This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Shopify

Everything you need to sell anywhere. Trusted by 160k stores

see alternatives

Shopify Reviews - Page 6

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


3,942 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Why Shopify beats it's competitors

Reviewed a year ago

Overall experience with Shopify was extremely satisfactory. I have been happy with the product since day one but have only had quarrels with the pricing

Pros

The ease of set up, use and management of a store. Order processing is also extremely easy to use and applications available to fully automate sales and delivery

Cons

The pricing is a bit too high for the software. If the pricing structure was a bit cheaper lots more companies would use Shopify as a selling platform instead of having separate payment providers, web hoster etc

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Shopify was just Better!

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, I think this could be a really awesome product... But that's only if you have money up front to invest in it.

Pros

I really like that this software is easy to integrate with so many other different platforms.

Cons

I don't like the price of needing certain features in order to make everything work together smoothly. I kind of just felt let down once my free trial had ended.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I increased sales tremendously with Shopify

Reviewed a year ago

Excellent. I am so happy that I moved over to Shopify from SquareSpace. Nothing wrong with SquareSpace, I just wanted to have a more retail-centric site, instead of just an add-on store. Using Shopify has made it very easy to post my products on Instagram, where my customers are.

Pros

Everything was fairly easy to set up, except for running into trouble with my domain transfer from SquareSpace, but I got plenty of help from Shopify Support - and quickly! I like that there are many website themes to choose from to best suit my needs and that they are all customizable to a large degree. I also like that there are many available apps to add functionality (payment plans, compare products) and enhance the site (google and yelp reviews).

Cons

I wish that Shopify itself had many of the features that I have gotten via third party apps so that Shopify Support would simplify resolution of any issues I have.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Votre boutique en ligne doit passer par Shopify

Reviewed 10 months ago

Quand j'était novice sur l'application je me sentais perdu, il ne faut pas hésiter à passer à la version payante pour bénéficier de plus de liberté, la version gratuite est assez limité. On a plein d'information de disponible sur le net concernant l'utilisation de Shopify, je me suis beaucoup aidé de pro donnant leur explication, j'ai pû monter un site correct. Je ne suis pas un pro encore, j'ai une grosse marge de progression...il faut du temps

Pros

Pas la peine d'être un expert pour utiliser Shopify. Shopify est une boîte à outils super simple dans laquelle beaucoup de choses sont déjà mises en place. La configuration facile de la boutique de nombreuse applications sont présentes dans leur catalogue, gratuite ou payante. Possibilité sa boutique en ligne au fur et à mesure qu'on le maitrise. Un débutant avec de nombreux conseils avisé peut faire une belle boutique en ligne. De très nombreux tuto disponibles sur youtube, preuve de son succès.

Cons

Une présence professionnelle sur le web dans un contexte de e-commerce nécessite un long apprentissage et de nombreuses étapes et leçons à apprendre en cours de route, mais pour les développeurs et entrepreneurs dévoués, l'application Le temps peut être long pour apprendre toutes les fonctionnalité. Shopify est un outil vraiment viable pour établir une présence sur le web dans le domaine du e-commerce. Beaucoup de choix d'application à rajouter. Pas vraiment de point faible à signaler, c'est un outil qui prend du temps à maitriser

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Almost perfect E-commerce platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall it’s a great platform.

Pros

Shopify is easy to learn and use, and makes getting an E-commerce platform up pretty simple. Pros: - Easy product uploading - Easy to install themes - Seo settings work well

Cons

My biggest con with Shopify is not being able to change the checkout sequence. There are way too many steps between the cart and the checkout. The more times someone has to click next or fill out more fields the less likely thy are to complete the checkout (that’s proven). There is no option to change this unless you have the enterprise plan for around $15,000.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best E-Commerce Platform on the PLANET.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Love Shopify. Over 10 different online stores with Shopify currently running and I love every second of it! Great software!!

Pros

Shopify is the greatest E-Comm platform around and here's why. You can build a 1000+ product online store in under 5 hours (assuming you have your inventory database completed). You can import a theme from Shopify and give your store a beautiful, mobile optimized design, import your products, and launch your store so fast it will make your head spin. Shopify Payments is really easy to set up and really eliminates the whole "merchant service" middle-man piece that used to be an annoying step in building an online store. You also have full access to liquid html and CSS that can be easily customized, especially if you are a well-versed coder, and make your site as custom as you'd like...just stay within the general guidelines otherwise it may not optimize as you'd like.

