App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Active Takeoff Logo
Active Takeoff

Full featured on-screen takeoff. Whatever the trade.

visit website

(3)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Active Takeoff Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

95

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.07/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Very happy with everything about Active. All queries have been dealt with and we have not had to reissue questions etc like we have had to do with other products.
The countless array of colors and hatches gives this product a tremendous amount of flexibility. Couple that with the awesome reports and estimating tools and you have a winner.
Pro's: I have tested a few other on-screen measuring products and i find 'Active' to be more user friendly with an easier learning curve than most. Customer service is fantastic.
These systems were abandoned because they were too awkward to easily use or from lack of support and costly upgrades.
I have yet to find anything I dislike about the software. There have been 1 or 2 times where my scroll was slightly jerky but I attribute that to my computer, not the software.
I've had to switch computers a few times, and the licensing can be a bit difficult to get transferred to a new computer, as is the transferring of the files.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


95 reviews

Recommended

CP
AvatarImg

Curtis P.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Exterior companies Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

Faster quote turn around times, allow me to get more projects and have more profitable quotes since I'm not spending so much time that I don't mind charging more.

Pros

The ease of use, the more complicated uses that I don't need are easy to turn off to simplify everything.

Cons

The only issue I have is that it seems to hide my saved projects every time I update the software but that's probably easy to fix if I put my mind to it.

MZ
AvatarImg

Mike Z.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 6 years ago

My overall experience has been great. I was using another take off software and Active Takeoff is far better. I enjoy using this software and if I ever have a question the support team is spot on. Very pleased.

Pros

The overall layout and design. Easy to use.

Cons

Wish they had curve points and auto counter

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chuck A.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good program. Needs a few minor Adjustments

Reviewed 6 years ago

Thus far, it’s been adequate. I can’t use it for some of my Plans, which defeats the purpose.

Pros

The Software is pretty easy to use. The reports are great for keeping tabs on several different

Cons

The scale needs to be a little more inclusive. I find several Plans with a 3”-1’ scale and Active Takeoff does not offer that option. Manual adjustments are fine, but often times there are not any good measurements provided to set that scale.

SH
AvatarImg

Samuel H.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Active takeoff

Reviewed 6 years ago

If they was to fix the above problems and implement suggested updates then I would give this product 10 out of 10.

Pros

Easy to understand layout. Reasonable Price.

Cons

No Auto save so lose work unless you manually save all the time. Issues with memory, have to close other programs to make it function properly sometimes.

Vendor response

Hello Samuel, Thanks for the awesome review! We will seriously consider your comments and try to implement some solutions in a future version.

LM
AvatarImg

Luc M.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

We do a lot of take off from houses to condos to rental buildings with it.

Pros

I liked the corners highlighting in red when you do the take off.

Cons

To re go in and modify take off. I don’t like how it generates the report

JB
AvatarImg

James B.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Estimating Software

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Very simple to use and figure out without any prior knowledge of this software. Speeds up the process of doing takeoffs with the extensions features.

Cons

Although this is very good at figuring out the estimates for the basic trades, if you're looking for more niche trades, those have not been added yet.

Vendor response

Hello James, Thanks for the great review. Our new Estimating item feature lets you build your product/labour/equipment inventory then edit your own quantity generating formulas. Pretty much any niche is covered. Please contact our support desk for a quick demo.

JL
AvatarImg

Joe L.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

New technology helping residential remodeling company in Boise

Reviewed 8 years ago

I am new to the world of takeoffs. As a remodeling contractor I always thought takeoffs were for big commercial companies. The program is fun and intuitive. There are a few tricks and shortcuts that I am starting to incorporate. The estimating component is out there for me to learn. Other than a few frustrations with my lack of experience and the way I do thing vs the way the industry does them. I am adapting and enjoying the program very much.

Pros

It is easy and fun to use. It makes my estimates extremely accurate. It has all the functionality that I need in my residential remodeling business. My designer wants to use it but I am having too much fun to give it up.

Cons

There are some features that I have asked for that do not exist yet. I have figured out how to work around them so nothing bad to say. My understanding is that it is a little less flexible and powerful than some far more expensive software packages but I am perfectly OK with that.

JO
AvatarImg

JEFFREY O.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease in Estimating

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The professional results that can be easily obtained by using this program are second to none.

Cons

There could be a wider variety of color options available to use.

Vendor response

Hello Jeffrey, Thanks for the great review. You can use up to 16 million colors in Active Takeoff. Please contact us and we will show you how it works.

TS
AvatarImg

Todd S.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Survey

Reviewed 6 years ago

Good

Pros

The software is extremely easy to use really takes no time to learn.

Cons

I would like to see a scale that goes up to at least 1 1/2" currently the software only goes up to 1" and there are a lot of drawings that are 1 1/2" scale and this has to be done manually and it takes time.

RB
AvatarImg

Robert B.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product, great service

Reviewed 7 years ago

Not many companies offer the level of service that these guys do. Active takeoff is easy to use, easy to setup and makes tracking estimates effortless. I have used just about every piece of takeoff software out there and this program is by far the best.

Pros

Super easy to setup, tracks all of my takeoff and sort info exactly how I need it in reports.

Cons

Sharing takeoff files from one machine to the next isn't available yet, but I hear that's in the next update. Other than this...The software is flawless.

ML
AvatarImg

Michael L.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very good system

Reviewed 5 years ago

Saving time completing take-offs

Pros

Very easy to navigate around the system to access and use the features. The system has halved the time it takes to complete a take-off.

Cons

If the copy and paste feature was improved for example if it was possible to copy an item and paste in a specific location, currently the item overlays which means the copied item has to be moved to the required destination. Also the extension feature could be improved.

