App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

OpenShift Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.4

/5

23
96%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.74/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

For a company that wants to modernize its legacy software, this is one of the best options.
OpenShift is great - the UI is awesome it works like a charm.
Openshift made it possible for us to setup a complete docker orchestration solution in an effortless way, including an amazing CI/CD pipeline which basically automates everything.
But the bugs that I had experienced from time to time were quite annoying and it was quite bad that there was no solution.
Monitoring is poor logs are not accesible directly for real time , only first n number of lines are visible.
It sometimes can be very difficult to debug and manage.

OpenShift users...

avatar
listing-logo
Kubermatic Kubernetes Platform-logo

Kubermatic Kubernetes Platform

How would you rate OpenShift?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


23 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Openshift: Best tool and software to manage the containers.

Reviewed a year ago

We are very happy with the Openshift and features that they offer to the container application deployment and security.

Pros

It's very easy to manage the container applications and issues related to them like container image scanning and the securities related to them before the production deployment.

Cons

Not much resource is available in the market who are expert in the container application security in market.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect Container Orchestrator

Reviewed 2 years ago

It solved our use case of transitioning from monolith to microservices.

Pros

If you have microservices use case and have following questions like How to scale my services? How to monitor my services? How manage deployment? How to make services resilient to failures? Answer to all the above questions is Openshift. As it eases the pain of development and there is solution available to a known services deployment issue already. Integration of our existing services was smoothly done.

Cons

We didn't face any major issue while implementing or changing our deployment strategy for microservices. However as a developer I think there are many parts that one needs to understand to get going. But I don't think that as an issue. All tools have some learning curve and Openshift is no different.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Openshift - had to leave for Linode due to the forced and abrupt move from Openshift v2 to v3

Reviewed a year ago

It was an excellent product, Red Hat's management and treatment of users is the problem.

Pros

Openshift v2 was an excellent product that I couldn't fault at all, in fact I really really liked it. The problem came when Red Hat wanted everyone to move from v2 to v3 and gave very short notice and a very short timeline. Version 3 was completely different, based on containers.

Cons

As stated above, the real problem with Openshift is the way Red Hat forced everyone to move from v2 to v3 in a ridiculously short time. Documentation for migration was useless, I tried to migrate using it - it all failed. I could not trust Red Hat again after that experience, so I moved to Linode and have never looked back.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Application Development is fairly easy although you will need to read documentation

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

It's fairly easy to use when it's well set up by the administrators. Documentation is very complete. Creation and management of volumes and persistent volumes. Pod log is fairly useful for debugging.

Cons

Secrets management need more user-friendly editing. Large amount of pipelines in the same project makes it hardly manageable. Pod log randomly skips entries.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Starting a new era in software architecture

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, full of useful feature. It make easy and valuable migration to innovative achitecture based on containerized approach. You can use a community edition (Openshift Origin) or chose the RED HAT edition. Based on Kubernetes. Fully integrated with many other useful tool for monitoring and manager the full software cycle, until the deploy.

Cons

Documentation is still poor. Not so fast in receive support from community. Security aspect need to be better debeate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

openshift through the eyes of a machine learning engineer

Reviewed 10 months ago

In general, I have not used kubernetes through the user interface and it can be said that it provides a lot of ease of use. But the bugs that I had experienced from time to time were quite annoying and it was quite bad that there was no solution.

Pros

I've used gcp, eks and aks before. When I compared them by looking at them, it was very useful that I could load and edit yamls on a user interface of its own.

Cons

Since it uses old versions of kubernetes, you may encounter interesting bugs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

OpenShift Is A Good PaaS Platform

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

One of the best PaaS platforms that I've used. I've sent an Java application there and I had a best experience. It works with Java, Ruby and more. Eclipse extension works very well with OpenShift. But the free plan have some limitations. And the OpenShift is very good if you're learning about Java containers and how it works.

Cons

Free plan is not too good and it has some limitations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, recommended

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

It is a system that is easy to use, capable of changing capacity in case of need, or even automatically.

