App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Sketchbook Logo

Sketchbook

Professional-grade drawing app with customizable brushes

see alternatives

(16)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Sketchbook Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

36

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.61/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

When I first tried using Sketchbook I thought it would be so hard but I ended having fun. Sketching during my free time is just relaxing and fun.
I absolutely love this app for digital art, to create fun and festive backgrounds for photos and as a relaxing and an enjoyable hobby.
Sketchbook can be a excellent program if you're trying to find a good drawing program, i use sketchbook to draw the characters of my story and works perfectly.
Limited amount of layers and can be quite tedious because some tools are scattered in other tabs.
The options available for modifying text are limited, which hinders working on designs that require complex text formatting.
Very messy UI, doesn't support a lot of formats, doesn't work with vectors.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


36 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Wahaj A.

Architecture & Planning, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sketchbook

Reviewed a year ago

Sketchbook installed in any graphic tablet is like a sword in any artist's hand. It has enhanced the quality of creativity and improved my sketching and graphical representation a lot.

Pros

The software is open to all and is free to use.

Cons

In my opinion, the software has not any demerits for initial users.

ST
AvatarImg

Simon T.

Arts and Crafts, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An amazing software but.....

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'm old enough to remember using the old glass bottle Magic Markers but since going digital, with the help of Sketchbook, Photoshop and CSP, I find I am more productive in terms of speed and quality of work. Drawing in Sketchbook is incredibly intuitive and satisfying, I only wish I could open more than one file at a time.

Pros

I think the drawing brushes and pencils for linework are some, if not the best I have found in a drawing app. I especially like the snap to curve, elipse and perspective rulers.

Cons

I am a storyboard artist which means I am usually drawing and colouring a number of frames at once, sometimes as many as 30-40 frames. I would love to be able to open up a number of frames so I can achieve uniformaty of line and colour across the frames. I also dearly miss the Copic colours you used to have.

GZ
AvatarImg

Gal Z.

Design, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Benefits and struggles of Sketchbook

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Sketchbook has a great variety of brushes, allowing you to recreate your favorite traditional media or adopting a new technique and style. Sketchbook is ideal for those random drawing ideas you get while out of the house (remember the software doesnt reach its full potential unless it's paired with a pressure sensitive stylus)

Cons

While you can get anythin you may need for sketching and drawing, there are some functions that are limited in sketchbook that you can get in other drawing softwares regarding editing, heavy rendering and vectors

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Design, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sketchbook Your Smart Drawing.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Rated one of the best modern drawing programs, has many dazzling tools, has great drawing tools library months and was in my office in the middle of brushes and pens and colours, I can put Layer If I want to try something and don't want to spoil your painting, Easy to use, you don't need a course to become a professional using, suitable for all ages and different fields.

Pros

I like its tools, it has many colours many brushes and a pen . I like to use my pen tablet to draw Paintings or any view. it has a contemporary style for the tools bar. I like using Sketchbook, like the board to teach my class. Easy to use, you don't need a course to become a professional using, suitable for all ages and different fields.

Cons

sometimes, on my mac, I can't see the tools bar

hh
AvatarImg

hussein h.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

review

Reviewed 2 years ago

so powerful software to draw

Pros

the best software for drawing anything you need

Cons

in reality, the software provides everything you need to draw so I don't see any disadvantage in it till now

MV
AvatarImg

Miriam V.

Events Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Free Solution to your editing issues

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Sketchbook is very easy to use. It doesn't over complicate things with to many tools that you dont know how to use anyway

Cons

The mobile app is a not as user friendly as the desktop based version

CO
AvatarImg

Christopher O.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Why I enjoy using sketchbook

Reviewed a year ago

It was a wonderful experience, it's still one of my favourite drawing and painting software on Mobile phone.

Pros

Sketchbook is a software that allows users to easily draw/sketch, paint and create illustrations. It is a software I would advise a lot of illustrators to get. The brushes present in the software are very helpful when drawing or painting, also it supports the use of stylus for mobile phones

Cons

The only problem I have with sketchbook is that when I use it on my mobile phone along with a digital graphics tablet, I find it difficult to draw lines at a go compared to when I use Autodesk on my laptop with the same graphic tablet

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing app for digital art creation

Reviewed a year ago

I absolutely love this app for digital art, to create fun and festive backgrounds for photos and as a relaxing and an enjoyable hobby.

