App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Metrix Logo

Imposition and planning software

(0)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Metrix Reviews

Overall rating

3.8

/5

19

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6.63/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

skulabs
brady-workstation
shippo

Pros and cons

I really like it... it helps save a ton of time and calculating.
Easy to move through the program, good that is internet based. Easy to pull the standard reports.
It does a very good job of dealing with ganged jobs. Metrix will read in the estimated hours and material and the associated cost and then creates an optimized plan.
Non traditional shapes can't be represented, dotted lines for scores and perfs. I could do more with an excel spreadsheet to represent pocket folders and die cut shapes in less time.
It does a terrible job of communicating special colors through the XML.
Each upgrade seems to break our workflow and is painful to get what we consider common sense addressed.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


19 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Robert E.

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Metrix Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

I really like it... it helps save a ton of time and calculating.

Pros

Great for Calculating sheets needed and planning Job Layouts for Lithography.

Cons

Big learning curve, but once you see the workflow you kinda get it.

HW
AvatarImg

Henry W.

Printing, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Integrated Metrix

Reviewed 4 years ago

EFI has owned Metrix for years and has been slow to develop solutions for its MIS integrated version. My experience is that much of this is due to the fact that EFI has moved its software development overseas. The developers rarely get it right the first, second or third time.

Pros

It does a very good job of dealing with ganged jobs. Metrix will read in the estimated hours and material and the associated cost and then creates an optimized plan. When committed back to the MIS software it will update the plan and associated estimated hours and material based on the Metrix layouts. In addition, it will distribute cost collected for time and material based on distribution on the percent of the layout the jobs use.

Cons

What is the best was related to jobs created from estimates. What it does worst is try to provide optimized plans for estimates as it relates to Pace’s MIS cross part optimization. It does a terrible job of communicating special colors through the XML.

JS
AvatarImg

Josh S.

Printing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Metrix....

Reviewed 4 years ago

Metrix software was the best thing out there for quite a few years but recently it is becoming a struggle to use. I believe that once EFI took over the software, it changed!

Pros

Lots of options for estimating, planning and prepress.

Cons

Software upgrades seem to always have issues that take awhile to correct. EFI support is really hit and miss if they can fix an issue. I get a lot of "Future update" answers to the issues we have. My team has not been happy with Metrix over the last few "upgrades".

MS
AvatarImg

Madhusudan S.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Changed how we conducted estimates

Reviewed a year ago

The programme is inflexible and clumsy in my opinion. When you make lots inactive when there are numerous lots listed on a task and you want part of the lots to be off the layout, the software crashes. Dotted lines for scores and perfs, as well as non-traditional shapes, cannot be depicted. An excel spreadsheet would allow me to depict pocket folders and die-cut forms more efficiently. Metrix has changed my layouts after I've configured it to print sheetwise if I need to rearrange layouts, in my experience. If you aren't careful, there is too much to be on the lookout for that might or might not change and could snag you.

Pros

It allows for the completion of specific sorts of estimations and is very time-efficient. Estimates are more thorough and precise.It works seamlessly with XMF. Layouts are easily imported, and they can be changed immediately if necessary.

Cons

On occasion, the graphics are not arranged to make the greatest use of the available space. unable to handle varied imposition.

JL
AvatarImg

Jim L.

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The good, the bad, the ugly

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use this daily to create impositions. Some features have reduced functionality after an upgrade, but are eventually addressed. The software is usually a MacOS version behind, which doesnt seem to bother our end users.

Pros

It does the functions that we are looking for (impositions mostly) quickly and efficiently.

Cons

Each upgrade seems to break our workflow and is painful to get what we consider common sense addressed. Support isnt always helpful and core changes made to the software arent always in the release notes. We have open cases with EFI to address these issues and have moved past them with rollback and skipping versions to meet our end user needs.

tB
AvatarImg

thomas B.

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Metrix software - A work in progress

Reviewed 4 years ago

the software is ok, it is similar enough to other impositions. It has great potential, but our company hasn't had it and pace long enough to gain those automated job benifits.

