This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

ARCHICAD

3D architectural CAD for architects, designers & planners

see alternatives

ARCHICAD Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

I have been with ArchiCAD since V4 and watched it grow into a great piece of software for our industry. It is used nearly every day and is a great asset in our office.

Brendon G.

ArchiCAD has many great qualities, like their great customer service and mobile access capabilities. It is important for our workflow and it has done wonderfully.

Anonymous Reviewer

This software is pretty easy to use right away and very powerful. The 3D design ability is great as well.

Theresa p.

Cons

That said, with limited or no support between versions of the same package from the industry standard, coordination can still be a pain.

Farral G.

The inability to create "blocks" is utterly ridiculous and maddening. There are 20 ways to access every objects setting and it will confuse you to no end for the first year.

Anonymous Reviewer

Poor and complicated tools, takes longer than the competition.

Heliseth Ranse J.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

88

55

18

1

0

88%
positive reviews
98%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


162 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

O melhor software BIM - Archicad

Reviewed 4 months ago

Eu uso o Archicad a mais de 6 anos e posso garantir que a minha satisfacção para com este software é mais de 98%... Simplismente espetacular.

Pros

Falar do archicad é falar da melhor solução CAD/BIM de hoje amanhã e do futuro mais distante A interface do usuário é espetacular, dinámica e muito intuitiva. Encontrei em um só lugar a opurtunidade de criar a volumetria dos meus projectos, gerar a documentação(Plantas, pormenores, Mapas de quantidade, renderizar etc) este é um grande diferencial entre os varios softwares bim existentes no mercado

Cons

Na verdade o programa é muito espetacular que tenho poucos contras em relação a ele em minha experiencia como usuário... Talvez falar de ferramentas em falta: - A integração com motores de renderização mais sufisticados do mercado (V-ray, Corona Render) como motores internos ou addons; - Tutoriais para a modelagem de objectos parametricos; - Os travamentos de vez em quando, o que não verificamos com frequência na mais recente versão(Archicad 24)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Developing designs is a breeze

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our developed design workflow has sped up. The ability to switch between 2d and 3d visualisations of the space allows us to pick up on issues we wouldn’t normally come across until much later in the design and mitigate them as necessary.

Pros

The software sped up our workflow significantly from 2d software and is particularly useful for conceptual and developed design stages where we are continually tweaking the design. The 3d views are particularly useful for understanding design changes as a space. Setting up quick window and door layouts is particularly easy to do and change.

Cons

The software works really well at the developed design stage but when it comes to technical design it is very difficult to apply specific products such as windows when the design is not covered by the basic archicad parameters and the company does not yet support the software in its downloads.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The real BIM

Reviewed 21 days ago

Superb software, it is a real advantage with all the potential for improvement you can imagine. Great support and permanent development. It is also supported in MAC

Pros

Its a tool created for architecture and it is amazingly agile and powerful. Archicad is definitely a competitive advantage.

Cons

Since Archicad is not the industry standard, it sometimes creates conflict with consultants and clients.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Powerful piece of software that could rival Revit if Graphisoft could shift their approach

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Sometimes I like that archicad is less rigid than Revit. It's easy to create what you want and to get it to look the way it should. Rendering is a breeze. Some of the tools are beyond intuitive. They function exactly the way they should.

Cons

This is BIM light. You will be piecing together your model using slabs to represent everything under the sun. You will fudge things with solid element operations that will keep you up at night. Archicad will force you to be inaccurate unless you fight it to your last breath. You'll curse Archicad's lack of ortho snaps. The inability to create "blocks" is utterly ridiculous and maddening. There are...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Archicad herramienta para la arquitectura

Reviewed 2 months ago

Comencé a usar archicad ya que llegue a un nuevo trabajo donde solo usaban este software, la verdad me sorprendió lo mucho que facilita algunas labores dentro del diseño de la arquitectura, como los cálculos de escaleras, de techumbre o en un mismo modelo poder obtener rápidamente plantas, secciones y elevaciones, la verdad mi experiencia con archicad ha sido muy grata y lo recomendaría a colegas.

Pros

Lo que mas me ha gustado es la facilidad con la que se puede aprender sin necesidad de tomar algún tipo de curso o capacitación (aunque lo recomiendo para un mejor manejo del software), es bastante sencillo el descubrir como utilizar las herramientas y tiene bastantes opciones de edición de estas mismas, su extensa biblioteca facilita mucho el escalar los espacios, y los sistemas para diseño de techo y escaleras sin duda facilitan mucho el diseño de espacios.