Pros

Quality of saved images, ability to save in various formats, options of brushes, layers and colors, intuitive functions, fun usage and ability to get better as you get more and more experience with the ap

Cons

Mobile app is not as good as the desktop version, everything is limited and I don't find it intuitive. I use the desktop app frequently and find that I can not use the mobile app practically at all.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Luis Humberto A.

Animation, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool to make art

Reviewed 2 years ago

Sketchbook can be a excellent program if you're trying to find a good drawing program, i use sketchbook to draw the characters of my story and works perfectly

Pros

Easy to use, has a lot of useful tools and you can add more tools, you can even download more textures from the official sketchbook site, has a lot of brushes and pens, works excellent on digital tablets, and has a mobile version.

Cons

At the moment I didn't experience any bad things with the program.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Want to have a drawing hobby? Try this software!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This is a fun way to draw, paint or stretch anything you want on your mobile device.

Cons

Sometimes it doesn't save my work and I hope it can be fixed.

ET
AvatarImg

Emanuela T.

Fine Art, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Software stupendo per artisti

Reviewed a year ago

Ho installato anche la versione per il cellulare e collegando la tavoletta grafica posso disegnare anche da lì. Ho notato che c'è anche la funzione timelapse quindi, posso registrare passo per passo tutto il procedimento dei miei disegni. La consiglio a chiunque, anche a chi vuole imparare a disegnare e si approccia per la prima volta ad un software come questo

Pros

Uso questo software da diversi anni in quanto amo disegnare in digitale. E' facile da usare e da installare. E' dotato di tantissimi pennelli e può essere utilizzato sia da pc che da tablet. La qualità delle grafiche è pazzesca , ho fatto tantissimi disegni e sono super soddisfatta. Anche l'interfaccia del programma è carina e personalizzabile.

Cons

Dopo svariati anni che lo uso non trovo difetti in Sketchbook. Sono proprio soddisfatta.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

JM
AvatarImg

Jennipher M.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Non potrei farne a meno

Reviewed a year ago

Io sono davvero talmente tanto soddisfatta del programma da averlo addirittura nella barra dei strumenti in fondo al mio desktop. Comodo, semplicissimo, con ogni pannello completamente personalizzabile, realistico davvero stupendo.

Pros

Adoro la vastità delle opzioni di scrittura, ha una vastissima libreria di pennelli e sono davvero molto realistici e funzionali.

Cons

In realtà ho impiegato un pò di tempo per rispondere a questa domanda, non ho nulla di questo software che potrei dire che non mi è piaciuto o che mi è piaciuto meno anche paragonato ad altri concorrenti. E' gratuito ed è perfettamente paragonabile a qualsiasi altro programma a pagamento. E' pieno di funzioni ed io lo utilizzo con il mio Surface 7Pro, Scrivendo direttamente sullo schermo riesco a realizzare anche ritratti perfettamente. E' fatto davvero tuto molto bene.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Design, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

mi experiencia usando Sketchbook.

Reviewed 9 months ago

me gusta las herramientas que tiene y las oportunidades que te da para crear ilustraciones mapas y planos .

Pros

para realizar algunas ediciones y algunos plano sy dibujos en conreto me ayuda bastante, algunas de las herrramientas que tiene me gustan mucho los plumones y la facilidad de usar las reglas para hacer una ilustracion en perspectiva cuando estas empezando .

Cons

no me agrado que despues de tanto tiempo el porgrama cambiara a estar de pago y unicamente en tabletas tiene sus cosas buenas en las tabletas pero para una computadora si requieres pagar cuando antes era gratis y si buscas este programa gratis actualemnte no tiene muchas herramientas que antes si tenia

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AD
AvatarImg

Aditya D.

Automotive, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Sketch good with sketchbook.

Reviewed a year ago

Its a great tool to sketch when it comes to freehand drawings. Airbrush feature along with copic colors makes it perfect for art.

Pros

User friendly tool for sketching digitally, has great options from pencils, pen to airbrushes. Copic colors are available.

Cons

The user interface is a bit outdated. The lasso and selection tools can get better.

FD
AvatarImg

Filippo D.

Performing Arts, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Molto utile

Reviewed 4 months ago

App molto utile e intuitiva. Nonostante andrebbe ampliata la quantità di pennelli rimane comunque un app da avere assolutamente sul proprio dispositivo hardware! Simpatica, utile, divertente e versatile!

Pros

La facilità di utilizzo, i pennelli a disposizione dell’utente

Cons

Potrebbero esserci più pennelli e strumenti in generale

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

EC
AvatarImg

Erwin C.

