App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

CleanMyMac X Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.8

/5

179
98%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.22/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

All features are very good and useful. That’s really best option and solution for Mac users.
The rich feature set and ease of use are a big plus for me. It gives me peace of mind knowing my Macs are protected and running smooth and efficiently every single day.
From keeping my computer running as it ages, to the excellent customer service I received the few times I have needed it, my experience could not be better.
The pop up reminders are annoying, but I should just turn them off.
Not sure if I should remove some of the files or not so I choose to leave them.
However, for most users, I predict will leave all notifications on or turn off completely.

CleanMyMac X users...

MacKeeper-logocaret
listing-logo

MacKeeper

Norton AntiVirus-logocaret
listing-logo

Norton AntiVirus

AVG Antivirus Business Edition-logocaret
listing-logo

AVG Antivirus Business Edition

Daylite for Mac-logocaret
listing-logo

Daylite for Mac

How would you rate CleanMyMac X?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


179 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel E.

Senior Pastor

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

The Best Whole-System Cleaner on the Market for Mac

Reviewed 7 months ago

Transcript

Daniel E.: Hi, my name's Daniel. I'm a senior pastor. I give CleanMyMac X five out of five. And for more...

Overall Rating

Flawless and Easy protection of your Mac!

Reviewed 10 months ago

Transcript

Mike: Hi, my name is Mike. I am a training manager and I am reviewing CleanMyMac X, which I get a five...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The One App You Need

Reviewed a year ago

It’s fast, comprehensive, and rock-solid.

Pros

It included every tool I could think of (updates, HD checks, log cleaning, etc)

Cons

It doesn’t offer all of the updates for the apps on my Mac. I have to update those manually.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best in Cladd

Reviewed a year ago

Fantastic

Pros

I love how the software completely diagnoses problems in my computer and frees up space for for future use

Cons

Sometimes it can be a little slow. Sometimes it crashes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool to keep my MAC working well

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

My MAC is old - 2012 - so it needs a bit more TLC to keep tiperforming. Clean My MAc makes that pretty effortless for me.

Cons

I would love to have a more detailed file explorer to help remove large files / free up space. Finding duplicates, reorganising files when space becomes critical is a real pain in the neck!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best optimizing tool for my mac.

Reviewed a year ago

We manage big files everyday and we need to optimize our disk space and memory regularly. That's the feature we love and use the most about CleanMyMac. For us, it's simply the best tool out there.

Pros

I love how easy it is to use CleanMyMac. It has a clean and intuitive user interface and great optimizing tools that just work. I don't need to do any manual/repetitive tasks to optimize memory, clean my disk or have a precise view of what's taking space in my computer. I just make a couple clicks and it's all done. Also, I don't need additional apps for different tasks. CleanMyMac does it all!

Cons

Nothing not to like. I had only one issue with my antivirus, but it was solved in a couple minutes just checking CleanMyMac's website and updating it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Useful tool

Reviewed a year ago

Been using for years on all my Mac computers. Would not use anything else.

Pros

Keeps my system running at peak efficiency while protecting it from malicious software.

Cons

Nothing. Nothing. Just keeps getting better.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

sudo powers without the sudo hassle.

Reviewed a year ago

Any computer over time will collect temp files, downloads, installers and a host of other system junk just from day to day use. It is nice to be able to clean all this up without having to go through directories looking for extra files or opening up a terminal.

Pros

I work as a System Administrator on Windows and Linux machines. I use CleanMyMacX on my M1 Mac at home. The last thing that I want to do after patching systems and remediating vulnerabilities all day is to have to do the same thing on my personal computer. I use my home system for my creative projects which I really enjoy. I love that I can click a button and it will go through and clean up junk for me without me having to type sudo a million times to remove files etc. I love that when I use it to uninstall a program that it removes correctly and completely.

Cons

I honestly don't have anything negative to say about this software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best password organizer

Reviewed a year ago

Used for years as the best and easiest product out there

Pros

Browser integration is clean and available as an extension on the three I use

Cons

Doesn’t always load a login page but goes to a home page

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The best software to keep your mac clean and fast

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Excellent app, it offers a series of tools that allow you to clean up unnecessary files, uninstall apps and scan for malware.

Cons

Maybe the price could be a bit lower, but otherwise it's great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best in class and has been for many years

Reviewed a year ago

Superb customer support amd when features are added they are always relevant - I love the menu bar feature for checkin my internet speed - saves me the hassle of having to use a separate app or online address

Pros

Consistent ongoing improbement to the product and it is always compatible with the latest Mac OS, which I keep up to date

Cons

I really cannot think of any - but a defrag feature might be nice for traditional HDs

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The cleanest of interfaces, and most powerful tool to keep you safe

Reviewed a year ago

Never an issue despite running it for over 3 years. It helps keep my Macs running smoothly and efficiently.

Pros

The graphical interface screams ease of use, but for a very seriously professional product. It reminds me regularly to run my scans, and the product is constantly being upgraded with improvements, not just new features.

