App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MATLAB Logo

MATLAB

Programming and numeric computing platform

(14)

MATLAB Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

2K

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.49/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

It has a huge built-in library for functions and tools, so it is simple to utilize Matlab when used properly. More importantly, it has a great GUI tool that can make great applications with ease.
MATLAB is super great as it is so intuitive to use. Literally used it in so many of my courses like Orbital Mechanics and Compressible flow.
MATLAB is great for quick prototyping and data analysis. It is easy to learn and has great online support and help documentation.
The main downside is that MATLAB needs to make their GUI more minimalist, it's 2020 already. The other thing that I miss is an option to add semicolon automatically after every line.
Matlab is not easily translatable to learning other languages, and it is often the poorer choice when compared to other languages if matrix manipulation is not the goal.
Sometimes new versions of MATLAB will cause previous code to no longer work, which can be very frustrating.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


2,055 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Katherine M.

Associate Professor

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Good mathematical software

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Katherine: Hi. My name's Katherine. I'm an associate professor of psychology. I give Matlab five out...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Tigran K.

Owner

Real Estate, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating

Heavyweight in the field of technical modeling

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Tigran K.: Hi, my name is Tigran. I'm a professor of physics and I give MATLAB a rating of five. For...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mostafa F.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Matlab is such a great tool for all engineers

Reviewed 2 years ago

A very great experience I recommend it to anyone who deal with engineering and of course curious people

Pros

Great tool for analyzing, sorting, and simulating data. easy to understand and to learn it. In addition, it helps in plots and graphs and simulation scenarios I hope to see it applicable for smart phone as small app

Cons

Great library Easy to learn Easy to use Reliable Great accuracy

AW
AvatarImg

Andualem W.

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Powerful and Versatile Numerical Computing Software

Reviewed a year ago

As a user, I have found MATLAB to be an excellent tool for performing complex numerical computations and data analysis tasks. Its built-in functions and libraries make it easy to manipulate and visualize data, and the interface is user-friendly and intuitive. However, I did find the learning curve to be steep, and it took some time to get used to the syntax and programming concepts.

Pros

1.MATLAB is a powerful and versatile numerical computing software that allows you to perform a wide range of mathematical operations.2.It has a user-friendly interface and provides easy-to-use functions for data analysis, visualization, and modeling.3.MATLAB has an extensive library of pre-built functions that can save you a lot of time and effort in writing complex algorithms.4.It supports various programming languages such as C++, Java, and Python, making it easy to integrate with other software tools.5.MATLAB has excellent support for parallel computing, which can significantly speed up large-scale computations.

Cons

1.MATLAB can be quite expensive, especially for individual users and small businesses.2.It can be challenging to learn MATLAB programming, especially if you're not familiar with programming concepts and syntax.3.MATLAB can be resource-intensive and requires a powerful computer to run efficiently.4.It is a proprietary software, which means that you are limited to the features and updates provided by the MATLAB company.5.Some users complain that MATLAB is slow compared to other programming languages, such as Python.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dineth M.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A laboratory for mathematics

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use this software often. I use it mainly because it has many built-in functions which make the work a lot easy.

Pros

The main advantage that I see with the Matlab software is the huge online support that I can get from the Mathworks online community. It is helpful when you try to find solutions for most of the problems that we come across in programming. The documentation is also very clear. There are also many toolboxes available for different engineering tasks and it makes a lot of functionalities easier. There is also support to languages like C and C++. Simulink which also ships with Mathlab is very helpful in mathematical modeling.

Cons

The only downside I see is the time it takes to execute the programs and the codes. It is relatively higher for larger computations. Even the starting up of the software takes a considerable amount of time. That is the only downside that I see with the software

LN
AvatarImg

Lydiah N.

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Powerful and Multifaceted Data Analytics Toolkit

Reviewed 4 months ago

MatLab offers extensive and advanced numerical analysis tools whose workability blows my mind. Despite using it for learning purposes, I can real get a wide view of how to dissect data to solve the problems of our globe. Not necessarily in the business line but in most aspects of the world data applies

Pros

Matlab is a one of a kind tool that fit all sort of numerical computation roles. I have used it for learning purposes across all my units of my Actuarial Science Course which is a wide umbrella covering statistics, risk calculations and financial field where Matlab's use happens to be soo critical. Over the years I appreciate it's extensive features,high level language and it's interactive environment...

