WooCommerce Reviews

WooCommerce

eCommerce platform for WordPress

WooCommerce

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


225 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Good Plugin To Build An E-Commerce Platform

Reviewed 3 months ago

I've used WooCommerce as a web developer for over 3 years to build online e-commerce platforms for clients.

Pros

It's free and open source. A strong community of developers and users so if you're trying something new there are high chances someone has already done it and created a tool or documentation on how to repeat it. WooCommerce is versatile and can be used for both physical and virtual goods.

Cons

For a small website or store that sells only virtual products, WooCommerce is bulky compared to alternatives. While it's functionality can be extended the plugins to achieve this tend to be on the expensive side for small stores that are just starting out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WooCommerce - Simply the best eCommerce solution for Wordpress

Reviewed 6 months ago

On implementation of WooCommerce for my business, I got my first sale in 1 day. The website became professional looking and instilled full confidence in my buyers. Its the perfect solution!

Pros

- WooCommerce is a free solution to set up an online store. This is the biggest advantage of this platform. - Just a one click install on WordPress provides you a full storefront instantly with all options integrated. - There are basically choices to integrate any and all payment gateways. Some aren't free, But the most commonly used PayPal and Stripe which I use as well, are free. - Has themes like Astra which make the site beautiful, responsive and mobile friendly. - Has thousand of free and paid extensions to use with the store to enhance functionality. - It is simply unparalleled in functionality and with access to root coding as well, you can't question it. - Hooks and shortcodes make its use perfect for developers.

Cons

- Some plugins range from $79 to $99 a year which is exorbitant for small businesses and start ups. - Some functions that can be included upfront have to be added via code snippets or plugins. - AJAX implementation isn't selected by default. - Doesn't work with some themes. - Templates included by default are poorly designed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Highly Customizable E-Commerce Platform

Reviewed 5 months ago

We have migrated some clients to WooCommerce from other platforms, such as Magento. The ability to rapidly customize and deploy new store iterations was night and day vs older legacy platforms like Magento.

Pros

WooCommerce is easy to setup, and has a great out-of-the-box feature-set. What sets WooCommerce apart from its competition is the ability to customize nearly every aspect of the software via custom PHP functions, free & paid plugins, etc.

Cons

WooCommerce is lacking some intrinsic functionality vs Shopify and some of the other premium eCommerce platforms.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent and highly customisable e-commerce platform

Reviewed 4 months ago

Being fairly easy and highly customisable (and even free), WooCommerce solves a lot of problems and brings a great store experience, while not being as robust as Magento.

Pros

First of all, it's free. No monthly fees like some of the other alternatives out there. But most importantly, WooCommerce caters to those who look for flexibility, that is, whose who have specific needs to apply in their niches and have the way of doing so. Alternatives such as Shopify don't always allow that, or when they do, you'd need to buy/subscribe to extension. As in many other open-source alternatives, it has a large community with all sorts of tweaks and implementations that will allow your store to convert more. Plus, although TLS certificates might not be automatically added like they are on Shopify, several implementations allow for even more (custom) security than you'd be able to add in other platforms.

Cons

Being free and open source does not mean that your experience will be fully free or even affordable, and in that case, it happens with extensions. Many good extensions are paid or even require a subscription, so I'd recommend that you look up for potential extensions you might need according to your store's needs before you implement WooCommere.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best WordPress Plugin to create an Online Shop

Reviewed 3 months ago

I am running the online e-commerce store that I have developed and designed through WooCommerce. My overall experience with this plugin is really awesome Because I almost use daily this plugin. We update our products daily on our website. So I really create different types of products using WooCommerce.

Pros

WooCommerce is the best E-Commerce Wordpress plugin that allows you to create stunning and beautiful online stores. You can build simple, group, or variable products. Even you can add digital products that users can download from your website after purchasing the product. The settings are really easy, you can add your bank details in the payment section or you can also add PayPal or Cash on Delivery.

Cons

I have created a number of Online store websites and thousands of products using the WooCommerce and I am honestly speaking that I never faced any issue regarding the use of WooCommerce. According to my point of view, there are no cons or negative points. All features are really incredible.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love this ecommerce plugin

Reviewed a year ago

I love WooCommerce and use it on most of my sites (unless the site is hardcoded)

Pros

Lots of posibilities, easy to use, endless addons, highly customizable, free, open source, a lot of programmers, endless design posibilities

Cons

A lot of bloat in plugins, easy to be hacked if you're not cautious

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Virtual stores with high performance in a short time.