Vendor response

Hello Michael, Thanks for the review! The team here will discuss your comment about the paste location. Our new Estimating Item feature allows you to create your own templates with your own products and formulas. Do not hesitate to contact our support desk for any info you might need.

MO
AvatarImg

Mike O.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 6 years ago

Aewsome

Pros

How Quick i can use it when im using it

Cons

How and where files are saved and trying to locate them

TK
AvatarImg

Timothy K.

Construction, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use

Reviewed 6 years ago

I use it every day to do my takeoffs. I find it accurate, even lets me set the slope and calculate the needed materials

Pros

Simply add your plans as .pdf's, set the scale, and do your takeoff. Easy Peasy

Cons

Sometimes when it opens, the window doesn't appear and I have to right click the mouse and say show windows and it pops up.

NZ
AvatarImg

Nathaniel Z.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quick and Simple to Use

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The product is simple to use, with all the tools clearly labeled and it is fast to use.

Cons

There are a few selections I would like to see for the reports. Having a cubic yard item to total the takeoff with is handy, but I would like to see a little more flexibility with the quantification. For example, I would prefer to have the option to choose square yards of concrete rather than cubic yards, as I have to do a little additional multiplication.

JM
AvatarImg

Jair M.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK

Reviewed 7 years ago

tried out the free trial of this and planswift and vu360. the most user firiendly and reliable one was without a doubt active takeoff. the price was half of other competitors and also the annual charge was half. the support is also friendly and reliable and gets back to you really quick. i bought a license about a year ago and getting ready to buy another one for a new estimator in the company.

Pros

USER FRIENDLY AND COST SAVER

Cons

EXPORTING TO EXCEL SOMETIMES MIXES THINGS OR OMITS THINGS

RC
AvatarImg

Randal C.

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easiest takeoff app I've ever used

Reviewed 6 years ago

None. Love the product.

Pros

The graphic user interface is familiar if you're a Windows user, and most of us are, so to me that's what makes the app so easy to use. In my opinion, if you've ever used the On Center On Screen app, learning how to use this app is a breeze.

Cons

No "cons" in my opinion. Fully functional from the time it's downloaded.

Vendor response

Hello Randal, Thanks for the awesome review! Do not hesitate to contact our support desk for any info you might need.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Accurate, easy to use

Reviewed 6 years ago

My manual method of scaling drawings was not accurate and extremely time consuming. This product has saved me weeks over the course of a year.

Pros

Accurate, easy to learn, files things easily and it saves me tons of time looking for the "one page" with measurements in a 50 page file.

Cons

The curser is hard to use when trying to do perimeters. A double click will not shut off and i have random lines being measured.

DL
AvatarImg

Denis L.

Construction, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Comment

Reviewed 6 years ago

Because I use it as a culculating tool for surfaces it has saved me time to estimate, and is pretty accurate.

Pros

Calculating surfaces is my biggest use of the program at this time, I have not progress to utilizing the estimate sheet as of yet but intend to try it in the next few weeks.

Cons

I am still very new with the system, and as a user I am not familiar with all the features available or not available.

AO
AvatarImg

Amanda O.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Thoughts

Reviewed 6 years ago

So far so good. Looking forward to updates in the future to accommodate more for the finish contractors.

Pros

It's ease of use, it is very self explanatory.

Cons

It doesn't have customizable features for flooring. It is hard to measure for trim and/or base because there isn't an applicable extension. And the fact that there isn't a snap to feature, so it is hard to get a straight line quickly.

TW
AvatarImg

Tony W.

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Active Takeoff

Reviewed 8 years ago

I have been using Active Takeoff for a few months now & find it great to use. I think it is great value & easy to use. I did have a problem when I bought a new computer & transferred all my files over. Active Takeoff was not working but after contacting the support team I had an answer very quickly & it turned out to be an issue with the name of my user file nothing to do with the program Active Takeoff.

Pros

Great Price, Easy to load, User friendly.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

MR
AvatarImg

Mark R.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing!!!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I highly recommend this software for any construction professional to save a ton of time and energy. It is an amazing tool!!!

Pros

This software is so simple to use and the results are accurate. I actually enjoy doing take-offs now. It went from a tedious chore to an easy, fun thing to do.

Cons

Nothing. I have not found any deficiencies.

JL
AvatarImg

Jon L.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Stonecast review

Reviewed 6 years ago

So far my experience has been great. It has made quoting work and crating take offs much easier.

Pros

It makes quoting jobs a lot faster and easier.

Cons

It would be nice to have more options to close shapes without have to click multiple times to follow contours of drawings.

ms
AvatarImg

michel s.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

awsome software

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

EASE OF USE EASY TO IMPORT PLANS EASY TO EXPORT TO EXCEL FUN TO USE VERY ACCURATE.

Cons

NONE AS OF YET NO REAL CONS FOR NOW IFIND IT REALLY EASY TO USE.

JP
AvatarImg

James P.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

just started using this a few days ago and so far it seems very easy to use and move around in

Reviewed 8 years ago

I demoed a variety of take-off packages and for the price this one seemed to be the best value for what we were looking for. The software is missing some features (like an arc-creation tool and ability to add custom extensions) that I saw in other, more expensive packages, however to be fair these packages were at least twice the price of ActiveTakeoff. Overall I'm very happy with the program so far, and when I do have a quesiton or concern, the responsiveness of the customer service has been fantastic.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

RL
AvatarImg

Ricky Lininger L.

Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Take Off Software

Reviewed 7 years ago

This is one of my favorite take off software programs that I have used. It really comes in handy to get the bids completed faster.

Pros

Easy to up load plans

Cons

Don't really have any