This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Loadbalancer.org

Cloud-based & on-premise IT applications management solution

see alternatives

Loadbalancer.org Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Ease of configuration being used in multiple sites globally. With the ease of setup to handle failover this product has been a great asset in or infrastructure.

Anonymous Reviewer

Amazing product with stability and absolutely less maintenance and effective one time setup. Glad to know there are providing Cloud based Load balancers as well.

Srikanth G.

I cant pinpoint anything for the use it is running on, to the contrary I can feel system is overall a winner. Support is very good, and know their stuff, and that's what puts everything together.

Angelos D.

Cons

Well, nothing much really - we forget that its actually there, the only problem is the boss thinks you are not working hard enough.

Angelos D.

Some of the graphs are a little difficult to decipher as to the roll up of data and what it is reporting.

Anonymous Reviewer

Despite using this product for many years, it is difficult to find something glaring. In fact, we have purchased more and even upgraded the initial pair we deployed.

Mark L.

Overall rating

4.6

5

4

3

2

1

21

12

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


33 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Loadbalancer.org has been a great solution for Patra

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Runs on VMWare. Easy to configure. SSL offloading works great. Layer 4 and Layer 7 load balancing both work very well. We didn't have success with session stickiness with a couple of the other load balancers we tested. Was one of the main factors we chose the product. Support has been very good. Have not had a single failure of the software in over 4 years.

Cons

NIC assignment on the VM host machine is not very clear. The last update we pushed broke all of our configs and we had to recreate manually.

Vendor response

Hi Sean. I would like to apologize for the issues you had when deploying our solution, specifically with NIC assignment. I passed your feedback onto our developers to look at ways of improving the NIC assignment in a future release.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing product with stability and absolutely zero maintenance

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Amazing product with stability and absolutely less maintenance and effective one time setup . Glad to know there are providing Cloud based Load balancers as well. Without doubt would propose Cloud based load balancers for my customers.

Cons

Improvements like multiple scheduling algorithms for distributing client load, All hosts in a cluster must be located in the same subnet, Cannot provide reverse proxy services functionality that is required for applications etc..

Vendor response

Srikanth, Thanks very much for your kind review. We often get some confusion with how we describe the deployment options for multiple subnets. Rest assured our products definitely support all deployment methods including reverse proxy and the backend servers can be on any routable network. Please don't hesitate to contact support to start a conversation about the available options - including our server-based adaptive feedback agent. Once again thanks very much for your review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We purchased it from web and in notime with the help of support it was up and running

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are running dual server farm for end user computing and financial application. We were using 2x LoadBalancer as most of our users connect to windows servers from linux platform. Initially we started using this for Windows Terminal Servers and then we tweaked it bit further added other services available locally. Since it works on TCP services we were able to add multiple services in single platform. The comparing product was 10 times more expensive and providing very similar features. We found loadbalancer quite effective in terms of both cost and functionality.

Pros

Based on Linux platform, it is robust and secure. And provide unlimited customization levels. You can actually request something to suit your organizational needs. You can run multiple services not limited to operating system e.g. you can run to loadbalance Windows Server Farm and Web applications simultaneously. you can introduce new servers in existing setup and take out old without any downtime

Cons

Web UI to configure is bit complex , However the support is excellent and provide service promptly. Agent less there is not much information you can what going on target services

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

We use this solution to blance the connection load to our customer website on our six web servers.

Reviewed 3 years ago

it's easy to setup and use, it's really nice to communicate with their custumers service who is quick and qualified.

Pros

Loabalancer.org solutions are esay to setup and administrate. They can balance differents protocols with the same applicance. We really like the Direct Routing method to get a really good reponse time for our custumors even if this method requier some adjustements on web servers to work properly.

