App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

RapidMiner Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.4

/5

22
91%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.38/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The capabilities that this software offers are amazing. It is a great application for data analysis and statistical analysis.
The best thing is that I don't have to be an experienced Data Scientist to work with this too. It's a great tool at a great price and very easy to use compared to other tools on the market.
I combined RapidMiner with R and it is a wonderful tool. It is the best in the market to build useful information from the result of data ming process.
This may be a problem limited to my own machine. Aside from this I found that the application seems to hog my computers memory and cpu resources.
What I found to be very inconvenient is that the application crashes at times.
Actually the only complaint I have is that the sw didnt make it in the "LEADERS" quadrant of Gardner.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


22 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rashid C.

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great tool for data analytics!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great data analytic and visualization tool!

Pros

No coding skills needed! Rapidminer is a GUI tool that you can connect boxes on a canvas to conduct data anlysis, this serves as a great introduction to data analytics. Free for students! You can get a provisional liscence with a dot edu account. This is a great perk of the software. Data analytics and data visualization tools are available within the software with a plethora of other features!

Cons

Very buggy! The software tends to crash often, this is especially more common with things such as neural networks etc. Limitations of some versions! Even with the student version there is a limit of 10,000 rows of output, so if you are trying to do analysis on a 12,000 point data set , 2000 points will randomly be omitted.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Maynard John S.

Verified reviewer

Research, self-employed

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The data scientist's swiss knife: Fast and Easy Machine Learning through RapidMiner Studio

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall my experience with using RapidMiner was great. It allowed me to rapidly try out different machine learning models and compare each result with one another. It also allowed me to conveniently address my workflow without having to write code. It is a great tool for students and people without a strong programming background. Its well documented functions and strong community addresses what ever questions I had with the processes.

Pros

One of the daunting requirements for data scientists and data storytellers is learning a programming language such as matlab and python and writing code for their tasks. This is on top of having to analyze and learn complex algorithms needed for the task. This can be a time consuming problem, especially for those who are not adept at programming. However, this is now a thing of the past because of...

Cons

What I found to be very inconvenient is that the application crashes at times. This may be a problem limited to my own machine. Aside from this I found that the application seems to hog my computers memory and cpu resources. This may be because the application is running on Java (VM). This may not be a problem for people with a higher spec machine. I also found that the application lacks collaboration features which may be something that they could improve on in the future.

AZ
AvatarImg

Ambreen Z.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Userfriendly Interface for ETL

Reviewed 4 years ago

It's a good platform while applying predictive analytics on any dataset with a user friendly interface to have the true picture of the future.

Pros

Visual workflow designer is the best part for predictive analytics. I really like drag n drop interface for generating models. Prebuilt templates are quite useful.

Cons

It's not always free. You need to purchase it if you wana work with more than 10000 rows. Its processing becomes too slow (almost hangs) while working with terabyte or petabyte of data. Sometimes, it becomes difficult to handle hundreds of models available.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Roberto I.

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I never had guessed that Data Science software was so easy

Reviewed 3 years ago

As being an old time user of data mining project using open programming languages, I found extremely useful all the features of Rapid Miner. Form preparing the data, creating predictive models and potting them in a visualized presentation.

Pros

The easiness of use, the support team, the video tutorials of the company, the career certification program, the visualization module has been upgraded, the integration capabilities to R, Python and Hadoop.

Cons

Actually the only complaint I have is that the sw didnt make it in the "LEADERS" quadrant of Gardner.

NM
AvatarImg

Nadia M.

Accounting, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

RapidMiner Review

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

RapidMiner is easy to use, I like the fact that the drivers that I use are already built in, It is able to read different database and guess what? It is able to merge these database.

Cons

You are limited when using the free version, to get more rows you are required to purchase the software. RapidMiner is expensive. Asking questions you get no answer, most times I have to watch youtube videos to get certain information which at times is still not clear.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Khurram M.

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent tool for Data Mining

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Started using this software a few months ago, and its shear power is amazing. The number of things the user can do with this software are amazing

Cons

Sometimes, while handling big data, like having large number of examples and attributes, it takes a lot of time. The cumulative time increase, when the user is optimizing manually different attributes based on the results

pj
AvatarImg

parinaz j.

Civil Engineering, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easily do your data mining

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I learnt how to do data mining with this software. I can only say it is perfect even for new learners. When I started data mining the concept itself was new to me and I did not want to do complicated programming to do my data mining. That is why I chose RapidMiner. It is so easy to use and it provides lots of hint how to use each icon. I really prefer RapidMiner if I want to get my data mined faster and easier. Highly recommended.

Cons

The help section was not %100 complete. It has many explanation but examples are not good explained.

fm
AvatarImg

francis m.

