App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

StoryXpress Logo

Empowering immersive video experiences since 2014

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

StoryXpress Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

79

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.76/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

wistia
videopad
panopto

Pros and cons

Very happy with StoryXpress. Great to see competitors to Loom, and I hope they continue to develop their features.
It was one of my best purchases on appsumo and I'm thrilled to be a user and fan.
This has been an awesome solution for both quick tutorials and for adding a video component to all of our proposals and reports.
If my connection is crappy the upload bombs out and I have to re-record the video.
The upload speed of StoryXpress compared to Loom is probably 2 times slower. It could get annoying when you record a video & just want to quickly shoot it out to your subscriber to watch right away.
There was nothing for me as to point out what went wrong in the product.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


79 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Anthony R.

Owner

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating

Great resource for video sharing!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Transcript

Anthony R.: Hi, I'm Anthony. I'm a owner of a web design company, and I give StoryXpress a five out of...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Steve v.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Better Communication

Reviewed 4 years ago

StoryXpress explainer videos are regular features in emails I send to explain more complex ideas, or to provide practical training and examples.

Pros

Super easy to start recording, and just as easy to share my videos where ever I want. Watch notifications and analytics show me exactly where I lost people, or if my videos were ignored. Branded video embed pages are a nice touch.

Cons

It's only happened a couple of times when the app crashes during a recording, or the output audio/video are out of sync.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good Products for what I need

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, I really like StoryXpress, it does exactly what I need & they seem to have some pretty great features coming in the near future

Pros

I really needed a "Loom-like" software which allows me to create video recordings. The problem with Loom is that when I send links to my subscribers, they don't necessarily know what "loom.com" is & they sometimes down click the link to watch the video. StoryXpress solves that issue by allowing us to add Cname for all shareable links. This is by far my favorite feature & the reason I subscribed.

Cons

Nothing that I hated, but the Video uploading/rendering speed could (and should) be faster (my internet is pretty fast & reliable - based out of USA). The upload speed of StoryXpress compared to Loom is probably 2 times slower. It could get annoying when you record a video & just want to quickly shoot it out to your subscriber to watch right away.

jt
AvatarImg

jeremy t.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Happy but dissapointed

Reviewed 4 years ago

ok

Pros

easy to use, simple, fast instalation, cheap

Cons

cannot upload offline recording ? first you must reconsider, this app is will make you headache. why? when you record, sometime the audio quality broken, miss sync audio video, which i couldnt retake the video. i dont know what occur this thing, the problem is solved when i do offline recording and manual upload but youknow? manual upload i must upgrade first to make customization? it ridiculous for me

CH
AvatarImg

Cherie H.

Utilities, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Better than the rest

Reviewed 4 years ago

We need a way to virtually present options to potetial clients that we could not meet with in person due to covid, this screen recording with the camera was an easy solution. This way the video could be shared with all decision makers and rewatched and potetial reused if it was not too specific. The second solution we needed was to be able to create processes and do training virtually for the now remote staff.

Pros

I have tried many screen/video recording software and StoryExpress has been the easiest to implement for the team. If you are looking to get your team on board and implementing fast this is the way to go. It is very intuitive and robust to meet all of your needs.

Cons

I haven't found a Con - I literally choose this software after using many others.

MC
AvatarImg

Marcus C.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great little tool!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use, better limits than alternatives, so it's more economical. Use it nearly every day - clients love having things explained in a video walkthrough rather than getting lost in translation via an email. The team use it to explain problems and can get a better answer.

Cons

Only one thing I don't like (and I haven't searched for a fix or asked support, so it might just be me) but it does't save my login so I have to re-login every day.

JG
AvatarImg

Jacopo G.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not Your Ordinary Video Tool!

Reviewed 4 years ago

The most complete tool I''ve ever found in 5 years. I love it 'cause I use it either for both internal team members training and for marketing purposes. An all in one tool. Strongly suggested.

Pros

I like the speed, the features and the very quick customer service

Cons

It could be less expensive, and it could be quicker in the upload of the analytics.

CP
AvatarImg

Carsten P.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for marketing & operations

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

StoryXpress helps us document processes, create custom marketing & sales videos and streamline our operations. It's been an incredible addition to our tech stack.

Cons

The only limitation I can think of is the limited number of embeds, but apart from that there's nothing not to like.