Reviewed a year ago

WooCommerce has allowed me to create virtual stores in a short time, their plugins facilitate and save a lot of time since they can integrate vital features for a virtual store, such as shopping carts, payment methods, search engine, etc. I can also integrate it with custom templates, so it allows versatility and originality, it also helps to make SEO in a more simplified way, this tool has been improving over time, it is not what it was a year ago, it has been in constant evolution, I am quite satisfied with its implementation.

Pros

What I like most about WooCommerce is that it makes the creation of sales websites much simpler and more dynamic, it has support for a large number of templates, plugins that add very useful functions, such as coupon systems, integration of methods of payment, mail confirmation, what I like most is that it allows to register a massive amount of products to the website without losing performance, it is optimized for SEO which facilitates having a greater reach on the internet.

Cons

It is a tool that facilitates a lot when it comes to creating virtual stores, a detail to take into consideration is that its line of learning is quite steep, so it is not ideal to be used by people who do not have enough knowledge, it is a intermediate-advanced tool usually takes quite a while to set everything up, although this is worth using.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The best e-commerce solution with the monopoly in the field (which is being well used)

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

*UI The looks of the Woo are getting better after each new release (happens very often) and their team is doing a lot to bring the best to the customers. *Out of the box features When you install Woo and and have in mind to create a simple shop fast - Woo can help you do just that in a matter of minutes. All you need is to follow simple guidance and in few hours you can start selling.

Cons

*Pricing Even though woo commerce itself is free - any kind of additional plugins are just unreasonable expensive. Even the simple mail integration or bulk pricing is going to cost you. *A lot of old features Many things in Woo are outdated. The fact that there are not many competing solutions should not stop the Woo team and I believe that they will dedicate their work into simplifying the experience and make the whole e-commerce work smarter for a new customer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My WooCommerce Review

Reviewed a year ago

amazing. Designed a good looking site with some plugins and maintenance is next to none.

Pros

This is the easiest platform to build an eCommerce store with. It integrates with almost any third-party software you may require and it gives you the functionality of WordPress.

Cons

the initial set-up takes a bit of time with all the integrations but once set-up this platform is a dream to work with.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Why is there always something to buy!

Reviewed 7 months ago

It's a very good software to create a basic store however you need to plan to invest money if you want to do anything special with the software because extensions are costly.

Pros

I like the possibility of what you can do with Woocommerce. There a lot of extensions that allow you to set up a web site in nearly endless possibilities. You can customize the software to fit your needs.

Cons

The extensions store prices are very high and must be paid yearly. The free Woocommerce can set up a very basic store however the cost to do anything beyond a basic store can become very costly and there is always another add-on they want you to download.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Woocommece is fantastic for "shop" users

Reviewed a month ago

Overall, WooCommerce was a great starting point with immense value considering it's a free plugin. You cannot access my WooCommerce shop any longer directly on my website, because I've moved over to Podia. However, I've had so many things pinned to Pinterest. Those pins lead back to my Woocommerce shop pages. I still have sales that roll in once a month or so from those old pages! Because Woocommerce was free, I've kept it. It's a great little bonus to see those sales roll in that wouldn't happen if those products were created on a paid platform.

Pros

Everything about the Woocommerce plugin has been easy to use. I started using Woocommerce to sell various ebooks and guides on my website and it met my needs for that.

Cons

There's not a ton of customization you can do (at least without hiring a designer & developer or learning the code language yourself) and it's not great if you're a marketer who sees the value in a long-form sales page.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

WooCommerce is a great shopping cart solution for WordPress Users

Reviewed 3 years ago

Open source software offers the benefit of lower cost than most commercial software and a majority of websites are developed using WordPress, which is one of the most widely used open source content management systems. WooCommerce is consistently rated among the top shopping cart solutions for WordPress. As a professional web developer it is my "Go To" e-commerce solution for my customers who are using WordPress. You can have a great looking site done in a day.

Pros

Ease of installation, Huge number of add-on modules. Numerous payment gateways. Easy to integrate shipping. Ability to generate product feeds for Google Adwords, Amazon, and Bing shopping.

Cons

Many of the premium modules require annual subscriptions so you do need to be aware of the cost when comparing open source software to an off the shelf shopping cart solution. (a good developer will be able to help you determine what your costs will be before you get started).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

WooCommerce is a great option

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall, you can have a very powerful online shop using WooCommerce. Woocommerce has help me expend my business and create a powerfull online presence with repeat customers. it has also helped me narrow down what is selling and what is not using all of its analytics.

