App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Encompass Reviews

Overall rating

4.0

/5

39

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.47/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Encompass is an easy to use software. I mostly use it to pull saved documents during HDMA reviews, but I am definitely a fan at how easy it makes the process.
Encompass's ability to integrate with other programs and software is a huge benefit. To be able to access external sites and partners within this system is such a time saver.
I was very impressed with how easily this software handled the entire process of my mortgage application.
We have had issues in the past of some documents not uploading correctly (being corrupted), and it was a pain the track these documents down.
Very Slow - the system lags to load and login, it lags to get inside a new file and is slow overall.
Locks you into their vendors or you get charged excessively. In addition, it takes hiring one to two certified programmers to keep the programming running while paying excessively.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


39 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Heather A.

Financial Services, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Don't expect to learn this software quickly

Reviewed 2 years ago

I received the trial version of this software back in 2000, while I was using a very user friendly software that this software has put them almost out of business. I was so excited about this software when I was running my own small business but I couldn't even get anyone to tell me how much it cost because they wouldn't talk to me, in addition, it hadn't been fully released just yet. I am a mortgage loan processor. I have worked for companies that are lenders and brokers, plus ran my own small company. I have worked for approximately 5 mortgage companies, but only one of the 5 had the assets and server to run it. In addition, server size and assets are not the only requirements to run this software, you need in house admins that have a lot of experience with this software.

Pros

What I like most about this software it has the ability to do anything you set up for it to do but with a high price and very educated admin needed.

Cons

The price of this software is not even available publicly and what is required to run this software is very much hidden from the public.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Encompass Review by Mortgage Operations Professional

Reviewed 5 years ago

Encompass is a solid tool for originating mortgage loans, especially when selling to FNMA or FHLMC. It provides convenience in terms of one place to keep all loan files, including those with adverse action notices and closed and sold loans. The functionality can take time to master, but it is simple enough once you know your way around.

Pros

It was a great tool for tracking loans from origination to closing and beyond. The disclosure tracking system ensures compliance with all applicable laws and regulations. The ability to run AUS, order appraisals, and obtain VOEs and other third-party documentation was convenient and efficient.

Cons

The formatting was a little archaic. The methods for searching were not always user friendly and it was hard to know if everything I was attempting to search for was being pulled up. Some forms could not be edited while certain windows were opened, which was inconvenient.

RG
AvatarImg

Ron G.

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

My Expert Review Using Encompass for 10 Years

Reviewed 3 months ago

Encompass is a software many people would use, but as you want to grow and expand your team, it becomes a headache. It is not as efficient to use as other products, it is not web based, and is not team oriented or user friendly.

Pros

Their support team regarding technical support with the software, they were extremely knoledgable.

Cons

It is using an outdated source code, outdated User Interface, expensive product that is not competitive in its pricing, lack of ease with integrating third party software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael M.

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Robust and 2nd to none. the long standing standard

Reviewed 2 years ago

overall, this is the tried and true platform that overall has a set of features that puts it ahead of the competition.

Pros

the document management and the dashboard customization are probably the biggest features that stand out on the platform

Cons

if you don't save often enough, you lose your work - highly annoying. it does not have integrated income calculation worksheets. I realize this changes often, but it seems that integrated income calculations would be a great addition since it is used daily.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Origination LOS for Mortgage Lenders

Reviewed 5 years ago

Anyone who can take a 1003 application will find this system a breeze to use. It is easy for an originator who is not computer savvy to use without too much system training.

Pros

This program is based online so you can access your client's loan from anywhere and work from any location. The ability to merge, duplicate, and split files makes this an incredible LOS to work in since loan scenarios can change at any time.

Cons

If you do not have internet or have an internet outage, you will not be able to access the software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jason S.

Financial Services,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Encompass 360 is the Cadillac of loan origination systems if you can get it to work.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I like all the bells and whistles the loan origination software includes. The system is customizable from every aspect.

Cons

I do not like the Ellie Mae hosting of the data servers. Their servers are very inconsistent. Also, there are issues when more than 1 person enters the loan.

KL
AvatarImg

Kara L.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Lots of in-house work & cost

Reviewed 5 years ago

It is a system necessary to complete the origination and training.

