This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

MATLAB Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

MATLAB is great for quick prototyping and data analysis. It is easy to learn and has great online support and help documentation.

Max H.

It has a huge built-in library for functions and tools, so it is simple to utilize Matlab when used properly. More importantly, it has a great GUI tool that can make great applications with ease.

Carol V.

It's a super powerful platform that is very customizable and flexible. You can create some very impressive things with it.

MS

Mark S.

Cons

The main downside is that MATLAB needs to make their GUI more minimalist, it's 2020 already. The other thing that I miss is an option to add semicolon automatically after every line.

MR

Mirza R.

Matlab is not easily translatable to learning other languages, and it is often the poorer choice when compared to other languages if matrix manipulation is not the goal.

RO

Rachel O.

Sometimes new versions of MATLAB will cause previous code to no longer work, which can be very frustrating.

LA

Lyndsey A.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

1,019

513

56

11

0

96%
positive reviews
98%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


1,599 reviews

Recommended

Sean M.

Server/ Host

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Good coding platform, wish there was more troubleshooting

Reviewed 4 months ago

Transcript

Sean: Hi, my name is Sean. I am a teaching assistant. I would give MATLAB a four out of five star. For...

Overall Rating

Heavyweight in the field of technical modeling

Reviewed 7 months ago

Transcript

Tigran K.: Hi, my name is Tigran. I'm a professor of physics and I give MATLAB a rating of five. For...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A software with great optimization routines

Reviewed 4 months ago

I really benefit from using Matlab in developing codes of my Ph.D. dissertation where for solving that problem Matlab is the best choice (better than R). Because the underlying basic code of my project was available in both R and Matlab but running Matlab code run faster.

Pros

I have used Matlab in coding my Ph.D. thesis in statistics. Matlab is really powerful and fast. For example, in doing computations of Functional Data Analysis (FDA) it performs much faster than R. It has a rich set of toolboxes that are mainly suitable for the electrical engineering discipline. It has options to make a custom graphical user interface for user-developed routines which let us distribute...

Cons

Matlab is an expensive software so it must be used when there is a justification for using it. For example, it provides advanced toolboxes that are not available in its open-source alternative (GNU Octave).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MATLAB Review

Reviewed 9 months ago

My overall experience with this has been positive, I have used it to reinforce the link between mathematics and computer science in my classes .

Pros

MATLAB is awesome! Many of the libraries for doing statistics, machine learning and simulations. The platform has two options: web based usage or downloading the application to a PC/Mac. For high school algebra/computer science classes the online version works well. The cost for access to an entire school is $500 !! Its a great value for your money and there are many online resources to help students understand the code!

Cons

There are too many features on the main menu, this can be quite confusing to new users. The online version has severe bugs when graphing and the dowloaded version is about 24GB which takes up massive space on laptops and is almost impossible to download on chromebooks and smaller memory devices.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent for data analysis and visualization

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am working with Geographical data in netcdf format that needs to be analyzed for statistical and visualization purposes and Matlab is a great tool to work with for such analysis

Pros

I have extensively used Matlab in combination with Fortran 77 in the past to analyze geographical data in netcdf format. Fortran was mainly used to pre process the data but the actual analysis, statistical analysis and visual representation through the generation of figures were done with Matlab. The Mapping Toolbox add-on in matlab was particularly helpful in this regard. More recently, I have started to use Panoply instead of Fortran to preprocess the data but Matlab remains my first choice as far as the actual analysis of the data is concerned

Cons

Sometimes, for a really large data file, Matlab had failed in the past and under such circumstances, i had to go to Fortran 77 as it very robust but I have not had that problem recently possibly because of the increased computing ability of the modern day computers

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best interpreted language for a wide variety of engineering and science applications

Reviewed 3 years ago

Ease of use and increased productivity in many tasks, from simple to very complex ones. There are nice APIs used for mathematical optimisation such as AMPL, Gurobi or CVX, that are very well integrated and that are enhanced by the immense usefulness of MATLAB.

