NodeBB Reviews

NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes

4.67/5 (12 reviews)

Anonymous

NodeBB Review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-08-29
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, I would recommend NodeBB as a forum software to companies who would like to test the very idea of having a forum, or who are not ready to commit to large budgets and extended functionality. If you don't have any resources to write custom CSS, you could rely on one of their pre-made themes, and select from among 10+ skins. If you have design and coding resources, your opportunities will be much greater. NodeBB allows you to have a SSO option, which was a strong requirement for us, and their most basic plan is more than enough for us at the moment. They were also very kind to refund us for a few months at the beginning of our cycle when we were not using the forum, which left us with a great impression and established trust. Repeatedly we reached out to them with a request to develop certain functionality, for which they provided reasonable quotes.

Pros
We've been using NodeBB to run our forum for more than a year. Overall, it's a great *value for money* tool. The interface is relatively easy to use: after a bit of work of understanding where different settings are controlled, two people, one of whom was a trainee, could work it out alright. We like the look and feel it provides, which gives an impression of a website, rather than your average forum with pages and pages of content to scroll through and posts that look like a digitalised list of archives from the national library. The support team is responsive. Since they are a small company they take time to get back, but they almost always could help with the answer, or help to work out an alternative solution. They were one of the first forums to comply with GDPR, which was great news for us.

Cons
Since it's a new platform and a small team, there isn't a lot of learning materials about the software. Because plugins are open to the community to create, they would sometimes interfere with one another and break things. There is no curation to the list of recommended or updated plugins. And there is no quick way to understand if a task could be solved with a plugin or not (could be solved through documentation?). One needs to spend time with the community to work this out.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes

Vamsi Krishna

Neutral review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-09-02
Review Source: Capterra

When we first started building our community, it was so great to be able to setup nodebb quickly without much developer help. Things are very well thought through regarding user onboarding. But as the community grew, many features started to make little sense for a 2k+ community. Things where I would like to see NodeBB put more focus on: - Emails - Design elements (Ex: upvote and downvote buttons are too small & hard to locate. Social share buttons , almost impossible to figure out where they are) - More support in terms of how to build good communities. You have a good software, but most people are unaware what are user communities, how to build & grow them, their advantages etc.

Pros
Plugins are the best feature. There is a plugin for almost every need & its easy to install & use it quickly

Cons
Design can be better, need to do more research on how communities evolve & design patterns to make the product inherently sticky. Email freqency settings are quite poor. Its either spammy or no email at all.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes

Danny Eiden

Great Open Source Forum, Poor Business Decision

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-08-31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
• Infinitely extendable with plugins and widgets • Open source, making it possible to find the source of any issue • The data sent to every page is easily accessible in JSON via API • Great support for forums hosted by NodeBB

Cons
• Plugins and widgets break on every upgrade. It's impossible to keep the system up to date without a lot of effort and developer resources • While the system is extendable, many things that should be built in are either second class add-ons or non existent. We had to build our own search widget, for example. • We have discovered numerous security issues and bugs that NodeBB should have been aware of themselves

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes

Anonymous

My experience with NodeBB

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-08-24
Review Source: Capterra

It's been a great experience! I will certainly use NodeBB again for other projects.

Pros
There are several pros with NodeBB, it as a sleek design, not like old forums from the 90's. It's fast, I mean really fast. Functionalities as onsite chat makes the difference. The way it's built... to scale, that's a big plus.

Cons
The installation process is not that friendly, but, that's on the installer. Another con would be the lack of features as more mature alternatives do have, but, it's understandable, NodeBB is rather young with a 1.10 version.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes

Arie Stavchansky

Doing it the right way

Used weekly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-08-24
Review Source: Capterra

I want my users to share knowledge about our software products and video post-production techniques amongst themselves. To that end, it works well.

Pros
That it is both open sourced and that it can be hosted by the developer. The forum is both supportable and portable because of that. It's got a very nice user interface and I think it's just easy to get around, and it's responsive. Every part of the UI is clean and modern, and they've built it to accept many third-party integrations.

Cons
I wish there were more themes for the forums. There are alot of switches to see which fonts / colors work. I do like how it's very open, but it's not immediately obvious that in some cases those third party integrations cost additional fees.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes

Anonymous

Great! API needs documentation

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-08-24
Review Source: Capterra

Using it as a community for hyperPad. Deployed using a docker container. Lots of different themes and examples of how to use things. Built in package manager (though might be tricky when using docker)

Pros
Easy to install, good extensions. Writing extensions is easy.

Cons
The API has no documentation. Wanted to make some integrations, but couldn't figure out how to authenticate from a third party.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes

Anonymous

Modern Forum, easy to use, with many features

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-08-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
NodeBB is easy to setup, easy to personalize, and easy to administrate. There are several useful plugins that can be installed from the rich community.

Cons
Not all plugins have the same quality, meaning that compatibility of some of them can break when upgrading the forum.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes

Anonymous

Good forum software

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-09-06
Review Source: Capterra

A very active development team that is looking to improve their software. The forum software itself is pretty straightforward to use. We have it hosted by them so I couldn't say what it's like on the back end, but everything works for us on the front end.

Pros
It's open source, very customizable. Their hosting plans are very competitive compared to similar competitors. The user interface is very modern. Their customer service is very quick to respond.

Cons
The UI isn't consistent in some areas, it's a bit of a tinkerer's software. I wouldn't put it as enterprise ready.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes

Russell Saks

Best "Forum" software there is

Used monthly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-08-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Modern and easy to use interface for customers. Leaves the old "forum" look behind and brings new age tech to discussion boards.

Cons
Backend could be easier to use. Make it look more the the frontend

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes

Danny Gibbons

Great Forum Software

Used monthly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-09-04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Clean and easy to use front facing software that has modern aesthetics

Cons
Backend could use visual work. Would like it to resemble more of the front end.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes

Mikey Goldenberg

Forum for College Radio

Used occasionally for free trial
Reviewed 2018-08-30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The backend was simple and super user friendly.

Cons
The peer to peer engagement could be stronger

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes

Anonymous

NodeBB is the best option, without a doubt

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-08-24
Review Source: Capterra

It helps build a community.

Pros
It's modern. It has modern features. Competitor platforms don't come close to being able to offer as slick of a solution. I like how easy the plugins are to use.

Cons
I don't have many complaints. It's pretty awesome.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


NodeBB

Community solution for businesses of all sizes