Cons

To be honest MatLab had been a real gem to me. I love the fact that it support different languages that Iam quite conversant with making data analysis soo easy for me. I would therefore recommend for students and for solving real world problems

kb
AvatarImg

khoubeib b.

Airlines/Aviation, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Matlab use Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

i'm satistified in the overall experience but i would appreciate that they add some tools to make it more intuitive and easy to use especially for understanding what the problem are and where are they exactly, also their types more intuitive and precise .

Pros

it is a easy use product that you cant use almsot for porjects with teams and it is helping a lot in doing work in distance, we even did exams using this tool so i recommand so much.

Cons

i don't like just one thing about it, it is in the use command interactive menu, for example, there is a lot of tools that we can't use, it's not so intuitive sometimes and most of the time there is some problems to understand what the problem is exactly when you have a code error.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The all in one science tool bundle

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This tool help me in all of my engineering tasks, mathematics tasks, post-processing tasks, and analysis task. It is a very useful tool for Engineers. All tasks are done with MATLAB with ease. A good wide range of libraries, packages and toolboxes. Highly versatile engineering and math tool. too much flexibility in doing tasks of engineering. It makes all of your math equation solution much easier.

Cons

It lacks proper dark mode. It is a highly used tool and still doesn't have a dark theme. It is costly for individuals if you are not an educator. With every updates coming every year, processing requirements are becoming more and more demanding and tool is becoming heavy on your computer.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alex R.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing tool once you get to know it

Reviewed 4 years ago

I administer this at work and use it personally. So far it has been great

Pros

So many features! This tool can do anything once you learn how to use it. I recommend some sort of class to teach you how to use it

Cons

severe learning curve especially if you haven't used any modeling software ever. Can be a bit intimidating at first

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 10,001+ employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Big Data Analysis Tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

MatLab is an excellent program once you learn their syntax. They need an undefined error when clicking on an area that divides by zero rather than crashing everything though.

Pros

Anything can be written as a code for ease of use. Limitless analysis possibilities! Repetitive analyses can be streamlined to be quickly completed.

Cons

Learning curve is a little steep because everything is coded. Clicking a blank area on a plot divides by zero and crashes the program.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

The math language!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Matlab helped me solve different difficult analysis for my customers. The programming language is reliable to perform any matemathical and calculous intense task.

Pros

Once mastered the language it becomes an easy and reliable tool to do data analysis and for some programming.

Cons

It is pricey, in my line of work I use also the R statistical programming language that thanks of being free has an amazing comunity that surrounds it. Can't say the same about matlab.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pedro A.

Environmental Services, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powerful tool for IA applications and scientific research

Reviewed 4 years ago

I started using MATLAB as a student then I wrote some papers using MATLAB NNTOOL and it generated some great results. As a professional I continue to use MATLAB, for me it’s the best software for programing and engineering. The neural network tools are very useful.

Pros

You can do anything with MATLAB's tools and material/tutorials online.

Cons

The price is still considerably high for less developed countries.

AP
AvatarImg

Aniket P.

Research, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Matlab: Making Programming Easier

Reviewed 3 years ago

I had to switch to Matlab when I had to design machine learning pipelines quickly and had to deploy them as well. Matlab was very easy to setup, with just one installer doing the heavy lifting to install all the necessary packages and everything. The drag+drop interface is easy to use and understand, and helps in designing the pipelines quickly and efficiently. Matlab also runs faster, making efficient use of the GPU, which all in all is very easy as compared to it's alternatives.

Pros

Toolboxes. There are a lot of toolboxes for each different type of research domain, be it signals, image processing, machine learning, audio and what not. Each tool box is packed with a feature rich library of inbuilt functions for processing and analyzing data. Furthermore, using them is very easy with their drag+drop interface.

Cons

The user interface. I know that Mathworks is working continuously working on the UI, but it is still not at par with the current generation. The IDE looks very outdated with limited configuration. This gives it a whole outdated feel and makes very uncomfortable to use.

MA
AvatarImg

Muhammad A.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Matlab: The multi-paradigm computing software tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

Matlab is an extremely powerful system modelling tool and development environment. Students and professionals that work in the engineering and science backgrounds will find this software invaluable.

Pros

The software allows users to perform complex computations (linear algebra, differential equations, integration transforms etc), system modelling, and develop programmed algorithms that can be executed and simulated. I used this software from my undergraduate days, whilst studying electronic engineering, to compute state space models of control systems and visually analyse control loops from their transfer...

