been an absolute nightmare!

Pros

Ning is fairly easy to use. You can design your own website. It may not work or allow others to join like advertised, but it is easy to use.

Cons

I have never had as many problems with a website as I do with Ning! I have never had an experience as bad as I have with Ning. I started a Ning website on June 26th 2020. Since then, I have had 19 people message me, 19, that said they were unable to join the website because it is 'UNDER MAINTENANCE". Nobody from Ning ever notified me that my website, that I pay for, is constantly under maintenance...

JK
AvatarImg

Julia K.

Online Media, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Stay away from this platform

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We had chosen Ning as a platform for our company. First of all, we were well assisted by the support team in building the website.

Cons

Since our company is based in Germany and we have stricter data protection regulations here than in the USA, we needed a signed contract from Ning to secure data protection. Without this contract, we were not able to publish the website. Therefore, Ning had offered to pause the user fees until we received this signed contract. After almost 1 1/2 years we still haven't received this contract back, despite...

HG
AvatarImg

Heather G.

Publishing, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Cost-Effective Solution for Building an Internal Website

Reviewed 5 years ago

We selected Ning as the platform on which to create what is essentially our company intranet for our franchisees. This has proven to be a cost-effective solution in the early stages of developing our intranet and determining our needs.

Pros

Ability to modify/customize the site's appearance and some layout/features within a selection of pre-designed options.

Cons

It can be somewhat cumbersome for the administrator designing or redesigning the site, depending on the site's purpose and intended use within the member network (as in our case). Also it would be nice to have additional customization options for the site's layout and functionality that a layman site administrator can easily manage.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Used Ning for years

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I like that Ning made a built in paid membership feature. Many many others will only allow a 3rd party software or “patch” to make this work.

Cons

Boxy look and feel. They never allowed for an integrated storefront. I had to do a third party software to sell products.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mark H.

Civic & Social Organization, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Low quality product with unfair customer service.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The ability to create a basic community quickly is nice - but that's about it.

Cons

We did a short trial with Ning, and quickly found the platform lacked a quality UI, was slow to operate, and challenging to customize. Integrations with other systems were essentially a non-starter. The fancy marketing, aggressive sales, and given 14-day trial makes you think you can make progress in a short amount of time, but the indeed the work needed was substantial. When we forgot to cancel in time, even though we never utilized the platform or touched it after our 14 days, they still charged us for a full year of service and refused to provide a fair reimbursement for a product we never used.

LU
AvatarImg

Liza U.

Market Research, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ning is surprising me with new features and updates

Reviewed 7 years ago

I needed close community for my customers where they can share their idea and discuss relevant topics

Pros

I`m pleasantly surprised with new updates. As I know, a new version will provide an opportunity to add and listen to music. I don`t know for sure, but looking forward to.

Cons

When I just launched my network, I needed some educational videos to explain how everything works. But haven't found any materials. And their dashboard could be better

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kadir E.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Horrible service, horrible support

Reviewed 5 years ago

Charged me without authorization, refused to refund for the remaining 30 days of the subscription... Never again.

Pros

Simple, easy to use, good for beginners

Cons

Money-hungry organization, poor customer service, impossible to customize