Cons

Lo que menos me ha gustado es la calidad de las líneas ya que el borde de estas se percibe redondo cuando debería terminar de forma recta, esto le quita un poco de calidad a las entregas ya que se ve un poco sucio a la hora de crear una lamina y posteriormente hay que pasar las laminas por otro programa para mejorarlas. También al copiar y pegar elementos a la lamina a veces el hatch pierde la escala, mas allá de eso creo que es una excelente herramienta.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ArchiCAD

Reviewed a year ago

I have been with ArchiCAD since V4 and watched it grow into a great piece of software for our industry. It is used nearly every day and is a great asset in our office.

Pros

With the release of ArchiCAD V23 there are a lot of new features that have increased my more flow. The integration of add-ons like TwinMotion and the new an improved coloumns and beams tools.

Cons

Not a fan of the buy the software and then pay the monthly subscription on top. Adobe and other software don't do this. They should also include more in the subscription, localised add-ons like cadimage add-ons.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Software favourite

Reviewed 8 months ago

It permitted me to take my business from one where customers never truly comprehended what it was they were getting to one where they knew precisely what they planned to get.

Pros

ArchiCAD is an exceptionally utilitarian 3D CAD/BIM framework which will permit you to understand your design dreams in the most ideal way. It is moderately natural to utilize and it's utilization of 3D parametric components makes demonstrating a breeze. Whenever you have aced the fundamental 3D CAD capacities there is likewise a universe of BIM occasions to find too. Elite IFC interfaces make it simple to work together with different experts.

Cons

There isn't a great deal to really detest about ArchiCAD, perhaps on the off chance that anything its propensity to crash occassionally. (Be that as it may, by and large it is sufficiently simple to recuperate from close to where you left off...)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

One of the best tools for BIM implementation

Reviewed 2 years ago

As an Architect, I have been able to use ArchiCAD for conceptual designs, detailed drafting, interior layouts as well as generating high-quality elevations, sections and 3D views for all my projects, including presentation drawings. In fact, 3D modelling and rendering have been made simple thanks to ArchiCAD. Visualization, (placing cameras) and gathering documentation are also uncomplicated. Rendering tools are useful and there is no need to get extra plug-ins for performing the same tasks that can be done within the software itself. I consider ArchiCAD to be better than its counterparts, e.g. Revit mainly because it is uncomplicated to use, with the same functionality at an economical investment.

Pros

ArchiCAD is one of the most innovative platforms for BIM available in the market today. It is a powerful software that can cater to the design needs of architects, interior designers as well as landscape and urban planners. One can either import 2D drafts into ArchiCAD and work on the same to prepare a 3D model; or work on ArchiCAD on Plan mode and the software will automatically generate elevations,...

Cons

As is with other similar software, ArchiCAD requires a robust system to operate with a high level of RAM especially when rendering. It does tend to slow down the system a bit especially when you are opening a data-rich file. Secondly, there is a steep learning curve with the software, which is easy to overcome with practice. Apart from these two shortcomings, I have no other major concern that would affect my opinion of this otherwise excellent software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Value for Money & Great Software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Day by day i'm started feeling more connected to the software without comprising my design, explaining my design to my clients through this medium (ArhiCAD software) is always makes my confidence level up. It's a good way to start your career. Thank you Graphisoft

Pros

As an Architect it is important to have a good tool with you & i guess ArchiCAD is the first choice. as a young and aspiring architect i always wanted give a meaning to my design, This software help me to get a more practical approach to my work from the beginning of my design, I can work in more details of my project while managing it's 3-D model effortlessly. More control over model while drawing in 2-D is a plus. The more you will use it more will connect with the software.

Cons

not much but the document manager is bit more complicated, it could more user friendly it will make our more easier.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ultimate architecture experience using archicad

Reviewed 12 days ago

I would say interesting in terms of capabilities you will discover with archicad

Pros

Easy designing of the built environment with 3d visualization Very few softwares that can give such professional output and even the ones available none will compare to archicad.

Cons

The only challenge is in designing for large neighborhoods,it lags especially when using a low performing computer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Watch your house before building it from A to Z with the ArchiCAD program

Reviewed a year ago

I think it is good enough for my and my friends' work experiences that he achieved with us a lot of structures and buildings

Pros

use of tools that are compatible with the needs of the architectural designer and with its method of work and its way of thinking, we find the tools used in the program are the same architectural elements that are composed for any construction, we find the tools contain wall tools (walls) of various types, columns, beams (all kinds) and tiles As well as general site tools such as the network that are...

Cons

I think it is moderate in the direction of the negatives from my personal experience that it only blames the program for its poor 3D output, but the 18th version of the program has added a socket for cinema and it is expected that the 19th version will see this socket, so they want to get rid of this negativity, which I think is the most important Negative in the program for me

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

archicad for bim and 3d

Reviewed 2 years ago

used daily in our office, the workflow is set up very well, drawings can be published quickly and with little effort, so it definitely is worth the money.

Pros

from design to detailing we use the software in every design stage with buildings and landscape designs. 3D models and solutions can be achieved quickly and in depth.