Pros

MATLAB is a easy to use and efficient science oriented interpreted language and as such it is very easy to use and well integrated with other commercial solutions. It has an impressive list of carefully designed and well maintained packages that make any user very proficient in any scientific application. The included documentation is superb and the community is very supportive. One last good thing is that the software is very common among many circles, this means there are a lot of APIs designed to work with MATLAB.

Cons

Unlike compiled languages (e.g. C++), it is relatively slow for some low-level computations. It is a bit expensive if you compare it with general use programming languages such as Python, but being honest, the Pros described before compensate for this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

An academic standard with diverse uses

Reviewed 10 months ago

Using MATLAB as well as continuing to learn it and apply it to solve problems across different industries seems worth it. It is a capable tool for solving different problems across industries such as metallurgical process engineering, bioprocess engineering, geophysical data analysis, systems engineering, medical data analysis, and the list goes on.

Pros

I have used MATLAB for over five years now. I was first introduced to it in my engineering undergraduate studies. I then went on to use it for my postgraduate studies. MATLAB has built-in functions that can be used for different applications across different fields. Using these functions can save quite a bit of time and reduce the number of errors you get when running code. The forum by MathWorks...

Cons

MATLAB is heavy and can slow down when solving a problem and it can also slow down your computer. A lot of computations are done by MATLAB code and if you do not have an appreciation of this and learn MATLAB as a language, especially when coming from an engineering background, you will get stuck quite often and struggle. It's not easy to pick up and get started, there is a learning curve, specifically with the coding. The software its self is relatively clear as to what goes where and how to use it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for matrices, especially on a student license

Reviewed 9 months ago

Matlab is great for my linear optimization applications because of how it works with matrices; it is a poor fit for more generalized high-powered computing needs. The Matlab support system is fantastic, and the interface is intuitive. Discern if it will meet your needs before purchasing a license (or if instead an open-source language would serve you better); if it will, then the software is well worth the cost.

Pros

Use Matlab for what it was created for: matrix manipulation. It's a powerful language with an intuitive interface, but it is best for matrix operations, decomposition, optimization tools, linear algebra, and the like. It's also useful for a first coding language because it is a high-level language with an interpretable interface if a person is intimidated by using the terminal or a compiled language. It also has great support online, with in-depth documentation and numerous blogs to go to for help.

Cons

Matlab is not easily translatable to learning other languages, and it is often the poorer choice when compared to other languages if matrix manipulation is not the goal. If a person is seeking to do data analysis, a language like python would be better suited; to learn the basics of coding transferrable to other domains, java or C++ would be a better starting point. Matlab has also not suited my need for visualizations; I found they are easier to create in python and R.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Is MATLAB worth it?

Reviewed 5 months ago

Thanks to MATLAB at an undergraduate level, I have been able model of the velocity of a piston inside a car’s engine with respect to the output velocity of the car and the gearbox ratios, another application for me has been the model for waves generated in a small pond due to harmonic oscillators with different input frequencies. The flight of a rocket ship with respect to the amount of fuel and outside...

Pros

MATLAB is a very powerful software capable of modeling almost any physical real-life situation. The software can work with lots of data thanks to its matrix-based language. It all depends on the capabilities and competence of the user to be able to code the real-life scenario into a mathematical representation that gives the user very reliable results. Thanks to MATLAB's online documentation you can learn easily how to input your ideas into a functional program, performance wise MATLAB delivers.

Cons

If you run across complex problems the running time might take long, but MATLAB offers an online alternative where the processing occurs remotely and not dependent of your computer specs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

NO MORE FEAR ON COMPLEX CALCULATIONS.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I highly suggest matlab not only for engineers but also to the people who work in research field. This is a fundamental software that everyone must get use to it. Its easily understandable and deployable. Matlab doesn't requires much technical knowledge to utilize.

