This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Shopify

Everything you need to sell anywhere. Trusted by 160k stores

see alternatives

Shopify Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


3,897 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best e-Commerce store

Reviewed 2 years ago

Simply love the DIIIIINGGGG on my phone when I get a sale :) Honestly, it is quite easy to use it and lots of material on the help center plus I was positively surprised with their technical support, on many occasions they were very professional and very helpful. Add shipping costs for all the countries is kind of painful hopefully you guys will make some option to add the same rule for all the countries or something, at the moment we are using a plugin for that but would prefer the option available on Shopify

Pros

The best part about the Shopify is that allows you to code on the offered themes, but even if you are not an advanced developer their support is always there to guide every step of the way.

Cons

One thing that hopefully is soon going to be fixed is to be able to track the sales in more details and also be able to tell if the order is fraudulent or not. But for the latter, they come up with a good solution, not the ideal one but it gives me comfort.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A good tool for developing online stores

Reviewed 5 months ago

I must admit that since using Shopify my store conversions have increased, this is due to the UI, because it is much faster and more effective than WooCommerce (which sometimes gets slow in the Checkout section) with Shopify I have never had any problems in operation. And the support is very good.

Pros

It is the most complete platform to develop an online store, it has a good UI, it is very fast and intuitive for customers, it depends on the theme you choose but most of them are very fast and functional. I like that it has a marketplace of applications that can be integrated to improve the performance of my store.

Cons

The sales commissions are the disadvantage of this company, 2% per sale in the basic plan. When selling in high volume the amount is very high. When I use a lot of applications the amount I have to pay monthly for my store increases. I also don't like that being a SaaS platform the store code belongs to Shopify, so if I want to migrate my website I can't, I can only migrate products, customers and other limited features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great small business e-commerce platform

Reviewed 7 months ago

Shopify was relatively easy to setup and manage. Their large marketplace of add-ons and app integrations makes Shopify a vital e-commerce tool. For simple inventory and price tiers, Shopify is the best choice.

Pros

Easy to setup web store with multiple app integrations make Shopify the go-to e-commerce platform for many small businesses. Inventory control, customer tracking, and website builder are among the better features. Access to marketing tools and add-ons make Shopify a very powerful tool.

Cons

Shopify has issues with multiple price tiers, multiple brands, and specific types of discounts that have item exclusions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Experiences from using Shopify over 5 years

Reviewed a year ago

I would give shopify top marks if it wasn't for the duplicate customer issue. Had I know about it I would never have chosen it in the first place.

Pros

It is very flexible and does most things for a simple shop using the free themes and apps, however you will need IT skills to customise it further - or pay for specialised apps. It is fairly easy to manage customers and orders using online or the POS application.

Cons

The major omission is the inability to merge customer accounts - which often happens when customers change email or mistype when placing orders. What is worse is that this has been requested by many many merchants for over seven years via multiple support and feature requests and in a dozen or so threads on the community forum and shopify have simply ignored it. As I run a primarily magazine subscription business having a clean customer database is essential.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Highly recommend for all eCommerce

Reviewed 2 years ago

I can't imagine using any other platform for our website/sales home base. We actually acquired another company using a different platform for their website and are looking to migrate as soon as possible.

Pros

Shopify is both simple and powerful. An individual could easily set it up on their own, but there are lots of options and great features if you have a team/experience.

Cons

While you can achieve most things via the various apps that are available, there is some functionality that seems like it should be available natively in Shopify. For instance, there isn't built-in functionality for customers to filter products while browsing. If you have more than just a few products, this is very necessary. You can take care of it with apps, but it would nice if things like this were available from Shopify out of the box.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best E-commerce Platform

Reviewed 7 months ago

I moved over from a different e-commerce platform and the difference between them and Shopify could not be more apparent. Shopify's tech support is eager to help and well-informed. Their pricing is reasonable for the service. Their app store is excellent, and their website templates are great.

Pros

Shopify is well priced and has an extensive app library that you can purchase and install. This makes Shopify very customizable to your business needs.