Cons

over the years it has become very detailed and comprehensive, sometimes (stairs e.g.) it has become overbloated a bit. very expensive when used together with the yearly subscription and updates.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have solved 3D modelling problems that I had with another software, faster and better

Reviewed 3 years ago

The first hand benefits obtained from using ArchiCAD, are way importants. The way of getting familiar with the work ambient is so easy, the palletes and menus are very easy to configure, and once you get familiar with it, the worflow is almost intuitive, being this a highlight because it increases the productivity on many levels. Another thing that is so beneficial is the project management and...

Pros

How to begin this review? This software is so delightful! Actually, this software is my first option on BIM world. The render engine quality is amazing and very likely and customizable. This is an AMAZING OPTION, an AMAZING PRODUCT, the best choose. In its features, this software it's an adventure, the more you enter the menus and options, the more you get enchanted. One of the best things on it, it's the fluency on the model management and the views, the control on every level of the model, the customizability on the menus. Frankly, this is a great option.

Cons

The dislike about this software? Actually i have minimum dislikes, the only thing I'd recommend to the developers of ArchiCAD would be that the document generator could be more friendly, like other drawing CAD applications, that would make more easier the process of finishing the tasks. Oh, and another thing that I don't find very likeable is that the IOS verson of the bimx is more practical than the pc one.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

An excellent attempt in the field of design

Reviewed 2 years ago

All in all a perfect software for a beginner in the field of design as it will provide the basis of how a structure works through visuals. It can be described as a perfect software suitable for an architect!

Pros

The software provides an interface that gives an ease of use to practicing architects as well as architecture students. The features are to the point and can be altered and used as various other elements apart from their original use, for the purposes of design communication. The best feature of Archicad is the ability to edit the structure in 3D at a very acceptable and adequate speed making visualization very simple.

Cons

The downside is the layout processing part as well as documentation. It requires a high end RAM space and quite a lot of time to update the drawings as on the working tab. The changes will appear late and it is hectic at times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of my favourite pieces of software

Reviewed 4 years ago

It allowed me to take my business from one where clients never really understood what it was they were getting to one where they knew exactly what they were going to get.

Pros

ArchiCAD is a highly functional 3D CAD / BIM system which will allow you to realise your architectural visions in the best possible manner. It is relatively intuitive to use and it's use of 3D parametric elements makes modelling a breeze. Once you have mastered the basic 3D CAD capabilities there is also a world of BIM opportunities to discover as well. World class IFC interfaces make it easy to collaborate with other consultants.

Cons

There is not a lot to actually dislike about ArchiCAD, maybe if anything its tendency to crash occassionally. (But generally it is easy enough to recover from near where you left off...)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great program for architectural design

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This package is feature rich and is well supported. While there are nowhere as many users, at least in the US, as there are for the industry standard, it seems to me gaining in use - probably because of marketing to students. Cost is much more reasonable if you can manage without having the industry standard software.

Cons

It is harder to collaborate with many engineers and other consultants that typically use the industry standard. It does support files created with other CAD packages, but it will never be as seamless as having everyone on the same platform. That said, with limited or no support between versions of the same package from the industry standard, coordination can still be a pain.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

High end Designer Software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, my experience with ArchiCAD was awesome. I would recommend it to designers

Pros

I have used this software for my design needs for the last one year and the value I have gotten from it it insurmountable! The software offers a nice practical 2D and 3D experience when doing the models. It also offers numerous tools which when combined, one is able to bring out an excellent image just like a pro. With proficiency with the software, one is able to maneuver so fast and with so much ease that the software actually reduces the time required for a drawing by more than 70%. It was easy for me to learn the operations as they all are practical and well organized on the screen.

Cons

Some starters may find it challenging to work with the numerous tools the software offers. It also requires some advanced skills and knowledge about designs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

RESIDENTIAL DESIGN MODEL QUICK AND BEAUTIFUL

Reviewed 2 years ago

ARCHICAD is best for my presentation 3D modeling, but not best for my rendering, if i have enough time to create a more realistic picture i employ other rendering engines compatible with archicad.thanks

Pros

I ones had challenges with my PC storage that made me install a version of archicad, i had an urgent presentation and all i have was Archicad,my 2d Autocad drawings were allowed to import into Archicad. I was able to generate 3D models quickly, with a beautiful roof generated after selecting all my roof boundaries with slope definition, Archicad rendering might not be the best but its really beautiful and presentable that day, it saved my presentation that’s day.

Cons

I really don't have anything against this application, it’s really a good software, just that its rendering engine needs to be upgraded to give a more realistic 3D picture, and it slows down the PC, while carrying out modelling operations AND rendering on PC with low RAM installed, i had to upgrade my PC RAM so i can enjoy ARCHICAD.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ArchiCAD: for BIM demands

Reviewed 2 years ago

If you are doing any construction-related drawing, try ArchiCAD for a once for the perfect 3D outcome. It's priceworthy and highly recommended.

