App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

WP Cerber Security Logo

WP Cerber Security

Cybersecurity, anti-spam and malware scanning software

see alternatives

(6)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

WP Cerber Security Reviews

Overall rating

4.9

/5

44

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.23/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

And even the free version do a lot more than other Wordpress security plugin. If spending some money buying this great plugin can make you feel safe and comfortable on your website, why not doing it.
Cerber is a fantastic piece of security software, one of the best features is that it doesn't slow down your site, or is super intrusive like many other packages for Wordpress.
I noted that I had free WP Cerber and looking at this I decided to try the free trial of Professional right away. I worked through the guidance provided in the Getting Started pages with great care.
I still don’t really know what the problem was although I suspect a conflict between plugins.
There have been a couple of instances where it has blocked me from accessing or doing something that I should have been. However, this was my fault, and I was still learning the plugin's ins and outs.
By detecting suspicious behaviour it analyses the level of threat and takes action.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


44 reviews

Recommended

FM
AvatarImg

Francisco Manuel M.

Computer Hardware, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

La mejor proteccion gratuita que puedes obtener

Reviewed 4 years ago

Best free security plugin for Wordpress.

Pros

Easy of installation and use. The default parameters work well almost all the time.

Cons

Price. If you need to use premium features on non-profit websites, the price, added to other payments (hosting, plugins, support, etc) becomes unnafordable.

SE
AvatarImg

Sidnei E.

Graphic Design, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An excellent security plugin

Reviewed 4 years ago

Extremely important to use a security plugin since Wordpress is very popular and consequently is the target of attacks and invasion attempts. The most complete version has many useful and interesting functions that greatly increase the level of protection. Super recommended.

Pros

Cerber Security in its Free version brings numerous features. Login attempts are logged and blocked; The Control Panel has very separate and clear tabs. Legacy mode is useful for loading before other components used on the site. Blocking uploads of PHP files is particularly useful on sites that share files in PDF or .jPG format submitted by users via forms.

Cons

I would like a less monochrome and more youthful graphical interface.

EV
AvatarImg

Elaine V.

Printing, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

WP Cerber for the uninitiated

Reviewed 5 years ago

I outsourced the build of my Amazon Affiliates website in Wordpress and took delivery of a live site which had basic security. Enhancing the security was my first priority. Although I have an IT background I am a raw beginner with managing my own website. I noted that I had free WP Cerber and looking at this I decided to try the free trial of Professional right away. I worked through the guidance...

Pros

I gain great satisfaction from seeing lists of suspicious activity being blocked and denied including locking out of subnets of suspicious actors. I appreciated all of the options available to tighten security and the guidance provided by the website on how to implement it.

Cons

Despite the guidance I experienced issues with implementation of the Free Pro version. For the neophyte it is a minefield to work out what to implement and what to avoid since the impacts are not fully understood.

KS
AvatarImg

Kalman S.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It's a very handy and useful plugin

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's a very handy and useful plugin and has a very good report dashboard. Easy to install but for advanced user there are a lot of plus settings.

Cons

The license key dropped out few times and then I had to add back in again.

AP
AvatarImg

Ananda P.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of the best security plugins for Wordpress

Reviewed 4 years ago

Even the free version gives you enough insights to understand how important it is to secure the own Wordpress installation. I have a lot of actions blocked and this makes me feel much better every day working on my site. I use the Genesis framework along with Imagely Themes and all my plugins work seamlessly together, WP Cerber perfectly fits in without giving me any annoying moments of instabilities etc.

Pros

The installation was quick and without any issues, as it should be. Afterwards you familiarize yourself with a well structured "Getting started Guide" and more information right at hand. The information provided makes all the available security measures accessible even for non-techie people. After I spent ~20 minutes everything was setup properly and is protecting my site flawlessly. Changed login URL and few other "standards" hardened my Wordpress site effectively.

Cons

The advertising on the right always attracts my eyes and the German translation is sometimes bit strange. Other than that it does what it should, keeps my site up and secure. I would expect bit more explaining information about the Anti-Spam Protection options as this doesn't become really clear what if and how. Up until now I didn't get any spam comments with the free version but maybe this changes with more traffic.

