This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

COMSOL Multiphysics

Simulation software for physics-based modeling

see alternatives

COMSOL Multiphysics Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

COMSOL application is an excellent FEM software solution. I would highly recommend it to students and any one who prefers an excellent FEM software.

Yathurshanan R.

They have been a pioneering software in the multiphysics area and conduct very good training programs to get students and users off to a good start.

Narasimhan (Nari) S.

Additionally, they have the best and easily accessible support staff able to answer any relevant questions. GUI and post-processing visualizations are remarkable.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

The convergence sometimes becomes a headache due to the finite element approach. The tutorials available are limited.

Pratham A.

Troubleshooting a numerical model in COMSOL is a painful process.

Anonymous Reviewer

You have to know each and every formula you need to use and enter them manually, which is sometimes hard to find all the detailed formula.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.6

5

4

3

2

1

13

8

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


21 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The software clearly makes multiple coupled physics interactions easy to simulate

Reviewed 5 months ago

Have solved engineering problems for clients who were looking to launch new products. Cut down development cycle times and cost of prototype building in multiple cases. Overally, the cost of entry is high, but once it is set up and in use the rewards justify the initial investment for engineering research firms.

Pros

They have been a pioneering software in the multiphysics area and conduct very good training programs to get students and users off to a good start. The interface is set up to be used in a methodical manner but can also be flexible. Options for both standalone as well as volume licensing are available so organizations can share licenses among multiple users. The benefits of using this for applicaiton development is very high in engineering and COMSOL's knowledgeable engineers are available for discussion and support.

Cons

Cost is on the high end. The set up and management needs some dedicated backend IT folks for volume licensing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A great software for solving finite element analysis

Reviewed 2 years ago

If anyone wants to get the best out of this software, it is highly recommended to go through intensive training provided by COMSOL, it is worth. This software is able to do real-world complex simulations, and in my experience, it can often become challenging to even deploy the full potential this software can provide because we are not even aware what can be done with this. It is better to run complex 3D simulations on a powerful workstation or cluster computer, as COMSOL is intensive memory consuming software.

Pros

I have been using this software for the past 10 years and have witnessed the growth of this software. COMSOL is one of the best software to date for Multiphysics applications. Some of the distinct advantages I have experienced are: 1. It is very easy to learn provided one must know the underlying theory behind the simulation, i.e. equations and empirical relations one has to consider for a specific...

Cons

COMSOL has a lot of cons and listing all of them is impossible. But some of them which I frequently have to deal with are: 1. It is computationally intensive software, needs a lot of memory and processing power. 2. It is slow because many post-processing steps equations are solved simultaneously and when actual post-processing is done, it just extracts the results from the solver. This makes the solution...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A Great Finite Element Analysis Software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Great view options, with variable viewing angles and easy to follow guidelines.

Cons

It has a steep learning curve in order to get costumed to all the advanced features of this software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Excellent and useful software package for analysis and resolution by finite elements.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very versatile for the study of coupled or multiphysical phenomena, also offering a very good interface with Matlab, for example. Even more versatile is the fact that the simulation packages that make up the program are multiplatform, so they can run in Windows environments, such as Mac and Linux, for example, which for a teacher, as in my case, gives me wide freedom for its pedagogical use among students. Another intrinsic property of importance is the fact that the user can define at pleasure, practically the number of local coordinate systems that he wishes, being able to work simultaneously in 3D, 2D and 1D.

Cons

The amount of memory that is required to run a simulation is large and the execution time can be quite long for an individual simulation. However, if the Comsol Mutiphysics is used with a floating network license it is possible to use the client-server operation mode to access the remote calculation resources to solve large models, while continuing to use the graphics card in a machine local for the visualization of the graphics. This mode of operation can generate many advantages above all in terms of obtaining faster and more efficient results when working with models where intrinsically is being solved over and over again, a large system of equations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

COMSOL Multi physics review from using for final year project

Reviewed a year ago

COMSOL application is an excellent FEM software solution. I would highly recommend it to students and any one who prefers an excellent FEM software.