Cons

There are some features that I wish were built in for better functionality... like the ability to have nested product options. However, most problems have app solutions (including this one) and although the solutions are sometimes clunky and more pricey than I'd like, they work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Shopify has no competitors

Reviewed 5 months ago

Nothing but good and more good. Every issue I have ever had was resolved properly

Pros

Ease of use and by far the best customer service I've have had with an online product and I have used them all.

Cons

It can get pricey with app you could use but dollar for dollar It suits me best and is the best fit for the sites I manage as well

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best E-commerce platform in the market

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have tried several similar platforms but Shopify is hands down the best E-commerce platform in the market. Definitely will recommend to all new entrepreneurs who are trying to learn drop shipping.

Pros

Shopify is the best platform for drop shipping and also for retailers who want to take their shop online. Anyone with no previous experience with web designing can also easily set up a shop and start selling globally. The dashboard is very user friendly and they also have tips and instructions displayed upfront to help you set up easily. It also has a 14 day trial that allows you to set up things...

Cons

Shopify has no cons to be honest. Everything works fine from the day you set it up and you do not need to patch or upgrade anything ever. The basic fee per month is also money well spent for all the amazing features. Its all just upto you to market your products and get sales to keep ur shop running.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Value for your Money

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Shopify provides you with the solid framework to create a successful webstore very easily and for a good value. The templates they have available are reasonably priced and allow you, if you have an eye for design and a head for layout and organization, to make a very high quality and professional looking webstore with only a little effort. I really appreciate that Shopify provides a "all in one solution"...

Cons

I really don't have many complaints. I wish I had more access to certain reporting features, but I CAN have access if I choose to upgrade my plan. But thats on me, not Shopify, because I choose to stay at the basic plan. There was one day, in the last six months, where they seemed to have trouble processing and loading and hosting my site -- but one day in six months isn't bad.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great potential and possibility, but cannot skip tech spend

Reviewed 3 years ago

Shopify is riding a popularity wave right now which makes integrations plentiful and easy. Their CDN is fast and dependable. If you dedicate a decent development contractor budget, you'll be fine. If you try to do it solely on your own, it is very time consuming.

Pros

The interface is easy enough to understand that, even if a programmer has rewritten the entire site in unique liquid code, someone unfamiliar with the platform could verify order information, write blog posts, refund customers, etc. Businesses require collaboration so this is certainly advantageous. Plugins/apps don't crowd the original UI so your main menu will always stay the same. Finally, Shopify...

Cons

Always another tech language that's used, always another developer required. Customization nearly always requires a developer if its beyond swapping photos or fonts. Products with complex dependent variants do not work past a certain number of options. Limited. Be very wary of Shopify's app for Google products (ads, tags). These are essential for remarketing and configuration is often better done through coding and google than one of shopify's apps.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Shopify is a great e-commerce solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall Shopify is a great platform for having an online presence in the e-commerce world.

Pros

Shopify is easy to set up, easy to use, and easy to begin making money (provided that you have customers). Their platform integrates with tons of other software, apps, and features. They provide very aesthetically pleasing themes (both free and paid), and their app store is full of add-on services to help optimize your e-commerce business.

Cons

Shopify can be a bit expensive if you go for the middle or highest tier. Also, there is a bit of a learning curve for optimizing your store (particularly if you are using drop shipping).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Online Store Builder for Beginners

Reviewed 3 years ago

I will say the first time I used Shopify I was very impressed with how easy it was to work in. I got a call from a friend who runs a non-profit. He had his designer bail on him after saying he would start the project in Shopify. I took at look and after getting into the system it was clear the other designer had done nothing with my buddy's web site. I had never used their system before but the...