IC
AvatarImg

Ismail C.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My 3 years use experience

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been using the WP Server Security plugin since 2019 February as the primary security and security related control tool for my blog site. It has extraordinary features to monitor, configure and the tools to prevent almost all nasty attacks on the site. It is unbelievable how many attacks are coming to a site on the public internet. Attacks are mostly coming to take control of your site in a way...

Pros

It is an easy one stop tool to have a secure site

Cons

This is a comprehensive software gives you control of your site which require in various levels of expertise to configure your site.

DD
AvatarImg

David D.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We are non-technical

Reviewed 2 years ago

Perfectly satisfied and looking forward to months of peace of mind especially as I am non-technical.

Pros

About three months ago, I had the unfortunate experience of having our site attacked by hackers who left the main files inundated with a virus and the site taken down by our hosting company. I turned to them for help, but they could only refer me to a third party who would charge a great deal. We are a small association of non-technical professionals who pay an annual fee for the site's upkeep and...

Cons

The scan takes a long time to complete this is not a negative but can be a bit frustrating when one is busy. Also if you try to add a site to the safe listing it can be a bit confusing to carry it out correctly.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

WP Cerber, Just What I Needed

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have done a lot of research and tested several different plugins over the past few months. Of those, the plugins are either too simple and didn't offer the options I wanted or were too difficult to understand. I can't afford to spend a couple of days trying to learn and implement a plugin. WP Cerber falls right in the middle for me. It is simple enough to set up quickly but advanced enough to offer all the options I like to have at my disposal. I have now transferred all of my client's sites and my own over to WP Cerber.

Pros

WP Cerber is loaded with options making it easy to secure your/client sites from the majority of attacks. The UI and instructions are simple to understand, making implementation quick and painless. The advanced menus and options allow you to increase your site's security as you better understand what you need.

Cons

There have been a couple of instances where it has blocked me from accessing or doing something that I should have been. However, this was my fault, and I was still learning the plugin's ins and outs.

VA
AvatarImg

Vanessa A.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that WP Cerber security offers a free plugin. The free option allows you to scan your site weekly. The plugin also notifies you of possible attacks. It offers a number of helpful features such as whitelist and blacklisting IP's. You can also see details of the IP's as well.

Cons

The quick scan can be a bit confusing or offer limited features. Some settings may be a bit confusing to new users if you aren't very tech savy.

sn
AvatarImg

scott n.

Music, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple yet effective.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Simple and elegant at what it does the ability to ignore a vital part of any websites security knowing that your safe and simply a click away from real time updates on a number of issues makes Cerber a valuable asset in any defence.

Pros

From locking out annoying automated bots from trying to get access to your backend to simply one click hardening and the never ending list of secure options to select from Cerber for us is a simple yet intuitive addon that we never knew we needed, it's seamless integration with a number of our websites and simply being able to launch and forget knowing that everything is continuously running as you left it, its now in the top 5 of all programs that we will add to any future and current ongoing WordPress structured websites we launch.

Cons

The simplicity of the software made is simply over look the need to turn off the constant reminders on however many lockouts were happening, even our dedicated security mailbox couldn't handle the sheer influx of emails that were being sent out - thankfully a couple of check boxes later and this was resolved took us a while to get there however.

RC
AvatarImg

Robert C.

Human Resources, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My line of defense for Worpress

Reviewed 5 years ago

I researched many security solutions for wordpress, some big and fancy, some look fantastic but unknown and I chose one that was simple to use and has proven, day after day to be my line of defence. WP Cerber Security does its job well, produces reports and defends your site (lots of hard work) from malicious software's and the general sniffer on the web. (full of them). I was so glad to come back...

Pros

Security on the web is a must and there is absolutely no way around that. Working with wordpress is great, all the plug-ins, builders and a fantastic community of great people, but there is always the other side, with popularity comes illegal hacking. We work with a php based system and it has its vulnerabilities, some known and easy to solve some still not known and there you can get into in deep trouble, CW Cerber is simple to use and to get familiar with, it helps you with many options and possibilities.

