App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MindMup Reviews

Overall rating

4.2

/5

18

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.41/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

You can change it up with the help of various features and the program has a lot of potential. I love that you can share and work with another individual along the way.
I think it is overall the second-best mapping program on the market with Mindmeister being the first. This is because I am shallow and love the look and interface of Mindmeister more.
My experience with mindmup was mindblowing. In the beginning I thought this is a very simple program but actually that simplicity has become a positive experience.
I can't open my file anymore, even though I downloaded it, I keep getting the same error message. There was a problem connecting to Mindup. Please try again later.
Its difficult to manage longer notes in MindMup.
Also, still trying to figure out how to drag nodes to a different location to make them stick.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


18 reviews

Recommended

MB
AvatarImg

Mallika B.

Internet, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, great to brainstorm

Reviewed 4 years ago

My experience with mindmup was mindblowing. In the beginning I thought this is a very simple program but actually that simplicity has become a positive experience.

Pros

easy to use, I can conveniently send a link to my colleagues to watch. You can change the colors of the text clouds. Support responds super fast and the mindmups are stored in your account so you can always access them.

Cons

I miss something like a straightline 'mindmap'. With the straightlines I want to indicate goals.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Online Mindmap Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

The ability to provide MindMaps easily to customers to under processes, and then to modify those on the fly.

Pros

The ability to access it anywhere, the ability to share your maps with colleagues, the ability to manage the Teams contributions and you can work on a map together.

Cons

The logging-in process was a little tedious in terms of you must log in each time and its not connected to O365 so there is no SSO available.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Easiest mindsmapping software on earth

Reviewed 2 years ago

MindMup is great if you just need to do "mindmapping", which is its primary goal. Now if you want to present it in a board meeting, or if you are really picky and want to be following trends in terms of "visual appeal", we can say UX/UI is not hitting points.

Pros

It is super, like SO easy to use. It's like creating a text document, with boxes and joining lines. It helps when you need some kind of visualization.

Cons

The visual part is crucial I believe when presenting or sharing information. It's very easy to use but I think the options people can use to make "design" are just not hitting points. It all end up looking very childish to me. If I want something that creates a "WOW" effect, I clearly won't go for this. It's good for "mindmapping" as it should though.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Susan D.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome tool to visualize what is in your head!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Was up and running really quickly once I got past a few learning curve issues. But at $25 for the year, was more function than I could hope for at that price.

Pros

It was pretty easy to figure out how to use. Very intuitive interface for the most part. I like that I can add notes & graphics & attachments to the nodes of my map. I serves many purposes for me.

Cons

There were a few functions that weren't as intuitive to use. A few more help videos or explanations would have helped in the learning curve. Also, still trying to figure out how to drag nodes to a different location to make them stick... Lastly, an integrated legend would be nice to document meanings of color for example.

BH
AvatarImg

Briana H.

Writing and Editing, self-employed

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Practical and Business Friendly Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

I really enjoyed using Mindmup. I think it is overall the second-best mapping program on the market with Mindmeister being the first. This is because I am shallow and love the look and interface of Mindmeister more. At the end of the day, Mindmup has almost everything I could want in mapping software. It is just missing a bit of polish.

Pros

It allows you to begin mapping right away. You can change it up with the help of various features and the program has a lot of potential. I love that you can share and work with another individual along the way.

Cons

I wish the user interface was a bit more smooth and user friendly. It currently looks a little dated but perhaps not for business standards. I use it for creativity so I wish it was more creative looking in the design and finished product.

MS
AvatarImg

MUHAMMAD S.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Mind Reader

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

MindMup is basically Mind mapping application that helps you let your ideas flow on a chart. Instead of paper, you can save your ideas on the cloud. You can also use it as whiteboard in online sessions or meetings. You can also attach a picture or any other document to any object. With unlimited users, it's the cheapest mind map available in the market for Enterprise.

Cons

You can not arrange object with custome lines. It has its own curved line that adjust itself accounding to objecs position.

QF
AvatarImg

Quai F.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

MIndmup - Useful for Basics

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Mindmup is straightforward to set up and connect with Google Drive. This connects it with you Google account and leaves a mindmup file in the folders on your Google Drive.

Cons

While most of the functionality works well and has some good keyboard shortcuts, it can also be a bit confusing. It's sometimes unclear which object you're leaving a comment on for example, as it has separate user pane to work on for thing like comments, but doesn't necessarily make it clear which object is being acted on.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Antti W.

Medical Devices, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Just great for personal use

Reviewed 5 years ago

Probably the JSON format allows clever people to write import and export filters to automate...e.g. to compose product structure in MindMup and export that to ERP?

Pros

I like that I could get started free. It is much cleaner to write stuff to MindMup than using pencil and eraser to achieve the same on paper. I like how the app integrates with Google and saves its data to Google Drive. I did not have to create a new account anywhere. I made the mistake of starting my first map in Cloud storage mode but I was still able to export the data to a .mup file and then open it again while in Drive storage mode. PNG export looked good.

