CircleCI Reviews

CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

4.63/5 (49 reviews)

Steve Persch

Best UX for SaaS CI

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-08-05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
When I first starting using CircleCI with version 1 I loved the simplicity. Every code would execute the commands in a relatively simple yml file. Version 2 is far more powerful and flexible. It took me a while to get used to but I still find Circle's ease of use to make it my choice over others.

Cons
Version 2 has a lot of complexity that can make it hard to get started with. Their Orbs concept is bringing back some simplicity.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Dennis Le

CircleCI is a blessing

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-08-03
Review Source: Capterra

CircleCI is crucial to what we're doing and it's powerful. I've enjoyed using it for awhile now.

Pros
It's powerful, it's got lots of features, and the customization is limitless. CircleCI improves the developer experience many times over. It's also fairly reliable, and makes handling a large project simpler.

Cons
It can go down sometimes, debugging can be a bit hard and cryptic. Support is also fairly lackluster.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Ben McClure

An amazing product that revolutionized our testing and deployment processes!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-08-28
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
CircleCI does everything we want in a CI product, and it works in the way that we want to use it (which is visiting the CircleCI user interface as little as possible). It offers very solid integrations with other services (such as Slack and GitHub) and it works well for managing an entire team's projects without getting too cluttered.

Cons
It can be slow. Especially if you don't have a lot of parallelism, but even sometimes if you do, it can take a couple of minutes just to deploy minor changes sometimes. This isn't much of a problem in reality, it just means you might need a different approach to your deployment process (one that doesn't require you to sit and wait for CircleCI to run before you move on).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Michael Robinson

Continuously improving over the years

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-07-11
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Responsive support, much faster builds now I can easily parallelize things with Workflows 2.0. Very easily integrated with GitHub and other code-quality services. Able to build in macOS if necessary.

Cons
I would like the ability to specify resources available to a machine, fine to charge more for this feature. I would like to use Workflows 2.0 with macOS builds. It would also be great to be able to specify which docker images are cached on all executors, fine to charge more for this feature.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Alvaro Insignares

automated test do it right

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-06-25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
- Is integrated with several tools like slack - Configure a project is simple and quick, and most of the cases once you have done this, you will not need to log in into the platform. You will have build going in a couple of hours. - I have it running in several project and works really well.

Cons
- Pricing could be a little bit better I guess or have a better free plan for beginners, I don't think any cons of using CircleCI actually.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Yasmany Cubela Medina

CI/CD with few lines

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-03-14
Review Source: Capterra

Integration with IOs allow us to build and test the mobile apps and automatize our whole CI/CD pipeline

Pros
Sine the release of circleci v2.0 using containers as the main advantage using circle has become much simpler and powerfull. Their integration with IOs its a powerup in front of other CI/CD platforms

Cons
The ui really needs to cleanup a bit, make it simpler. Also their need to provide more integrations with third party tools

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Darrell "Jeremy" Freeman

Great build/deploy tool

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-12-05
Review Source: Capterra

It's quick, easy to set up, and I like it. There are some usability fixes that are needed around user maangement, but otherwise, it's great! And works with all of the languages I use out of the box, and with no configuration.

Pros
CircleCI was great and easy to set up. It allows me to see what's going on with all of my builds quickly and in real time.

Cons
The user management is not very good. I have 5 contributors to a repo, and I can only add two of them as users. I can't even add users that aren't a contributor to the repo. My boss, my QA people, and my PMs can't see anything that's happening in the platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Noah Smith

I love CI about as much as Circle does

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-10-30
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
The simplicity of configuration is unparalleled. We use CI on new projects day one. The ease of use, and setup, is definitely what keeps us coming back.

Cons
Lack of tools for multi project repos. We would love to keep our front and back-end code together in one repo while splitting the CI for them. So, it'd be great if we could run two builds separately based on the same repo.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Ryan Marr

CircleCi has changed how we develop

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-02-06
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I've been really happy with the performance from circleci. Even their free plan has been great.

Pros
Has helped up to totally streamline our development and testing workflow. Each service has it's own pipeline. The management interface and docker integration have made the setup and monitoring process super simple.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Travis Haby

Easy to use and powerful

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-11-19
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Super easy configuration and initial setup. Powerful features like running steps of build/testing process in parallel. CircleCI is our teams core safety net for catching bugs and deploying safely, often.

Cons
Not a lot to dislike. Sometimes the interface changes and buttons that you used to expect to be there (like the one for rebuild with out cache) disappear. Hopefully there will be fewer of these unexpected changes as 2.0 becomes more mature.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Piyush Jha

One of the best CI tools available

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-07-18
Review Source: Capterra

Full customization and scripting abilities. Using tools like bash scripts, SSH, and Node, running almost anything upon committing some code to GitHub becomes possible. Integration with all of our favorite services. GitHub and Slack in particular are crucial to our business and CircleCI's integration is seamless and full-featured.