Cons

We are having problems with GPU sharing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

OpenShift - Best platform for developers

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have been using OpenShift for more than 2 years now. I have seen lot of improvements in Openshift and it's getting better and better. The most important thing is that it provides a lifetime free account which can be used as a hands on over OpenShift. Most important, you can attach your own domain to your application, even on free account. Openshift works using gears and cartridges. It has now lots of cartridges available and you can also create new custom cartridge.

Pros

1. Free lifetime account with 3 small gears. 2. You can add multiple cartridges in a single gear. 3. attach your own domain to your application, even on free account. 4. Support deploy on git push

Cons

1. You can sudo login to your gear, but you can always contact customer care they will handle such situation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Openshift_01

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

it is a good management platform run on kubernetes for containerized applications.

Cons

You must learn it from a expert devOps engineer or else it too hard learn.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Environment for deploying applications

Reviewed 2 years ago

Easy to deploy and manage the applications in Redhat Openshift container

Pros

I am using Redhat Openshift container since 1 1/2 years and i really loved since deploying and monitoring the application is very easy when compare to deploying the application in traditional app servers like Tomcat

Cons

Pricing for enterprise is bit costly when compare with Amazon web services (AWS).Also engaging Redhat support team to troubleshoot the issue is very difficult

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Openshift - move from legacy to cloud and kubernetis

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

ease of Deployment ease for monitoring the logs build management Config validation

Cons

Monitoring is poor logs are not accesible directly for real time , only first n number of lines are visible

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Boost my development speed

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Container orchestration platforms overall increased my development speed and agility. However Openshift can be considered as premium class of the sector of orchestration platform providers. Its unique developer experience and ease of use differentiates itself from other platforms.

Cons

Actually I liked it all about the software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great business solution for cloud deployments

Reviewed a year ago

Happy to use such an abstractive layer on top of Kubernetes and use cloud deployment strategies with less hassle.

Pros

It is great to have Kubernetes functionality with a professional support and frequent updates. Multitenancy at best.

Cons

It sometimes can be very difficult to debug and manage. Deployment changes can be tricky that you spent hours to resolve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for horizontal scaling

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Ease of deployment and management of Kubernetes cluster. Very comfortable service and route management.

Cons

Not having a gpu scheduling option for machine learning models.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

OpenShif opened Kubernetes to the masses

Reviewed 3 years ago

Openshift made it possible for us to setup a complete docker orchestration solution in an effortless way, including an amazing CI/CD pipeline which basically automates everything.

Pros

* Very simple to setup and configure * Friendly user interface * Great dashboards * Broad set of integrations * Large collection of guides and tutorials

Cons

* Monitoring could be improved * Troubleshooting can be tricky, as it's not always easy to find out exactly what's going wrong

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

It's fancy

Reviewed 3 years ago

OpenShift is great - the UI is awesome it works like a charm.

Pros

It's fancy, it's modern, it supports many languages it has automatic scaling, compatible with Kubernetes and easily migrates to other OS

Cons

Nothing really, I am curious why people prefer Kubernetes rather than Openshift. I found Openshift easier to work with.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Openshift review

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

easy to use, clear, well organized menus, scalable

Cons

I am not sure what is missing. I didnt encountered any problem

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Managed solution for container management

Reviewed 2 years ago

For a company that wants to modernize its legacy software, this is one of the best options.

Pros

It provides a complete suite for software containerization. At the same time, it is based on open-source Kubernetes.

Cons

I did not find it easy to integrate other third-party tools in the open shift. It is good as long as you stay in the toolset.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great to automate the provisioning and the management for your containers

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

it's very effective when be used with openstack for managing our infrastructure, and it provides great services like monitoring containers, and databases

Cons

It's not easy to deal with, and for some issues the vendor takes long time to get it resolved, so it will be great if the user interface enhanced with more help options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Openshift for deployment

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

We use openshift to deploy all our spring boot projects. It is very easy to use and we can directly check the logs there if any issue occurs. Or you can easily down and up a service with a single click of a button.

Cons

There is no con to using openshift. It works fine for us.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Java EE engine on cloud

Reviewed 3 years ago

I used OpenShift to test how easy could be to move a Java EE application to the cloud

Pros

I had to do little changes to code, just for data persistence to db, globally the migration was very easy

Cons

A little con was the need to learn about rhc tool

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review