Pros

- Really easy for beginners to build an online store; you can literally build a store in a matter of minutes - Does not require any coding knowledge - Excellent interface to work in - Great built-in tools for working with social media networks - Fantastic choice if you have a small inventory and are wanting to dip you toe into the e-commerce world cheaply

Cons

- Reporting is a bit lack luster for medium to larger businesses - Inventory tracking is not good if you need more than just quantity on the shelf - If you have a lot of products and skus it can become hard to manage products; their system is truly targeted to smaller merchants or business owners selling out of their garage - Does not sync with Desktop accounting software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

the BEST e-commerce software available

Reviewed 3 years ago

THE BEST PERIOD. no other e-commerce platform compares.

Pros

Shopify has many benefits: 1) extremely easy to navigate platform - they make everything so user friendly and beautiful. tons of images to visually keep you engages and interested while using 2) shopify blogs, help articles, education portal, and resources are AMAZING. This is the single best company I've ever seen that offers so much education and help for FREE. This is very helpful for a small business owner doing everything yourself. 3)thousands of apps available to further the shopify experience and add to your store to do anything possible. 4)cost effective - they offer so much for the most basic plan and you can even pause your subscription whenever you need to

Cons

sometimes the apps are not quality made and can slow down your store or not work properly, and sometimes you can't find help on really detailed things that are related to coding/building your site in a customized way. I also don't like that only the first page in your site is drap/drop and easy to create without coding/html experience, and all other pages you add have to be custom coded. This is not easy for 90% of the population who are not web developers. If they can do it for the landing page, they should provide it for any page you want to add to your site. I'd even be willing to pay more.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Shopify Perks & Shortcomings

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, Shopify is the clear leader in their industry. Do they have shortcomings? Sure. But compared to their competitors, the shortcomings are few and far between. After all, no system will ever be exactly perfect to your unique business unless you decide to build your own software which comes with the glitches and lack of functionality that building your own software entails.

Pros

AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE. Shopify is entirely unparalleled in this regard. Their live chat option is not only convenient but staffed by PEOPLE WHO ACTUALLY KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT! They are not an outside tech support and it is clear how well each of them is versed in the system and its capabilities. Another amazing feature about Shopify is the plethora of apps that are available in order to customize your system (many of which are free!). This means that if Shopify is lacking in any way in terms of your particular business needs, there is definitely an app for it.

Cons

1. They dont allow for multiple warehouses/locations in their inventory system! 2. They dont allow for cost of goods (COGs) vs. Retail pricing in their system which means it is completely useless for any inventory management or accounting needs 3. Their inventory system doesn't have an "inventory taking" system built in which means it has to be done manually (NOT an option for anyone who has ever had to actually manage an inventory. which i assume is ALL of us) Overall, their shortcomings are ENTIRELY within the inventory department which is such an essential aspect of running a business and book keeping.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

No-Brainer For Startups

Reviewed 2 years ago

Seriously awesome tool for start-ups. A little room for a few improvements, but overall, would definitely recommend.

Pros

Great e-comm product. Easy to use, easy to build reports, and if you're looking for a little more customization, it's easy to find the plugin you need. Customer Support was quick and helpful (I should mention that my experience has been with Shopify Plus, that has a chat system). It integrates seamlessly with most platforms.

Cons

It started to get a little tricky as we expanded as a business. For one, you can only have one system admin. This became a headache as we had to hunt down the 1 person who could approve a charge, before moving forward with anything. It also got a little trickier to work with as we wanted to move further from "out of the box" Shopify set-up. Custom PDPs, etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Is Shopify A Good E-Commerce Platform?

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have nothing but good experiences to now with Shopify. There have been times when we had to enlist the support team to work through issues, and they were there every time to get things right fast. That is why I still maintain stores on the Shopify platform.

Pros

I have used Shopify for some of my e-commerce stores for 18 months and have had a good experience with the platform. It is very easy to set-up and gets to the business of selling quickly. For the new person who is entering the e-commerce online marketing segment, that will help a lot. Rather than working through the challenges of setting up a website and designing it so it works well, you have a ready solution and can upgrade later as you gain experience with widgets and add-ons that will work seamlessly with the platform and help you sell more.