Cons

Perhaps I am doing it wrong or have not found these features yet but... My map grew quite large, to the point where I would have had use for hierarchical maps (link to another map from a node). If MindMup would be used for business then I think at least linking to external documents would be needed.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ramindu D.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MindMup is easy-to-use mind mapping on the web

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

MindMup is what a mind mapping tool should be; easy to use, lots of different controls, and no annoying installation. It provides easy collaboration and export options which makes sharing a mind map with the team very easy.

Cons

The UI can be a bit unresponsive at times, and the number of available controls can be overwhelming and hard to sift through.

Md
AvatarImg

Maria del Rosario C.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MindMup- Online mind maps

Reviewed 4 years ago

It is an excellent tool for the elaboration of mental maps, the fact that this integrated with Google Drive gives it even more value, I currently use the free version but I would not hesitate to buy a subscription.

Pros

- It is a very simple tool to use, the ideas are organized and each node is highlighted with a different color, that is useful, the text size automatically decreases at each level. - Allows you to attach documents or images - The diagram can be exported in PDF or image format - It has integration with Google Drive so that we have our work available on any device.

Cons

- It does not allow us to customize the lines, only its curved line is available that is adjusted according to the position and size of the objects by default.

DR
AvatarImg

Diego R.

Sports, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Troppo complesso da utilizzare

Reviewed 3 months ago

La mia esperienza con MindMup non è stata malvagia. Dovrebbero però rendere più facile ed intuitivo l'uso di quest'ultimo. Per ora ho cambiato software per mappe, perché questo era troppo difficile da utilizzare. Anche se il prezzo del software che utilizzo ora è pari al doppio. Spero che lo rendino presto più semplice da utilizzare

Pros

Di MindMup mi è piaciuta sicuramente la varietà di funzioni che ritroviamo in esso. Ci sono migliaia e migliaia di modi per creare mappe, personalizzarle il più possibile e rendere ogni mappa unica. Inoltre il prezzo è abbastanza economico, considerando gli altri software per mappe mentali che troviamo in giro

Cons

La cosa che mi è piaciuta di meno è la poca facilità d'uso del software. Purtroppo, soprattutto all'inizio, ho riscontrato difficoltà nel creare mappe.

Showing original review in Italian. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Useful and flexible

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Auto positioning of the nodes Ability to create several mind maps on one canvas Different types of mind maps Sticky notes

Cons

Inability to copy format of the node. If you change the background colour of the node and then create a new one, it has been created with a default background, so you have to do formatting again manually.

SA
AvatarImg

Shain A.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Mind Mup

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

MindMup is idea mapping application that help me let my ideas bloom on chart. Its cloud based applicaiton. The beauty is its so simple to use and learn. Its free for individuals users and keep data on cloud upto 6 months. It also adjusts the containers or objects it self, so don't need to worry about arranging them.

Cons

Its difficult to manage longer notes in MindMup

AC
AvatarImg

Angela C.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Graphic/Visual Tool for Learning

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use this software with students in creating mindmaps an d capturing notes during lessons. The mindmaps can be screenshot and then shared, as well as saved. it is an excellent tool to differentiate learning and to graphically organize student instructional content and curricular connections.

Pros

I love the fact that not only is this program almost effortless, but it is a fun and manipulative way to organize thinking in a creative fashion. Students have reported that this is one of their favorite note-taking tools.

Cons

Printing. When we try to print the mind maps, they are either scaled way too small too read or take multiple pages. if you want to print this , you have to be strategic to ensure you only use "document sized" space, as you aren't forced into this option.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Mindmup is a great little flowchart tool!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Using mindmup free version to determine if it is user-friendly enough to purchase for a team. It has made the cut to the top three at this point.

Pros

This tool was super easy to learn, very easy to put together flow charts and diagrams. Using the free version

Cons

The only complaint I have (and it may be a quirk of thefree version) is that each time I edit a mindmup, it generates a new URL save - so if I am not careful, if working with bookmarks I end up opening the wrong one.

SS
AvatarImg

Steven S.

Printing, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for brainstorming

Reviewed 3 years ago

Aiding collaborative thinking and brainstorming

Pros

The basic layout and functionality is a plus for this software. Getting ideas from brain to paper is really simple.

Cons

Nothing. The software is basic but that is is best attribute.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Medical Practice, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very useful for planning

Reviewed 5 years ago

We use it for objective planning of future business strategy.

Pros

Links to google docs/drive. Free and premium versions are equally useful. Endless mapping size. Zoom, reorganize with ease.

Cons

Can take a while to load but not super slow or anything like that.

RL
AvatarImg

Rika L.

Architecture & Planning, self-employed

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Can't acces my file anymore

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to draw the mind maps. Nice colors, elegant looking.

Cons

I can't open my file anymore, even though I downloaded it, I keep getting the same error message: "There was a problem connecting to Mindup. Please try again later." WTHF??