Clinical Studio Reviews

Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

4.56/5 (18 reviews)

Jerry Stinar

GREAT Tool for Web Based, Mobile, and Wearable Clinical Trial Data!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-11-15
Review Source: Capterra

We've been able to tap into the world of mobile and wearable technology in clinical research!

Pros
Clinical Studio and TrialKit have helped FUEL Studios, Inc. provide even more great tools for our clients. The feature we like most about this platform is the native ability to run on Smartphones, Tablets, and Wearables as an App. It creates a fast and intuitive experience for sponsors, clinicians, and patients. The user interface is modern, and fun for users to use from any location. The Clinical Studio support team has been great to work with too! They have always supported our team in numerous ways, and eagerly receive our suggestions for software improvements. Good people. We're thrilled to have this platform as one of the solutions we can offer to our clients!

Cons
Though this platform has the ability to create reports and easily pull data, we're hoping to see the complexity of these features grow. For example, creating graphical reports or reports with calculations. We're also hoping we could easily query all study and system data to find specific situations. In the times when we need more, it is very easy to export data to work with outside reporting tools. Or, ask the support team for further information!

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Hi Jerry, thank you for such a wonderful review! It's exciting for us to see our mobile and wearable technology be put to use in studies as it continues to become a growing tool in the clinical research industry. We're grateful for your feedback. Because of customers like you, we're able to add valuable enhancements to Clinical Studio and TrialKit, so be sure to keep your eyes peeled for new reporting features very soon!

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

John Haigh

Clinical Studio Turns a Complex Oncology Study into a Manageable and Customizable SAAS Solution

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-01-03
Review Source: Capterra

Let me start off by saying Clinical Studio's customer service is the best. Cody and Paul in particular have been invaluable. They provided all the necessary training to build our studies, made potentially challenging data migration a breeze, and often respond within minutes to our email and text questions. They incorporate new features as we need them and seem to have great synergy between their development and support teams. They treat us like a partner versus a customer and we love that. ONCOtherapeutics (CRO) specializes in oncology-related studies that require several hundred case report forms clinical research sites must complete for every subject throughout the course of each study. Being able to create and reuse templates and then adjust them as needed has saved us from time-wasting manual duplication. Their study builder, which works on the desktop browser or as an iPhone or iPad app, is a simple drag-and-drop user interface and also allows for flexible conditional actions (e.g. hide or show fields and validate or compute data entries). Both sites and subjects can use their iOS apps to complete study forms. Their value proposition is constantly improving and we are grateful for their partnership.

Pros
Drag-and-drop interface and reusability of forms.

Cons
Too many confirmation windows to click on but pointed this out to them already so it may not be an issue by the time you read this. ;)

Response from Crucial Life Sciences Data Solutions


Thank you for your review, John! We understand how complex oncology studies can be, so we're glad Clinical Studio helps streamline the process for you and your team. Your feedback is very valuable to us - we use it to continually make enhancements to the software. Looking forward to building more studies with you!
- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Anonymous

A Prodigious EDC tool

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-11-24
Review Source: Capterra

Clinical Studio has ticked all my bucket list of a fair EDC rather it would is an exceptional EDC tool.

Pros
Data Manager is the showstopper of Clinical Data and with Clinical Studio you rule the clinical data world. Clinical Studio is exceptionally user-friendly that allows you to design the CRFs in a cinch. The outstanding part of Clinical Studio is that the site doesn't need to refer the assessment schedule everytime for assessments as the same is replicated when the study is designed and pushed into production. Reporting tool- JReview and Clinical Coder for coding comes handy whereas Clinical Studio can be integrated with any PV tool which is flawless. Programming edit checks is a piece of cake for DM (without any hardcore knowledge in programming) as it takes hardly any time to program. DB updates don't hold up the data entry process, metadata and other backend output takes few seconds. Design monitoring reports, inventories....the complete business is in your fingertips. You can do a lot. An extraordinary part of Clinical Studio is the Support system. Truly speaking, customer satisfaction is 10/10. The query response is in less than 12 hours or even less and that too with a complete guide to your issue. Worked in multiple EDCs; Clinical Studio is phenomenal and I would highly recommend.