Pros

Compatibility of the software using live link to connect with MATLAB. Helpful in simulating ceramics ( I have personally used it for simulating piezoelectric) , acoustics, mechanical properties, fluid flow, thermal, electrical and chemical. Can use our own equation for simulation. Being web and cloud based is real advantage. Online tutorials are very helpful in learning to and familiarizing with the software. The step by step approach to simulate is a key advantage comparing it to other simulating software.

Cons

The interface of the software is complicated. When adding material few options that cannot be found online can be hard in assigning to a model. The amount of memory require to run a simulation is large. Modelling is complicated compare to SolidWorks. Due to meshing complexity geometric may not be trusted.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

COMSOL Simulations

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is expensive. It needs a powerful computer. But it is much better than ANSYS. It also suits more to small scale mechanics like MEMS, etc.

Pros

COMSOL has various modules like MEMS, mechanics, stresses, frequency, magnetism, etc. All of the modules can be seemlessly integrated with the main software. Developing main geometry and running the final study is quite smooth. Various parameters can be controlled within the study. The final results is provided with different color gradient which makes it much easier to visually explain the result to non-tech people. I also liked the variety of materials which COMSOL has got. It is also quite convenient to change different parameters of the materials.

Cons

What I liked least about the software is the computation power it needs. If I run solidmechanics and electromagnetism modules all together with finest meshing, it would take more than 2 hours for my computer to complete the simulation, considering that I have a high end desktop with 16GB RAM and i7 processor. Therefore, it is better to use it from a remote server which is alot more powerful than desktops.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is one of the best finite element modelling softwares that I have worked with.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I learnt a lot in general about how finite element modelling works. I worked with a lot of different element types, mesh sizes to see how it affects my problem.

Pros

The best thing about this software is the freedom that it offers the user to select the physics of problem and the kind of dimensional space the user is working with. The user can make the geometry with ease and mesh it according to his or her needs. There are a lot of options available for post processing data which helps the user to see convergence of various mesh sizes and make sure that their model is an accurate representation of the true problem. The user can combine various solution sets and extract data for further processing.

Cons

There is not a good library for this software. One has to browse through forums online if they get stuck at some point with their problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

COMSOL Multiphysics is the tool of choice for my research needs

Reviewed 3 years ago

COMSOL has been a daily workhorse for my Mass transfer modeling needs.

Pros

COMSOL has allowed me to model many mass transfer phenomena that are difficult to do by hand or with softwares such as Matlab or Mathcad. It has a nice step-by-step approach to begin my modeling, allowing me to pick different physics and variables with ease. The online help and tutorials are plentiful and useful.

Cons

Sometimes, even when attempting to save a report as a word or text document, COMSOL will save it as a different file type until the second try.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Analysis of chemical reactor

Reviewed 8 months ago

Im very glad to use this program.

Pros

Reaction kinetics can modelled easily. Unit conversion helped me to model different complex units.

Cons

Tutorials can be more to understand different special issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Comsol... very good, very hard

Reviewed 2 years ago

Worked with a clean room at my former job and run a lot of simulation before building a prototype on silicium

Pros

Comsol is an awesome tool to simulate whatever you want. This is a powerful tool and an amazing this is that you can use a computational server to unload your computer from running the number. It really helps getting result faster if your simulation can have a result

Cons

It is hard, really hard to use. Everything can be controlled, which make it excellent, but also very hard to use as you have to understand every parameters perfectly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

COMSOL is a great FEA software for simulating Multiphysics CAE problems.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Learned about multiple physical mechanism acting on engineering products. Developed several mulphysics CAE model in less time duration. Simulated and validated innovative engineering products and published as technical papers.

Pros

The coupled phenomena of multiple physics for designing engineering products and the flexibility to edit governing equations is an innovative approach. Easy to use and design engineering products in virtual environment. Comsol Application builder is really a great platform to develop simulation app from comsol model.