Cons

Due to its extensive capabilities, this software can be complicated and over whelming for first time users. The complexity also inflates the memory requirements of the software. The syntax, notation and structure to input commands requires some time to get used to. Sometimes, when trying to achieve certain calculations, it leads to error messages that require some time to understand and correct. In...

AB
AvatarImg

Ashkan B.

Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Essential for research

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am a research assistant and I use MATLAB for different purposes. In fact, I have used MATLAB extensively for the last 4 years. MATLAB is one of the pioneers in mathematical programming, and one of the first things every engineer needs to learn. Researchers all over the world use MATLAB to solve mathematically complex problems and publish journal articles every day. Like any other programming language, there is a learning curve for MATLAB, but as someone who has tried different programming languages, I believe that MATLAB is one of the easiest yet most powerful coding languages. The great experience of the MathWorks team has made MATLAB almost perfect; however, as recently other programming languages are getting more popular, MATLAB needs to catch up with them.

Pros

MATLAB has a long list of useful commands. With these commands, one can edit text, solve complicated math problems, process images, and many more applications. Basically, any problem that is in some way related to numbers can be implemented in MATLAB. There are several useful built-in apps and toolboxes, such as signal processing, machine learning, optimization, etc. These built-in toolboxes are very...

Cons

One of the downsides of MATLAB compared to other available coding platforms is its outdated code editor. There are many features that can be added to the editor section, such as the column text editor, and different themes. I personally love my workspace to be dark, and one of the first things I try to change in every programming platform is its theme. Although there are some personalization options available, they are far from being perfect and customizable. Collaboration or sharing the codes with other users seems to be a must nowadays, as most of the programming platforms provide this feature. Additionally, I believe the loading time of MATLAB should be improved.

CE
AvatarImg

Catherine E.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, Excellent documentation but Expensive Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

If you are student, I would recommend that if you are interested in using this software, take note if your institution has a license to it and if you can get access to it that way. I would also recommend you identify what you expect to do with it and if you have the capabilities of running it. I would primarily recommend this to professionals with decent computing power available to them and with large datasets to analyze and visualize. Overall, I found that it was very easy to use and the documentation was easy to understand (even for a newbie like me).

Pros

Downloading and Installing Matlab was easy and simple. It was also quite easy to get started even as some one who was learning it as one of my first coding platforms. It is a platform that is heavily focused on data analysis and computing so this platform is NOT for developers or people looking to create an end-user product. I would recommend it for anyone with large datasets that can be represented or comprises of numbers. The documentation and community forum were excellent and often contained really helpful tools. The were a robust community file exchange that was amazing for finding code for specific tasks. Overall it was very easy to debug and learn thanks to the amount of great resources for it.

Cons

The greatest disadvantage of this software is probably the cost. Buying an individual license for the software is expensive and I would recommend that if this seems like the coding platform for you, you should check if your company or institution already has a access to it. It should also be noted that whilst the software has run on all of the computers I've installed it on, the wait time for it to...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Abdul F.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Yes. This is that Good!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I started using Matlab in 2013 as a student and after all these years, still now as a professional and researcher, I am not only using it without complaints but also recommending young engineers to use it. Although My area of expertise has elaborated to a great length, Matlab still meets all my demands and gives precise results to everything. If you are trying to be a EEE researcher and looking for optimum analysis software, Bingo! You have got what you are looking for. Matlab it is! A total solution.

Pros

I cannot think of any modern Electrical Engineer without the knowledge of Matlab. From Electronics to Embedded major, everyone has to go through Matlab platform. Even in job requirements, it is mentioned as one of the major skills. Most of the Master's and Ph.D. scholars I know use Matlab as their primary source of simulation and analysis software. So what makes this platform so important to Engineers?...

Cons

It is a giant expensive software and as a student or professional, a customer might not even require 5% of the total capacity. As this software comes in a total package, the installation process is tricky, takes a huge amount of memory of your computer, so you have to buy high-end processors for swift operations, and takes a lot of time to start. Again, mastering Matlab could take time because it requires coding and there are thousands of options to select for, which is a barrier for students and designers to get accustomed to easy analysis. It would be easy for everyone if Matlab releases smaller versions of the software specified for potential customers - This would reduce pricing, installation, and user complexity to a great length.