Pros

Does have some cool features especially around state disasters and other triggers and red flags to help identify issues which are more ancillary.

Cons

Locks you into their vendors or you get charged excessively. In addition, it takes hiring one to two certified programmers to keep the programming running while paying excessively.

RA
AvatarImg

Robert A.

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Daily User

Reviewed 2 years ago

Slow and lacking in a true flow process

Pros

Integration with DU/LP, Credit, pipeline management

Cons

This software has very time consuming issue with custom documents and file saving. . .

JB
AvatarImg

J B.

Banking, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Good software but...

Reviewed 8 years ago

I have used Encompass at several different companies. In each case, it is set up differently causing a huge learning curve. I realize that it is designed to be customizable to each company but it is TOO customizable. It needs to be more standardized because the admins who support it (as best they can) spend to much time chasing down problems and compliance issues. When a group of admins have had to create their on group online to discuss problems because they are not getting support from the company that's pretty bad. Apparently, the strength of this software is the servicing side which I am not familiar with. The origination side is clunky compared to Point, Genesis, Byte, Dorado and others I have used in my 33 years in the business.

Pros

Good on the servicing side

Cons

Software is too busy and visually unorganized and not user friendly or intuitive.

DF
AvatarImg

David F.

Real Estate,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A very robust tool for loans officers and loan professionals when determining loan options and UW

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

very flexible and customer service is very good. They are very attentive to requests and are able to timely rectify problems with viable solutions

Cons

Not enough conferences to attend. The conferences are a wealth of information and would like to see them more often

WM
AvatarImg

William M.

Management Consulting, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Poor Performance and Customer Service

Reviewed 8 years ago

I'm an IT professional who hates this antiquated software with a passion. The performance is horrible and has customer support to match. Regardless of the issue, their answer is to add more RAM. Their data center is crashing? Not theirs but yours for not having 24GB of RAM per machine. Their app is 32-bit so it can't even use more than 4 GB. I attended the Ellie Mae conference trying to get an idea of what others did to improve performance. Their response was that you should just learn to deal with it because Ellie Mae won't acknowledge issues.

Pros

Nothing comes to mind. I'm currently looking at other options to replace Encompass.

Cons

Everything. The app is obsolete and needs to be completely replaced. Ellie Mae lacks the expertise to host a data center and it shows. Most days their IT staff have no idea an issue is occurring. Customer support's default reply is "no one else has complained" until they realize it is a wide spread issue and only then do they take any sort of half hearted action. When Encompass crashes, and it will frequently, there is nothing you can do but restart your process.

VC
AvatarImg

Vinny C.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Versatile and powerful

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've used several different LOS products and Encompass is by far the best and most versatile program out there.

Pros

Encompass's ability to integrate with other programs and software is a huge benefit. To be able to access external sites and partners within this system is such a time saver. It can also be customized and adjusted to suite your needs.

Cons

There is a slight delay when saving information.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Needed but Not User Friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago

Its probably the best it gets but unfortunately noone has yet to do it better. Saddening to think we can so so many things in Home Loan Origination that make it easy on the consumer yet lack so severely in the development of a user-friendly LOS system.

Pros

Encompass is probably the best LOS system out there but that's also the problem. It has a lot of features, so many in fact that it makes it even more difficult to use. You "can" do just about anything in Encompass in regards to Loan Origination but it is not easy to learn and very cumbersome to use.

Cons

Too busy. Too much like I'm sitting at a 1985 version of Apple IIe computer. It's not very user friendly and doe not have near the helpful help buttons that it needs to quickly explain the thousands of different radio buttons and boxes that it offers. Sure, you can call their "help desk" number or watch their training videos, but have you ever had to watch a training video for Amazon? eBay? Google? - Get my point?

TP
AvatarImg

Tony P.

Financial Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Encompass does it all

Reviewed 4 years ago

Origination software that organizes and maintains the file throughout the process. Allows for complete paperless offices.

Pros

The features that are most impactful is the ability for all levels of the loan process to be able to work on a file without security issues. Each department has its own permissions so there is no concern for file manipulation.

Cons

The number of features can be overwhelming for new users. It is complex and niche driven. It is very expensive so there isn't universal acceptance in the industry due to the barrier to entry for smaller shops.