Cons

Up to now, all working well. Maybe a tutorial on their site is a good idea, many people don´t have a tech background so having small, to the point, videos is important.

NS
AvatarImg

Nick S.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WP Cerber Security is my favorite Wordpress security plugin

Reviewed 3 years ago

In my opinion, WP Cerber Security is a very useful and easy to use plugin compared with others. And even the free version do a lot more than other Wordpress security plugin. If spending some money buying this great plugin can make you feel safe and comfortable on your website, why not doing it?

Pros

WP Cerber Security gives you the ability to check users login status and most importantly block IP that constantly probing for vulnerable code and give out malicious request, this actually helps a lot because you definitely don't want someone access their backdoor and sneak into your website and you didn't even know it! Once you find out which IP is doing these, you can simply clicking one button and add those IPs into black list, it's so easy and useful. Really great plugin.

Cons

The setting is a little complicated since there are so many options to deal with. You definitely have to spend some time on it. But luckily, WP Cerber Security make great documents and show you how to configure step by step.

CA
AvatarImg

Curtis A.

Fund-Raising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Does a great job stopping hacking

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I love the ability to move wp-contents, block wp-admin.php, wp-login.php and setup customization for all of that.

Cons

The vulnerability scan seems to pop many false positives but it has identified files that are not supposed to be present.

LM
AvatarImg

Lois M.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have been using Gerber for a couple of months

Reviewed 5 years ago

I installed Gerber on a website a couple of months ago when I started having trouble with attempted log ins and attempted malicious codes. I had used Wordfence a couple of years ago but had to uninstall it because of some problems including being locked out even though I was whitelisted. I am very happy with Gerber Security. It is easy to use and I love the features. I mainly use the activity and blacklisting IPs. Following activity has helped me with adding more security features and blacklisting IPs (500 so far) has kept the bad guys at bay. The malicious attempts that usually had been over 200 per day have slowed to 5-10 per day and I am seriously looking at upgrading my Gerber as i want to block countries now. Thank you Gerber you have given me peace and website security!

Pros

Very intuitive and easy to use. Has all the features I want. I love that it made it easy to create an alternative log in page and block the original. I love that it is easy to follow the activity to see what the bad guys are trying to do and easy to blacklist them. Also it was easy to set up parameters like how many log in attempts, in what time frame, and when locked out.

Cons

I haven't found any. Oh yeah, I didn't use some of the features because I did not understand what they would do so maybe some laymen explanations would help.

SD
AvatarImg

Simon D.

Design, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Keeping my client websites secure!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I've been using this on several sites over the past year or too after trying several other plugins that end up being bloatware. I find that Cerber is extremely fast and easy to use.

Pros

Cerber is a fantastic piece of security software, one of the best features is that it doesn't slow down your site, or is super intrusive like many other packages for Wordpress.

Cons

Maybe it could have improved updates on malware and known intrusive IPs. Also, moving the site admin interferes if an external client asks for their data to be removed, the email sent back to them doesn't take into consideration the admin page login move. Would be fantastic to see a Credit Card fraud integration.

CH
AvatarImg

Chris H.

Music, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

WP Cerber Security gives me peace of mind

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have tried multiple other security solutions, but in terms of causing unintended issues WP Cerber is the best!

Pros

Using WP Cerber helps to protect my website against bad actors accessing my site. The free version is great and protects from DDOS attacks and locks out many threats, all of the critical threats are at bay using WP Cerber. When using the Paid version it gives access to the additional security we need on our website. It stops bots from signing up and taking action which was a real issue before using this software.

Cons

Sometimes I get a little bit lost when using the dashboard and adding IP addresses to the whitelist, but the functionality is there! Its a me problem

HV
AvatarImg

Horst V.

Human Resources, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not only do you feel safe, be it

Reviewed 4 years ago

The use (for the gigantic functionality) is absolutely resource-saving. As admin you get the right answers quickly on the homepage. As a user you don't notice anything. The performance does not go down excessive.

Pros

The possibilities to adjust the security settings to your own needs are so extensive that you can restrict and open almost everything as you need it. An example: If you are only active in certain countries, all others can easily be deactivated. This ensures that you only receive leads from the target region and keeps all attacks from other regions away.

