WooCommerce Reviews

WooCommerce

eCommerce platform for WordPress

WooCommerce

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


228 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ecommerce for Wordpress

Reviewed 8 months ago

Good, new owners have had it for a bit, will see how they work out.

Pros

This is about the only reliable options for e-commerce for wordpress. Overall it does a pretty good job. It's taking software not designed for e-commerce and making it work for e-commerce. It's helpful it was bought by the same company that owns Wordpress so hopefully moving forward there will be a lot tighter integrations.

Cons

It's not the best for rentals, they have plugins and it used to be you could buy once and it would just work, now it's subscription based for almost all of the features you'll use. So costs can balloon quickly but still cheaper than a custom solution.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good tool for ecommerce back end

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Very easy to use, can be set up and used in a very short time. It supports a wide range of plug ins and have many features, some free and some other free, for sure. Very clear and complete dashboard, where it is very easy to find whatever you are looking for. My favorite feature of woocommerce is that it is very customizable. Payment and shipping side side, it support different gateways (credit cards, paypal, cash on delivery for example) and and different shipping fees/methods. It also allows to you set different final prices according to the market, and same for taxes.

Cons

Main points to consider are these two: Unlikely other ecommerce platforms that are on the market nowadays that you can easily use without having any knowledge on the field, woocommerce is easy to use but a good dose of common sense and minimum knowledge is needed to use it Support is basically nonexistent so you should find information through forums and comments from other users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect tool to sell products with combination of wordpress

Reviewed a year ago

Amazing. Its a powerful tool and does the task as expected.

Pros

Its integration with Wordpress makes it amazing. Wordpress has stunning website designs. Integrating Woocommerce with Wordpress makes it a strong blogging and commerce tool. It has got lot of features and payment gateway interactions to choose from.

Cons

I personally didn't find much cons on this software as I switched over from high fee and pricey tools to woocommerce and I don't regret my decision.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WooCommerce good selling program

Reviewed a year ago

I've started using WooCommerce 2017 when I made the first web shop. The developer has defined the look and functionality, and I'm alone brought in hundreds of products. I had a problem with the library contents at the beginning of each year and we changed the server file permissions. My web shop works without problems, poružbine, confirmation, payment, I am very satisfied. I plan another web shop with education and blog, I will certainly give you back the confidence of WooCommerce.

Pros

I use WooCommerce with WordPress and I'm very satisfied. The program is easy to use and can be easily and quickly bring products.

Cons

Maybe we need more graphics options when making product pages. I solve this by inserting blocks.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

If you are using Wordpress as your CMS, this is the E-Commerce solution for you.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

WooCommerce is pretty much the defacto standard for E-Commerce if you are using Wordpress for your CMS (Content Management System). WooCommerce is owned by Automattic which is the parent company of Wordpress so there is no danger of your E-Commerce provider ever shutting down.The code for the plugin will always be improved and patched for security exploits. There are Thousands of add on plugins for WooCommerce, if you need a certain functionality for your shopping cart or online catalog there is almost certainly a plugin to provide that functionality. In the rare case you couldn't find the perfect plugin there is an abundance of very proficient woo commerce programmers that custom code your solution.

Cons

I'd love to see more value in the core WooCommerce product. ie more free/complimentary features and better prices on bundles of popular/most useful add-ons. It seems like every time I want to add a feature to WooCommerce it requires another subscription or add-on payment which can easily add up to hundreds/thousands of dollars a year which cuts into profit margins.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Software that allows you to implement payment functions on our website

Reviewed a year ago

Implementing this software has been really gratifying since thanks to it we can have a website where it is possible to publish and sell products using various payment methods available worldwide, which facilitates electronic commerce.

Pros

I like this software because it has quite interesting features that facilitate the expansion of the functions of our website, as is the case that it is able to integrate with a wide variety of applications that process payments worldwide, it has an open code , provides templates with different functions and also offers the opportunity to use their own templates, also has pre-installed features that allow user votes and shopping carts, but the best thing is that it contains several plugins available to add extra functions.

Cons

It is not a software that is very easy to use because its learning curve is quite steep, so to adapt it takes time and more when it comes to carrying out its configuration.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best eCommerce software in the world!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've been using WooCommerce for many years and it's always my go-to software for any project eCommerce related.

Pros

- It's FREE - Insanely powerful - can be used for a little shop or a massive store with 100's of products - Integrates with almost any software you can think off - Highly customizable - The WooCommerce community is huge and help is just a quick Google search away

Cons

- It's difficult to give a con for WooCommerce but if I had to I would say that for an absolute beginner, it can be a bit difficult to use and to get used to but that difficulty disappears quickly after using it for a little while.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Betterment

Reviewed a year ago

It was excellent working with this software.

Pros

What I like most of this software is that it has some functions that are essential to any of the e-commerece website like payment gateway, products, shipping, tracking etc. I have been using this website for 2 years for building my own wordpress website.