EV
AvatarImg

ELLIOTT V.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

I've used this software in two different companies over the past ten years.

Reviewed 6 years ago

At the end of the day there's an audit trail to see who may have worked on the respective loan.

Pros

Navigating is simple enough, especially when the IT folks in-house have real industry experience up front in setting the system up during the initial launch as a platform.

Cons

Lockout periods, poor performance metrics, outdated. System has default coding that flags user scenario situations and causes intermittent lockouts causing delays, and necessitating ADMIN outreach to override. Customer service folks are slow to respond. Lack of urgency.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Encompass or Caylyx?

Reviewed 4 years ago

I give it an 8 out of 10. Encompass takes a while to learn, and if you are new to the industry - it can be a pain to learn this system and how to sell/the process

Pros

You might be wondering what LOS to use. I do recommend Encompass as it has many integrations with pricing and pulling credit. You can completely work in Encompass with minor use of a CRM.

Cons

I do like using a CRM often. It is great for keeping track, but you cant make any custom fields or access notes/convo log quickly.

KS
AvatarImg

Kelly S.

Entertainment, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Encompassing Visions Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

The benefit of using this software is time management, software provides automated job descriptions, correct competencies which align with core values. Interview guides with the correct competencies for each job. Exceptional customer service.

Pros

Easy to evaluate all jobs/positions provide correct competencies for each job. Job descriptions/interview guides are also ready to print once you have completed the evaluation. Easy to customize. Has the ability for performance management (have not yet implemented) Quick and easy upgrades to software.

Cons

The only issue I have would be to increase the points between each pay band.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best mortgage software I have ever used.

Reviewed 5 years ago

My experience has been positive. I find it a lot easier than other mortgage software systems.

Pros

I like the reporting functions of the software. The ability to order third party services such as flood certificates, appraisals, compliance checks is top-notch. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] does a good job of releases updates and support.

Cons

Only one person can work in a file at a time. It would be nice if at least two people could work in a file at once.

SO
AvatarImg

Selueni O.

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Very Slow

Reviewed 4 years ago

the slowness of the system is very problematic and causes my work to run inefficiently

Pros

everything i need is mostly inside of encompass - very convenient.

Cons

Very Slow - the system lags to load and login, it lags to get inside a new file and is slow overall.

zz
AvatarImg

zach z.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Encompass - Mortgage - Intern Review

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, I love Encompass. It was very easy to learn and was effective in managing loan information. I'm sure I will see Encompass again in my future shortly.

Pros

This software is very user friendly. It's able to hold TONS of information and organize it all into one place. The pipeline is very easy to navigate. It's clearly shown what is what. I loved using this software while in my internship, I really learned a great deal.

Cons

The one thing I didn't like about it is the visual aspect. It kind of just looks outdated and old.

FR
AvatarImg

Fredy R.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Te ayuda con tus finanzas

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Es in programa muy intuitivo y de fácil uso e implementacion

Cons

Depende el equipo donde se instale si no cumple las características se torna lento

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I'm a daily user

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to organize and search, run reports. I like that you can store additional paperwork in the efolder and assign specific user roles

Cons

It can be very slow if a lot of users are on at once. Maybe due to server issues or internal network

TM
AvatarImg

Tom M.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solid mortgage origination option

Reviewed 4 years ago

We've used Encompass for 15-20 years. It's aged well, and we're currently going through an upgrade, so hopefully the functionality continues to improve. Decent value for the price, and volume that our bank pushes through it.

Pros

It's pretty much the industry standard. Easy to use, easy to train on, decent online application process.

Cons

It would be nice to see progress on core processor integrations. Many of the other origination systems that we're using now links directly to our core, which helps optimize our workflows.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Financial Services,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Encompass is a necessary evil.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It provides us with the ability to create loan applications, and that's about all it is good for.

Cons

It is very "clunky" and not even sort of user friendly. It is slow as heck and well behind the times technology-wise.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jason S.

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Encompass is a DUD

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Encompass has many features which makes the system very versatile.

Cons

I do not like the software because it is very slow for the end user. Also, all the features makes the software overwhelming at times.