Cons

In the past i have got a issue with the serial cable that use for making a cluster work. I think they can improve this part to automaticaly setup the cluster when a specific cable is connected on two appliance for exemple.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Functional, Cost Effective, Easy and Reliable

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall Experiance = Very Good

Pros

Functional, Cost Effective Implimentation took half the time compared to other more popular appliances Easy to support and maintain Excellent Documentation and Suport from loadbalancer.org via email and phone

Cons

The Interface is simple and intuitive but can be at times clunky. Have found it works better in Chrome. Would like to see facelift on the interface. MIBs are available for monitoring the appliance but could do with adverting these and making them easier to download

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very easy to deploy and manage on production servers, excellent performance on a VM

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The layer 4 configuration is as good as a hardware LB if not better, the deployment on our network , the dashboards for monitoring the traffic, load and performance is very satisfactory, management and maintenance is relatively easy and there have been hardly any support requirement sought from us, towards trouble shooting any issues. Excellent to deploy on a production environment in a virtualised platform, especially on a layer 4 configuration.

Cons

SSL certificate implementation as part of the SLB needs to be incorporated or improved Traffic analysis to be made in better readable form and the dashboard especially for traffic management could be improved

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We have worked with Loadbalancer.org for a number of years, their support is second to none

Reviewed 3 years ago

Load balancing and SSL Termination and visibility of concurrent connection in

Pros

The HA ability allows you to make changes and reboots without affecting your environment. Updates to existing infrastructure assets is easy and SSL requests are a breeze

Cons

My only Fault is that the updating of the Loadbalancer.org virtual device is not simplistic like other virtual or physical devices. An update can take out the services to a long time. Now they may have fixed this but this is why I am hesitant to upgrade our revisions

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The product and support are rock solid!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

-Stability -Fantastic support team -Multiple deployment options -Support for the most popular hypervisors

Cons

-Could be a little more user friendly -Although functional the UI could use a refresh -No API support

Vendor response

We've given the user interface a small refresh (simplifying the modify virtual servers and SSL Termination sections). - Much more to come in v9. But we've always had an API - Have you tried contacting support to discuss your requirements? Check this blog: http://www.loadbalancer.org/blog/how-do-i-automate-load-balancer-deployments/

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable product with lots of features

Reviewed 3 years ago

Daily Reports. Bandwidth Usage. Administrator Guide. Easy to use and easy to deploy

Pros

Product is easy to configure and easy to manage. Product is very stable for production environment. Administrator guide and installation manual are very easy to understand and Administrator can easily manage all the information and logs.

Cons

GUI End user interface should be more informational. Monitoring users should work in real time. Restarting certain services should not loose users information.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Email load balancer

Reviewed 2 years ago

The load balancers allowed us to set up a DAG and have redundancy where we needed it. This brand was a great value for the money. Every time I called support, they were extremely helpful and very competent. I would definitely use this software again, and I would recommend them to anyone.

Pros

It works. I was using the software as an email load balancer. Support staff helped get this configured and working as designed. I did not need to be an expert.

Cons

The software is complicated, but that is the nature of the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Implemented when another application required the use of a load balancer

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Cost effective - we had a small number servers that needed to be load balanced. Great support. Purchased the virtual machine model which made setup very easy.

Cons

We had one minor issue shortly after implementing that was resolved with a software update. I would like the software upgrade process to be more wizard point and click oriented.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback. We're aware of some historical issues and we have redesigned the whole update process in v9 to separate security from functionality . This is to make the whole process simpler in order to help customers get ever closer to zero downtime...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

good product, great value for money, with excellent support

Reviewed 3 years ago

full load balancing for exchange, without the pricetag of much more expensive hardware. No "expiring" hardware (As we got the vm) and it was even supported in hyper-v environment...

Pros

very good, stable, and understandable product. I cant pinpoint anything for the use it is running on, to the contrary I can feel system is overall a winner. Support is very good, and know their stuff, and that's what puts everything together.

Cons

well, nothing much really - we forget that its actually there, the only problem is the boss thinks you are not working hard enough...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Loadbalancers that just worked

Reviewed 3 years ago

No training required, straightforward and easy to deploy

Pros

Easy to understand and implement loadbalancing features without reading the manual. Their deployment guide is also useful and you can still reach out to the support team should you require have an application you need help to deploy.

Cons

Despite using this product for many years, it is difficult to find something glaring. In fact, we have purchased more and even upgraded the initial pair we deployed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reliable product with excellent support

Reviewed a year ago

This is a mission critical system for our business and it has never let us down.

