App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Kritik Logo

Kritik

Improve Student Engagement with Peer Assessment

see alternatives

(0)

Kritik Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

23

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.7/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

I think this is a great solution to the problem of both getting students good feedback on their qualitative assignments and of teaching students to be effective evaluators.
It is one of the best educational programs I have worked with in my 2.5 years as a teaching assistant. Super easy to use, very friendly customer reps, and the students really liked it.
The interface is intuitive, and the support is good, making it a good overall experience.
Students often complain that the process on the whole creates more work than is reasonable for this level of course.
The students seem to be continually confused about the grade they see in Kritik and it can make my email quite unwieldy.
I also found that many of my students gave high grades across the board. But my main issue with using it in other courses is asking my students to pay an additional fee.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


23 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Elizabeth G.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kritik

Reviewed 2 years ago

It makes my students much more engaged with the class and each other!

Pros

I love that it gives me an alternative to traditional peer review, which is often messy and difficult to keep track of.

Cons

I wish leaving comments directly on student essays was easier--maybe if there was a Google Drive integration.

LM
AvatarImg

Leslie M.

E-Learning, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An incredibly effective platform for peer review!

Reviewed 5 months ago

I really appreciate how this has helped me elevate the peer review process into something far more meaningful. I teach geography, so in addition to all the content delivery, structuring a peer review of this quality is almost impossible. But I also really believe in the importance of helping students collaborate and provide feedback better.

Pros

The structure of the platform and how it makes all the menial tasks of setting up peer review incredibly easy. The quality of feedback I see from students who engage meaningfully far surpasses what I was previously able to get them to do in our LMS (Canvas). I am a huge fan of peer review as a concept, but in practice, students are not well situated to do it and it takes a lot of time to set it up...

Cons

The students seem to be continually confused about the grade they see in Kritik and it can make my email quite unwieldy. I haven't spent much time looking at the student view, but that seems like something that could be fixed, maybe more warnings about the grade they're seeing added or something. I'd also like to be able to weight different assignments differently within the same class.

Vendor response

Dear Leslie, Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to learn that your students find Kritik beneficial to their learning experience. We plan to make the Student Experience more intuitive for the instructor to see how their class interacts with Kritik. Thanks again! Best KritikHQ

SZ
AvatarImg

Shauna Z.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Shauna Zorich Honest Kritik Review

Reviewed 5 months ago

My would say my overall experience was mediocre to good. The decreased grading load was great, the software issues were not. The students didn't love it enough for me to stop using Top Hat and replace it with Kritik in my other courses. Though, if I do teach the capstone course again in the future, I would definitely be interested in hearing about updates and would consider it for that particular class.

Pros

I have used Kritik in my capstone undergraduate public health course. I liked that it was a relatively easy way to take some of the burden of grading off of me, and place it onto the students in a way that improved the learning process.

Cons

I haven't taught the capstone course in about 2 years, so I am unfamiliar with the updated features of Kritik. When I did use it back in 2020, it was still quite new and had some bugs. For example, it was difficult to deal with late assignments and sometimes my students found that their projects were too big to upload (they were voice-over PPTs). I also found that many of my students gave high grades...

Vendor response

Dear Shauna, Thank you very much for writing us a detailed response. In the past two years, Kritik has evolved its features and functionality, and we would be happy to show you what's new anytime. Please feel free to contact our support team at support@kritik.io if you'd like to set up a meeting to review things - they will be able to ensure you get booked in with the right person. Best KritikHQ

MK
AvatarImg

Martha K.

Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Super Unique Assessment Experience!

Reviewed 5 months ago

The customer service and technical support was like nothing I have ever seen before. It was OUTSTANDING. The chat button was easy to use, and every question was answered promptly and efficiently. Sometimes they even did the thing I needed (solved the problem) for me, and I didn't even have to do anything to fix it.I loved that the students could use the chat button and access Kritik's help, rather than bother me with technical issues. It was completely supportive for both me and my students. I was also supported in setting up and moving through the program. It did take some time to learn, but Kritik staff were there (what seemed like 24/7) to help all along the way.

Pros

I really appreciated the video that explains the purpose of peer evaluation to students so that it is not just coming from my own opinion of how I want to assess student learning.I really appreciated the opportunity for students to assess their peers' learning as I think this is where most of their own learning happens.I really appreciated that the students received feedback from more than just myself. This helped them see that when they succeed or do not succeed, it is not because of my 'hard or inappropriate or unfair' marking. They get a well-rounded viewpoint of how they are doing. And they cannot blame their success (or lack thereof) on me or anyone else. They still try! But Kritik makes everything more objective in the end.