Pros

Matlab is a product that I started using from my college life. As an engineer I personally say that matlab has becom a part of my day to day life. Its an amazing tool to solve variety of complex calculations and mathematical operations. It also helped me in my research work by its various plots made me understand the differences in variables. It has a very good user friendly interface. Even though the 2019 versions requires a high quality system once you deploy the software it will run very smoothly.

Cons

Personally I love to work with matlab. The only problem I faced is it sometimes glitches when I process videos.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Matlab, la mejor herramienta con muchas funcionalidades

Reviewed 2 months ago

Uso Matlab para la obtención y el procesamiento de señales, ha sido de mucha utilidad gracias a su gran variedad de herramientas.

Pros

Matlab es una excelente herramienta para el manejo de datos, su análisis y su procesamiento, me ha ayudado mucho en la vida estudiantil para resolver problemas de calculo. En problemas mas especializados como lo puede ser el procesamiento de señales biológicas también es muy útil, es fácil visualizar estas señales, tratarlas, eliminar el ruido aplicando filtros digitales. El software también se puede utilizar para la programación de redes neuronales que ayudan mucho con la resolución de problemas, gracias a que la mayoría de las funciones de hacen mediante código se puede tener un mejor control y en su pagina se pueden encontrar muchas guías y ejemplos de códigos.

Cons

El costo del producto puede llegar a ser algo elevado. Cuando se usa un gran conjunto de datos algunos códigos pueden tardar en ser procesados, para lo que se necesita una computadora potente. Al tener muchas opciones y capacidades puede llegar a confundir y tardar en encontrar o entender algún error.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

"Need to have" in order to design a great vehicle simulation

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall, for my use-case (mostly vehicle Simulation in Simulink) and some optimization in the same regard, it is a great software and better than any alternative I have found having way more options than most.

Pros

Simulink with its huge number of libraries and tight integration with various other pieces of software (e.g. IPG CarMaker) (not to mention the exceptional Simscape suited for physical modeling) gives an engineer so many options while also managing to be easy to understand (part of which should be attributed to a large number of examples and videos available to help you get started or even develop really complex systems)

Cons

I really don't like some of Matlab's script language design choices. For example, having arrays etc start from index one instead of zero (like all of the other programming languages) is quite an unusual choice which will lead to common mistakes for anyone that has ever written a script in another language.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It has been really helpful for in my experience as student for the past 10 years

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have made a lot of assignments with Matlab. Also it served as a validation tool for capstone project and for master's thesis. Currently, I use Matlab daily for my PhD classes.

Pros

It is really easy to use. One of the thing that I really like is the fast computation of large matrix operations. The comparison between quantities is very fast, allowing the fast processing of many algorithms. Regarding the script editor, the written code is really easy to debug at any time. It is easy to code since the program itself marks a lot things that the user must change to correct the syntax and to enhance the processing. The user defined functions works as fast as the built-in functions. The price of toolboxes are affordable for students when it is first time is bought.

Cons

Sometimes, it is not easy to visualize matrices and numbers in general in the command windows. A compact manner to show these quantities might be a improvement of the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An amazing product for scientific community

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I mostly use matlab for generating plots and figures for scientific publication. Before coming to Matlab I used to work with Grapher, another great tools for creating graphs. But, MATLAB is best for creating bulk images at a superb quality. You can create figures in almost all formats as you can imagine. If you are good with coding, there are limitless possibilities with creating ingenious plots . Another tool that I love is the Curve Fitting Tool within matlab. Ot can help you with fitting meaningful curves in you data pretty easily.

Cons

There are some inconsistency from version to version. Sometimes one code of a MATLAB version may throw error in another version. But it is pretty rare. I would love to see better parallel processing instructions on MATLAB. As for now it is a pain to code parallel code in MATLAB.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MATLAB - Simulate Your Engineering Thoughts

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have used MATLAB for almost 4 years and my overall experience with MATLAB is very good, I recommend MATLAB to any student or colleague without a doubt to fulfil their requirements in Engineering Designs/Simulations.