Cons
I don't think Clinical Studio has any section which one would like the least.

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Hello Valued User, we are very appreciative of your stellar review! It's fantastic to learn that Clinical Studio has checked every item on your list of EDC wants & needs. We're honored to provide you with the user-friendly tools you need for your clinical trials and hope to support more of your studies down the road.

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Jillian Dymek

Clinical studio is a fantastic EDC. Our clients love it and we do too!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It's so easy to talk to an actual person. You don't have to search through articles or submit dozens of tickets. Our representative is so great. He is incredibly knowledgable, responsive, and patient. I love that Clinical Studio takes suggestions, I've even seen a few of mine go into production. They are so receptive and eager to please they are willing to update their software to make it easier for their customers. The actual EDC is so easy to use, our clients love it! It is clear, concise, and very easy to navigate.

Cons
The only thing I don't like is on the dashboard report you cannot filter by more than one site at a time.

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Hi Jillian, we are very appreciative of your review! It's always fantastic to learn that our customers, as well as their clients, love Clinical Studio and find it easy to use. Suggestions from users such as yourself are what propel the system enhancements to be increasingly more user-friendly. Our development team has been made aware of your input on filtering sites in the Dashboard Report; this will certainly be addressed in future updates.

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Anonymous

Clinical Studio Review

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

It has been good so far. The Clinical Studio team responds very quickly and is good at updating on the status of questions/projects.

Pros
Very user friendly and easy to train sites on how to use.

Cons
I think there could be additional reports and features that could be added to make the manual work less. For example, instead of having to go into each subject to determine if a visit is overdue, there should be a report that can be run to determine the number of overdue visits at a site and/or overall. Some sites have 100 subjects enrolled and it is a very manual process to determine overdue visits.

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Dear Clinical Studio User,

Thanks so much for your valuable feedback. Our support team is always eager to answer your questions and find solutions as swiftly as possible. The improvements you described for generating reports would absolutely benefit all system users - please keep an eye out for enhanced reporting features to become available in fall 2019.

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Kiran chitambare

Clinical Studio review for Medical device company

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

We are using clinical studio for 3 clinical studies for medical device company. So far the experience has been good. It is a good deal for the price we pay.

Pros
- Mobile app - Save as draft function for CRFs - Payment manager capabilities - Site level document - Single sign on for all the studies in clinstudio (and different roles for admin) - Freedom for the look of eCRF (better control for positioning of variables and responses) - very prompt customer service

Cons
- On boarding training/experience (especially for admins) could have been better - Payment manager to include PO/check issued details - Multiple table on single eCRF always extracts as separate tabs/datasets. If one CRF has only one extracted dataset , that would be helpful.

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Dear Kiran,

Thank you for leaving a terrific review of Clinical Studio. We are glad the system's capabilities are performing well for Intuitive Surgical's medical device studies and you find the value for money to be a good deal. Your review has been shared with the customer experience team so we can continue to improve our onboarding process. Your feedback on the payment manager and CRF extractions has also been passed along to the folks in product development so those improvements can be made.

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Mindy Carlson

Great software! Competitively Priced! Unparalleled Customer Service!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-29
Review Source: Capterra

I have enjoyed working with Clinical Studio on two projects. When changes need to be made then the team works diligently to correct the issue. Reviews from the sites are that they enjoy working from platform and that it is more user friendly other EDC platforms that they have used.

Pros
The software is easy to use and the site's enjoy working with the platform.

Cons
Building reports hasn't been the easiest but it is doable.

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Hello Mindy,

We appreciate the nice review! We're glad Clinical Studio has been easy to use both for you and those using it at sites. Your input regarding reports has been shared with our product development team. An update for report building is in the works - be sure to watch for it to release this fall (2019).

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Alison Hennessey

Clinical Studio Review from a Data Manager

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-07-01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Quick and easy to build as well as the ability to do database updates without system downtime.

Cons
Although they do not have the most robust reporting, the team is always taking feature requests. We have had some of our ideas implemented!

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Hello Alison,

Many thanks for your review of Clinical Studio! Enhancements to the reporting features will be live this fall (2019); we'll look forward to hearing how it works for you. Please keep the feedback coming - we love to implement client ideas that make the system better as time goes on.