Cons

The monthly fees are a little high especially in the higher tier membership options, but it is a very good software and definitely deserves the entry level fees they charge. Other than that I have no complaints.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

User friendly platform

Reviewed 6 months ago

We really like working with Shopify, it's super user friendly so everyone from out team can jump in and help whenever needed. The reporting is great, you can easily check all the data you need, the payment process is quite simple, and the checkout page is great.

Pros

We love that is is really use to use, to manage the products and check the orders. It is very user friendly, which is really helpful when you have a large team. The checkout process is pretty straight forward and works great. And you get a lot of that and analytics easily.

Cons

It'd be great to be able to customize more, like the product pages and collection pages. It requieres advance coding for it. And all of the apps you need to enhance the site and marketing make the pages slower.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Shopify Product Review

Reviewed a year ago

Very pleasing.

Pros

To be entirely honest, everything about Shopify is a huge plus. It's a game-changer in the eCommerce industry and if any business wants to keep up with online sales, Shopify is the only way to go.

Cons

Not many cons, I would say. Took a few days to get the hang of their user dashboard. However, it's robust features, hundreds of apps, and hundreds of themes, are more than enough for their pricing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Shopify helps grow your business

Reviewed 4 months ago

My website has been up for about 3 years and continues to grow. Shopify has allowed me to grow and expand and go from minimal products to tons. They have the capacity to support any need.

Pros

They are always updating and finding ways to make their software work for their customers so we can do our best for out customers. The integrations and ability to reach multiple marketing platforms simultaneously is essential. Their customer service is also top notch.

Cons

Sometimes you need to know a little top much computer programing when setting up or rearranging your site.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the Best eCommerce packages in a box with just a few small issues.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great. The support was responsive and the number of plugins is pretty outstanding for a platform this sized.

Pros

How easy it is to get it setup and running if you have simple products, simple shipping and simple tax structures. The templates and themes are great and not too expensive and the support by the template creators are pretty good

Cons

Customizing the shopping cart ui is extremely challenging and there is no way I can tell to deal with pair clothing sizes such as a bikini top and bottom as a set. Inventory doesn't support multi-sized variants with inventory tracking so you have to break out the top and bottom into separate products and then write super complex code to put the products together. It's not trivial and you'd think they would work on this problem. We had swimsuits in our store so it was a nightmare.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Wonderful selling platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Shopify has been the main tool in helping me to expand my business, and I'm grateful to have found it.

Pros

I appreciate the ease in which you can set up your store. Not only that, but Shopify is more robust than Wix or other platforms. You have the integrations that allow you so much expansion and possibilities. The customer support is excellent as well.

Cons

The thing that I like least about it is the limited designing tools that you have for the blog posts and pages section. I'd like for it to be more customizable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Clients Love Shopify

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am not crazy about the flexibility as far as partners go. If you don't bring new customers on a regular basis, you will not get your commission even with clients that you have worked with for years. There is no flexibility there and they really don't seem to care about their partners. Sorry.

Pros

Shopify is awesome. I love the ease of use to set up and how easy it is for the client to take over and manage their own site successfully. Shopify has so many help resources available if you have an issue you can usually find it in their resources and if not you can hop on Twitter or Shopify Chat and someone will help you with your issue. Their Shopify Payments (it has a new name now) is easy to set up and makes accepting payments for your products easy and seamless for both the store owner and the customer. There are so many apps available for almost anything.

Cons

What I like least is creating new pages. There isn't a lot of options there. You can go to the APP store and pay a monthly fee to have an app to create a landing page, but not everyone wants to pay an additional monthly fee. Simple things shouldn't require apps.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great partner with which to build a business

Reviewed 3 years ago

We began using Shopify eight years ago when starting our online business and have not had any regrets. Shopify has always very functional and easy to use - most importantly though, it continuously evolves and fine tunes all of the components of the platform- order processing, inventory, tracking social media, etc...

Pros

Expandability, Functionality, and Technical Customer Service. All are great. Through the years, we've grown our business on Shopify, taking full advantage of all of their platform's built-in resources as well as the ever-expanding app store. For the most part, whatever you're looking to accomplish can be done right from within the Shopify platform. Very important to mention- their customer service is outstanding! Everyone needs help from time to time and it's great to know that the Shopify Gurus are always there to help.

Cons

Analytics. There are basic social media and traffic source info on the main admin page. It would be very helpful to have much more in-depth information to draw from. Maybe a distilled version of Google Analytics that's been broken down spcifically in regards to the store/products?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Longtime User

Reviewed 7 months ago

Overall, I'd recommend shopify to the majority of people looking to sell products online.

Pros

Shopify feels like the gold standard for getting an ecommerce brand off the ground and scaled. I've been super happy with it and their product only gets better and better as more third-party companies have smooth integrations.