Pros

WooCommerce is a great options for anyone looking to have a online store. What i like most is the great analytics that are always at your fingertips. There dashboard has great information that is extremely useful while making business decisions. sorting and keeping track of order statutes is very simple, making order processing quick and easy. i also like how the customer gets notifications to there email automatically.

Cons

To get the most out of WooCommerce, you really need to buy a lot of the plugins. WE stick to using plugins designed by WooCommerce themselves, so we are 100% guaranteed they will work. we are spending an extra $800 for these add-ons, when i believe they could just come standard. I had to purchase there packing slip and invoice add on to be able to add paper work with there orders. i believe that something like a simple invoice should come standard with the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Plugin to Create Beautiful Online Shopping Website

Reviewed 2 months ago

I have developed a number of online stores for my clients using the WooCommerce Plugin. I add products and I also create coupons for these products according to client requirements. My overall experience with this is really awesome, I am really happy and satisfied with WooCommerce.

Pros

WooCommerce is the best WordPress eCommerce Plugin that allows you to build a stunning and professional online shopping website. You can design an eCommerce website exactly according to your requirements. You can add simple products with images and product description and even you can add a variable product.

Cons

Adding products using WooCommerce in the website is really flexible. The all options, features and functions are really easy to understand. Even payment gateways also very easy to enable and control. So according to my experience, there are no cons.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A worthy consideration for on the cheap self managed E-Comm

Reviewed a year ago

Has been quite positive. Just because of the Wordpress platform being susceptible to poor plugins, overall need to be careful. Also upgrading Wordpress and WooComm can be a tricky issue if you've made customizations and installed plugins.

Pros

Based on Wordpress, Woo Commerce is also Free Again because of the Wordpress platform, Woo-commerce is quite extendable Extendable It Works as expected and is a decent option for E-Commerce. Easy to use, if you are okay Self Managing this is a good option.

Cons

Poor Reporting (all paid) Plugins/Extendability is all dependent on the quality of the plugins. A lot of poorly written plugins floating around.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Fantastic, but do the math first

Reviewed 3 years ago

I love WooCommerce and often recommend it, but that recommendation always comes with caveats about the unseen costs and troubles. It may seem like the best solution but it might not always be the best solution. It also integrates easily with Printful, which is always a plus for me.

Pros

WooComerce is my favorite WP shop so far. The basic plug in offers almost everything most shops needs to get up and running and it offers enough free upgrades to make your shop feel pretty complete.

Cons

The biggest con for WooCommerce is that getting anything above the basics can be costly and means you need to be ready to have a fairly hefty overhead if you want to build out anything past the basics as most advanced packages have recurring costs in the hundreds of dollars annually. The other draw back (for any wp, self hosted shop) is that you have to make sure you have your wp secure, maintained and compliant if you are going to be running a shop of any size. Payment Gateways help but since the cart is hosted on your site you should be sure to set yourself up properly, which can again lead to some unexpected costs and headaches you may have been hoping to avoid by hosting your own wp-shop.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Professional E-Commerce Plugin to create an Online Store

Reviewed 2 months ago

I have build an online store website using WooCommerce, I also do SEO for my products. Adding products in a WordPress website using WooCommerce is really easy. My overall experience is awesome with WooCommerce therefore I love WooCommerce.

Pros

WooCommerce is one of the best WordPress Plugins that allows you to design and build a beautiful online store. You can add products in that online store website and you can assign them in different categories. You can create coupons for your customers, so they apply the coupons and they get the discount. You can add different payment gateways including cash on delivery.

Cons

I found never any issue in WooCommerce even when I edit some technical things from the coding. All features are easy to understand and use. There are no cons in WooCommerce.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

eCommerce site made easy

Reviewed a year ago

WooCommerce is one of the world's most popular plugins for a reason. It provides the options to completely set up any sort of transaction in your site for free. While it can be a bit overwhelming for users who are just starting out, there a lot of helpful resources. Pretty much a tonne of tutorials are available of the popular WooCommerce plugin along with great community resources.

Pros

The range of options and flexibility in WooCommerce is absolutely astounding. No matter what kind of subscription, membership, single/group product price tag you want in your site- WooCommerce has it. No matter what kind of transaction a site needs, a WooCommerce integration is all it takes to easily add price tags and shopping cart to your site. It handles most of the hassle of the transaction for you.

Cons

The UX within the plugin can definitely be improved for users who are not that tech-savvy. If the plugin navigation was made easy, WooCommerce will stay unbeatable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The most customizable shopping cart plugin for Wordpress

Reviewed a year ago

Overall it's a wonderful, free plugin that many Wordpress themes have built-in support for. Just about any kind of customization options are available with Woocommerce, from automatic review requests mailers, affiliate programs, SEO optimization, support for Facebook and Google re-targeting campaigns.

