App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

CircleCI Logo

We build CI/CD so you can build the next big thing.

(5)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

CircleCI Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

90

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.39/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

gitlab
appy-pie

Pros and cons

Overall I love CircleCI UI, ease of deployment & it is feature rich. Availability & execution parameterization can be improved.
The great configurational freedom to the user makes it suitable for any and all kinds of applications. The step by step view provided is very helpful UI to track the whole process.
Robust, easy to use, great documentation, great feature set even on a free plan with sizable 1,500 build minutes per month (quite a lot for smaller projects).
Writing the code in YAML is required which you have to learn and get familiarity to start working with this tool. Documentation is documented very badly.
We are still fighting to get docker-compose to support cache but we know how hard is to enable caching on docker layers.
If you need to build on MacOS, you'll need to pay a high price and get limited build time.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


90 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jose F. G.

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is the option to increased productivity

Reviewed 4 years ago

CircleCI has always been focused on productivity and simplicity without setting aside functionality and to me it works very well.

Pros

CircleCI takes away the need to fiddle with infrastructure and lets teams focus strictly on CI and CD. It's enjoyable to use, and helps integrate with multiple technologies in order to keep everything efficiently connected.

Cons

I think the only con is that it can get quite expensive fast, and when you need parallelism for tests then cost can get high quickly.

DG
AvatarImg

Donovan G.

Printing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great, easy to use CI tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall it is great. It is fast, reliable, and easy to use. Just the tactics on how they handle customers are something that is lacking.

Pros

It is so simple to set up, run, manage and maintain. It gives really fast feedback and is so versatile. This should be the standard way of doing automated pipelines.

Cons

For some of the pretty common things, like iOS app builds the costs escalate very quickly. Also, their sales team is very aggressive in how they push for upgrades, to the point of removing key items being used in the pipelines to force upgrades.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Pricey, but a competitor in the continuous integration space.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The UI and integration is easy and very straight forward. Were able to get builds going in a couple hours.

Cons

When picking a CI to use for our business we tried a lot of the big names and CircleCi was great except for the price point for how fast the builds were. Alternatives like Strider gave CircleCi a bad taste.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Top 2 choice for CI/CD

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience is quite positive - it was easy to set up and configure, easy to get team buy-in, and easy to maintain as our codebase grew.

Pros

The Github integration made migrating our workflows to CircleCI quite seamless. We use the same integration for access control to ensure only certain team members can view/deploy.

Cons

Web UI feels cluttered, even after a redesign. No mobile app last I checked. This doesn't happen nearly as often anymore, but we used to experience random 'hangs' that were not explained by our own processes - canceling and restarting the job always did the trick though.

MQ
AvatarImg

Mark Q.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Some quirks but overall it's a product we rely on and use every day

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

CircleCI is highly configurable for many different types of workflows. We rely on CircleCI for continuous deployment. Our tests automatically run and deploy code to the correct environment depending on the branch it's pushed to. It's also generally reliable these days. Reliability was an issue for us a few years ago but those issues are mostly gone now.

Cons

Since CircleCI is highly configurable it can also be difficult to build out a custom flow that works the way you need it to. We spent more time than we wanted to getting our automated deployment system set up.

DL
AvatarImg

Dennis L.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CircleCI is a blessing

Reviewed 5 years ago

CircleCI is crucial to what we're doing and it's powerful. I've enjoyed using it for awhile now.

Pros

It's powerful, it's got lots of features, and the customization is limitless. CircleCI improves the developer experience many times over. It's also fairly reliable, and makes handling a large project simpler.

Cons

It can go down sometimes, debugging can be a bit hard and cryptic. Support is also fairly lackluster.

BM
AvatarImg

Ben M.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An amazing product that revolutionized our testing and deployment processes!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

CircleCI does everything we want in a CI product, and it works in the way that we want to use it (which is visiting the CircleCI user interface as little as possible). It offers very solid integrations with other services (such as Slack and GitHub) and it works well for managing an entire team's projects without getting too cluttered.

Cons

It can be slow. Especially if you don't have a lot of parallelism, but even sometimes if you do, it can take a couple of minutes just to deploy minor changes sometimes. This isn't much of a problem in reality, it just means you might need a different approach to your deployment process (one that doesn't require you to sit and wait for CircleCI to run before you move on).

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Circle CI trusted by FB

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Circle CI is being trusted by FB for React, and Fastlane. So if it works for them I think that is a great testament to it.

Cons

Doesn't allow as many languages and environments out of the box as Travis CI does.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ease of use and fast

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Realy fast, and requires almost none configuration to get going, I didn't know much about it at the start, but then o learned a lot very fast.

Cons

People do not get its importance at first, it's a real pain to make them understand why should them to spend time on this sort of thing.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A CI/CD saas for the future

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Fast and resilient, especially when the release of version 2.0, we are able to benefit from docker layers caching..our build time improved by 70%.