Cons

Their code framework is just annoying. It's difficult to navigate and make changes, and you're locked out of making changes to certain parts of your site unless you purchase a higher level package.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Shopify Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Shopify is a fantastic platform to use for small business owners! Even a starter e-commerce business has a good chance of making a lot of money just by being a part of the global Shopify community. There is a lot of money to be made on Shopify and you will not regret signing up for the 30 day free trial so please do give it a try for yourself.

Pros

What I like most about using Shopify is that as long as you are willing to put in the time and the effort that it would take to upload and name your products correctly you can sell anything on Shopify! Shopify should really be thought of as a mall and you are the owner of one store in that mall. All the customers come to the mall which is Shopify and choose products from your store. That's another thing I really like about using Shopify is that you can own a shop that sells from the smallest cheapest item to a really big store that sells lots of different products at various different prices. It's open for anyone and it is your shop that is open 24 hours a day. So you can make money even when you are asleep!

Cons

What I like least about Shopify is that while it is free for the first 30 days of using it you eventually do have to pay for the right to have your store under the umbrella of Shopify. Although there are many aspects that make up for the fact that they want a monthly payment and it is a small amount too so it really is value for money.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great tool to power your ecommerce shop

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, if you can trade design (or hire a designer) for functionality - Shopify is a sure bet for ecommerce models.

Pros

Shopify is a great tool for those who are looking for an easy way to go to market in ecommerce. They have partnered with the best of the best in terms of 3rd party apps that allow small businesses to compete online.

Cons

If Shopify had tools to make design easier, this software would be the total package. Instead, it is one of the more limiting factors when choosing Shopify. It takes a background in code to really customize the look and feel of the site.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Shopify is the best eCommerce platform for a simple store

Reviewed 2 years ago

I would say I have had a very pleasant experience with shopify and will continue using it.

Pros

It is not only easy to set up a theme and get started, but also continues to be easy to do any normal features that you would need on a simple eCommerce store.

Cons

There are some high end features that are not possible to do when using shopify, unless you upgrade to shopify plus.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy execution. eCommerce platform that focuses on growth for store owners

Reviewed 6 years ago

I migrated my store from another platform to Shopify. As a non-technical store owner, I was able to achieve more in 7 days than I was able to on 3 months on a different platform. The hosted aspect of Shopify handles a large portion of the technical pains that arise when running a transactional website. As a result, I was able to put more time into improving the products, marketing and growing the business. Not to mention, I almost entirely eliminated the need for a full time developer to make sure the back end is properly working, everyday. The main objective with eCommerce is to grow and get to profitability fast, not fiddle around with hosting and ensuring that apps are not clashing.

Pros

The low technical skill requirement, the availability of 3rd party apps to enhance the store, the general excitement and size of the community, the availability of vetted experts through their expert directory are all clear advantages. The cherry on top is the attention to design and user experience that is offered through the Shopify dashboard and with the themes in the theme store. Lastly, and most importantly, the customer support is amazing. I once emailed them at 1am on a Sunday morning and got a response in 15 min. What? Overall, it's just an easy, pleasant experience - but still, don't underestimate the amount of work it takes to put up a profitable shop.

Cons

A downside, and it's surely being worked on and considered - is that it's quite complicated to take advantage of theme updates if you've purchased a theme from the theme shop. For this, you need to find technical help and do it very carefully, but this is where the experts directory helps. Shopify takes feedback from the community very seriously and it's why they've experience such awesome growth.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Shopify is great but watch those costs...

Reviewed 3 years ago

I love Shopify in general for smaller merchants. For larger merchants with hundreds or thousands of SKUs, the competition is definitely closer than you'd think. Shopify has many tools and many you have to buy, some of which their competitors integrate. So I take caution recommending Shopify which limits some of what you can do visually and technically, but if customization isn't a big deal and you don't have a ton of products, there's no better solution. If you do, compare because the decision isn't that easy, and the cost and features difference are close between Shopify and other solutions.

Pros

Shopify is an incredibly easy platform to do ecommerce on, with all the tools and simple set up that make most of the technical work easy to do...at first. If you are just adding a few products, want a great shopping cart that's fast, and easy to set up, Shopify is one of the best. The design and approach has made it easier for regular people to manage stores without technical know how, and at a low cost...until you start thinking of all the things you can do, that's when it changes a bit.