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

great creative tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

An awesome tool for my presentation work. It is intuitive, very easy to use and allows you to explore more of your creative side that you cannot do with a regular sketchpad and pen.

Pros

Apart from it's wide selection of brushes and pens, Sketchbook allows the user to create architectural perspective views from it's built perspective grids and customizable vanishing points.

Cons

it would be nice if it allows scaling of objects and grids.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andrea V.

Textiles, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Muy fácil de usar

Reviewed 2 years ago

Comienzo a realizar los bocetos de mis diseños y patrones en este software, debido a la comodidad y lo rápido que puedo crearlos, y luego los paso a otros softwares cuando realmente quiero algo más elaborado. Me siento contenta con este software.

Pros

Lo que más me gusta es que es muy fácil de usar, tiene una variedad de pinceles que permiten dibujar de forma intuitiva, tiene las herramientas básicas para hacer figuras y dibujar cómodamente. Se sincroniza rápidamente con cualquier tableta gráfica. Puedo exportar a diferentes formatos y la app es excelente.

Cons

Lo único que no me gusta de este software es que, al no crear vectores, no permite escalar la imagen ni sirven para imprimir.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lourdes G.

Supermarkets, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

El dibujo digital como en papel.

Reviewed a year ago

Es una herramienta "supersecnilla de utilizar" ha hecho que cada vez más dibuje más en el mundo digital dejando el analogo de lado.

Pros

Tiene muchas herramientas, gran compatibilidad con tableta digital y con dispositivos portatiles.

Cons

No le veo muchos, pero quizas la posibilidad de trabajar más con capas realizando mascaras o manejando canales estaría muy bueno.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Roger E.

Airlines/Aviation, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Trazados con Sketchbook

Reviewed 2 years ago

Me ha gustado utilizarlo con mi tableta gráfica ya que obtienes una experiencia similar a un lápiz de grafito.

Pros

Posee muchas herramientas para dibujar que pueden ser personalizadas con comodidad. Me encanta las opciones de exportación.

Cons

Debería tener herramientas de precisión, que permitan hacer trazados medidos. Además sería bueno mejorar la opción para generar estrellas configurables.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

PK
AvatarImg

Piyush K.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Book in a Hand with lots of custom pens

Reviewed a year ago

I loved this software because of its feel, that I'm drawing in a book. Tools are very useful and easy to start new project and we can nailed it at once.1

Pros

I liked this software because I wanted to create some portraits and some designs that I can draw by my self this software have many tools that I used in my project.

Cons

Some features were not that much useful. Sometime the custom brush don't work properly. Some tools are hard to find and not easy. there should be a tutorial for it.

zb
AvatarImg

zouhir b.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Provides a wide range of advanced tools for drawing and design

Reviewed 6 months ago

A good program, but it lacks some extras

Pros

Supports touch input allowing you to draw and design using your fingers or stylus

Cons

The options available for modifying text are limited, which hinders working on designs that require complex text formatting

KM
AvatarImg

Krista M.

Animation, self-employed

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Free and easy to learn

Reviewed a year ago

I love using sketchbook for drawings and I especially like that you can import any photo or picture you have saved on your phone, change the transparency, so you can trace over it and make it your own with brushes.

Pros

I love that it's an app for your phone that's free and has lots of features included, everything you need to draw and lots of brushes- pencils, pens, spray paint, watercolors, acrylic, inks and crayons

Cons

I haven't found any cons, the app always opens up easily and it's quick to export your drawing. Maybe some other apps have additional features but I've only try sketchbook as it was the one that had the best reviews compared to others when I searched.

RC
AvatarImg

Rosita C.

Primary/Secondary Education, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Bello!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Applicazione semplice da utilizzare, con molte funzionalità e strumenti utili per realizzare disegni, anche professionali, e modificare immagini.

Cons

Non ho riscontrato aspetti negativi nell'uso di questa applicazione fino ad ora.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mohammad J.

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good Software - Messy UI

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

A good library of brushes, basic but useful editing tools, amazing copic colors library.

Cons

very messy UI, doesn't support a lot of formats, doesn't work with vectors.

PM
AvatarImg

Prescot M.

Computer Software, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple sketchbook review

Reviewed 2 years ago

An excellent app for sketching and adding colours

Pros

This software is just amazing, it doesn't take up system space and it very user friendly

Cons

Some features like perspective take longer to load up