Cons

The least I liked about this software is that the prices for buying some functions such as tracking the exam score of a person, number of logins per user are much more than the normal prices.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

WooCommerce is great for many businesses, but not freelancers.

Reviewed a year ago

I really wanted WooCommerce to work for my business because it had a lot of features that Easy Digital Downloads doesn't -- but WooCommerce is not good for freelancers and those who sell services online. I was upset when I switched because even though EDD works better for my transcription services, I felt like I was missing out. WooCommerce is technically free, but you'll definitely need extensions to run your store -- and they add up quickly and can be costly. Overall, I'd say for retail and physical products, WooCommerce seems like an excellent option that I would absolutely recommend. BUT for freelancers, take the loss and stick with Easy Digital Downloads -- unless WooCommerce adds freelancing features!

Pros

- It has more features and customization than EDD in many ways. - Great way to make money with your online business and ecommerce. - WooCommerce is well-known and therefore more trusted than other plugins from my experience. - Several payment methods for customers including PayPal - Many extensions - You can create discounts and coupons for your customers, which is great.

Cons

- WooCommerce isn't good for freelancers. This was the dealbreaker for me and the reason I switched to Easy Digital Downloads, which has less features than WooCommerce. - WooCommerce is super difficult to figure out for newbies. You really need to be proficient in WordPress and website building to navigate it with ease. It's a bit overwhelming and intimidating at first, but so is WordPress in general! - Like most of the WordPress plugins which claim to be free, if you want full functionality and features, expect to spend money. Extensions are basically necessary to run your business and definitely add up quickly and can end up costly to run your store the way you want to. -

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Well featured ecommerce platform for WordPress.

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall it has been a very positive experience and we will continue to recommend and use because of its great flexibility.

Pros

We have set up WooCommerce across multiple websites for our clients. The core program is free, which is a good price, and then you can add a very wide range of additional plugins that can either be free or reasonably low cost. On top of plugins, you can totally customize the code which makes it a very flexible solution. It is, I believe the most popular solution for WordPress, and that in itself makes it good choice for our clients as we want to deliver future proof solutions that are well supported.

Cons

We have seen issues with other plugins that cause WooCommerce to break. This is not necessarily the fault of WooCommerce but it does mean we do have to treat with care. While the core system is free the cost of plugins can add and can lead to unwanted costs for our clients.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Hands down the easiest shopping plugin around.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I left Weebly because the Ecommerce options were getting out of control price-wise. I needed something simple, affordable, and easy to maintain. WooCommerce hit all those buttons. I was able to get my author store up and running fairly quickly, the options are easy to understand. It's built from the ground up to be effective for all users and easy to hop right into as a newbie. There are tons of add-ons for it, anything you need, you can likely find already custom made.

Cons

For most customizations, you're looking at an extra cost. It's not easy to do the simplest things, like change the colors of the cart and checkout pages to match your site colors, or to edit those pages to add your own buttons or remove some of their default text, for example. The search functions aren't intuitive, you have to create custom filters per category or it shows all categories no matter what category you pick to show. These things were very frustrating for me as a new user, and almost made me walk away before I took a break and came back with a fresh state of mind to tackle it. While the bulk of WooCommerce is easy to set up and operate, some simple things like these seem so much harder than they should be.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The Best Way To Get Paid On Your Wordpress e-commerce store

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

So many plugins that makes the end-user and administrator happy. You can get complete analytics for sales, abandoned carts, and integrate custom email campaigns with Woocommerce. Set up is easy with a low learning curve as when you first install the plugin it immediately shoots you into a quick start setup. There are tons of tutorials online that make Woocommerce more efficient as well as resolving issues a snap.

Cons

Depending on your hosting resource limits adding Woocommerce can slow down the performance of your website.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Shopping Software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

WooCommerce is an excellent and full featured "free" mature online store plugin for Wordpress. While, out of the box, there are many features that are lacking, it is fairly easy to find whatever add ons you feel are necessary for your store. While the plugin is free, for a custom store experience, you will need to purchase some, or a bunch of, additional plugins. I consider this a positive as you can customize your store and shopping experience to your heart's desire.

Cons

WooCommerce, now owned by the same company as Wordpress, seems more interested in creating paid extensions than beefing up their main program. Their free theme "Storefront" is adequate, but for the best custom experience of website and store, I would recommend BeaverBuilder and Beaver Themer. Between the two they will allow you to fully customize your Wordpress site and store.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Brilliant Custom eCommerce

Reviewed 7 days ago
Pros

Woocommerce is great if you don't want to be locked in to Shopify or their App Store. Sure, WooCommerce needs some apps to do some advanced things, however plugins can be purchased for relatively nominal annual support fee rather than a monthly lock-in. Everything is open source, so you are free to tinker to get things just how you need. Have used WooCommerce for 3 websites and won't use anything else.

Cons

Plugin quality can vary from developer to developer, however this is not really WooCommerce's fault.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Only System I Could Piece Together at a Good Price For My Unique Business

Reviewed 8 months ago

Over all this was the right solution for my company for the cost.