Pros

You can build a functional eCommerce site using Woocommerce + Wordpress for free. The 3rd party support community is huge. Need an obscure payment country specific payment processor plugin? It's probably available for Woocommerce.

Cons

Setting up everything like connecting custom payment processors, warehouse stock, sku numbers and advanced features is not as easy as something like Shopify. Might not be the best choice for someone looking for a simple eCommerce solution.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WooCommerce is the best free option

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Free software and I think that the most used one becuase of that. Moreover, it runs on Wordpress, another free platform that is very used and popular. A few friends and started an online marketplace where people could register for free and sell items, similar to ebay. I think that this is the best option if you want to start cheap. But what I really like about WooCommerce is that there are multiple compatible software to create a multi-user store (marketplace) on it.

Cons

They should create like a more interactive and user-friendly visual design. Other similar products such as Shopify use an organized order for options and features. We are talking about running an online store, so it is important to being able to easily access to and remember where are the specific options and features to change / use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Any feature you could need for e-commerce, for a nickle and a dime

Reviewed 10 months ago

WooCommerce enables our team to run a hybrid digital and physical goods store. By adding additional plugins, we've been able to make a very powerful e-commerce experience.

Pros

Since WooCommerce is built on Wordpress, it is incredibly customizable. I hand-coded the cart and product pages for our website. It has an extensive library of plugins to extend functionality. There's a great user community around WooCommerce since its so widely used.

Cons

While free, a lot of advanced features require purchasing an additional plugin. It can feel like its designed in a way to garner upgrades here and there (Nickle-ing and dime-ing the power users). It is hard to get direct support, so you'll depend on the community and Stack Overflow for questions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Versatile Platform for Virtual Stores

Reviewed a month ago

It supports various payment methods which include credit card, PayPal, cash on delivery and bank transfer etc. It allows you to turn on automatic taxes and geo-location so that you will be able to display correct prices to your customers including tax. It also allows you to control the processes of checkouts from starting to end. It consists of a variety of currencies which allows you to select the currency that is needed for your store.

Pros

It is an e-commerce open-source platform which is built on word press. You can add plugin of woo-commerce to WordPress site and start your new online store. It provides free configurable options of shipping, payments and many more. It allows you to add more feature to improve the functionality of an online store. It helps in integrating virtually with any service. It helps in designing complex stores and allows you to extend your store if needed.

Cons

It may be difficult to customize geo-location. Checkouts and add on must be improved. Its graphical user interface should be improved more. Proper management of shipping fee should be provided. User may need technical capabilities for customizing templates. It extensions may be costly. Its annual subscriptions may be costly for small scale organizations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Option for Integrating with WordPress and WishList Member

Reviewed a year ago

This is the leader in online shopping carts and has been around long before the current plugins. I enjoy working with the WooCommerce dashboard because it's very native to WordPress and if you know how to use WordPress, you inevitably will be able to easily navigate WooCommerce.

Pros

I like that you can have full integration with most WordPress themes so that it looks seamless inside your shopping cart area.

Cons

I think some features are not as intuitive and require additional plugins to work. It's not ideal for a client that is not super techie, and does require a web developer to integrate some functionalities, but the tradeoff is that once it's up and running you have a professional, seamless online storefront.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Absolutely amazing tool - recommended

Reviewed a year ago

I used Woocommerce when I started my e-store because it was free. Not that I can afford to buy software I realize that I don't want to because I already have all that I need. It is amazing and I love it!

Pros

I love Woocommerce! My favorite thing about it is that it works smoothly and without problems out of the box. It is updated regularly and you can add as many plugins and extensions as you need. For example it was easy to make my shop only for downloadable items.

Cons

I hope to see in future is more detailed analytics of the purchases and a faster way to see details about the customers. Also the chekout form - please let us customize this already! We have been waiting for years!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ecommerce for Wordpress

Reviewed 8 months ago

Good, new owners have had it for a bit, will see how they work out.

Pros

This is about the only reliable options for e-commerce for wordpress. Overall it does a pretty good job. It's taking software not designed for e-commerce and making it work for e-commerce. It's helpful it was bought by the same company that owns Wordpress so hopefully moving forward there will be a lot tighter integrations.

Cons

It's not the best for rentals, they have plugins and it used to be you could buy once and it would just work, now it's subscription based for almost all of the features you'll use. So costs can balloon quickly but still cheaper than a custom solution.

page 2 of 9