Pros

I like the connectivity to XMF. The idea of the software is very palatable, our company has had issues in getting it implemented as we do a wide variety of work. When integration is increased and people are taught more on the software it should be a main stapple of our prepress and give us a great deal of automated work done.

Cons

Very dependent on the estimator. Changing jobs can be simple or extremely difficult to manage with our metrix/pace system. I believe some of our issues are training, also we just got word of an XMF upgrade that will help with some reported metrix issues.

WP
AvatarImg

Wanda P.

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

EFI

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is ok, just need to make the AR module easier to use.

Pros

Easy to move through the program, good that is internet based. Easy to pull the standard reports.

Cons

Since update it is difficult to do AR balances always have to remove the lines that invoice is paid and is zero, that takes a lot of extra time. AR statement in excel no long can use formulas if need to change anything,. Posting invoices have to also make changes again taking longer to post.

JR
AvatarImg

Jim R.

Printing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Metrix review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Transformed the way we did estimates

Pros

It is a great time saver, and makes doing certain types of estimates possible. Estimates are more complete and accurate

Cons

Interface can be a little wonky from time to time

PE
AvatarImg

Paul E.

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

EFI is great

Reviewed 4 years ago

So far completely satisfied with this product

Pros

The ease of arranging pages for multiple up and spacing

Cons

The display is a bit low res unless you are zoomed in.

BR
AvatarImg

Bruce R.

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Metrix to XMF

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It integrates well with XMF. Layouts come in smoothly and if you have to adjust layouts you can do it on the fly.

Cons

Doesn't do well with variable imposition.

KM
AvatarImg

Katalina M.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Edita con confianza tus imagenes

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Uff me encanto este aplicativo, es muy facil de utilizar, su interfas es bastante intuitiva a pesar de que su interfas es algo robusta.

Cons

su gestor de busqueda podria mejorar un poco ya que es algo lento.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

GM
AvatarImg

Gail M.

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Metrix layout review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Some of the combination of product features are useful

Cons

I find the software cumbersome and rigid. If multiple lots are listed on a job and you want some lots not to be on a layout, when you make the lots inactive, the software errors out. Non traditional shapes can't be represented, dotted lines for scores and perfs. I could do more with an excel spreadsheet to represent pocket folders and die cut shapes in less time. I've experienced Metrix changing my layouts once I've set it up to be Perfect to printing sheetwise if I have to reorder layouts. There's too much to have to watch out for that may or may not change that can catch you if you aren't diligent.

pb
AvatarImg

paul b.

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Metrix

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very easy to set up large brochure or books

Cons

Can't fake anything In layouts and don't work great with e pace

ZP
AvatarImg

Zivko P.

Printing, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very easy to handle, intuitiv, good preferences

Cons

instalation procedure and support for educational institutions (every 6 months registration)

AR
AvatarImg

Angelique R.

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Pretty Good

Reviewed 4 years ago

good we will keep using it.

Pros

the ease of laying out multiple graphics is very smooth

Cons

sometimes it does not lay the graphics out to best utilize the material size

RM
AvatarImg

Rastko M.

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Metrix software review

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am satisfied with its functionality but not with its stability and set up experience.

Pros

It is very easy to use, and produce very fast impositions; possesses many additional features in its database.

Cons

It showed to be very unstable (student computers often lost connection to server; some projects became locked...); earlier versions where ; many obstacles when trying to upgrade to new version; very complicated new software verification system.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Print Layout Software that I'd used

Reviewed a year ago

My product packaging. It somehow boost my works.

Pros

Metrix software helped me with my packaging designs and to boost my productivity!

Cons

Sometimes if you zoom it goes to low resolution display so it is hard sometimes to adjust with the design

RW
AvatarImg

Robert W.

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Metrix

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It makes it very easy to import and organize large projects with a lot of different parts and materials.

Cons

It's complicated to set up and maintain. It would be really nice if it integrated in with Monarch so that we didn't have to duplicate all our standards.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kareem M.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Metrix Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

It was really great experience.

Pros

Metrix is a really great software with enormous options for handling business planning.

Cons

Metrix UI is cool but it can be modified for better in future updates.