Cons

Nothing. It works great and does what it promises with no tech experience required.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent Product (Benchmarking for Peers)

Reviewed a year ago

Exceptional.

Pros

While shopping, I neither found another product as comprehensive, nor with the same clean UI. CMM not only loads your bases, but also drives the process home.

Cons

It would be great if the memory maps and other features enabled reporting. It would be great to see such a detailed breakdown of how I use my memory in a clearly defined chart.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Peace of mind!

Reviewed a year ago

Love it!

Pros

Knowing that my Mac are all safe and the ease of using the software is a bonus!

Cons

Sometimes it over protects and prompts unnecessary warnings!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solid product - good value for the money

Reviewed a year ago

My computer runs better and safer with this software

Pros

Ease of use and the way it prompts.me to use it.

Cons

No real issues. It does the job I hired it to do.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Value formoney system tool.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

CleanMyMac X does for me what others don't - intuitively keeps my machine running smoothly, without bloat or performance hits. Easy to us, easy to implement, indispensable to my workflow.

Cons

I would like to see duplicate finder built in - but Gemini is recommended and as easy to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Does what it says on the tin!

Reviewed a year ago

I use CleanMyMac for my personal computer systems, it gives me confidence in the system integrity, and the ability to fine-tune settings. I like to tinker, so having backup support from CleanMyMac in case something goes wrong is excellent.

Pros

CleanMyMac is an essential part of my personal computer maintenance and management armoury. It's easy to use, intuitive and has loads of features that make my life easier.

Cons

I have not had any issues with CleanMyMac, the CPU overhead is minimal, and the features far outweigh any negatives.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CleanMyMac X Very Useful!

Reviewed a year ago

Easy to use, clean interface, gives peace of mind... overall, a very good experience

Pros

CleanMyMac X is simple to use, it reminds me to use it, and basically takes just one click to run. If you want to dive deeper, there are a range of options, including identifying what is taking up space on your machine.

Cons

I can't really think of anything negative about this software. It is perhaps a little more expensive than some competing products, but I trust it and think it is worth it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Takes care of all my Apple computers

Reviewed a year ago

Fully recommended by me.

Pros

This program is a fast and thorough assessment of my diverse computer functions that deletes unneeded files and programs saving tons of storage that I wouldn’t have recognized or discovered on my own. CleanMyMac is updated promptly recognizing all the many Apple iOS updates without missing a beat. Also alerts about security vulnerabilities. Wouldn‘t ever want to do without it.

Cons

Haven’t found any issues to be dissatisfied.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Assurance

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Ease of use. I can reach it off the top of window to open.

Cons

Nothing. it’s there as I need it. Convenience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Incredibly useful app

Reviewed a year ago

Basically very good

Pros

Ease of operation and efficiency at cleaning, uninstalling and updating my Mac

Cons

Expensive and some facilities not especially intuitive to use (for non-IT people)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Years of Good Service

Reviewed a year ago

I have had this product since it first started and have recommended it to so may I can't count.

Pros

This product covers almost every area of concern with regards to fine tuning and removal of wasted space text debris and malware.

Cons

I feel this product is not well known enough by Mac users in particular.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Unubstrusive, clean, easy to use

Reviewed a year ago

I just let it run, it keeps me informed of maintenance, updates, cleaning requiered. I don’t even know it is there!

Pros

A nice little piece of software that runs in the background upon which I’ve learned to relay for more than 5 years. Trustworthy, especially for uninstalling and deleting items. CleanmyMac has never ONCE let me down by deleting things I did not want deleted, Completely safe!

Cons

Ability to manage offloaded (cloud based) files not reliable or not obvious.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Keeping My Mac Purring

Reviewed a year ago

Using this software means I can trust my system is running smoothly.

Pros

I like the junk cleanup which helps me keep my hard drive from bogging down as well as the memory management features.

Cons

Sometimes the scans can take a while. Other than that I have no complaints.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best I've used!

Reviewed a year ago

Cleaning up my drive, making my MAC run as the day I bought it and protecting my MAC

Pros

It has saved my MAC, from battery life to running the wrong files or websites. Truly amazing

Cons

So far it has preformed to all my exception

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Almost everything I need

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The most important feature of CleanMyMac X is that it take all the guess work our of optimizing my Mac and getting rid of software clutter either during normal operation, software update or software removal.

Cons

The ideal add on for me would be a duplicate, review and removal function. I realize that there is Space Lens, Large and Old Files but I need to keep these files for reference and legal purposes. What I need is a function that allows me to get rid of drafts and duplicates and the ability to rearrange files to account for the passage of time and changing circumstances.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I am image heavy in my daily work, and CleanMyMac reminds me that I need to do a scan to ease the burden on my computer. On a busy day it will clean 4 GB off my hard drive. The program is also easy on the eyes and fun to watch work. This program is a vital part of my daily/weekly routine.

Cons

There are really no cons that I have found. It easily does what it says it will do in keeping my computer running smoothly.