Cons

I do think that over time the costs go up too much for using the platform. Initially, it will not cost much, but as you grow your business, the monthly costs will go up for using the platform and any add-ons that you may use. This is not really a con in some way since you are going to be earning more. It is something that the entrepreneur needs to be aware of and plan for. As in any business, there is a cost for having the resources you need.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Solid platform with some odd challenges

Reviewed 2 years ago

I love the reporting and scalability features of the Shopify platform. It is slightly expensive for a start up so I caution store owners to be careful going all in as the store sales may not support the expense for a while. If you're running a solid store with regular sales, you're in good shape. The apps and marketing channel features make it a great platform to grow a business with.

Pros

I love the experience that Shopify has in the field of ecommerce. They have been in the trenches long enough to have covered most of the pressing issues for online store owners. They offer a great variety of apps to enhance the functionality of the store. One of their best features is the use of their shipping account. The pricing is great for your customers and it is simple for you to manage. Shipping calculations have historically been a huge challenge and they have done a good job of addressing that.

Cons

The support is slightly lacking in my opinion. The techs are all polite but too often you are met with a "we don't support 3rd party themes" response/brush off. I understand that they shouldn't have to troubleshoot a problem that is the result of a 3rd party or custom theme, they should be able to provide some basic direction on where to look for a solution instead of just referring you back to the developer of the theme. In many cases, we purchase themes from a membership site like Envato and it comes with no support. It's a problem that begs a solution. I'm disappointed in Shopify that they haven't recognized the issue and addressed it in a more proactive manner.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best E-commerce Platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

we recommend Shopify as the first choice for e-commerce sites. As it has tons of features, extremely easy to use, fast, secure, and much more. This is the reason why most big brands like the New York Times Shop, Penguin Books, Red Bull, and even Tesla uses Shopify for their e-commerce websites.

Pros

Secure: Most of the people might prefer Shopify for their e-commerce store or website because it ensures the safety of their platform. As many of these stores have to deal with the credit cards, so they cannot go for self-hosting. Fast and easy to use: Using Shopify means less loading time for your web pages, which also means faster means of business. Plus Shopify handles your PCI compliance as well. Moreover, you have easy access to all your business aspects whether it is sending/receiving payments or customizing your store, Shopify has it all.

Cons

Charges: Shopify comes with all these amazing features but none of it comes for free. You will have to pay a decent amount for that. Besides the monthly fee, you will have to pay a transaction fee if your buying or selling something to a third party. Other than that, you will have to pay if you install any app. Marketing: If you are used to working on Wordpress, then Shopify is not the kind of site you'll like. Shopify does not have a good solution for the content marketing of blogs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for Larger Businesses - Not for Smaller

Reviewed 2 years ago

Shopify is still a software that I would revisit if I were to grow beyond what I can handle with my Etsy and Square current combination. Shopify has a lot of positive things to it that I can see would be incredibly useful to larger companies, but after over a year of using the software for eCommerce, it wasn't working for my incredibly small business. ROI just wasn't there - more because, I'm sure, I wasn't taking advantage of some of the features because I frankly couldn't handle the expense. If you've got more of a budget for eCommerce, advertising, and website management, this is a great piece of SaaS.

Pros

The flexibility to create/control my entire website was nice. There are quite a few functions that are absolutely critical to successful retail, like coupons, abandoned carts, etc. It's great for having multiple brands as well, as you can indicate which brand is attached to which item if needed.

Cons

You need to add apps for almost everything. I spent more time managing my website than I did creating new items while I was using Shopify, and I got little to no return on it. There are apps for importing items from other sites (like Etsy), apps for mailing lists, apps for just about everything you can name. Most of them cost - so there is more to the cost of Shopify than the monthly fees.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to set up and maintain

Reviewed a year ago

As a small business owner, I like that I can go in and edit and maintain my website myself. I have complete control (within the limitations of the theme) to go in and edit or add listings. I was able to migrate my Etsy listings over to our Shopify website and then just go in and tweak them a bit, which saved me a lot of time and energy. There is a learning curve, as with anything, but I find it fairly intuitive and easy to use.