Cons

I least liked that I cannot just use it when I want in any institution. I have to get permission from my institution first, and then student have to be charged accordingly. I wish my whole institution would be on board and it was a natural and normal part of many courses.

Vendor response

Dear Martha, Thank you for writing us a review! We are glad that your students are able to learn from the peer evaluations. Along with the 'student-pay' model, Kritik can also work with your department or institution to pilot the tool school-wide. Feel free to let us know if this is something that would interest you. Best KritikHQ

JH
AvatarImg

Joseph H.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A good way to integrate more qualitative/critical thinking work into lecture courses

Reviewed 5 months ago

I think this is a great solution to the problem of both getting students good feedback on their qualitative assignments and of teaching students to be effective evaluators. The interface is intuitive, and the support is good, making it a good overall experience.

Pros

This is the only system I'm aware of that does what it does, allowing students to give each other anonymous feedback and allowing professors to assign qualitative, criticial-thinking assignments to a large class without creating a huge grading load. Although the concept can sound intimidating, once you're in the system, the flow is easy, as Kritik directs you (the instructor and students) to the next step and makes sequences and timelines clear. Customer/technical support is instantaneous, and they solve any problems that arise immediately.

Cons

It's important to gauge accurately how much time it will take students to complete an activity. Students often complain that the process on the whole creates more work than is reasonable for this level of course. That can be addressed by making weekly or biweekly assignments very brief and by assigning more weight for participation and less for quality. Because it's a relatively new product, there are occasionally bugs and hiccups, but the staff is quick to fix them.

Vendor response

Dear Joseph, Thank you for writing such a detailed review. We are glad you are able to adapt Kritik to make it work for your course, and your students are building critical thinking skills that drive their learning. Best Kritik HQ

MM
AvatarImg

Michelle M.

E-Learning, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kritik is an excellent tool for an undergraduate writing course

Reviewed 5 months ago

Our experience has been exceptional. Kritik is very responsive to our needs and the needs of our students. They have responded to all of our feedback to make continuous improvements. The customer support for administrators and students is outstanding! They offer on the spot chat for immediate assistance.

Pros

The ease of behind the scenes assignment of student work to peers with full privacy and unanimity. Students feel comfortable providing honest feedback. There is very little work for the instructor to set up unanimous peer review as it is all done behind the scenes with maximum flexibility for the number of peer reviews you wish to assign to each person. There is also flexibility in due dates for students who require accommodation. Kritik has been very responsive to my needs and have set up the platform to accommodate my needs and the needs of my students. Thank you!!

Cons

Kritik has been very responsive to my specific needs. The platform is very user friendly. I do not have any cons to report!

Vendor response

Dear Michelle, Thank you for such an amazing and detailed review and for being a strong advocate of Kritik! We are glad that your experience with Kritik has been 10/10, and we strive to maintain that. Best KritikHQ

NG
AvatarImg

Nicholas G.

Fine Art, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review for use in theater related courses

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

It’s very helpful getting students engaged. Incentivizes engagement and allows them to nearly game of phi. Their participation.

Cons

There’s not a lot of flexibility should a student be late on their response. This means that if a student missed the deadline, I can’t open it back up for them for them to catch up even at a reduced grade. This therefore negatively affects the experience for those who they should’ve engaged with on their work.

Vendor response

Dear Nicholas, Thank you so much for writing us a review! We are glad that peer assessment with Kritik is improving student engagement in your courses. Regarding late submissions, your students can write on our Live Chat and we can upload late submissions on their behalf. We are also exploring different ways to make the activity schedule more flexible, and our Product team would love to chat with you to gather more of your feedback. Wishing you a great experience with Kritik! Best KritikHQ

LD
AvatarImg

Lâle D.

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Tool for Teaching Students How to Write and Critique

Reviewed 5 months ago

I love how Kritik has helped me to prioritize teaching students how to give good feedback to each other. This is the correct pedagogical focus for a student-centered classroom.

Pros

This software is easy to use (though there is a learning curve), and the customer support is excellent. I wouldn't use the product if it weren't for the immediate availability of customer support for both teachers and students.

Cons

It would be great if it could be integrated with Brightspace D2L learning management system the way Turnitin is.

Vendor response

Dear Lale! Thank you for giving us a 10/10 review! We are so glad you are enjoying Kritik in your courses and that your students are using the platform to learn from their peers and build essential skills that need to succeed. Kritik currently does integrate with D2L and we would be happy to work with your school administrators to get this set up. Best KritikHQ

KA
AvatarImg

Kaston A.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Long-time User; I Love It

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Kritik has been helpful in helping students learn the course material from different perspectives. It also helps me to gauge the extent to which they are mastering critical health concepts. Kritik helps students develop skills in offering constructive feedback and providing honest assessments of their own and their peers' work.