Pros

One of the best things I love about MATLAB is the very advanced command Window to interact with MATLAB interpreter directly. MATLAB commands are very easy to remember, also you can find unfamiliar commands or available commands very easily by just typing commands like ‘help’, ‘look for’ directly in the command window. Also the MATLAB editor is very easy to use and helps you to save your long MATLAB scripts to use them in future. When it comes to modelling and simulations, Simulink is a very powerful tool which will help you to simulate or model anything you require in an engineering design, there are lot of toolboxes included in Simulink to help you with that. Next thing I love about MATLAB is the built-in apps to do lot of stuff like machine learning, signal processing etc.

Cons

Following are the minor cons I find in MATLAB software. 1. Beginners may need some guide to get started with advanced features in MATLAB. 2. Needs high-end computers to get most out of the MATLAB capabilities. 3. Pricing of toolboxes are little bit expensive for home or personal users.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best applications to find solutions to the most difficult equations and matrices

Reviewed 3 days ago

I have been using it since high school until today, and it has helped me a lot throughout all those years in overcoming the many steps needed to solve equations, especially matrices by manual methods, which had a great impact on the success that I reached today.

Pros

I like in MATLAB the simplicity and accuracy of the results, as once you run the application you will find how easy the settings you will need to find the required solution to an arithmetic equation with many variables. Where and after selecting the type of calculation you want to find a solution for, you will enter the data with ease and then you will get the accurate result and you will be able to print and share the results and the steps of the solution with everyone with ease.

Cons

I do not find anything undesirable, MATLAB achieves the goals that its users seek, and provides them with accurate results that help them complete their research and studies as required.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Prime Engineering Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use MATLAB to perform data analysis. Because Matlab already contains a high performance computing engine, We did not have to focus heavily and optimizing our code and got results faster. Most of our engineers already were familiar with the tool.

Pros

Matlab has no equal: textbook quality documentation with examples and interactive training, an extremely high performance execution engine, a unique language optimized for numerical computing, interoperability with many languages and external hardware systems, and a thriving community of professional scientists and engineers surrounding it.

Cons

Matlab has grown a lot and can be slow to launch on some machines. While the software quality is unmatched, it is expensive, but the cost is justified if numerical computing is important to your organization. Free software can play a similar role to Matlab, but in my experience none of them are nearly as efficient to use and you end up paying more money in the long run because your engineers will need to write their own utilities that are typically included and are better quality if you simply purchased Matlab from the start.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Matlab for Engineering Student

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall it is very use full and very accurate fast software ever I used.There is no other to replace it palce because that much its algorithms are advance and very accurate.I suggest this to every engineer and engineer student to use this.

Pros

Matlab is very useful software for engineering student because as a engineering student I have to do lot of calculations and do many assumption using some datas.There for we can do some calculations and draw graphs on matlab use some data.It makes very easier our works rather than doing those calculations manually and draw those graphs manual.We can get very accurate result spending small time in coding...

Cons

When I start use this software it was very difficult to me to adapt it.Because it has own coding system to operate it.So I have to learn my self first to code in matlab first.There for a amateur or new user have to face some difficulties first before work with it properly.It can not operate without good knowledge about coding matlab.It is a problem to one who need to get quick calculations and who knows nothing about matlab coding.He can not use matlab quickly to do his job done.There for he need to educate him self first to use matlab.I face this problem too.I suggest to create some learn process on matlab to code for as a help to new user to work with it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Matlab for students

Reviewed 2 years ago

I like working with Matlab, in general. While Python and its echo system provide very strong competition to Matlab, still Matlab is well organized and focused under one umbrella