Cons

sometimes it goes crazy especially in service discoveries since we are using docker compose to build and orchestrate ci env.

OT
AvatarImg

Oystein T.

Events Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good product for our ci needs

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and mac build system. Docker integration

Cons

User system. Only github and sometimes that is a struggle

AB
AvatarImg

Andy B.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy continuous build and deployment system

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have automated unit testing, deployment and managing pipelines so no one has to do it manually.

Pros

Easy to manage pipelines and deployment to multiple servers and to manage versions from GitHub. Easy to restart pipelines or particular deployments.

Cons

New UI feels less intuitive than the old one, but does work well. Sometimes errors can be hard to track down, but think that may be our configuration / setup rather than CircleCI itself.

NC
AvatarImg

Noman Chowdhury M.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best automated tools for a developer

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Circle CI is the best Continuous integration platform that I have ever used. It is fast and reliable, and it allows me to set up different tests for projects and have them run in an automated manner. The interface is clean and intuitive, which has made it a breeze to get started with and learn the ropes with this tool!

Cons

It makes developer life so much easy. So it's 100% recommended . You will never regret of using it.

LS
AvatarImg

Luis S.

Marketing and Advertising, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Using CircleCI

Reviewed 5 years ago

It has been a good experience overall, very minor downtimes. It has really helped me and our team to perform continious integration for our projects.

Pros

It let's you automate continuos integration fairly easy by just using a YML file. You can setup many different stages and rules for these stages to have different development environments. It's fairly easy to learn and implement. It integrates very well with Github.

Cons

Have seen a few downtimes in the last couple of months.

KS
AvatarImg

Krista S.

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

CircleCI enables continuous integration

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like how easy it is to see failed tests and to re-run the test suite, if needed.

Cons

I don't have any problems using CircleCI -- sometimes the test suites take a long time to run, but I think that has more to do with how robust our test suite is than anything to do with CircleCI.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Introduced Circle CI 2.0 (Beta)

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

- Workflows is great tool for enabling parallel tasks - deep customization for cache controls - easily introduced deploy workflows

Cons

- config file tends to get verbose and too long ( I want to have some ways to separate concerns among some jobs)

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good UI and easy to use build system

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Compared to some other build systems such as Jenkins, CircleCI has a much better, more modern UI. It's easy to do the most common tasks, such as check on a failed build, or restart a build.

Cons

Some setup tasks involved in creating a build or modifying its configuration could be easier, but this was never a hindrance to me using the app.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Anuoluwapo O.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My experience using Circle CI

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Awesome UI/UX. Excellent customer service support and ease of use. There is also a constant update on the product based on feedback which is not common with most products.

Cons

The developer community of Circle CI is not so strong compared to some other product. The have taken feedback on this and are already improving it.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent Service. A tool that can not be present on your stack.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Fast, seamlessly, easy to implement. Well documented. Move from 1.0 to 2.0 was a piece of cake with a ton of improvements.

Cons

We are still fighting to get docker-compose to support cache but we know how hard is to enable caching on docker layers.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very Good

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

CircleCI is a very good tool that comes with a very nice UI. In addition it is pretty intuitive to use.

Cons

Maybe the free plan could be enhanced for young start-ups as they often try to cut costs everywhere.

KJ
AvatarImg

Kyle J.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Another Continuous Integration Application

Reviewed 6 years ago

Easy to work with and I recommend you try one CI application. Even if its just for running code test automatically, or even it may make your developer start writing tests for their code.

Pros

Fully integrated with docker and because everything is moving to containers (or should be for scalability) this is huge for us. Tests can run automatically after pushing commits help identify problems before our clients would find them. The earlier you find a bug the cheaper its costs you in the end.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JS
AvatarImg

Julio S.

Computer Games, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A good CI, except if you target iOS

Reviewed 5 years ago

Have tried CircleCI a candidate for our CI system. Had to give up on it because of our iOS applications

Pros

CircleCI is a easy to use solution for building and deploying your projects. It support concurrency and has unlimited build time in most plans

Cons

If you need to build on MacOS, you'll need to pay a high price and get limited build time. This makes the solution less desirable than its competitors.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Permana J.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very good CI/CD tools

Reviewed 5 years ago

I'm on free plan of CircleCI and the software is very useful.

Pros

I use the free version and it is very good software. You can download CircleCI to your local machine by using docker and then run the test on local before committing your code.

Cons

Documentation needs a bit of work. So far so good, but needs more explanation about how to set it up on a certain framework

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Continuous Integration done right

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Robust, easy to use, great documentation, great feature set even on a free plan with sizable 1,500 build minutes per month (quite a lot for smaller projects).

Cons

As you grow, cost rises quite rapidly as well, especially if you require multiple containers run in parallel.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nick P.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Novice review

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Ease of use and the extensibility of having your tests ran upon pushing without having to configure the .yml file to find tests.

Cons

The biggest con of the software would have to be the initial documentation on how to set up. This can get kind of confusing.