Pros
Easy to configure via a YAML file Sends email notifications without the use of external services Not only runs our tests, but also triggers our deployments

Cons
Proactive communication about updates and breaking changes Questions to account rep can sometimes take too long (for us -- > 1 day) to respond

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Filip Tepper

Powerful CI / CD platform

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-02-22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Great UI, easy to setup, easy to manage. All integrations "just work", we use Slack notifications, webhooks for triggering build, and even those sweet browser notifications when we need to make sure that the build is successful. Impressive Docker support.

Cons
Circle 2.0 offers improved customizability, added more features, but for small and simple projects it's not as easy to setup anymore.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

vikash saini

My favourite tool for continuous integration :)

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-05-22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It is easy to setup. It can do very fast parallel testing. I find UI of it clear and easy to use. it provide integration of many app like GitHub. it supports 8 languages and 16 databases and it also supports Headless browser.

Cons
it Does not cache docker images. Docker is way outdated on the VM provided. Other than that i don't find any problem with it. I think it is best

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Anonymous

Circle CI trusted by FB

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Circle CI is being trusted by FB for React, and Fastlane. So if it works for them I think that is a great testament to it.

Cons
Doesn't allow as many languages and environments out of the box as Travis CI does.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Tung Fam

Great tool but lack tutorials

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-10-27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
As any Continuous Integration tool it does what it should do. Builds and runs. Hard to say what's the most because haven't used other CI tools but CircleCI does what's expected and there was no thoughts about changing to other tools. So I would recommend using it.

Cons
The tutorials are not yet clear. They don't lead from start to workable CI.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Harmandeep Singh

CircleCI for build/deployment

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-04-25
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It helps me to analyze all build quickly in real time. It is pretty simple to configure, setup and use. It has a pretty good integration with various remote repositories and it can run tests and give you results.

Cons
The learning curve is steep for some developers. It has two versions of the software, which sometimes makes it difficult to manage.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Martin Steele

CircleCI is one of the best CI

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-04-07
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Each time CircleCI prepares your assembly for work, automatically compiles, automatically tests it. The excellent user interface, you always see only the necessary information. We started with the free version and now when our project started to generate profits we are going to buy the full version.

Cons
It would be nice to be able to support the assembly matrix as in Travis. We need this to compare the old and new build of our service.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Anonymous

Ease of use and fast

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-11-03
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Realy fast, and requires almost none configuration to get going, I didn't know much about it at the start, but then o learned a lot very fast.

Cons
People do not get its importance at first, it's a real pain to make them understand why should them to spend time on this sort of thing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Anonymous

A CI/CD saas for the future

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-11-24
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Fast and resilient, especially when the release of version 2.0, we are able to benefit from docker layers caching..our build time improved by 70%.

Cons
sometimes it goes crazy especially in service discoveries since we are using docker compose to build and orchestrate ci env.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Remco van den Heuvel

try building it manually

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-11-09
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
automated testing, building and deploying really helped or project in reaching maximum velocity for the scrum teams

Cons
What I least like about Circle CI is the slow learning curve for some of the programmers so that they are able to make a build and deploy script themselves

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Anonymous

Introduced Circle CI 2.0 (Beta)

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-09-21
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
- Workflows is great tool for enabling parallel tasks - deep customization for cache controls - easily introduced deploy workflows

Cons
- config file tends to get verbose and too long ( I want to have some ways to separate concerns among some jobs)

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Anonymous

Best CI I've ever used

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-06-28
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
-Docker support is great when using container based builds -Competitive pricing and free tier -Snappy / Responsive UI

Cons
-2.0 is missing features in 1.0 -Poor slack notification support -yml format is strange. More complex commands can be very ugly

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Andrew Koroluk

If you haven't tried it, you need to

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-08-31
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
generous free plans for open source projects easy to set up plenty of features plenty of customization runs quick

Cons
Additional containers are a bit pricey. There are other services offering similar products at much lower prices.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Anonymous

Good UI and easy to use build system

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-08-01
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Compared to some other build systems such as Jenkins, CircleCI has a much better, more modern UI. It's easy to do the most common tasks, such as check on a failed build, or restart a build.

Cons
Some setup tasks involved in creating a build or modifying its configuration could be easier, but this was never a hindrance to me using the app.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery

Jamie Hewland

Powerful CI service with well-designed features

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-01-28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Very fast time to start on builds and you can pay for powerful machines to get your builds done faster. Clever use of containers. Shareable configuration snippets using Orbs.

Cons
Some parts of web UI don't seem to attempt to hide/reduce complexity and instead seem to try to impress you with all the builds you have running.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


CircleCI

Continuous Integration and Delivery