Pros

Totally robust and the support team are amazing

Cons

Interface and especially reporting is now quite dated - new version promised!

Vendor response

Hi Trevor thank you for your time to leave us a review, we are putting a lot of effort into reviewing the reporting, as several customers have mentioned it. Serena www.loadbalancer.org

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Loadbalancer is a great team who are knowledgeable and helpful

Reviewed 3 years ago

A reliable product that does what its designed to do and is stable.

Pros

The software has always been reliable and stable, it is technical staff who enhance the product. Their ability to configure the product to our bespoke requirements, this makes the difference to other load balancer products on the market.

Cons

We currently have no cons using the software. The dashboards may look less modern but I really don't mind.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our two Enterprise R16 Load balancers are running now for years without any problems.

Reviewed 3 years ago

They simply do what they were bought for.

Pros

The load balancers are running very stable, provide a good performance and after a while you do not even know you are using them because they are inconspicuous.

Cons

There is nothing to complain about, no performance or stability issues, no need to reboot. Rare software updates because there isn't much you can make better when the product is perfect. :-)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Loadbalancer.org is a very solid solution that handles our complex data center needs.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It allows easier administration of SSL via SSL offloading as well as better resource utilization.

Pros

There are a great many options to build your load balancing solutions to suit requirements. The support staff is exemplary and works very quickly to resolve any issues.

Cons

Upgrades do not always go smooth, but the support staff is always great to resolve the problems in a quick timeframe.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This is a solid and well executed load balancer. It saved us a ton of time and money.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We were able to replace our previous LBs and add speed/features for a nominal price.

Pros

The ease of use and implementation are huge pluses with this software. It provides everything that 90% of companies would use and does it very well. The price allowed us to get 2 pairs of LBs instead of just the 1 pair we were looking at from the competition.

Cons

The interface is a bit clunky and the reporting/monitoring is less than robust. Some of the graphs are a little difficult to decipher as to the roll up of data and what it is reporting.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Works like it says on the Tin

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Does everything it says on the Tin, simply easy to use. Great support and documentation on the site. Great Value for money.. Emailed support a few times and always got a thorough and great explanation to fix the issue.

Cons

SNMP functions are a bit lacking, but then again, Loadbalancer.org had an article that explained why

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Load balancing works very well. easy to setup and config

Reviewed 3 years ago

reduce in tickets related to servers high utilization and 24/7 up time for applications

Pros

the setup of the appliance is very easy and straight forward. the design is very simple. no complex steps involved.

Cons

features of the product should be increased. when compared to other LB appliances its lags support for virtual environment

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Good!! we have had no issue in the last 2 years and made our cloud solutions very reliable

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

the software is very nice, easy to use and runs very well, i like how easy it is to set up and maintain.

Cons

the only thing i do not like is that the logging is not very detailed, i would like to see more of the packets and what the load balance is seeing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very fast and great at what it does

Reviewed 2 years ago

For a nominal price, we were able to put a set of load balancers in front of our web servers and provide a level of reliability that we did not have before.

Pros

This was the easiest to configure set of load-balancers that I have used. It took us less than an hour to have 2 virtual LB's in an HA cluster.

Cons

The interface is basic and could really use some more reporting options.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review, I spoke with our development team and they're working on improving the reporting options available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good support team, usually resolve issues withing hours

Reviewed 3 years ago

Stable software

Pros

Support is great. Also they will work with you on models renewals. Just because they have a newer model you dont have to buy it

Cons

There is less knowledge based articles. Renewal price is bit expensive, for something you already have.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It serves our purpose

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's a stable product, meeting our requirements. Never need to worry of looking other products in the market.

Cons

I don't see any cons as in such. Our requirements for a load balancer is minimal a d this product meets the needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I enjoyed working on loadbalancer.org

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Haproxy on command line is difficult to manage but it became much easy due to graphical interface. Here there is no such dependency that unix guys only can manage it. It's easy tool from configuration perspective.

Cons

Whatever the commands we need to execute can be executed on graphical interface. This helps everyone to get required information such as netstat output.