This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

CircleCI Reviews

Reviews summary

Overall rating

4.5

76

5

4

3

2

1

43

31

2

0

0

97%
positive reviews
97%
would recommend this app
How would you rate CircleCI?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pros

The great configurational freedom to the user makes it suitable for any and all kinds of applications. The step by step view provided is very helpful UI to track the whole process.

MA

Mehak A.

It provides many useful features, and I can use most of them with a free plan. Customer service is also excellent.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Excellent customer service support and ease of use. There is also a constant update on the product based on feedback which is not common with most products.
AvatarImg

Anuoluwapo O.

Cons

Writing the code in YAML is required which you have to learn and get familiarity to start working with this tool. Documentation is documented very badly.

CB

Chirag B.

We are still fighting to get docker-compose to support cache but we know how hard is to enable caching on docker layers.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

If you need to build on MacOS, you'll need to pay a high price and get limited build time.

JS

Julio S.

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


76 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Pricey, but a competitor in the continuous integration space.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The UI and integration is easy and very straight forward. Were able to get builds going in a couple hours.

Cons

When picking a CI to use for our business we tried a lot of the big names and CircleCi was great except for the price point for how fast the builds were. Alternatives like Strider gave CircleCi a bad taste.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy-to-use UI and features for configuring the CI

Reviewed 2 months ago

We deploy in the form of a circle. Since it was already in place when I began working here, I can't speak to how things were before, but I can say that it makes things much simpler for newcomers to the organization.

Pros

Excellent customer service, and now even faster builds Workflows 2.0 makes it simple for me to parallelize tasks. Simple integration with code-quality services like GitHub. If necessary, it can be built on macOS.

Cons

Nothing of significance to point out. It's a little messy with reduced resolutions if we go to a project and filter it by Branch Name. On a mobile device or a browser tab, for example. Except for that, everything else is fine.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

FIrst time using a CI tool, and CircleCI delivers!

Reviewed a year ago

CircleCI brings a lot of security to our code deployment workflow: running unit and integration tests, and code analysis such as linters, it's a godsent.

Pros

This is my first experience using a CI software tool, and it's AMAZING. Tools that automate the workflow of code deployment gives a lot of

Cons

Not too much of a problem, but there's somewhat of a learning curve to set up your environment. Took me a few days to educate myself in the specifics, such as caching, jobs, workers etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Another Continuous Integration Application

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easy to work with and I recommend you try one CI application. Even if its just for running code test automatically, or even it may make your developer start writing tests for their code.

Pros

Fully integrated with docker and because everything is moving to containers (or should be for scalability) this is huge for us. Tests can run automatically after pushing commits help identify problems before our clients would find them. The earlier you find a bug the cheaper its costs you in the end.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Circle CI is the most comprehensive CI/CD tool I have used

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am very excited to use Circle CI because of how quick the build process is compared to other CI/CD tools like travis

Pros

Circle CI offers so much control over how to test, build and deploy code. Workflows make it easy to automate CI/CD jobs in workflows organized in clearly defined steps that trigger concurrently or depend one job to trigger before another can be executed. I love how the interface offers a graphical user interface that clearly shows the different stages or steps the build process goes through and follow to whichever job is failing the build

Cons

The configuration can take time to set up with some config files growing up to about 200 lines of code. But fortunately circle ci offers a way to reduce repeating code while using aliases and executors

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A good CI, except if you target iOS

Reviewed 3 years ago

Have tried CircleCI a candidate for our CI system. Had to give up on it because of our iOS applications

Pros

CircleCI is a easy to use solution for building and deploying your projects. It support concurrency and has unlimited build time in most plans

Cons

If you need to build on MacOS, you'll need to pay a high price and get limited build time. This makes the solution less desirable than its competitors.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product to test and automate for teams

Reviewed 2 years ago

CircleCI helps organize our build pipeline and catch issues early that would cause problems in production.

Pros

CircleCI is great for doing pipelines and integrating commits from each member of our teams. Great error reporting helps identify errors right away.

Cons

Their mobile experience needs improvement. Not everything is available on their mobile app and a computer is required for some tasks.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very good CI/CD tools

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm on free plan of CircleCI and the software is very useful.

Pros

I use the free version and it is very good software. You can download CircleCI to your local machine by using docker and then run the test on local before committing your code.

Cons

Documentation needs a bit of work. So far so good, but needs more explanation about how to set it up on a certain framework

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Continuous integration on the cloud

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's an excellent unobtrusive CI that keeps developers writing software rather than waiting for tests to finish. It can quickly run through thousands of tests and send alerts once complete. The UI is great and easy to use.

