Stackify Prefix Reviews

Stackify Prefix Reviews

Stackify Prefix

Powerful, free code profiler for .NET & Java web apps

4.83/5 (12 reviews)
6,589     17,689

John Hadzima

Verified Reviewer

Awesomeness

22/12/2016

By far one of the best and easiest to use profiling tools I've ever used. Most of the other tools are either to hard to setup or don't give me what I want. Prefix shows me exactly what I need to see on one screen, exceptions, SQL queries from EF, load times. It has become a tool I use daily for software development

Pros

Easy to setup Easy to use and understand Pretty much all the info I need to debug and tune my apps

Cons

None that I can think of

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Stackify Prefix

Get it now.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nikolas Rimington

Verified Reviewer

Slick, smooth and easy to use

21/12/2016

I've been using Stackify's Prefix offering to help identify bottlenecks in both new and legacy websites. The ability to see SQL queries along with the various web requests is an absolute god send. When you find that request that should be using a cache but is smashing the database, those problems get solved so easily with Stackify

Pros

It's ease of set up. Getting up and running is (almost) as simple as install and go.

Cons

Sometimes the Visual Studio integration can be tricky to get to work. I'm yet to try profiling custom code with it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Stackify Prefix

Get it, try it and push it. You'll immediately notice the benefits.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hugh Spiller

Verified Reviewer

Useful

20/12/2016

Really useful for tracking down performance issues in asp.net web applications. Lets you see interactions, database calls and so on in a nice simple timeline, and really go into detail where you need it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Mudziviri

Verified Reviewer

Awesome product bugs beware

20/12/2016

This is by far the most wonderful bug tracking and fixing tool I have ever used. I helped solve a lot of performance issue in my project and meet my deadlines

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Senior Software Engineer (Computer Software company, 201-500 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Awesome Tool

17/12/2016

Prefix is a great tool which has helped pick up issues before I knew there was issues! Its not intrusive and will sit quietly monitoring while I run everything locally, it also has a great UI and makes me look around 43% smarter when its on my second screen :).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Julien Mialon

Verified Reviewer

Best profile tool

16/12/2016

A must have tool to profile asp.net application. Be able to check how many SQL requests are made to database and check what are they is a real pros ! (Entity framework generate some mess sometime)

Pros

Profiling by requests SQL requests

Cons

Partial dotnetcore support

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Stackify Prefix

Really good product to simplify profiling

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott Wise

Verified Reviewer

Quick insights and easy setup

16/12/2016

Prefix allows us a quick view of how all of our web apis are behaving and if there any unexpected errors or performance issues we need to address. Using it in conjunction with ReTrace provides even deeper insights without slowing down our production code.

Pros

Easy to setup and use.

Cons

Getting detailed logging can sometimes take playing around with your config settings to get the ideal results.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Stackify Prefix

Its free, so really what do you have to lose. If you like what your developers gain from Prefix look at ReTrace for performance metrics of your web apis.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Yavuz Kiliccan

Verified Reviewer

Excellent Tool

16/12/2016

Excellent tool for finding bugs and bottlenecks in .NET web applications. You can easily find out what is slowing down your application and improve it.

Pros

Easy to use. Provides very detailed log.

Cons

Making it work after installation is a bit tricky.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Stackify Prefix

Very handy tool for web application developers.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Patrick McCarthy

Verified Reviewer

Easy to use and help me in identifying issue in our applications

16/12/2016

I have been using prefix for awhile now and issues it identifies are spot on. It has helped me so much in writing better code hy reducing how many calls to our database i was making and help me identify exactly why a few pages where taking so long to load. It is a great product and i am looking forward to seeing what stackify comes up with next.

Pros

Easy to use and clearly shows you exactly where any issue may be happening

Cons

When new updates cone out i have had to renstall the product instead of just an upgrade

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Stackify Prefix

Just give it a try for a day and you willbe hooked.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ben Barreth

Verified Reviewer

Extremely valuable free tool for .Net devs

15/12/2016

Within 60 seconds of using Prefix I discovered a nested loop that was performing over 100 DB calls that I was completely unaware of. This was after 3 different senior devs had already attempted to optimize the exact code in question for performance. I was instantly sold on the product.

Pros

Quick to discover problem areas in running code. Free. Quick to install. New features being added rapidly.

Cons

Sometimes it's a little confusing when the prefix icon appears in the system toolbar (on windows) if prefix is really running and taking up a lot of resources or if it's just in a sort-of idle mode.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Stackify Prefix

If you are doing absolutely any kind of performance troubleshooting (pretty much every .net dev, ever) you should check this out. There's no reason not to and huge upside. Takes 5 minutes to download and get running and you can stop banging your head against a wall immediately.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kevin Logan

Verified Reviewer

This is a great tool for MVC Development

15/12/2016

Stackify Prefix helped me find a hidden Null reference exception. I'm doing mostly JavaScript development at the moment, but will definitely have this running when I do my next Asp.Net MVC app.

Pros

shows exceptions, SQL generated by Entity Framework, load times and more

Cons

pops up a message a lot about Visual Studio needing to be restarted to work, but it works anyways (VS 2015 on Win 7)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more

16/12/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Read more