Cons

A little challenging to understand coupling of multiple physics and mathematical modeling in a single environment.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to learn and versatile product for fluid and thermal modeling

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's extremely easy to learn to use. I first used it as a student in a fluid dynamics and heat transfer course, and as long as I understood the core equations behind what I was modeling, it was easy to get started up and running within a day. Additionally, the CAD functionality was very easy to use. The first shapes that I ever solved for were complex heat sink geometries. It's also customizable to a wide variety of scenarios and one of the few tools that can combine both structural and fluid flow/heat transfer simulations into a single simulation.

Cons

The amount of memory that it takes to run a simulation is large and the run time can be pretty long for an individual simulation. Additionally, solvers are not as robust as other tools which are often used for industrial CFD/FEA.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The App that made me love simulation

Reviewed 2 years ago

I did proved the accuracy of my data obtained experimentally. Also, example Comsol studies provided in their website with the formula is greatly helpful to start your own research.

Pros

It is really easy to learn and perform many physics with it. It teach me what simulation is and how amazing it can be. Easy to follow the steps, and see your mistakes and correct them.

Cons

You have to know each and every formula you need to use and enter them manually, which is sometimes hard to find all the detailed formula. It always requires a deep research before starting the simulation. Wish there was some ease in that. that's the only cons. I can give.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very powerful, yet still simple to use

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

COMSOL has a great user interface that allows beginners to set up multiphysics structures with the help of an interactive assistant. The simple user interface and detailed examples gallery are COMSOL's greatest advantages.

Cons

The simple interface might lead users to simplify their simulations setups and problems as well. COMSOL offers ways to implement physics easily but mostly does not provide necessary background information.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Useful finite elements analysis

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is easy to use and easy to learn thanks to their online tutorials available on Comsol official website.

Pros

I use Comsol for simulating my microchip modelling before I sent the sample plans to fabrication. It is physics engine has powerful features such as tensile strain calculations. Its excel integration is very well.

Cons

Matlab integration should be improved, i want to use all my tools together

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review for Comsol Multiphysics

Reviewed 3 years ago

The software was found to be helpful for analysis the velocity and heat profiles for thermo-chemical treatment of biomass.

Pros

Its gives you the freedom to enter and modify the equations pertaining to physical systems. it's ability to reconcile different physics.

Cons

The convergence sometimes becomes a headache due to the finite element approach. The tutorials available are limited.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User friendly analysis software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Helpful simulations of systems

Pros

Multiple analysis types that are easy to setup; Thermal, Static, Dynamic, Flow, etc.. Android Application GUI.

Cons

If user supplies app to customer it will run as long as the study initially took. Can be challenging.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Numerical Modelling of......pretty much anything

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The ability to numerically characterize almost any thermofluid related problem. This program is capable of carrying out complex simulations without any issues.

Cons

Troubleshooting a numerical model in COMSOL is a painful process....I have had to fix it by trial and error

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Super User Friendly

Reviewed 2 years ago

Starting with a simple model, I enjoyed working with it, but as my model gotmore complicated and I needed to couple 2-3 domains for acoustics structure interaction, it lacks lots of features.

Pros

The thing that I like most about this software is being very user friendly. Compared to other FE software such as ANSYS, I could say that you can learn how to work with COSMOL way more easily.

Cons

The graphics and design is not good. it also lacks some features when importing from CAD software such as SolidWorks.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It's user friendly.

Reviewed 9 months ago

Useful libraries, examples and materials.

Pros

Heat analysis, electrical and magnetic field analysis and mechanical analysis are a proportion of the software capabilities.

Cons

3D geometries importing and analysis are time consuming.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A useful tool on engineering and science, excellent for CFD simulations.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

it had excellents models for CFD modeling and others situations. it had a great capacity for modeling with respect to meshing and processing of data.

Cons

it's a bit sturdy, the enviroment is not friendly, the user must have a previous knowledge, it seems to be a little hard to learn and manage.