ZA
AvatarImg

Zahra A.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MALTAB is a perfect simulation and data visualization/analysis software for engineers and scientists

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, I have had a wonderful experience working with MALTAB. It totally worth it. I learned how to work with it in a short time. It includes lots of simulation blocks, embedded modules, and embedded libraries that are readily available. Therefore, you can save a lot of time using MATLAB becuase you do not need to write hundreds of line to introduce these embedded modules. If you are in an engineering or science profession, download and install MATLAB today, and start using it!

Pros

I love using MATLAB. I use it all the time at work for data analysis, data visualization, and running quick simulations. Here, I will mention a couple of MALTAB features that I find useful and I most like about it. MATLAB Graphical User Interface is simple, beautiful and intuitive. I find it very easy to work with. MATLAB is a user-friendly software for novice users. Coding in MATLAB is very easy because...

Cons

I do not have any dislikes for MATLAB. The only thing I could mention is that MATLAB is pricy. Especially if you want to have more modules and embedded libraries, you have to pay more. I have been using the MATLAB license that my university purchased. It would be nice if they could make it more affordable. Another thing I can mention is that, MALTAB can be laggy and slow when you want to run a code for so many iterations.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Design, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Numerical computations for engineering analysis becomes very easy for me when I use MATLAB

Reviewed 9 months ago

MATLAB is a valuable tool for mechanical engineers like me. Its powerful numerical computing capabilities, simulation tools, and data analysis features make it well-suited for a wide range of mechanical engineering tasks. MATLAB provides a convenient environment to develop algorithms, analyze systems, and visualize results.

Pros

MATLAB provides extensive libraries and functions for numerical computations, linear algebra, optimization, and solving complex equations. It allows engineers to perform calculations efficiently and accurately. It offers a wide range of tools and toolboxes for simulation and modeling. Mechanical engineers can create mathematical models, simulate and analyze mechanical systems, and evaluate their behavior under various conditions. It also provides excellent tools for data analysis, processing, and visualization. Engineers can manipulate large data sets, perform statistical analysis, and create meaningful visualizations to interpret and present their findings effectively.

Cons

MATLAB is a commercial software, and obtaining a license can be costly, especially for individual users or small engineering teams. However, academic versions and trial licenses are available for educational purposes. While it is highly capable for many tasks, it may not offer the same performance as lower-level languages like C or Fortran.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alejandro Daniel C.

Internet,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

MATLAB is the solution to make quickly and powerful programs.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

MATLAB is a very complete suite to make programs using a simple language and with an very intuitive workspace. Although is simple, it's very powerful, and have a lot of toolboxes that you can install for specifics themes, like electronic theory, image processing, digital systems, etc. You can also create Graphic User Interfaces whit the wizard that MATLAB has. This is simple because you don't have...

Cons

I work a lot by making Graphic User Interfaces, because the independence of any graphic library, but I dislike that when the GUI started to grow up and have a lot of things inside, MATLAB start to work slowly and sometimes, you have to reboot the program. Also I work a lot with microprocessors, programming in C/C++, and when I have to return to MATLAB, I need to "translate" the C/C++ codes to MATLAB code. Another thing that I dislike is that you only can have one function per file. I mean, you can't make a library all in one file, and if you have a big project, you have to have a lot of different files and the size of it start to grow quickly.

TD
AvatarImg

Thomas D.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Powerful tool for econometric analysis of panel data!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Matlab software is a powerful and essential tool for econometric analysis. Long used by mathematicians and physicists for simulation calculations, spherical graphs on a plane with more than two dimensions, etc., we currently use it for cross-sectional, time series and especially panel data analysis. Thanks to its functionality of being easily exploitable through scripting, we are able to estimate non-linear economic models (Panel Smoth Threshold Regression: PSTR, Generalized Method of Moments : GMM) and linear models (Least Square Model : LSM, Fixed Effects Model : FEM, Random Effects Model : REM, etc.).

Pros

Matlab is a totally free software to write any type of scripts concerning any type of data estimation models and therefore allows to estimate non-linear econometric models such as PSTR, GMM and linear ones (Fixed Effects Model or the Random Effects Model, OLS, etc.). It also allows you to produce the most optimal and well-designed graphs that few other statistical software can do. On the other hand, it has a better quality-price ratio.

Cons

As disadvantages, the software is too heavy because it occupies a lot of space during its installation (takes about 15,3Gb on the C disk) and can therefore lead to a slowdown of the functionalities of computers with low characteristics (RAM less than 2Gb, processor less than 2.00). It also appears relatively expensive compared to statistical analysis software of lower quality.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Business Supplies and Equipment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

To establish an analogy, this is similar to using a calculator

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, It makes life so easy for you that it takes you away from the mathematical infrastructure and algorithm-based approaches that the engineer is obligatory for. To establish an analogy, this is similar to using a calculator.