Cons

The config is probably the worst of the cloud CI software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Continuous Integration done right

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Robust, easy to use, great documentation, great feature set even on a free plan with sizable 1,500 build minutes per month (quite a lot for smaller projects).

Cons

As you grow, cost rises quite rapidly as well, especially if you require multiple containers run in parallel.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A cross-platform CICD tool for everyone

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Multi-architecture builds, full Docker support, and streamlined declarative pipeline config made me feel right at home!

Cons

Could use a better comparative analysis marketing doc to explain differences from folks coming from Travis-CI to better understand the advantages.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Gets the tests done

Reviewed 2 years ago

I code for a number of repositories that are integrated with CircleCI to run several integration, schema and unit tests. I have never had to configure it, and I imagine that the work required to do so is non-negligible. However, after that, it's very easy to use and automate a very boring, yet very important part our processes.

Pros

- Integration with GitHub and Slack - Automation of several types of tests (schema validation, integration, unit tests, etc) - Easy to monitor the results of tests while they're still running

Cons

Perhaps due to the high volume of simultaneous users, sometimes it would be faster to run tests locally rather than on circleci

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Novice review

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Ease of use and the extensibility of having your tests ran upon pushing without having to configure the .yml file to find tests.

Cons

The biggest con of the software would have to be the initial documentation on how to set up. This can get kind of confusing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Build tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Using this one can post large amount of data and hides its personal data from unauthorized access. It is well accepted global tool and integrates well with existing cloud services. Docker and other services also integrates well.

Cons

Writing the code in YAML is required which you have to learn and get familiarity to start working with this tool. Documentation is documented very badly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Amazing CI

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It offers very solid integrations with other services (such as Slack and GitHub) and it works well for managing an entire team's projects without getting too cluttered. Minimal interaction with user interface to get things done

Cons

It would also be great to be able to specify which docker images are cached on all executors. it can take a couple of minutes just to deploy minor changes sometimes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good and solid product

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Support for OSX environment and Docker platform, very fast builds, advanced cache, up to date software. Web UI is not so bad, but i love the simplicity and configuration possibilities, that eg. Semaphore CI provides

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good ci integration tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

I used it for implement a simple project and see how it would work.

Pros

It does everything you would expect from a continuous integration tool and everything in the cloud, being even better.

Cons

I did not used the tool for much time for having any complaints, when i researched and used the tool i found it satisfactory.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

CircleCI is continuous integration done right.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love that this software is fast, very reliable and integrates perfectly with all the tools modern software developers use.

Cons

It can be a little slow for medium to big test suites, if you don't add enough parallelism (which comes at a price, of course).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CircleCI Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good so far. Its motivating to have a tool that brings the ease to continuous deployment.

Pros

CircleCI is very valuable component in delivering analytical work. It makes the whole process of deployment seamless. Its integration with other components is also very helpful.

Cons

CircleCI has no cons as such, it needs some good scripting and coding skills to work with it but for the features it provides it should not be an issue

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A very powerful CI service with good pricing options

Reviewed 3 years ago

Used CircleCI to build a Jekyll powered static site and deploy to Firebase Hosting. Had zero issues once I got it running. Very recommended.

Pros

Very reliable service with plenty of customisation options for your CI pipelines. Easy GitHub integration makes connecting repositories to pipelines a piece of cake.

Cons

The UI is nice but could have been a little simpler for CI noobs to get started quickly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great CI integration services

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The best feature that CircleCI offers is the low set-up integration with GitHub allowing me to start using it in a few minutes.

Cons

I don't think there is anything in particular that I dislike about CircleCI, maybe the price could be a bit better?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best solution to CI

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

CircleCI is easy to configure and supports integration with majority of tools and services. It have a very nice user interface and allow us to access our build so that it helps and saves time in debugging.

Cons

Although it saves time in many other thing but we have no control on how much cpu time and resources it will consume. It also lacks a lit bit in performance and is slow compare to others.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fast and flexible

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We've been on the free plan for a few months now and it's been great. Very flexible and customizable. Builds are much faster than my previous CI.

Cons

User interface is a bit overcomplicated IMO.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Fantastic build environment for linux based systems

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to set up, fast, pleasant UI and UX. Tight github integration is critical for teams that move fast.

Cons

No .NET support. By not having windows support there are projects that cannot leverage CircleCI and must move to an alternative.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

CircleCI review

Reviewed 2 years ago

A good product, easier initial pipeline setup would be good

Pros

A server less platform for managing CI which is great compared to Jenkins for example Lots of modules you can easily use Regular YAML spec

Cons

A bit cumbersome to begin creating a new pipeline compared to something like Github Actions