NS
AvatarImg

Neil S.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic screen cap video recording

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love the way it automatically embeds my videos on a branded page, so I can easily share a URL of a webpage and my clients can easily watch my video there.

Cons

If my connection is crappy the upload bombs out and I have to re-record the video.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Datis M.

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great alternative to Loom

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's an excellent piece of software, great alternative to Loom, DIRT CHEAP if you purchase off AppSumo, and the product is evolving at a rapid pace.

Pros

I purchased a Lifetime deal off AppSumo for $60 [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and can't recommend it enough. It's got the majority of the same features as Loom and they are developing a bunch of new features. The few functions that ClapBoard doesn't have are in development and will be extended to all AppSumo users.

Cons

I've experienced some minor (non-critical) glitches. But it's been fantastic otherwise. Really looking forward to the video editing functionality which I think is a big piece that's missing from ClapBoard... but it's on its way.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Megan C.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Oh how I love thee StoryXpress, let me count the ways!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Fantastic - such a handy tool - use it multiple-times daily. It'll save you time and effort. Cut down on writing long emails that no one reads!

Pros

Analytics on the videos! I can see how many times my videos have been watched. I can see where viewers drop off, so I can keep improving he videos. By monitoring which of my videos get the most views, I know what type of content my suppliers, clients and employees find most useful.

Cons

I've lost videos that never uploaded to my dashboard about 4 times. All 4 times the internet was being dodgey though!

JD
AvatarImg

Jeffrey D.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Possible Loom Alternative

Reviewed 4 years ago

I would not use it to replace Loom for communication purposes, however it works better for training videos or for doing content marketing.

Pros

Fairly easy to use! I like how you could have a custom intro before the screenshare, that's a nice feature Loom does not have.

Cons

It had some glitches that resulted in videos turning out poorly, however support was prompt to look into it. It also didn't play well for my clients on their mobile devices, so that was challenging.

ES
AvatarImg

Ellie S.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use software to make quick videos

Reviewed 4 years ago

I've been using StoryXpress (specifically Clapboard) to create instructional videos to send to my clients and so far they have loved it! It also saves me a huge amount of time, as previously I was writing out the instructions step-by-step and creating screenshots. I'm also planning to publish some video FAQs on my website and create a few YouTube instructional videos, so looking forward to using the software more.

Pros

Setting up StoryXpress (Clapboard) was really simple - I just followed the instructions to download the Chrome extension and it took less than 10 minutes to get started on my first video. The software is really intuitive - you can either record your face, record the screen, record your face and screen at the same time, or make the video out of a mixture of those options. The videos are available almost immediately in the dashboard, and it's super easy to either download them or send the link to clients to view. You can also add CTAs and other features fairly easily, but I haven't had any need to use those features so far.

Cons

It would be great to be able to blur out details in the video. Perhaps this is already a feature, but I haven't been able to find it

SK
AvatarImg

Scott K.

Accounting, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great to record & playlists, hard to find

Reviewed 4 years ago

Useful to record videos, but I'm now going back to UseLoom with the ability to put my recorders into folders. I had some problems with UseLoom not finishing videos (or errors) - but sorted that out with the help. StoryXpress has been very helpful and it is a good program so will keep because of the videos I already have.

Pros

Easy to record screen, zoom meetings, etc.

Cons

Very hard to find videos if you record a lot and don't host them or save them externally. There aren't folders, they removed tags (this did exist). So you either have to put them into playlists or download and upload to another source.

VS
AvatarImg

Victoria S.

Professional Training & Coaching, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It's a great product

Reviewed 4 years ago

It has been great. The customer service reply almost immediately

Pros

There are many things: 1. I have analytics. I can see how many people look my video, when and for how long 2. I can brand with my logo and colors 3. It has integration with Gmail, Linkden, YouTube, slack and others... 4. I can choose when the video expire, 60, 30, 15 days o never 5. The customer service is great, expedite

Cons

I would like we can manually set up the expiration date video. Now is 60, 30 ,15 or never

DJ
AvatarImg

David J.

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very happy with StoryXpress. Great to see competitors to Loom, and I hope they continue to develop their features.

Pros

It is a great alternative to Loom, I like that you can make it look like a landing page and customize the looks etc. Also great you can download, and embedded, very great features.

Cons

Sometimes the videos don't seem to record properly and you have to re record again. This happens maybe 1/20 times, so not so often, but when it does, not the most ideal. But shouldn't be a too big of an issue in most cases.

