PikMyKid Reviews

PikMyKid

School safety platform for dismissal automation

PikMyKid

Review Summary

Pros

The customer service and support are amazing. They respond quickly and are extremely helpful in fixing any problems/issues we have.

Karla P.

PikMyKid has dramatically improved this for both buildings with its responsive, web-based dismissal management solution.

John M.

It has improved our efficiency and effectiveness during dismissal.

Caleb Y.

Cons

The confusion of the way things were labeled made a bit of a mess at dismissal time as well as the problems we had with the app.

Samantha H.

Inability to announce for after school programs and difficulties if parents do not participate and cooperate.

William E.

I dislike the notifications you can send because they do not always work correctly and you cannot see them in the system.

Joseph P.

Overall rating

4.3

(19)

5

4

3

2

1

6

13

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


19 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Works Great!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Peace of mind. We now know exactly where our students are. Communication is better, and interrupting the classroom with change of dismissal for individual students is a thing of the past.

Pros

The software does exactly what it says it will. I can use this software with confidence that everything will just work. Notifications are huge for us! Parents are now consistently kept in the loop.

Cons

I wish the parents could have a web portal as well instead of forcing them to use an app. Also, you need to make sure you have good wifi outside for checking parents in. Once that is done, you are all set!

Vendor response

Hey there Aaron, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. Thank you for pointing out that "The software does exactly what it says it will". We work hard to stay loyal and true to all that we market to consumers. In regards to parents having a dashboard, we will discuss and work it into our next survey of improvements with our schools. And yes, good wifi is a must. Which we can now help with depending on the school's wifi structure. "Peace of mind" is what we strive for. Thank you, Aaron, The PikMyKid team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We've been using PikMyKid for two years now. It has reduced our dismissal time.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The customer service and support are amazing. They respond quickly and are extremely helpful in fixing any problems/issues we have. It is user friendly for administrators. It does reduce our dismissal time. When used correctly by parents, it can help ensure their child's safety.

Cons

Unless everyone uses the system properly, it's not 100% effective. Every single parent has to use the application and use it properly otherwise there are problems at dismissal. Because of this, it never works perfectly. One big problem for our school, that really needs to be fixed, is that even if parents delegate their children, if the parent goes through car line and announces, their child will...

Vendor response

Karla, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. Our customer service team is so grateful for the glowing review. We are so appreciative to have a team that truly cares about our schools. Thank you for taking notice of this. We appreciate that constructive feedback. We have worked to resolve a few of these issues and are always working to update the system to solve these problems. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

PikMyKid makes car loop pick up a breeze

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like that I can manage all parents and students in the school and monitor how they will be picked up each day.

Cons

I dislike the notifications you can send because they do not always work correctly and you cannot see them in the system.

Vendor response

Joseph, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. You pointed out how you can manage all parents and students in the school, we are happy we are able to provide that extra safety factor for your school. We have worked out many tweaks in our notifications and hope you have noticed the improvements. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

PikMyKid has gotten much better and easier to use over time

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's very comprehensive. If all stakeholders are on board and using it appropriately, it's possible to know the dismissal plans/whereabouts of each and every student within about 7 seconds.

Cons

There are a lot of small things that make PMK less user-friendly than we would like. You have to take absent students out of the system one-by-one, you need to log out and in each day in order to have updated dismissal plans (some teachers have a hard time with this), and it took a long time to get enough buy-in with all of our stakeholders for it to truly be effective.

Vendor response

Chelsea, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are thrilled to see you point out how well it works, especially if all of the stakeholders are on board and using it appropriately. This is crucial to implementing a new safety system. We appreciate you pointing out PikMyKid improving over time, we take criticism and feedback very seriously. We want our schools to have the best safety system in place for their students. Per the multiple similar feedback requests, we have updated the system to allow bulk selections. We hope this has helped resolve a few of these issues for you. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome Solution!

Reviewed a year ago

PikMyKid has significantly improved our dismissal process. In the past, we used a custom-written Windows-based application to run dismissal, and it was definitely showing its age. PikMyKid has dramatically improved this for both buildings with its responsive, web-based dismissal management solution.

Pros

PikMyKid is very easy to use for teachers, administrators, and parents alike. It ensures dismissal is both efficient and safe. It also saves our staff time not having to deal with dismissal notes and random changes.

Cons

Their ability to integrate with other products like Student Information Systems is limited, and updating data in their system can be cumbersome.