Pros

I like that it's fairly intuitive and there are so many apps that integrate well with Shopify. The price point is fair, and I'm able to build and maintain my e-comm website myself.

Cons

I can't really think of anything that has come up that I didn't like. I'm currently using a free theme, which has limitations, but there are paid themes that you can get to suit your business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Shopify is great for Startups

Reviewed a year ago

Overall experience is good. Its very useful for startups as withing few weeks you have a store ready and you can goto market faster than other solutions.

Pros

Shopify is a SaaS ( Software as a Service ) and is very easy to use. Customizing is easy with liquid templating engine. Plugins economy is robust and helps you in providing new features in minutes. Also they manage the infrastructure so user need not worry about hosting. Even a complex system like multivendor marketplace can be installed and setup in a day max.

Cons

As its SaaS service, you dont control the software, so you cant go to some other service provider. You are captive. Shopify dont give you control of checkout pages in lower plans. So you have to use what is available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is all you need to start that E-Commerce site!

Reviewed 10 months ago

We love managing our online store using Shopify. Everything from the dashboard to the pre-made templates make it so easy to navigate and succeed as a store owner. Shopify cares enough about their customers to actually celebrate with us so that's a super bonus! We love to hear that "Ching" that happens on the app as sales come in!

Pros

Shopify made it extremely easy for us to setup and manage our online store! We were setup and ready to go within a day, and that's with extreme customization added! We would have been good to go on the first day if we wanted to just put up some products for sale and promote them!

Cons

The only thing we could complain about is the price point and that it would be better if they had some sort of non-profit discounts.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Shopify won my business.

Reviewed 25 days ago

10 out of 10. Shopify has exceeded my expectations. From ordering, to questions, to supplier links, they are on their game. I'm honestly impressed.

Pros

Not only is this platform quickly becoming the "cool kid" in e-commerce, it has features that link you to an array of suppliers. This includes small businesses (i.e. that lil shop in NJ who does amazing giclee prints with a high profit margin!) as well as large. (I.e. printify) The cost per month is low, and if you're just starting out and broke, they don't shut down your store if you can't make that first payment. They simply email a later date they will be processing it. This site is easy to navigate and completely user friendly. Total win.

Cons

I would LOVE more unique storefront templates with a cool font selection. That's the artist and marketer in me talking though.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Shopify is an absolute MUST for e-commerce.

Reviewed 2 years ago

When I first launched my online store, I used squarespace. After a year, I switched to Shopify because we could easily adjust the shipping fee for the different countries. Plus, Shopify has that connection with FB, Instagram, Pinterest, and Amazon .. you can't beat that.

Pros

There are so many things I love about Shopify and their customer service is at the top of the least. They have 24/7 availability to chat live with a representative. As an entrepreneur, sometimes you are working late into the evening (past midnight) and someone is always available to answer your questions! I am floored by this. And if they do not have an answer, the representative will reach out to other employees and email you back with the solution. Excellent service.

Cons

There isn't much I don't love about Shopify. They connect with FB and instagram and sell on those platforms, they provide excellent analytics, easy information for shipping internationally, and many templates and apps to help elevate your business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I should have switched to Shopify sooner!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Shopify customer service is pretty amazing. They are knowledgeable and easily help you with anything site related. Customer service is not quick to get you off the phone, they truly seem like they want to help me succeed and even offer up suggestions on things I didnt know about for my store...I feel like each time I have had the need to contact customer service, not only do they resolve whatever issue...

Pros

Anyone can create a great looking website with little effort or knowledge about building websites. A little bit of a learning curve but after that I found Shopify to be quite easy to use.

Cons

I really dont understand the need for all the apps. It forces you to have to speak with third parties when issues arise with the apps. I feel the majority of the apps offer features that should already be integrated within Shopify but since the apps I've needed are free (for now) Im ok with this. I know big commerce uses apps too.