Pros

Tons of features to cover almost any need Very capable, well designed IDE Matlab is a modular application, and you buy what you need Simulation capabilities are among the best through Simulink Very strong and capable integrations with hardware, especially for student platforms like Arduino Help is really helpful and its features are incremental through out the IDE and non intrusive online training, videos, learning material are excellent Community is very active and its contribution to the application is apparent, a major asset to the user Very attractive pricing for students Matlab is widely used in universities and among students

Cons

Several operational modes through the use of several UIs, Matlab core has two modes now, Simulink has its own different domains will have different learning routes you may get lost between module names for some needs some modules depend on others and you have to buy more than what you really need It does not make it easy to use other programming languages, like Python with its rich modules from within the UI Report writing is not that much rich in features

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MATLAB: excellent software for data analysis

Reviewed 4 months ago

I'm electromechanical engineer and I have used MATLAB for many time for data analysis, programing, mathematical structures and electric circuits, this allows you to solve meny problems and obtain better understandig. This is one of the tools that engineers need learn, improves the way that you analyse big mathematical data.

Pros

This software is a very complete for data analysis that simlify the numerical calculations, wich also allows you to make a graphic visualizations for better understanding. This software is easy to use, at the beginning could be difficult to understand but when you keep usign it will be very intuitive. This is a powerful software for engineering estudents, as I commented it is easy to lear how to use it, the interface is very intuitive . Also MATLAB you can complement the usages with others programs as SIMULINK, that can be use for electrical circuits analysis with an intuitive interface, with this you will be able to obtain predictions.

Cons

Since MATLAB is a very complete tool for data analysis, making graphs, algorithm development, etc. it is kind of difficult to memorise all the function, keywords and syntaxes that are in use in MATLAB, so when you are programing you need to take care, because some times MATLAB is not so accurate identifying the mistake. This is a very useful software for engineering students but is not for free use. On the other hand I recommend a lot to use it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MATLAB: Great Tool for Engineering

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

MATLAB has a great help documentation which you can learn and apply functions & applications easily. I think it is the most powerful feature of the software. For example, it is not explaining only functions for Machine Learning topic, it also provides a comprehensive guideline of how to implement it. Help guides are supported by a great online network (Mathworks). I usually ask questions and get answers from there, very good community.

Cons

There is a room for improvement in publishing side of the software. For example if you'd like to create an executable for your script and distribute it, user needs to install MCR on the target machine. Another area of improvement is the visualization, I think in future, MATLAB can include some shiny visualization packages for data exploration, current functions are very nice but it should have better ones.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The most complete software for numerical analysis

Reviewed 5 months ago

In general, MATLAB has been very useful for developing my research in numerical analysis because I work with numerical schemes to approximate systems of nonlinear differential equations, and all the numerical simulations I perform are carried out in this program simply and efficiently. The experience has been excellent and I always recommend it to students and colleagues who have scientific interests similar to mine.

Pros

What I like most about MATLAB is its wide variety of tools that allow you to perform everything from simple linear regressions to designing complex mathematical models. Also, the ability to work with matrices and vectors makes it very easy to develop numerical routines to solve linear equation systems as well as to approximate solutions of ordinary and partial differential equations.

Cons

Ease of use could be improved as it takes some time to become familiar with the tools as well as the MATLAB programming language.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MATLAB - a great simulation profile

Reviewed 2 years ago

MATLAB is being used in our organization as we use the Simulink library provided in Matlab to model signal processing. It accurately addresses the problems that we face in actual applications and provides an opportunity for modelling and testing.

Pros

MATLAB is an easy to use, reliable and accurate mathematical modelling application which address iterative analysis and design problems using a programming language that expresses matrix and array mathematics. MATLAB provides the opportunity to model anything in any field like electronics, power systems, circuit design, signal processing and neural networks. MATLAB is known for its high performance and being accurate. I have never experienced crashes in MATLAB or inaccurate calculations. MATLAB has a great user interface and provides simulation and modelling results very clearly and user friendly. MATLAB is a well documented and tested mathematical modelling software with almost zero bugs.

