App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

PaintTool SAI Logo

PaintTool SAI

Raster-based graphics editor

see alternatives

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

PaintTool SAI Reviews

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


9 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sukesha W.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great option for graphic design

Reviewed a year ago

Overall it has been a good experience using PaintTool SAI

Pros

The feature i like best on paint tool SAI is the user friendly interface, it is very easy to edit images using this software, it is much better than the microsoft paint that comes preinstalled on windows.

Cons

The only feature they can improve on is giving more editing options for images, other than that i did not find any issues using the software.

GG
AvatarImg

Gal G.

Design, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Benefits and struggles of Paintool SAI

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Great variety of tools and modifiers to each allows you to customize your brushes, erasers, etc to your liking. Paintool SAI has a more lightweight feel compared to other painting softwares, allowing you to have a more fluid workflow

Cons

Lacks the variety of tools other softwares in the industry have. Its interface looks a little outdated, despite its tools being a good match against other softwares.

TO
AvatarImg

Travis O.

Arts and Crafts, self-employed

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

An Introductory Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

I learned so much using this program, and it worked well with multiple drawing peripherals. But at it's current price point, I cannot recommend it over other options.

Pros

The basic tools in SAI are intuitive and easy to use out of the box. It is a great way to learn the basics of digital art.

Cons

The software has some clever tools and features, but isn't as robust as a program like Clip Studio Paint. Anymore, I'd recommend GIMP as an introductory software. GIMP's open source model really broadens the capabilities and versatility of an ever changing art scape.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Souleymane D.

Mining & Metals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The drawing software for digital artists.

Reviewed 9 months ago

PaintTool SAI is indeed a wonderful drawing software that assists its users in various ways, such as the line stabilizer feature, which allows for smooth drawing by reducing hand tremors.

Pros

PaintTool SAI offers a variety of drawing tools that are highly favorable for illustrators and manga artists. It also supports layers, allowing users to combine or overlay elements without complexity.

Cons

What I like least is perhaps the coloring tool, which, in my opinion, doesn't assist me much with my fillings or flat colors.

LP
AvatarImg

Lorenzo P.

Performing Arts, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Intuitivo

Reviewed 4 months ago

Ho utilizzato questo software quando ancora ero uno studente e soprattutto quando mi sono approcciato per la prima volta al disegno digitale con tavoletta grafica e mi sono trovato benissimo

Pros

Il software è molto semplice da utilizzare ed e’ perfetto anche per i principianti o studenti che si stanno approcciando al disegno per cartoni animati o fumetto

Cons

Un po limitato dal punto di vista dei menu’ e tools

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alexa H.

Arts and Crafts, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good whay to start

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

This is a good software, easy to learnd and is the perfect tool to those that are starting on the digital art

Cons

I think they could put a dark mode on it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Claudia P.

Public Relations and Communications, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It's good

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

PaintTool SAI proved to be a safe ally, always allowing me to recover works etc. Not all softwares have this option and I find it really life-saving.

Cons

I think PaintTool SAI isn't that permissive in fact on brushes compared to other softwares. Others allow more, but this one is kinda restrictive.

AK
AvatarImg

Asif K.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PaintTool SAI

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's a very lightweight application and rarely crashes.

Cons

It is lacking more options for image editing.

SH
AvatarImg

Sabina H.

Design, self-employed

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PainTool SAI for digital artists

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is really great software for digital art. I enjoy drawing in it with my wacom tablet. It is easy to use and learn.

Cons

It would be nice if the design would be updated a little bit more.