Cons

Shopify seems a cheaper solution, until you start thinking of what to add to your store. Each decision adds a plugin, or requires an upgrade, and soon the costs start escalating. Want a follow up autoresponder for cart abandonment? Upgrade, and/or choose a plugin, adding cost. The simple design hides the fact that there are many hidden costs, and if you are doing lots of products, think hundreds or thousands, you need to do a Cost Benefit analysis because this quickly becomes a pricier solution. The app community while robust is filled with small apps that really are small small businesses, and can do what they do but not much else, and support varies greatly. So going into Shopify, your first impressions won't be your final ones, depending on how complex your requests are.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Most Reliable Platform to Create Pages for Online Stores

Reviewed 9 months ago

Its various apps and plugins help in improving customization and enhancing the performance of your online businesses. A lot of features are provided in it for managing and assisting your stores includes accounting, marketing, sales, inventory, reporting, shipping and many others. External payment providers and third-party integrations are not required for it as it is providing a lot of payment procedures itself that includes Apple Pay, PayPal, Amazon Pay, Google Pay etc.

Pros

No technical background is required for setting up your online store with Shopify. You can improve and enhance your sales and customers as it is providing a lot of marketing tools that will help in enhancing your marketing activities. It is providing custom templates for easily building your setups or websites through it. Variety of premium and free applications are provided in it for enhancing your sales activities.

Cons

Most of its features are requiring third-party services but you have to purchase these services. It will charge an additional fee for payment processes if you are using external processes for payments. More enhanced SEO capabilities are required. It does not provide fast and automated processes for listing products. Reconfiguring most of its templates are not easy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Shopify is Top for a Reason

Reviewed 5 months ago

Very good experience with Shopify. I run 4 stores out of there and would happily recommend.

Pros

There are many reasons why Shopify is #1 right now. They are easy to get started with, the themes are easy to use and range in functionality and robust enough for 7-8 figure sales. Their customer support is also very good.

Cons

Where they lag is on the promotions end of the business. There is a lot of basic promotional options that are just not available without installing a 3rd party app. You should be able to do more straight out of the box.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I only recommend Shopify for ecommerce to friends and clients.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've used other wordpress ecommerce solutions in the past, but they were incredibly clunky to use. Shopify is built from the ground up to help you run an ecommerce business. I already built and sold a store on Shopify and their Sellers Marketplace and now I help clients who run their businesses on Shopify. I wouldn't recommend anything else for ecommerce.

Pros

Helps you make money! All in one ecommerce solution. Super fast and helpful customer support with any issue I've ever had. Tons of apps on the marketplace to help you with any customization needs. Easy to create staging themes before pushing your changes live. Easily integrates with google analytics and facebook pixels with just a couple of clicks.

Cons

Blog functionality isn't the best, but that's not their focus so I understand. I'd recommend setting up a subdomain for your blog instead and installing wordpress for that. However, if Shopify's blogging features were better, it'd be awesome for managing your products and content all in one place. I also wish you could edit the checkout code and customize that more easily without having to upgrade to the highest tier plan they offer. It's quite expensive to do so and a lot of smaller stores could benefit from modifying the checkout to help improve conversions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simply the best

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent.

Pros

I love Shopify. I love that the platform provides everything you need to manage a website, and there is no separate hosting plan to maintain. There are lots of free website templates - or paid ones - that are ready to go. You could create a fabulous site in just a few hours & their customer service is fabulous - positive people & positive solutions.

Cons

There are limitations to the free website templates, but, again, customer service will help you create just about anything.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best Choice for Ecommerce

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am a big fan of Shopify, having already done one website replatform and am about to do another. It just WORKS, which means your team can focus on customer acquisition and growth rather than constantly having to put out fires.

Pros

So many things to like. Compared to the Magentos and Demandwares out there, Shopify is a fast build. I had a website built in 3 months. Lots of out-of-the-box features that are crucial to running a business. The Live Chat support function is the best thing - so many question my team had, that normally would be sent to my web dev agency, could be answered by the Shopify Gurus in live chat. This empowered my team to seek answers on their own, which in turn led them to come up with ideas and solutions that they brought to the table and we implemented.

Cons

The refund and store credit reporting needs improvement. My finance team got a lot of headaches trying to reconcile everything at the end of the month. If you have a 3rd party return app, Shopify may not play well with reporting units returned to stock and amount refunded.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A Love Hate Relationship

Reviewed 2 years ago

Can't beat it for the price; you get a lot for even the basic package since users do not have to worry about any security breaches or servers going down often. Shopify is almost always up and rarely slow due to their CDNs.

Pros

Makes it easy for users to set up an ecommerce shop without worrying about CDNs, Servers, and security. Shipping rates are subsidized as well.

Cons

Most basic features are locked behinds monthly subscriptions. A lot of coding is done with liquid which isn't too hard to learn, but would be more intuitive if it just stuck to Javascript, HTML, CSS, and BooStrap.