Vendor response

John, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. You acknowledged "It also saves our staff time not having to deal with dismissal notes and random changes." We love hearing that PikMyKid assists the staff's daily duties. Thank you for the constructive feedback. We are always working to improve our systems and agree integrating student data can be a struggle. Take note, we are always using this feedback to make our system better for our schools. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pikmykid a Success Story

Reviewed a year ago

Pikmykid has definitely stream lined our dismissal process. We have much fewer incidents of children being in the wrong place at the end of the day. Our teachers have a way of verifying who should be in their bus line, in real time. The office has a way of checking for changes for all classes, at any given time.

Pros

The software has dramatically reduced the number of phone calls we field in regards to dismissal, especially at the end of the day. The parents really appreciate the ability to make changes at any time right from their phone, or from work, without having to make a call to our office.

Cons

I don't like that if a student moves out of the district and I delete the student from the system, and then the student returns to the district and I have to enter them as a new student - instead of just reactivating them from a stored data base.

Vendor response

Tammi, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. The part you mentioned about parents, "The parents really appreciate the ability to make changes at any time right from their phone, or from work, without having to make a call to our office." This makes us so happy. We are working out these data-based issues currently. Stay tuned! Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My Pikmykid Experience

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

For us, Pikmykid provided the school the ability to track when parents arrive on campus to pick up their children and seamlessly alert the teacher. This help to expedite our dismissal process as well as increase its efficiency.

Cons

The ability to manage parent data is cumbersome. Many issues that arise that have to be resolved require going through Pikmykid customer service when I wish we could resolve them ourselves.

Vendor response

Benny, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are so happy we were able to provide your school with a tracking ability to expedite your dismissal process. We understand managing parent data can be cumbersome. Our support team works closely with the technical team to honor school requests and feedback. Stay tuned! Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Has added safety and efficiency along with a level of accountability to our dismissal process.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Accountability of every student so we know each student has been dismissed and the route they have taken. Parents can update dismissal information and the dismissal process is faster with the ability to announce and send parents through the car line. We can also track students who participate in clubs after school.

Cons

Inability to announce for after school programs and difficulties if parents do not participate and cooperate.

Vendor response

William, Thank you for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. The point you made about "Accountability of every student so we know each student has been dismissed and the route they have taken." is exactly why PikMyKid was started. As our CEO had a mishap with his daughter during dismissal time. I understand that the announcement feature for afterschool being necessary. We work hard to make adjustments and updates per majority of school requests. Stay tuned! Thank you, William, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Product Review

Reviewed 10 months ago

Using Pikmykid has drastically cut down on the phone calls to change transportation. We are able to manage our students transportation much more efficiently.

Pros

It is easy to navigate. Customer service is absolutely the Best!

Cons

You could look at families/siblings, not always just an individual. Not all buses, daycares, etc.. were listed under afterschool. Parents get confused.

Vendor response

Miriam, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. Our customer service team is so appreciative of your glowing review! They truly care about our schools. We understand, we will note this type of grouping and will work towards finding a solution for you. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

PMK has really helped streamline our dismissal process!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love that it is so easy to use. The customer service is amazing as well. Our rep is always there in a pinch to walk us through an issue.

Cons

There are too many ways to run reports. This should be a positive thing, but I find it difficult to know which report to have our teachers use. It is also confusing to distinguish between a delegation and a change mode. Parents use both.

Vendor response

Brooke, Thank you for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We love hearing that PikMyKid is user-friendly. We take many strides to make our app and dashboard as easy to use as possible. We understand the multiple reports being a bit of a nuisance. We are always working to improve based on school needs, stay tuned! Thank you, Brooke, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My experience has been good overall.

Reviewed 3 years ago

One of the benefits is that we are able to use a three digit numerical system to process our students in and out of school, making it easier and more efficient for parents and users at the school.

Pros

The Pikmykid software is relatively easy to use for everyone. The login process is very easy for users.

Cons

The software seems a little "glitchy" at times for parents and school users. There is no real "ALERT" feature that I am aware of at this time (to my knowledge). I would like to see the software offer some sort of ALERT feature that allows administrators to add-in for personnel NOT authorized to pick-up a child; the feature should be able to upload a photo when available; If the UNAUTHORIZED person...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The customer support and response to concerns has been phenomenal

Reviewed 3 years ago

We were able to put together a safe and efficient dismissal to keep our families and neighbors happy

Pros

Pik My Kid is very user friendly and our community relies on it to make our dismissal more efficient and safe. Our neighbors are happy as well, because we are able to move cars through quicker.

Cons

Occasionally after an upgrade there are some issues with needing a patch, but most upgrades have actually been for useful purposes.