Cons

Not all texts have been translated. The headlines are, the explanations are not - it should be the other way around.

VV
AvatarImg

Vincent V.

Medical Practice, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Security Plugin for Wordpress

Reviewed 4 years ago

The setting was not difficult but I had to followed the « getting stat » explanation… It takes some time to follow all steps. The good thing is that it gave me the opportunity to better understand what I am enabling. The free version is the best ever security plugins I found (I have used many). I will definitely choose Cerber Security when I will switch to a Paid Security plugin.

Pros

There are tons of security plugins for WP, but WP Cerber Security is the only one that offer so many setting for free. It makes it much better than other options. I like very much the custom login page, antispam protection, restricted access to API, and the Two-Factor Authentication.

Cons

I would have appreciate if explanation were translated in French.

ws
AvatarImg

wendy s.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WP Cerber Security review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This Security is top notch. I found it much easier than I had thought to use. As a beginner I was concerned that I would not be able to learn to use this product, but I found the information on their website very helpful if I had questions or needed more information to understand something. It functions like it claims and although I have not used it long I have had no issues and I am pleased with the product.

Cons

I do not really have any thing I do not like about this security product, I have had to look up a few terms as I am a beginner. The only thing I would suggest is to have a bit more details for beginners. But this would not be something that would deter me from recommending this to another beginner.

JE
AvatarImg

Joshua E.

Newspapers, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WP Cerber Security provides extreme value

Reviewed 4 years ago

After almost a year of use we find this service extremely vital to maintaining our website and WordPress install safe! We have tested and have solved some issues that were protected by WP Cerber Security from the get-go.

Pros

Integration into our WordPress site was easy and seamless. It starts working right away! The features in the basic service are amazing and after stable use we were confident to move forward and purchase a subscription. We also appreciate that WP Cerber Security was not pushy in their sales. They let the service speak for itself and sell itself.

Cons

Integration into our business was not hard at all. There hasn't been anything we do not like about the service thusfar.

LT
AvatarImg

Larry T.

Pharmaceuticals, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

website security

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I switched over from Big Commerce and I didn't need to worry about website security. The plans were getting too expensive so I decided to use WooCommerce. However, my website is under constant attack. Recently, a bot was able to find vulnerabilities with my website and started to created hundreds of fake orders. I used Cerber Security to blacklist the IP address where the attack originated. The fake orders stopped. Cerber was able to help protect my site. Cerber also provides helpful features.

Cons

The annual fee of $99. $49 per year would be a reasonable price.

AG
AvatarImg

Andre G.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WP Cerber Security on a members website for educational resources

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is imperative to have a secure website when dealing with student data. WP Cerber Security provides more peace of mind.

Pros

With the limited number of users accessing the website daily I can easily track who logged in and when. Ip addresses are easily whitelisted and blacklisted and malicious attempts on the website are automatically blocked. The free version of the software gets you well underway with good security.

Cons

There is ample settings to go through, and it might feel too detailed for the average Wordpress user. However, all the recommended settings work well enough and there is the possibility of enhancing the security of your website to your needs as one understands and explores new security features even with the free version.

LK
AvatarImg

Lisa K.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Security Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very good.

Pros

Easy to use. Easy to install. Easy to administer.

Cons

The tabs refresh a bit slow. That needs to be sped up.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review! The speed and response time of the admin interface will definitely be improved soon. Our main goal is to maximize the front-end performance to reduce the web server load while maintaining the compromise between the website speed and the admin interface's performance.

BA
AvatarImg

Brandi A.

Cosmetics, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WP Cerber Security

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

What I liked most were the login limits and notifications and the vulnerability scanning.

Cons

The cost is what I liked least about WP Cerber Security.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chris F.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very good solution to spam contact form submissions

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I run WP websites with contact us forms. I was getting hundreds of spam contact form submissions. I looked around for a solution. I tried to fix the contact form 7 plugin with security features. The spammers defeated everything. I came across WP Cerber and tried it. It has a submission form checker. So far it has stopped all the spammers, but the real customers get through.

Cons

It can occasionally block users of the website who we desire, so false positives.