VG
AvatarImg

Varun G.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A bucket full of features, I can't imagine.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall I am enjoying using this recorder extension. I have seen this growing from very few features to the current version with lots of features. A big list of upcoming features is already there in their product roadmap page. All the best to the whole team, Looking forward to the next version (Y)

Pros

1. Handy, Can even use in chrome book and can record videos where ever i want. 2. Compatibility with Snap camera software, I can add background effects to my recordings like Zoom. 3. Video Player and landing page customization as per branding. 4. 24*7 live Customer support

Cons

For my use case, I haven't experienced any cons for this recorder, But currently, the extension is not to record videos which are 5-6+ hours long. As per their customer support, they are working on a desktop app which will sort this issue.

JR
AvatarImg

Jordi R.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Loom alternative

Reviewed 4 years ago

Really good for the moment.

Pros

Really easy to use and with some extra features that Loom doesn't have.

Cons

No desktop app, so you can't do videos of non website apps/tools.

DP
AvatarImg

Deb P.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, self-employed

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy screen capture and video recorder

Reviewed 4 years ago

I was looking for a simple tool for screen capture and recording short videos. I have other screen capture and video software but they are bulkier and too complicated for the quick and easy videos I wanted to create. In the beginning I had a couple of issues I couldn't figure out. Their customer support got back to me right away and solved the problem.

Pros

Works reliably. Easy to use. Cloud-based. I don't have to download software and then always get messages about updating and upgrading. Customer support was timely and helpful.

Cons

The fact that it's a chrome extension can be limiting, but it meets my needs so I don't mind.

ML
AvatarImg

Mike L.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Can't imagine working without this

Reviewed 4 years ago

Really intuitive and esy to get into using. The extra functionality like using colour pens etc helps a lot, and the analytics down the line helps me know if a client/colaborator has seen it.

Pros

This software saves me so much time! Rather than back and forth mails, skype meetings, and frustrating hours spent trying to convey meaning, this tool helps me get across my point effortlessly.

Cons

I have yet to find a problem, but it's a little vague how many videos I can record and/or store.

LB
AvatarImg

Leon B.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A picture tells 1,000 words

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Being able to explain how to do things for clients and staff gets immensely easier using this product. Quick setup and have a recorded how to video to share. Super easy to use and share. Also use it to send personalized video chats to clients, so that they can see and hear me in my message.

Cons

All good, have not really come across any negatives.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Reggie Y.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Better than screen cast o matic but worse than loom

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am on a paid plan but if the loom free version is better than opt with loom, however story express is cheaper but as of now you cant comment on videos. Still a decent option if they can fix some bugs with functionality.

Pros

inbrowser startup, nice UX, analytics, customization

Cons

Functionality issues with VPNs, stability uploading video, some other lack of features

KM
AvatarImg

Karim M.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect tool to record my screen

Reviewed 4 years ago

Love storyxpress. I use it to explain to my VA how to do everything.

Pros

It works and is simple to use. I liked how it has a feature to feature my camera at the beginning to capture the viewer's attention.

Cons

It's not practical to minimize the camera bubble.

SM
AvatarImg

Siddhant M.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Product

Reviewed 4 years ago

My overall experience was really great and I would like to stay as a long term consumer of the product

Pros

The detailing of the product is just amazing and it has helped my organization's operations as well

Cons

There was nothing for me as to point out what went wrong in the product

CM
AvatarImg

Colette M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Super Easy to Get Started

Reviewed 4 years ago

So far, I've used this platform to create short helpful videos in stead of sending lengthy emails. People seem to like this alternative.

Pros

I really like how easy it is to download the app and start using. The functionality is great and it's been easy to navigate. I like that the videos don't have to be loaded to YouTube or another place, but can be pulled up by anyone with the URL right on your site.

Cons

Can't really think of anything. There are probably things like branding that might be available but I haven't learned all yet.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andrew B.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use with impressive results

Reviewed 4 years ago

I needed simple software to record from my laptop screen (with the option to record audio alongside) so that the output could be used in live webinars (virtual tours) hosted on another system. StoryXPress has proved itself perfect in fulfilling that role. Highly recommend.

Pros

This product is amazingly easy to use. Right from the outset I was able to get fantastic results exactly as I needed, without any hassle.

Cons

So far, I've found now real downside to using StoryXpress.