App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Kevel Logo

Write a review

Build your own ad server in weeks with APIs

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Kevel Pricing, Features, Reviews and Alternatives

Kevel FAQs

Q. What type of pricing plans does Kevel offer?

Kevel has the following pricing plans:
Pricing model: Subscription
Free Trial: Available

These products have better value for money


Q. Who are the typical users of Kevel?

Kevel has the following typical customers:
Large Enterprises, Mid Size Business, Small Business


Q. What languages does Kevel support?

Kevel supports the following languages:
English


Q. Does Kevel offer an API?

Yes, Kevel has an API available for use.


Q. What level of support does Kevel offer?

Kevel offers the following support options:
Email/Help Desk, Phone Support, Knowledge Base, Chat, 24/7 (Live rep), FAQs/Forum

Kevel product overview

What is Kevel?

Kevel is a cloud-based ad server development platform for engineers and product managers (PMs). The platform offers various Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to facilitate the design, development and deployment of all kinds of ad servers. It provides multiple JSON APIs such as a Management API, Decision API, and Reporting API.

Key benefits of using Kevel

• Kevel offers ad-engine-as-a-service that helps users design and deploy custom ad campaigns and provides pre-defined APIs that enable users to launch and optimize customizable ad servers, eliminating the need to develop from scratch.

• The solution includes an ad decision engine that enables users to manage ad targeting and customize ads based on multiple marketing metrics designed to meet the needs of end audiences, campaign goals, and revenue optimization.

• Kevel provides well-documented APIs with JSON objects to help create white label features that allow users to incorporate custom decision rules, bidding algorithms, campaign management features, budget tracking, and analytics.

• The platform offers reporting tools to help manage campaign performance and includes a JS library, real-time stats, and more.

• Kevel comprises a visual dashboard with a structured hierarchy to ease the design and development process along with pre-created ads to helps users run ads without any API key.

Typical customers

Freelancers
Small businesses
Mid size businesses
Large enterprises

Platforms supported

Web
Android
iPhone/iPad

Support options

Email/Help Desk
Phone Support
Knowledge Base
Chat
24/7 (Live rep)
FAQs/Forum

Training options

Live Online
In Person
Documentation

Not sure about Kevel? Compare it with a popular alternative

Kevel logo

Kevel

4.6
(49)
EXADS logo
4.8
(5)

Starting from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

Free plan
Free trial
Pricing range

Starting from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

Free plan
Free trial
Pricing range
Ease of use
Value for money
Customer support
Ease of use
Value for money
Customer support
Why am I seeing this?

Kevel pricing information

Value for money

4.3

/5

49

Starting from

ic-pricetag

No pricing info

Pricing options

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial
Pricing range

Value for money contenders

Kevel features

Functionality

4.2

/5

49

Total features

19

2 categories

Most valued features by users

API
Campaign Management
Reporting & Statistics
Campaign Analytics
Customizable Templates
Content Management
Performance Metrics
A/B Testing

Functionality contenders

Kevel users reviews

Overall Rating

4.6

/5

49

Positive reviews

96

%

Rating breakdown
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.42/10
Rating distribution

5

4

3

2

1

31

16

1

1

0

Pros
Kevel has helped us solve one of our greatest business challenges, we're very grateful for the tool and excited to continue to build on it.
This versatility is key in helping publishers create very unique ads that can help protect a user experience or provide a very high quality ad experience on publisher properties.
This has been extremely important to us as we are a small team and having additional resources available to troubleshoot and resolve matters has proved invaluable.
Cons
I have had multiple users complain about the reporting part they have access to not working very well or lacking features for reporting.
Discrepancies between UI 1.0 and 2.0 sometimes make work difficult. Various errors without explanations are difficult to understand and work around.
The object hierarchy and terminology can be complex and confusing. Figuring out how to map your own data model and use case to Adzerk's can take a little while and a bit of experimentation.

Overall rating contenders

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Joshua H.

Furniture, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Perfect for a marketplace looking to add an internal promotions feature

Reviewed 6 years ago

Adzerk provides an ad-engine-as-a-service, along with budget tracking and analytics and all the rest. It plugs in perfectly to permit marketplaces to create their own promotion and boost features without needing to build their own ad server. And you can track impressions and clicks and then generate reports for your own users through Adzerk as well. Since everything is accessible via the API, even the creation of new advertisers and ad programs, we were able to build our feature to be completely self-service for our users. Adzerk allowed us to quickly create a new revenue stream and immediately paid for itself.