Pros

You won't feel the slowness of most of the processes/processes (the situation of the codes running for days is different), on top of that, when you think that hundreds of thousands of lines of code need to be written in order to do the 5-line job in matlab, for example in c, the value of the sublime program is understandable.. almost everything is made possible with its scientific toolbox ( There's...

Cons

It constantly opens processes on your computer, slows down the computer, and gives a virus warning from time to time. Other than that there is no problem.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Afshin A.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

elegant but pricey computing environment, programming software

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Coding in MATLAB is really simple, easy and can be learned fast. Its rich toolboxes and numerous user-provided files (through its file exchange) makes it easy to quickly test and verify ideas. The one thing I liked most compared to other languages is its gui, visualization of results and the flexibility of editing the figures and plots. Its rich features from integration with C to parallel/distributed computations makes it appealing even to people who seek a simple coding environment which can yet deliver fast computations (although in terms of computing speed, there are better options).

Cons

1- price: since there are few free opensource programming languages such as python and R with great community behind them and lots of functionalities, sometimes it is difficult to justify the price for someone at the entry level who wants to learn a scientific programming language. 2- Since I personally prefer object oriented programming, sometimes I find it difficult to keep track of all different function names, ... that already exist in MATLAB and its toolboxes. To me, the way python handles the packages is more appealing and helps to avoid confusion (this might be my personal preference and some may like the way the toolboxes work in MATLAB)

kv
AvatarImg

kotcherla v.

Computer Networking, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Comprehensive Review and Analysis of a Strong Scientific Computing Environment: Matlab

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

it is one of the best mathematical tools that is quite helpful in the engineering field.The best feature of Simulink is its ability to produce code for a number of platforms, including embedded systems, making it simple to deploy models on actual systems.The most flexible and practical tool for signal simulation and visualisation.Using software like Simulink, I could test a system before deploying it on actual hardware, which saves a tonne of time, effort, and money. Simulink is wonderful, and I'm glad it exists.

Cons

Simulating complicated architectures can occasionally take a long time to complete. But there are generally very few drawbacks.The Simulink Fixed-Point Tool cannot be used with Simscape blocks.Simulink offers a wide range of options. I initially find it chaotic for that and require time to get used to it.Additionally, I find the online simulator to be a little sluggish.The Simulink Fixed Point Tool cannot be used with Simscape blocks, and this feature must be enabled.

MB
AvatarImg

Matthew B.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An Incredibly powerful piece of kit

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

As a mechanical engineer I use Matlab literally everyday and I not sure that I would be able to live (or at least do my job very well) without it. It is a very powerful software that can be used in many different ways for different professions. I really like how many useful built in features (functions) there are, and it's great that there are many different options to choose from if you wish to add...

Cons

I have been using Matlab for several years now so I am very familiar with it, but it can take some time and learning to get used to at first and can feel a little intimidating. That being said, there are a wealth of resources out there, including some great tutorials on the Matlab/Mathworks website.

VR
AvatarImg

Víctor R.

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The numeric computing platform for researchers

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

It's simply THE TOOL. It has tons of features, a wide community always available and lots of easy-to-use graphics for data visualization. For researchers it is the perfect tool, as there are plenty of code available in different repositoires

Cons

It is quite expensive, so you can find much cheaper (or even free) alternatives, though using them will be probably much difficult. Some advanced statistical analyses are not available in the Statistical Toolbox

IQ
AvatarImg

Israa Q.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Matlab review

Reviewed 2 years ago

The MATLAB program is viewed as the most well-known program is digit of an expectation to learn and adapt, particularly for those simply figuring out how to program Blunder messages could be more enlightening to established researchers. This program is utilized in general logical and design issues. Subsequent to demonstrating any issue or peculiarity, the job of this program comes to manage those projects...

Pros

- Quick prototyping of sign processing applications. - Simplicity of testing and accompanies a decent proofreader and toolset. - Information Analytics and Matrix Processing Capabilities. - Ease of creating a simple and intuitive GUI with a very powerful wizard.

Cons

- A digit of an expectation to learn and adapt, particularly for those simply figuring out how to program - Blunder messages could be more enlightening