App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Wistia Logo

The complete video marketing platform for businesses

(8)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Wistia Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


169 reviews

Recommended

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Storage of high quality content

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

This software allows me to store and visualize the content of audiovisual projects for my audience. There is no capacity limit per project and this represents a great advantage for the company.

Cons

Its costs of use were raised after having years of use, now it is much more expensive to create a project in Wistia.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid At Protecting Content

Reviewed 5 years ago

Wistia has been great to help secure video content and make it look more original than if we hosted on other platforms like Vimeo or Youtube.

Pros

Wistia is by far the best major player at protecting the content you put up. There are always ways to work around security if someone really wants to download your content, but so far Wistia has been the best.

Cons

The price point isn't cheap when you consider you could host for free on other platforms, but it's a small price to pay to have content that looks professional. As long as you're earning an income based on the video content you're storing on the site, it shouldn't be a big issue.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Aaron B.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Wistia Rocks!

Reviewed 12 years ago

Wistia offers our company all the necessary features the other platforms couldn't deliver on, and goes beyond our expectations for a video hosting solution. Wistia plays a major role in the everyday operations of our business. We've worked directly with Viddler, Kaltura, Ooyala and one of our major clients uses Brightcove. None of these Platforms compare in terms of functionality, API, and overall ease of use.

Pros

We went through many, many video platforms in the years before we began using Wistia. Now we've been using Wistia for almost a year, and we're not looking back. Wistia is more of a Project Manager than a mere Video Platform, and this is the greatest overall benefit we've realized. The ability to manage our clients as well as our videos is an indispensable feature provided by Wistia.

Cons

Not many - but in the interest of balance, we'd love to have Watermarks/Bugs - need this. Projects listed alphabetically, especially when searching - we have over 100 clients in Wistia - would love to see them sorted alpha instead of by date added. Different email addresses for different projects for ticketing. IE - project clients go to one ticketing board (for us), webcasting clients go to another email address, and thus board for us. As you can see - NOT ONE Con for core usage. We LOVE Wistia!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great brand protecting video solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have managed to use Wistia to collaborate with videographers in a way that has enhanced our editing and project management experiences greatly. Combined with the ability to embed completed videos with impressive analytics, Wistia is ticking several boxes.

Pros

The ability to restrict the embedding of videos to certain domains combined with the improved user experience while viewing the video—through the lack of recommended videos—make Wistia a very appealing video embedding solution.

Cons

Although the interface is simple (pro), that can sometimes be a con as it appears minimalistic in features. Most of the features I was looking for are there, they're just not as noticeable as I'd like them to be.

ST
AvatarImg

Steven T.

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid Video Marketing Tool

Reviewed 6 years ago

Amazing video software product.

Pros

Their software ties nicely with other platforms, allowing you to use the data you're capturing from video analytics.

Cons

They came out with a new tool called Soapbox. I feel it should just be a part of their overall package offered.

AK
AvatarImg

Aaron K.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The top video hosting platform- they even have an awesome extension

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Wistia makes hosting videos so easy. Managing the videos in the cloud makes it easy to find what you are looking for, and sharing the videos onto your website or portal is extremely easy as well. For the past year or so, my sales teams have been using their soapbox extension. This allows us to create videos from our desktop and share them with customers. An extremely personable way to share short product explanations and videos with customers.

Cons

Wistia has changed the way they charge for starage of content. I liked their old plan better, but their new plan seems to be working well.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ashley N.

Computer Networking, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Love Wistia

Reviewed 6 years ago

Saves money and time!

Pros

I have been using Wistia for years and bring it with me to every company I join. It's one of my favourite marketing tools. The cost is amazing for the features and compared to other video hosting companies the cost can't be beat. I love how they keep the platform simple and easy to use. They continually push out new features to make the platform better. Oh the videos they produce themselves are awesome and helpful!

Cons

None - once you try it out you will be hooked to! I have never needed to use the customer support team so I am not sure how good or bad they are.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Max G.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ospita tutti i video che ti serve

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Lo uso per ospitare i miei video che servono per il marketing sul sito wordpress

Cons

Il costo forse un po alto, anche se con la versione gratuita puoi fare gia diverse cose

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ben A.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

I've tried it, but found other solutions for my needs

Reviewed 3 years ago

Wistia was great to use and easy to use, but it came down to how much I was paying for what I was needing. If you're an organization that has the expenses to support the cost of Wistia, go for it. If you're a small business or a business that watches every nickel and dime you spend, consider other sources.

Pros

Wistia offers a ton of features, but none that swayed my decision in using it to house my video content. It's clean, reliable, it works, and does a great job from a marketing standpoint. It's easy to use and that kind of reliability and ease of use only comes when you pay premium for a Saas product like Wistia

Cons

It's way expensive. My of my needs could be used with Youtube, Vimeo, Spotlightr (formerly known as VooPlayer), Amazon's S3, or other services that provide their own video hosting platform.

PS
AvatarImg

Prince S.

Law Practice, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Wistia - The Magnificient

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

- Easy to use - Separate task email address easily attachable to non-Wistia user - Easy to tag users - Plenty of customization - Easy learning curve

Cons

- Setup took a long to time to work exactly as needed - If a non-Wistia user got an email with the task, the follow-up emails almost amounted to spam due to regularity

⭐S
AvatarImg

⭐️John S.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Some good features but let down by lack of tracking on social and adverts on premium videos

Reviewed 5 years ago

We wanted a way to track video stats across social and our landing pages but that just isn't possible with Wistia.

Pros

Easy to understand and use. The software is fairly well documented if a little contradictory in places.