Pros

As a civil engineer, using BIM software is essential for my day to day work. Usually I'm working as a Software Engineer, still, I'm doing simple house projects for my clients as draftsmen & I really satisfied with ArchiCAD to fulfil my clients' requirements. It is simple and more powerful. Can easily handle this software If we are familiar with AutoCAD because it's pretty similar UI like AutoCAD. ArchiCAD helps us to create powerful 3D drawings with more details. We can get detailed rendering even quicker when compared to the other market available BIM software.

Cons

It's hard to find cons over this vendor. Need some stability upgrades over issues for crashing the software for working larger products. Need some RAM management improvement for this software. Other than these, ArchiCAD is perfect software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Archicad como herramienta para la arquitectura

Reviewed 4 months ago

Aprendi a usar archicad hace algunos meses ya que entre a trabajar a una nueva oficina donde utilizaban este software, aprendi a usarlo en poco mas de 2 dias asi que diria que es realmente facil aprender. Facilita mucho el trabajo para proyectos y tiene una biblioteca amplia con puertas, ventanas y otro tipo de detalles. Lo recomiendo al 100% es una excelente herramienta para cualquier oficina de arquitecutra.

Pros

Lo que mas me gusta de este software es que te brinda la posibilidad de diseñar de manera simultanea en 2D y 3D , lo que te permite avanzar realmente rapido en trabajos de diseño y dibujos arquitectonicos, ya que te permite sacar de manera facil secciones, elevaciones, plantas y renders del proyecto. Es un programa relativamente facil de utilizar puedes aprender por ti mismo sin mayor esfuerzo, aunque es recomendable hacer algun tipo de capacitacion para dominarlo en su totalidad.

Cons

Lo que menos me gusta del programa es que la calidad de los renders que puedes obtener no es muy buena, es mas bien basica. Tambien las lineas del pgrama no tienen una definicion tan nitida ya que los bordes al hacer zoom se ven redondos. De todas formas es un excelente programa que permite trabajar de manera rapida, y si lo que preocupa no son los renders entonces es perfecto.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Architectural Tool

Reviewed 5 months ago

By my opinion most poweful CAD-Bim sofware of all.

Pros

It is really great software, not difficult to use, precise. From 2D to 3D simultaneously,very convincing renders. Yo can do even calculations, estimations, material lists and much,much more.

Cons

Something I´m waithing for a long time from Graphisoft is to relese some GDL scripting course. It is difficult to find enough learning material and what already exists is very difficult for understandning for people out of coding world. Thera are some improvments with PARAM-O but not for the MAC users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful, easily customizable CAD software for your design + construction projects

Reviewed 3 years ago

Popular in Europe, ArchiCAD is the only BIM software I use in my design practice. The advantage of designing in 2 and 3 dimensions simultaneously allows me to be better at my job and provides an easier way to communicate design drawings to my clients. There is no comparison between ArchiCAD and AutoCAD or Sketch Up.

Pros

Flexibility, ease of use and depth of project customization. Design in 2 and 3 dimensions simultaneously. Import and export projects with AutoCad, etc.

Cons

Not as popular as AutoCAD, fewer free and for fee objects available. Deep knowledge is required to unlock all of ArchiCAD’s powerful features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Archicad

Reviewed 10 months ago

Avec Achicad j'arrive a satisfait plusieurs client dans le domaine de la construction bâtiment. Archicad est un logiciel de conception super.

Pros

Dans Archicad, j'ai beaucoup plus aimé l' outils forme et tout ce qu'il peut faire. J'adore aussi l'accès facile des outils de travaille.

Cons

En Archicad j'aurais voulu avoir la facilité de rendre réel les convention. Genre faire tout le rendu 3D dans le logiciel

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

We are a small half residential, half commercial architecture firm and use ArchiCAD exclusively.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

ArchiCAD allows the user a great deal of specificity when it comes to the 2D and 3D look of different objects, walls, doors, etc. Used in coordination with BIMx, it is an outstanding tool for combining visualization and documentation.

Cons

Given that there is such a high level of allowable customization, it is not as easy to use "out-of-the-box". Without a more highly specified internal, firm-created template, there is a high learning curve to get CDs to look the way you want them to look.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for Virtual Building

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

ArchiCAD is very complete, light, intuitive and with excellent quality of representation, even because it is aimed exclusively at Architecture. But I believe that the biggest differential of it for the competitors is the freedom of customization of the project, not limiting it in design depending on the resources or by complexity, being much less bureaucratic. "

Cons

Its does not have a MAC version yet, so you need to run Parallels Windows, that can makes your computer slower