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Nancy Stinar

User friendly and great support!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-07-01
Review Source: Capterra

We work with Clinical Studio on a daily basis building databases for our clients and providing training and support. Robust and intuitive, the system is great now and constantly being improved upon based on increased usage.

Pros
Intuitive and straightforward for building databases and end user use. The support is extremely responsive and helpful. Team is open to ideas for improvement.

Cons
Would like a more robust reporting tool.

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Hi Nancy,

Our team greatly appreciates your review! Enhancing the platform based on user ideas and feedback is an extremely high priority of ours. A robust reporting functionality is coming your way this fall (2019). We're eager to support more studies for you and your clients down the road.

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Laurie Johnson

Highly Recommend!

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-01-06
Review Source: Capterra

I have built databases using SAS and Oracle Clinical, and have used many other systems. Clinical Studio is by far my favorite. The Customer Support is better than anything I've seen, literally, they are always just a phone call away and go above and beyond to make sure their clients are happy. Clinical Studio is always seeking to improve their products and are always ready and willing to hear new ideas, and often incorporate them. I love this product and support staff.

Pros
It is simple and intuitive but accomplishes complex tasks. I love that database development is so simple, including the programming of edit checks.

Cons
I would like to have some options within the normalized tables that aren't currently available (hide, disable conditional actions). I am just getting started with Conditional Actions and don't have a strong opinion, as I'm still on a learning curve.

Response from Crucial Life Sciences Data Solutions


Hi Laurie, thanks for the review! It's great to hear you're happy with our customer support and find that Clinical Studio's intuitive interface works well for ClinicalRM. Your input on normalized table options has been brought to the attention of our development team. We appreciate receiving your feedback; it is always a pleasure working with ClinicalRM! - Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Sharona Segal-Leibovich

I'm a developer working closely with one of the customer rep. Your customer support is more than 5 stars!

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-08-29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
CTM tools that can be built and are part of the study. Sites like it a lot. I like the enormous options for data collections and tools to ensure data accuracy. We had one site testing your system and they literally love it. They like the simplicity.

Cons
Table tools. I wish this tool would be less strict. Forms library - consider extending the public forms builders can use and help feature; in general is very comprehensive, intuitive and visual which helps a lot, consider having a 'search' option with free text.

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Thanks so much for the review, Sharona! It's wonderful to hear you are satisfied with our customer support, as well as Clinical Studio's simplicity and its robust data collection tools. We appreciate your input regarding table tools and public forms in the forms library; these considerations have been brought to the attention of our development team. It's a pleasure working with Impleo Medical!

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Eric Kaye

Clinical Studio receives A+ from Acumen Healthcare

Reviewed 2017-01-09
Review Source: Capterra

Acumen Healthcare has used Clinic Studio to conduct all of our clinical trials for the past three years and couldn't be happier. Clinical Studio contains the same feature set as other clinical trial software offerings but at a fraction of the cost. Having the ability to easily build studies that are regulatory compliant at reasonable rates, has allowed our business to thrive. Clinical Studio can be used for all types and sizes of clinical trials. Acumen has conducted studies for small start-up companies all the way up to large multi-billion dollar companies. The responsiveness and client first mentality of their support and development teams has confirmed that using Clinical Studio was the right decision. If you are in the business of conducting clinical studies, then Acumen would highly recommend Clinical Studio for your next clinical trial.

Response from Crucial Life Sciences Data Solutions


Dear Eric, Thanks for such a great review! You've hit the nail on the head by recognizing Clinical Studio as the most cost-effective and feature rich EDC software on the market. Like you, we want to see companies of all sizes be able to conduct even more important research than ever before. We have enjoyed helping Acumen Healthcare conduct studies over the past three years and look forward to more in the future. - Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Lucy Spencer

Great for studies needing fast start-up and a simple but effective EDC option

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-08-18
Review Source: Capterra

We are using Clinical Studio for 3 small studies and have found set-up and maintenance to be extremely easy. The system is a great solution for studies needing fast start up and a cost effective solution. The Clinical Studio team has been very responsive and helpful throughout each build.