Cons

Cannot track any of the statistics on social media. The back end is quite buggy. Some of the customization features do not work on Social Media or with embedding at all. They advertise on premium member videos. Right clicking beings up an link to their sales page.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Everything you need in a video hosting tool

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Wistia offers great features for all users - no matter how big or small. I've always appreciated that you can easily scale your account with them based on your needs. Additionally, their reporting is great and can give you insight into how long people are watching your video, where they drop off, etc. On top of that, they have plenty of ways for you to collect the info of whoever is watching the video.

Cons

The user interface could be better but it's certainly not a deal breaker for us.

SY
AvatarImg

Sarah Y.

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simplifies Everything!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I LOVE that we are able to make emails look nice and professional by downloading the widget in gmail - it quickly pulls videos we have created and shows the opening slide/title vs. just having a link.

Cons

The only complaint I have is that the reporting was not always 100% accurate. There were often discrepancies between what was shown on their website and what would export into the excel sheet.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Motion Pictures and Film, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Wistia Works

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, Wistia is a great platform and I really believe it will take off!

Pros

Wistia is a great video sharing and building platform, a mix between Wipster and Youtube, or Vimeo. I most enjoy that it's easy to pickup and not overly complicated.

Cons

I least like that Wistia is so unheard of, and people are hesitant to try a new product and stick to what's familiar.

WC
AvatarImg

Will C.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I've used Wistia forever

Reviewed a year ago

We have used Wistia for years and years - initially hosting videos of our conference series in my previous startup, and these days for marketing and website videos. It's a great experience all round.

Pros

The simplicity and ease of use, coupled with powerful features under the surface if you need them. A few of the marketing features e.g. email gating are critical for us.

Cons

No particular downsides. There are a couple of features e.g. HubSpot integration that are only available on more expensive plans, but that's reasonable in B2B software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

clint p.

Security and Investigations, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great way to host our videos.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Easy to use, sleek design.

Pros

It's easy to use and looks good. I like that you can add in chapters to guide users through the video. I also find the customizability of every aspect of the experience really useful.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

TB
AvatarImg

Ted B.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Company, getting better.

Reviewed 8 years ago

Overall this is a great company to work with. Sometimes I wish they had some additional functionality, but they make up for any gaps with their customer support

Pros

Supports higher quality videos than YouTube and doesn't require the annoying social aspects of Vimeo. Videos work on all browsers and devices I've come across.

Cons

Really focused on videos only. Platafrom doesn't allow you to share other types of content very well.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet,

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Wistia provides powerful video-hosting

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Probably the best thing about Wistia is how fast it is. I've never had any of the videos on my website take more than a few seconds to load. The customization features are great and make the videos blend in nicely.

Cons

While there are a lot of customization options, they can be a bit difficult to find. Pricing can be a bit expensive.

SG
AvatarImg

Samuel G.

Research, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use. Could include more marketing capabilities.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Videos can be private and all in one place. Easy to edit videos and embed on our blog. We enjoy using Wistia on our marketing team!

Pros

Very easy to use. Customization tool edits quickly. Playlists and embedding work well. The ability to move videos around is helpful.

Cons

Limited storage. No GMail embedding (would love to have this). Price is a little high for the amount of storage you receive. It was a little difficult to know to move videos around at first, could have been a little more clear on certain aspects of that experience.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great video hosting software for sales organizations

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Clean design makes the videos look nice on any webpage. The ability to customize the look of the player is a huge plus too. Ultimately, the ability to gather leads via the Turnstile is what makes Wistia so great for us. We can feed leads directly into our CRM and follow-up with them as they are finishing up watching a video.

Cons

The biggest issue at this time is that it is not possible to collect the original lead source of a contact and pass it into your CRM. If you are running ads to drive traffic to your video you won't be able to tie leads back to your ads unless you create a specific landing page for every ad and add a different instance of the same video on each page.

MW
AvatarImg

Madeleine W.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Video Host for Embeddable Videos

Reviewed 21 days ago
Pros

I liked how easy it was to customize the thumbnails and video players that I was embedding on my website. The UI is very user-friendly and there are many options to choose from.

Cons

It wasn't immediately obvious that you can link to timestamps in the video, but once I figured out how to it was a great additional feature.

HM
AvatarImg

Hayley M.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great solution for on-demand webinars & videos

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The ability to quickly import videos and have them gated for customers. We use wisitia for our webinar recordings, and are easily able to customize each video and share throughout our marketing materials. We’re looking forward to trying out their new editing and on-demand landing page features!

Cons

No cons to mention! Wisita is a great solution for our video hosting.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Video Hosting Option EVER

Reviewed 6 years ago

This has helped the video portion of our training program get off the ground and provide stats that we can use to improve our product.

Pros

Super simple. Great stats. Easy to embed. Overall 10/10

Cons

n/a - It does everything I need it to do.

ES
AvatarImg

Eric S.

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Love creating video with Wistia

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Just the best video software and platform, makes it easy to see the analytical aspects necessary to improve videos.

Cons

I wish that I could have the Wistia video people just do everything for us (e.g., filming and creating videos for us), so no cons.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I use Wistia for uploading final assets to clients, and also for attaching to websites.

Reviewed 6 years ago

The software is easy to use and allows for easy feedback, embedding, and sharing of videos.

Pros

The software is easy to use with a nice user interface. It embeds easily and has a lot of functions for for customizing permissions, video preview frames, and other aspects of the uploaded asset. This program does the job it is meant for with ease of use.

Cons

The software does have some issues uploading long files. I have run into a few issues where I have uploaded longer videos and ended up having to attempt the upload a few times. Those instances are fairly rare though.