Cons

For my course needs, there are not any features that I like the least. I use most--if not all--of the available features and provide aggregate data to my students so they can see how the class is performing overall.

Vendor response

Dear Kaston! Thank you for giving us a 10/10 review :) We are so glad you are enjoying Kritik in your courses and that your students are using the platform to learn from their peers and build essential skills that need to succeed. Best KritikHQ

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Randy H.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Software but Not Optimized

Reviewed 5 months ago

The idea is good and I think the software works well in generating accurate assignment scores from student reviews. However, many shortcomings need to be fixed before educators feel that the software is saving them time. The ability to integrate with an LMS would help a lot.

Pros

The grading algorithm. Students receive a composite grade based on multiple peer reviews that weights assigned scores based on grader quality. The concept is great.

Cons

It doesn’t function as smoothly as other educational software. Setting up assignments is clunky. I ran into issues where I wanted to change an assignment date range and was not allowed. Also images are not easily uploaded into assignments. I had to add images to a Google doc and link them to the assignment. This is an odd work around an obvious deficiency. The software also didn’t integrate into Canvas and students complained about having to learn a new software platform.

Vendor response

Dear Randy, Thank you for writing us a review and your great feedback! Kritik currently does integrate with Canvas and we need to work with your school administrators to get this set up. I'm also happy to share that many of the things that you have brought up in your post are on our upcoming roadmap! Our product team would love to reach out to you to learn more about these use cases to make sure we are building the best product for you and your students. Best KritikHQ

OL
AvatarImg

Olivia L.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kritik is great!

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience with Kritik was amazing! It is one of the best educational programs I have worked with in my 2.5 years as a teaching assistant. Super easy to use, very friendly customer reps, and the students really liked it!

Pros

From an administrative perspective, Kritik was extremely easy to use. All of the features are easy to find, and assignments are easy to set up. Even student grade disputes are easy to resolve! On top of that, the customer service was beyond helpful in quickly and efficiently answering any questions I had.

Cons

Kritik could be improved in the future if they integrated with university course software, like Canvas or Blackboard. Because the program relies on students to sign up to Kritik themselves, some issues can arise late in the semester when students have still not taken the initiative to sign up. I think this might be resolved if Kritik had some automatic integration with other learning softwares.

AG
AvatarImg

Alexander G.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kritik makes implementing peer assessment easy

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I have found Kritik to be easy to use and made it possible to implement frequent peer assessment activities in my in-person and online classes. Students found the software easy to use and Kritik's tech support was excellent. Using peer assessment with Kritik has allowed me to assign frequent activities that are higher-order learning (i.e., they are not auto-grade like multiple choice assignments), even in classes with as many as 1,700 students. For instance, I have assigned essays, peer-teaching videos, and other writing activities with Kritik.

Cons

I did not have any issues using Kritik. Instructors will have to spend a bit of time explaining why they are using peer assessment since it is likely their students are not familiar with it, however, Kritik has great videos and support articles to help to explain the Kritik platform and peer assessment to students.

AK
AvatarImg

Andre K.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kritik - An excellent peer assessment platform

Reviewed 5 months ago

Students really respond well to Kritik and appreciate the experience of assessing their peers. As an instructor, Kritik provides me the tool to implement peer assessment as part of my courses which I perceive to be a critical component of a well rounded education.

Pros

The ease with which feedback can be provided, the scoring and overall ease of the platform.

Cons

I do not have any complaints at this point. The rubrics that are provided are easily adjustable. Once you get to know the software, it is really easy to use.

Vendor response

Dear Andre! Thank you so much for writing a review for us! We are glad your students find the peer assessment process beneficial to their learning. You can click on Feature Request on your Kritik dashboard if you'd like to request for a feature to be added to our platform. Alternatively, you can also write to support@kritik.io to contact us. Best KritikHQ

JL
AvatarImg

Jacek L.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A good tool for peer-review based teaching and evaluation of student written work

Reviewed 5 months ago

Very positive experience.

Pros

The system provides an easily managed tool to engage students into peer-review writing and learning process. It takes care of all technicalities for you. The system is self-explanatory and easy to manage.

Cons

I actually like all of it. I cannot think about a single negative feature of the system.

Vendor response

Dear Jacek! Thank you for being a strong advocate of Kritik! We are glad that your experience with Kritik has been 10/10, and we strive to maintain that. Best KritikHQ

PC
AvatarImg

Pemberton C.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great peer assessment software

Reviewed 5 months ago

Students were very enthusiastic about using Kritik, because it allowed them to see the level of work of their peers - this led to an overall improvement of the classwork submitted.