Pros

Woocommerce allowed me to use woo subscriptions for our online retail site, which is one of the only fixed cost subscription programs. Other subscription programs wanted to charge me a percentage of every sale which I thought was crazy! I would rather pay a one time or yearly software fee.

Cons

Woo Commerce can be very glitchy with other programs on Wordpress. I've had issues with my templates and changes are not always easy. The worst is when a update happens and then you have to go and find out all the issues that were caused and have to go back and figure out how to fix them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easily the best self hosted shopping cart

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Woocommerce is easily the best tool for building a self hosted webstore. It's basis on wordpress allows for a great and easily accessible API, so you can quickly integrate it into your own apps. The system includes so many payment gateway integrations and addons for ticket sales, downloads and anything else you may need.

Cons

Woocommerce is not great if you require Physical point of sale, but this is trying to use a solution for a problem it wasn't intended for.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The new standard for ecommerce website (until 10.000 sku)

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Comparing Woo to Prestashop and Magento, it's the best solution if you have a limited number of SKU. Woo with elementor gives you granular control on any aspect of your website design. You have free plugin for almost every and any idea you may have for your e-commerce

Cons

If you have more than 10.000 SKU maybe Magento or Prestashop are more reliable. But they ask you to pay for anything and do not leave you the same flexibility of Woo

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WooCommerce gets us paid on TIME!

Reviewed 3 years ago

WooCommerce is the go to platform for e commerce.

Pros

This is a great payment solution for our wordpress websites. They have never failed at processing our payments and offer solutions for multiple transaction levels. In all honesty, they are the only company I know that handles this because I have never looked any further. Enjoy it.

Cons

Some price increases and hikes for more specialty services and features, but thats expected. Everyone has to make money.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The leader in Ecommerce (Especially in free solutions)

Reviewed a year ago

With Woocommerce you can build an amazing Ecommerce solution that will be easy for you to build and maintenance and easy for your customer to edit and expand. It is being used by millions of customers already. With the recent released applications for mobile you can provide a full solution to your customers

Pros

Free All the features you need to start Many features available for free with plugins Mobile Application for remote management

Cons

Some advanced features might be only available with a price

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Just wow

Reviewed a year ago

Amazing. So easy to get things up and running, yet so powerful. The developer community around it is the best.

Pros

Free. Easy to use. Tons of customization of functionality. One of the easiest ways to launch your online store.

Cons

You need to know your way around wordpress; once you do that, you're set. Also, some of the updates break other plugin functionality, but that happens with most software that supports third-party plugins.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The cheapest way to make a scalable profesional e-commerce page

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Its free expandable through plugins and with a HUGE community working behind it allowing for almost any changes or additional features you need for your e-commerce to be implemmented using plugins, compatible with most recent free and premium themes and wordpress plugins.

Cons

When you start to stacking plugins over plugins to solve all the small missing features or changes you want, your site's complexity start to grow and sometimes is very difficult to optimize it so you have a good performance out of it, a good server and some caches are essential.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Woocommerce is an amazing e-commerce solution

Reviewed 10 months ago

As a web designer, I am constantly needing to create online stores for my clients. I have tried other solutions, but this is the #1 for providing a consistent solution, that can be customized as needed. It is also a HUGE benefit that it doesn't cost my (money conscious) clients anything over their web hosting price, and my hourly fees.

Pros

It's a great e-commerce solution, it's free version offers what most users will need.

Cons

having a hard time thinking about a con=]

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Ecommerce Software for Beginners

Reviewed a year ago

Overall experience is good as the clients who need quick solutions, woocommerce helps us in same. Its cost is also affordable for those who does not want to invest much or those who are just entering into digital world

Pros

There are many points to be honest. First thing is it is simple, easy to maintain and cheap. Most of the templates are free of cost and you need not much to invest in plugins also as most of the plugins are either free or if chargeable cost is affordable. As a support, lots of tutorials are available to understand if facing any problem. Structure too is very simple.

Cons

Biggest problem or threat with this software is its security. As plugins are available and some of them are not verified so websites seems to be hacked easily compare to other softwares.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great e-commerce built-in plugin

Reviewed a year ago

It's been working great so far, had a good experience with the online store.

Pros

I was looking for a tool where I could do a database connection in order to connect it to another web application for customized reporting in online sales. Created a wordpress website, used this plugin and I was able to obtain everything needed from stock management to online sells , through a MySQL connection. The plugin worked great for e-commerce and gave me the option for advanced settings. Takes a few minutes to install wordpress on a hosting provider, install the plugin and you're ready to add products and sell online.

Cons

It's an open source application so finding support means that you have to search in blogs or pay a third party to help you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best overall E-Commerce Option

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Being the number one e-commerce plugin means that you can easily find add-ons, fixes, and other plugins that work with WooCommerce. The price is also a big plus.

Cons

When you are building a more complex site you often have to have multiple plugins to accomplish what you want or customize the code. The other things is that the shipping calculation options are not as robust as I would like.

page 3 of 10