Cons

MATLAB is not suitable for heavy duty programming because it's programming language is based on mathematical modelling. MATLAB syntax and usage can be confusing to first time users. Therefore it is recommended to learn how to work with MATLAB before using. MATLAB uses the propriety programming language developed by MathWorks which might not be familiar if you are experienced with another programming language. Also you need to have a Mathworks account to get technical support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Premier Software for Programming and Simulation

Reviewed 9 months ago

I've used MATLAB from my college years, and it allowed me to simply and clearly expose to some lead engineers on a previous job that the process calculations that were being used to size a project were not considering different factors as start-up conditions and the steady-state that those conditions would bring. It's a powerful tool all in all.

Pros

It allows for many tasks to be prepared, be it a simple estimation to a complex simulation, you can prepare it and present it using MATLAB. You need to have programming skills, and to understand the mathematical model behind what you need to implement, but if those are clear, you will probably be able to get it up and running with MATLAB.

Cons

Since the licensing works as a server - client model, a good control of users is mandatory, in order to avoid bottlenecks. Also the technical background to properly use this suite means a steep learning curve for new users. Inside an organization, it would probably be better to have a standalone installation dedicated for the engineering department.

Vendor response

Hi Luis, Thank you for your review. MATLAB has many pricing options and perhaps the one you have right now is not the best one for you. I encourage you to check with our Sales team to see if they can help you find the best one for your company and department: https://www.mathworks.com/company/aboutus/contact_us/contact_sales.html Thanks a lot,

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Interactive and efficient product

Reviewed 6 days ago

Matlab is a simple and efficient tool that provides us with interactive features to easily construct machine learning and predictive models, deploy multiple models to enterprise IT systems, and access and preprocess data easily. We are using Matlab's comprehensive range of tools to conduct a variety of machine learning tasks, such as connecting to and importing data, quickly and easily. Matlab code can be generated by apps, allowing us to automate processes.

Pros

Matlab contains a user-friendly library that allows users to master the software in a short amount of time. Writing code is easier with our style, model training functions include hyperparameter optimization, which allows us to quickly determine the optimal parameters to tweak our model. Matlab is excellent in assisting me in creating files that I can share with anyone, wherever. It allows me to build a script and then share it with others so that they may open it in Notepad on their Mac or PC. The Matlab help system is excellent as they respond fast and solve their customer's issues. We'll discover pretty much every feature we'll ever need in the instructions.

Cons

For new users, the application is not very intuitive. It's considerably easier once we've gotten acquainted with the software, but it's difficult to just pick it up and start using Matlab. We can't write a lot of in-depth code with Matlab because it's more of a mathematics and engineering aid package.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A marvelous software

Reviewed 6 months ago

My overall experience with MATLAB is very positive, after started using it I seldom use the other software, simulators, or even excel because the platform is super clean and efficient, providing a consistent output every single time.

Pros

The best part of the software is its wide range of application-specific tools and features available in the software, meaning you can use it for anything and everything there are no boundaries or limitations. No matter what software or application that you were using before this can pose you an alternate way to do things.

Cons

Everything has its pros and cons, so does this software the only trouble that I faced was heavy processing power and RAM usage as I was using it for machine learning training and simulations and it was just one scenario clubbed with my dedicated usage but ever had any other troubles with the software, it's just made for magnificence.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MATLAB the best in class for the algorithm software and hardware developer

Reviewed 6 months ago

It's an highly professional tool, not cheap comparing to the Python alternative. Maintenance is not at its best but with the right support is doable.

Pros

I like the rich toolboxes and capabilities of the product, it's a high programming language that lets you express matrix and array mathematics directly, it gives visualization right next at the code that produced them. It's a great tool for real time analysis.

Cons

As an admin of the license server and the individual and floating users, there is no a straight forward way to update the license server as well as the MATLAB clients, an automated license and client upgrade is required. Also it's not easy (although improved) to install and activate the software.