Pros

Kritik allows students to assess the work of others in the class. It allows choice of number of others to assess, manages the random assignment of assessors, and keeps the assessment anonymous. It allows multiple methods of submission: video, text, pdf file, etc.

Cons

The interface for managing the process can be improved.

Vendor response

Dear Pemberton, Thank you for sharing your experience with Kritik. We love that your students are able to leverage peer assessment technology to improve the quality of their work. As a product, we are constantly improving our platform and would love to hear how we can create a better experience for you and your students. Our Product team will reach out to you to learn more. Best KritikHQ

HH
AvatarImg

Howard H.

E-Learning, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Getting students to be critical thinkers and collaborators

Reviewed 5 months ago

I find that I can give a large number of writing assignments and it does get students into the practice of writing.

Pros

anonymous peer review to overcome racism, sexism, and other biases.

Cons

Students are not willing to put in much thought on being helpful to others.

Vendor response

Dear Howard, Thank you so much for writing a review for Kritik. We are glad that with the anonymity feature, your students are able to give unbiased feedback on each others' work by only focusing on the rubric. Best KritikHQ

NC
AvatarImg

Neal C.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Nice interaction and good features

Reviewed 5 months ago

It worked fairly well in the classroom. I heard there were IT problems with Canvas integration. The University ended up not adopting Kritik. I liked being able to check rater credibility.

Pros

Kritik has a very nice system of setting up peer feedback on written work, and having the students respond to their critiques.

Cons

I think it is generally good. Students weren't very enthusiastic about ging feedback to the reviewers.

Vendor response

Dear Neal, Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad your pedagogical approach saw the value of a 360-degree feedback loop. We have made a number of improvements to our LMS integration offerings in the past 6 months and continue to integrate with new institutions daily. If this is something you would like to revisit, don't hesitate to reach out. Best KritikHQ

PJ
AvatarImg

Peter J.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Three Valuable Learning Benefits

Reviewed 5 months ago

Good overall. I intend to adapt it more to meet my class needs and will use it again in the fall 2023 semester.

Pros

Kritik provided good student tutorial material and helped to train students for use of the software. Kritik was able to integrate with Blackboard to make usage simpler.

Cons

Lack of flexibility and control for the instructor. The software is an adjunct to my teaching and assessments, not the center of it.

Vendor response

Dear Peter, Thank you so much for writing a review for us. We are glad your students find our resources helpful in learning about peer review. Our Product team will reach out to you to learn more about how Kritik could be improved to make it even better for you and your students. Best KritikHQ

MJ
AvatarImg

Mark J.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kritik is a winner with both students and faculty!

Reviewed 2 years ago

My experience has been overwhelmingly positive.

Pros

The software is simple to implement and control. Students find it easy to use and wish other classes would utilize it.

Cons

A slight learning curve for the students. Once they get it they are able to be very effective in using it.

JP
AvatarImg

Jon Paul J.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great way to involve students in peer review

Reviewed 5 months ago

The support staff were excellent to work with and I never had any problems with the software.

Pros

I really like the idea of peer review and it is implemented well in Kritik. Having students earn a Kritik score that impacts how much their future reviews impact other students' scores is clever.

Cons

It was difficult to get all my students to pay for it, which ended up hurting their grades.

Vendor response

Dear Jon Paul, Thank you for writing us a review! We are glad that your students are able to learn from the peer evaluations. Along with the 'student-pay' model, Kritik can also work with your department or institution to pilot the tool school-wide. Feel free to let us know if this is something that would interest you. Best KritikHQ

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mohammed U.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Great concept, but tweaks can be done here and there to make it better.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like the fact that it is very simple to use and it allows for Peers to review the work.

Cons

When a document is uploaded, a preview is not shown, it should be 1 or maximum 2 persons evaluating each piece of work, there is no point of 5-7 people evaluating the same piece of work with the same solution sheet

MZ
AvatarImg

Matthew Z.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Organized and User-Friendly Platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

The user-friendly, easy to navigate, and organized atmosphere of this software, instills and encourages more focus and improved ability to accomplish the tasks set out without burden/hindrance of confusing/lagging software. The community/cooperation oriented learning environment is an essential, and incredibly beneficial tool for growth, in the growth of the individual(s) using this platform and the community surrounding that individual(s), as well.

Pros

I found the platform, and the use thereof, to be easily accessible and user-friendly. There is little to no lag, and the platform is incredibly easy to navigate. Everything is tidy and organized

Cons

I currently have not faced any Cons in relation to this software.

FG
AvatarImg

Francine G.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very good and engaging product for critical thinking in higher education.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Product was fairly easy to use and students have indicated that it was fun.

Cons

There is a learning curve in how to figure how to integrate with a professor's existing way of conducting class.