Pros

Most ad engines are built to place blobs of HTML in iframes or similar constructs. They're fine for display ads around the internet, but useless if you're trying to create your own internal advertising and promotion system. Adzerk provides a well-documented, unopinionated API that is happy to return JSON objects instead of HTML, permitting you to easily make use of it internally to create your own white label feature. It fill exactly the gap that we needed and has plenty of additional functionality (more complex decision making rules, bidding models, etc.) for potential expansion and refinement down the road.

Cons

The object hierarchy and terminology can be complex and confusing. Figuring out how to map your own data model and use case to Adzerk's can take a little while and a bit of experimentation. They were quite responsive to our requests and questions during the setup and integration period, which helped us overcome this issue.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Full featured product with great customer support

Reviewed 5 years ago

My experience to date has been pleasurable. I know if there is anything that doesn't line up with my expectations, there is a great support team to help work through it. Response times via email were never more than a day, and if further discussion was necessary, it was easy to schedule a phone call (often including time to speak with lead engineers). At times there was a little extra heavy lifting. Whereas a feature may already exist with another platform, we had to define requirements and hope it can be completed. In most cases I would say this process was a mere speed bump in development. The time implications were offset by the ability to have a say in the resulting product, and potentially customize to our specific needs.

Pros

I liked most that the support was very personable and timely. Additionally, Adzerk were very open to new feature requests when certain functionality that we needed did not exist.

Cons

The product seemed to often live in the shadow of larger products (/product i.e. dfp/gam). Documentation and features may have lagged a bit behind ad servers with a larger user base, or engineering resources.

AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Intriguing idea for a software platform but doesn't deliver performance

Reviewed 6 years ago

Unfortunately we received minimum benefits although it was a great concept.

Pros

I like the technical approach to being able to place your own ads and manage them on your website. The interfaces set their business model apart in terms of independent setups and administration of ads.

Cons

Unfortunately it just doesn't deliver in terms of performance and uptime. We can't afford for it to not do this consistently.

Vendor response

We're sorry you didn't find the performance you were looking for. We have very few clients with performance/uptime issues, so would love to chat more about your particular use case and what type of performance you were ideally looking for. We are available to chat at marketing@adzerk.com. We hope in the future we can find another way to form a partnership.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rémi D.

Music, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy API-based integration, well built platform, great engineering support!

Reviewed 5 years ago

At TouchTunes, we run music promotions and ads on a network of over 65,000 digital jukeboxes in bars, restaurants and other social venues across North America and Europe. Patrons can also be the DJ and control these jukeboxes by installing the TouchTunes mobile app on their iOS and Android phones. Downloaded over 8 Million times to date, patrons can receive free credits to play the jukebox, notably...

Pros

Adzerk's APIs allowed us to do almost everything we needed. This made the migration from our previous ad platform super easy. The APIs are well documented, unlike any other competitors evaluated. The web Management UI is simple, responsive and gets the job done. Changes are reflected in near real time in ad serving. Same for reporting. From discussions with their engineers, their backend is built to scale and it shows, their ad serving APIs are incredibly fast.

Cons

It would be nice to have permission levels on the web Management UI. The Management UI has a Creative Template feature allowing you to create addition input fields for a creative. This is great, I wish they had more options to validate user input (dropdowns, min/max, regex matching perhaps, etc).

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Lance J.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Adzerk Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

We've worked with the Adzerk team from the beginning - I cannot believe it's been 10 years! I've known the reps from as far back as his days with The Lounge network. He leads a team of true professionals that are knowledgeable, attentive and puts out a great product that's always growing and adapting to the market.

Pros

Ease of use and unmatched customers service. The team is very responsive to any questions or concerns that we've had over the years. The product is solid.

Cons

I really don't have too much from a negative standpoint that I can think of. A limited client side UI would be helpful for some of our clients though.

Common Kevel comparisons

Kevel logo
AdButler logo
KevelvsAdButler

Related categories