Pros
Set-up of the CRFs is very simple, as is basic edit checking. The help-guides are comprehensive and easy to follow. Customer service is outstanding!

Cons
There are minor quirks that require workarounds, but these are made transparent and are not "show-stoppers."

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Thanks for your review, Lucy! We improve the system day by day based completely on what our users need it to do, so we'd love to hear what functions/features Clinical Studio may come up short on based on your 3/5 rating in that category. Send us an email at info@clsds.com. Your feedback in that area will be greatly appreciated. :)

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Mary Ovick

Average Functionality for the Price

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-05-28
Review Source: Capterra

They are eager to improve the customer's experience and are implementing improvements based on our feedback. Thanks, Clinical Studio!

Pros
Ease of use Includes a CRF payment manager Allows for randomization

Cons
Lack payment report (list format only which can be used to build your report) Lacks robust build-your-own query capability Subject follow-up tool could be more robust by including the visit windows (windows available only via the subject manager)

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Hi Mary, thank you for setting aside some time to leave a review for Clinical Studio. We're pleased to see you listed ease of use as a pro of the system and enjoy utilizing the payment manager and the randomization feature. We've passed along your comments in the cons section to our development team and look forward to enhancing the system to even better fit your needs.

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Ravi Sockalingam

Very good so far. Am very grateful to my rep who has been extremely supportive from day one.

Used monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-07-21
Review Source: Capterra

Great customer support from my rep. Easy to use program that meets FDA requirements for clinical trials

Pros
Once one learns how to use it, it becomes quickly apparent that it is logical in design and layout, and very felxible. It can be easily customised to suit one's needs. The fact it is readily amenable to statistical analyses such as SPSS or SAS is another huge plus.

Cons
Hard to remeber the what each tabs represent. Like most other EDC program there is quite a steep learning curve initially.

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Dear Ravi,
Thank you for the excellent review; we're thrilled to hear Clinical Studio has been a configurable and logical platform for Oticon Medical to gather FDA compliant data. Because customer service is so important to us, it's also great to know that you're satisfied with the support you receive from us. Your input about the learning curve associated with the tabs is helpful as we continue to enhance the system's user interface. We look forward to helping you conduct more research in the future!
- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Anthony Arvanites

Great learning experience in a different discipline of informatics. Support A+. Give support staff a Raise.

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-03-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The software is highly configurable with options for web and mobile devices. I like the upload image, sound, barcode scanning, and tracking features which allow one to implement a wide range of sites, including home study.

Cons
Form design. It is often difficult to use. Making _ipad _iphone forms from the original. There must be a better way to do this. Lack of Android support. I do not want to pay for iPads for sites.

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Thank you for taking the time to review Clinical Studio, Anthony! We're glad Fulcrum Therapeutics is able to take advantage of the platform's configurability and finds its various features useful, including for remote sites. Your input regarding form design and Android support has been passed along to our development team and is helpful as we continue to enhance the system to better suit user needs.

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Susan Hale

Great product!

Reviewed 2017-01-21
Review Source: Capterra

I used Clinical Studio for several projects, including global phase III trials. We found the team at CLSDS superb to work with and very willing to make adjustments or add features we needed. Clinical Studio offers all the regular features of bigger more costly EDC systems but also offers iOS apps, randomization, coding, email alerts, great reporting functions, and more. This is by far the best product available for the price.

Response from Crucial Life Sciences Data Solutions


Thanks for the review, Susan. We're glad you found our robust feature set suitable for use with your projects and that you identified Clinical Studio as the best product available for the price! We pride ourselves on our responsiveness to client needs and our ability to provide customer service that is second-to-none.
- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool

Susan Pforr

I enjoy advancing my education and use of Clinical Studio.

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-03-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I like the support and training I receive. I am a beginner and have been made to feel like I have been building databases for longer than I have.

Response from Crucial Data Solutions


Hello Susan,

We appreciate the great review! We look forward to continuing to help you expand your database building expertise. Working with MicroOptx is always a delight.

- Your Partners in Research, The Clinical Studio Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Clinical Studio

SaaS clinical data collection tool