Vendor response

Hey there Annette, Thank you for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are so happy to hear " Our neighbors are happy as well because we are able to move cars through quicker". One of the many goals of PikMyKid is to alleviate dangerous neighborhood traffic. We are thrilled to hear you are so pleased with our customer service team. We understand sometimes there are kinks after an update, thank you for being patient and working with us. We appreciate you, Annette, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very helpful and useful program that is easy to use and understand

Reviewed 2 years ago

Quick way to change transportation and advise teachers

Pros

It allows us ways to advise parents a quick update on events that happen - such as bus delays and/or school closings

Cons

When editing a phone number or changing transportation need to go back to start - more difficult when it's a family etc.

Vendor response

Michelle, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are thrilled to hear you explain PikMyKid is easy to use. It is awesome you enjoy utilizing the announcement feature to make general announcements to your parents. Thank you for the honest feedback. Over time, we have adjusted these and hope this has helped with changing information being more easy. Thank you again, ThePikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best way to dismiss students!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our dismissal procedures are MUCH safer and can be audited! Things are much more streamlined while simultaneously increasing safety.

Pros

The software is relatively easy to use and very reliable. It's helped increase the safety and security of our K-5 dismissal procedures.

Cons

Some parts of it can be a bit inflexible. Some updates in the past have caused issues; however, they were always quick to communicate workarounds and fixes.

Vendor response

John, Thank you for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are so happy to hear that "The software is relatively easy to use and very reliable". Our team works around the clock to make sure we are here for our schools. In regards to updates causing issues, thank you for saying "they were always quick to communicate workarounds and fixes". Our team works hard to update the per the majority of school requests. The PikMyKid tech team is thoughtful in testing and like all things have a hiccup or two on occasion, thank you for understanding and working with us. Thank you, John, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

We really like PikMyKid

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The easy use of the app, the parents understand how to use the app, our teachers understand how to use the app, its very user friendly

Cons

There are cliches at the worst times but I don't think there is much we can do about that, if the user has an old version it doesn't work, communicate sooner when a new version is approaching

Vendor response

Latrice, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. User-friendly is music to our ears. We work so hard to make sure our systems are easily used as we have a large variety of people that use it daily. We understand the updates can cause glitches. We update often to adjusting to the majority of schools' feedback. We will absolutely work on notifying schools prior to updates so you can notify your parents accordingly. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PikMyKid

Reviewed a year ago

I enjoy the product. It has improved our efficiency and effectiveness during dismissal.

Pros

The systematic process and ease of use for parents, teachers, and staff.

Cons

There are a few interface features that could be improved. Specifically the lay out of the dismissal fields that are emailed to teachers. It would also be beneficial for the dispatcher to have a few more scroll features.

Vendor response

Caleb, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are happy to hear you PikMyKid provides ease of use for parents, teachers, and staff members. The PikMyKid team works hard to ensure our systems are user-friendly. We appreciate the honest feedback. We are happy to tell you a few of these issues are in the technical pipeline to be modified. Stay tuned! Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love PIKMYKID

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It has made our dismissal process much more efficient and has added an extra safety layer for us.

Cons

I would like for parent sot be able to add more people to their account as optional people to pick their child us and use the system.

Vendor response

Jennifer, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are happy to hear PikMyKid has made your dismissal process more efficient and safe, We appreciate the feedback, we understand the need for parents to add more people to delegate and we will work on finding a solution for you. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for ease of mind and security each day.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We loved how we knew how each kidddo was going home each day and the accountability was on the parents to get us the right information in a timely manner and in a consistent way.

Cons

The confusion of the way things were labeled made a bit of a mess at dismissal time as well as the problems we had with the app.

Vendor response

Samantha, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. We are so happy to hear you say the real-time paper trail has assisted your daily dismissal. Over time, we have taken similar feedback and have worked to make the dashboard more user-friendly. Thank you again, The PikMyKid Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I enjoy using Pikmykid. The parents loves it as well.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love how we can send messages and the dismissal is easy also. I feel like it helps with communications between teachers and parents. The school message board is great.

Cons

The one thing i least like is when it sends the messages it sends it 4 times. I also wish that the parents had to opinion to respone to the messages that we send out. Some of our parents work and may not be able to call. But they may be able to texts us back.

Vendor response

Melinda, Thank you so much for taking the time to review PikMyKid. We greatly appreciate it. You mentioned that PikMyKid assists communications between teachers and parents, we love hearing this from our schools! We have now added a chatbox linked to text messaged to chat about the alert sent. We hope this helped resolve this issue for you. Thank you, Melinda, The PikMyKid Team