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Its simplicity enables one to do data science and the best part is you can customize as per need.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Very comfortable to use especially for a beginner and since it can be supported in any platform and excellent form of teaching.Makes machine learning easy

Cons

A bit pricey to acquire but worth it at the end and it can consume a lot RAM sometimes your computer freezes

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Fairly straight forward analytics

Reviewed 5 years ago

I'm using the basic version but was surprised to be able to easily analyse my small data set and identify a few interesting trends very swiftly. Usually I'd do basic analysis manually with SQL and gnuplot, but can see myself using to Rapidminer more in future (not something I thought I'd say)

Pros

Provides a surprising array of different analytical templates from to off. Very easy to get up and running, an online tutorial videos quickly show how to use the different analytical reports.

Cons

I always prefer free versions of software to be open source, but that's perhaps being too picky. Learning curve.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Yehia E.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for Proof of Concept purposes

Reviewed 6 years ago

I used RapidMiner a lot for doing proof of concept of some machine learning models before going to the production. It is really easy to construct a machine learning workflow, including loading data, features selection and cleaning, applying machine learning models and visualization. Sometimes, RapidMiner does not work well with big data as it requires a lot of memory to process the data. However, for me, it is the best tool yet to do pre-production experiements.

Pros

Easy to use. Perfect for non-technical users. RapidMiner includes a lot of Machine Learning libraries and algorithms. Easy to construct simple and understandable machine learning workflows

Cons

Does not scale well with the big data. Some visualization techniques are ambiguous.

EM
AvatarImg

Emad M.

Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Toward sophisticated data analytics :RapidMiner

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use RapidMiner for data analytics, data mining, classification and clustering in construction management.

Pros

1- Friendly interface, robust software operation 2- Easy to learn 3- It support several data types

Cons

Graphic plotting capabilities compare to R is low, I think this important feature that make RapidMiner stronger.

ip
AvatarImg

igor p.

E-Learning, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solving difficult problems with easy solutions

Reviewed 3 years ago

business predictions, for instance short term default prediction using 4 different models in a few hours.

Pros

enough variety fast learning curve reliability vizualization

Cons

still searching, but if I have to write something: some add-ons are not free

DA
AvatarImg

Devon A.

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Stat crunch is a great data analysis software

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was impressed with the software and loved learning the data analysis tools that it offers.

Pros

The capabilities that this software offers are amazing. It is a great application for data analysis and statistical analysis.

Cons

The learning curve is steep and you are much more likely to learn this software if you follow tutorials or a guided lecture.

nh
AvatarImg

navid h.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

do you need to analyze the data?

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I had a big data set I should analyze and didn't have any clue about data mining that's where I was introduced with rapid miner and I analyzed my data in less than a day. so I can just say its so easy and pretty simple and perfect.

Cons

I couldn't find any instructions and manual as a guideline for using it.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best bang for your buck analytics tool, but only for Windows

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This tool is basically identical to Alteryx, but substantially cheaper - making it a better value pick

Cons

This tool only worked well for my teammates who are in Windows....anyone who was using Mac had consistent issues (even after reinstalls), making it hard to pick for a team that uses both Windows and Mac

HM
AvatarImg

Howard M.

Research, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very fast work and excellent presentation of results

Reviewed 6 years ago

I combined RapidMiner with R and it is a wonderful tool. It is the best in the market to build useful information from the result of data ming process.

Pros

Easy of use, fast, really nice presentation of results.

Cons

The expansion through code is not easy. It has a lot of functionalities but in some locations you got stuck and need to implement in other way.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool to enter with Data Science Analysis and Machine Learning

Reviewed 3 years ago

I used Rapid Miner in a certification of Big Data and Machine learning. It was tremendous support on the first stage of this courses

Pros

Graphic tool with lot of Predictive tools . Support Python code Support easy and complex of data sources Great tool for beginners and experts

Cons

Needs a good computer to support the engine. Output Graphics are not the best and I used excel to improve my presentations

MS
AvatarImg

Melissa S.

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rapid Miner is a fantastic tool for machine learning!

Reviewed 5 years ago

It allowed us to do predictions on our data without having to be an experienced Data Scientist

Pros

It's so intuitive and easy to use. You can have a machine learning model built in just minutes and the price is great too! The best thing is that I don't have to be an experienced Data Scientist to work with this too. It's a great tool at a great price and very easy to use compared to other tools on the market!

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

RapidMiner Data Modelling

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to transform data and model easy to use machine learning algorithms Options for feature customization

Cons

webservice is difficult to use the GUI is not aesthetic

DD
AvatarImg

Dimitris D.

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good but demanding

Reviewed 3 years ago

I used Rapid Miner as part of a data mining lab at the university. It was pretty amazing what can be done with just a few clicks.

Pros

It makes data mining extremely easy even for beginners. Has many ready to go mining methods and drag and drop design.

Cons

It is very resource hungry. Makes memory full after a while. Despite its ease of use, it is also easy to get lost with so many features.

SO
AvatarImg

Sofia O.

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Student Review of RapidMiner

Reviewed 5 months ago

I would say that for simple algorithms like Decision Trees, this software is great.

Pros

It has some functionalities that make data analytics much easier than other softwares.

Cons

It can easily crash with more demanding algorithms such as deep neural.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for Predictive Analytics

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Fast at reading many kinds of databases. Various add-ons

Cons

It is very costly. It is hard to share the data with someone else.