App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

PrePass Logo

The largest weigh station bypass program in North America

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

PrePass Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

50

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.04/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

keeptruckin
express-tms
truckingoffice

Pros and cons

Overall our drivers have really enjoyed having the Prepass unit in the truck and the freedom it allows. Our office staff has a much better way of reviewing the drivers use of toll roads.
Very helpful, again, especially with the reporting/analysis to help with cost containment and customer rates.
User friendly, very great layout and look for the website.
The website updates slowly and is cumbersome to maneuver. Toll violation notifications are a hassle and often times unwarranted for various reasons.
Hard to navigate, webiste isn't always the easiest to use, hard to find what it is that i am looking for.
The Prepass Elite pass does not have a feature to indicate to the driver that the toll pass was transmitted correctly. There is also no way for a driver to be alerted of low battery power.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


50 reviews

Recommended

MB
AvatarImg

Mark B.

Food Production, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Prepass

Reviewed 2 years ago

No issues or complaints

Pros

the scale bypass system and the number of states that accepted it for tolls.

Cons

It's done everything we were told it would do.

sz
AvatarImg

soraya z.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

wonderful addition to our company

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall our drivers have really enjoyed having the Prepass unit in the truck and the freedom it allows. Our office staff has a much better way of reviewing the drivers use of toll roads. As well the Prepass Elite unit has proven to make a difference in our hiring process.

Pros

Our drivers are able to get approval (green light) to move past scale houses in most cases. This saves critical time in the drivers day. The toll pass feature insures drivers are able to quickly move through toll roads without waiting in lines to pay a toll or having to maintain paper records of each toll road usage. All records are easily accessible in the Prepass portal for driver managers to review.

Cons

The Prepass Elite pass does not have a feature to indicate to the driver that the toll pass was transmitted correctly. There is also no way for a driver to be alerted of low battery power. They are left to pull into scale houses if they do not receive an indication (green-red light) on the Prepass. Then they must assume the batteries are low and change the batteries while waiting in a line at the scale house.

TR
AvatarImg

Tyler R.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Lacking

Reviewed 2 years ago

Only weigh bypass using their transponders.

Pros

We don't use their software except to setup/manage the transponders. We have tried to use their mobile app but there is zero support from the support team at PrePass.

Cons

We don't use their software except to setup/manage the transponders. We have tried to use their mobile app but there is zero support from the support team at PrePass. Their website is dated, and some functions require dealing with support on editing equipment, and their support team takes a very long time to respond.

AB
AvatarImg

ARLEEN B.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best weight by pass

Reviewed 5 months ago

Definitely will recommend it if you are in the trucking business is a secure way of bypassing weight stations

Pros

It’s very easy to install and use. By passing the weight stations saves you time

Cons

There is nothing I didn’t like about prepass

WR
AvatarImg

Wendy R.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Prepass saves TIME!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I like everything about prepass except calling support. I don't have time to sit on hold for 15-30 minutes waiting for a simple fix.

Pros

It saves us time with POE and Toll roads.

Cons

the Permit part could be improved by letting me update instead of having to send permits in.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

David S.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Bad to no customer service

Reviewed 2 years ago

Terrible company that keeps changing even after the account is closed. I should have read more reviews before I choose this service. Never again. I rather drive through every scale house around than use your products

Pros

Product is ok but service is non-existent

Cons

I called and closed my account in February of 2022. I mailed the transponder back to them at my expense. Called to follow up and all was good and transponder had been received. Now it's August 2022 and they have turned over to collections for a past bill.

TW
AvatarImg

Tiffany W.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PrePass review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The setup for adding a new prepass device to a truck is easy to navigate. The availability of reports and telematics is very helpful for our fleet.

Cons

Having a better way to find needed reports. There's a lot on the site, but sometimes difficult to navigate.

RA
AvatarImg

Robert A.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Seahorse Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have 0 issues with PrePass.

Pros

It saves our fleet time and money. It gives us a focal point and a ceiling when it comes to safety scores. As minor, as it may be, it is a good recruiting tool.

Cons

Not really applicable in our case. It rarely goes down.

CJ
AvatarImg

Caren J.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jstllc

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Our drivers feel at ease knowing that they have a prepass device in their trucks.

Cons

I don't know if I am utilizing what we have.

JK
AvatarImg

Jaspreet K.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Prepass is very simple and easy to use.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Yes very easy to use and simple to operate

Cons

Nothing everything looks great. No other issues

Vendor response

Thank you for the great review! We are glad to hear you are happy with our PrePass services.

BA
AvatarImg

Betty A.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

PrePass Reveiw

Reviewed 2 years ago

The only benefit is that drivers don't have to be reimbursed for tolls.

Pros

It's a plus to be able to see the toll activity for our account.

Cons

The website updates slowly and is cumbersome to maneuver. Toll violation notifications are a hassle and often times unwarranted for various reasons. As a user it, it seems as if we are a lone island.

Vendor response

Thank you for bringing your concern to our attention. We appreciate you taking the time and leaving a review.

MB
AvatarImg

Malissa B.

Logistics and Supply Chain, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Recommend for Driver

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

As a Dispatcher, drivers like having this in their trucks as it makes them more aware of scale houses and saves them time while on the road.

Cons

I would say adding in truck information or knowing when there is information missing or expired.

TB
AvatarImg

Tiffany B.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Ok

Reviewed 2 years ago

50/50. Some days are great and some days are not so great.

Pros

The software is pretty easy to use once you learn navigation.

Cons

The slowest of the site at time. And needing pictures for most trucks.

AR
AvatarImg

Alex R.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great time saver!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Gas saver, time saving, all around good product.

Pros

Prepass allows us to move quicker and stop wasting time at the scales.

Cons

Great time saver for our ELD drivers confident when going to their routes

LW
AvatarImg

Logan W.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Prepass review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Capabilities it is able to do many things- I have not even tapped into all of the abilities.

Cons

Cost it is a litle expensive but that is the way everything is ging right now.

SH
AvatarImg

Shannon H.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Not Bad

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use. Keep track of all the prepass in each truck

Cons

Does always get picked up at tolls, have to send in toll violations in takes a long time to get reloved

MG
AvatarImg

Manjit G.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Renewal Issue

Reviewed 2 years ago

time saving

Pros

process is easy, but every year after renewal having issue with Washington & Oregon

Cons

for state of Washington & Oregon , need to be worked one

ST
AvatarImg

Shana T.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Save Time - Save Money

Reviewed a year ago

We have saved so much time and money using PrePass. Adding, Deleting and updating inventory is easy as pie.

Pros

I love that PrePass offers convenient weigh station bypass for our fleet at a rate that more than makes up for the time we would lose having to pull into every weigh station.

Cons

Whenever a transponder is activated, it takes 1-2 business days to become effective. I don't understand why that would be considering activating is an instantaneous activity and is all done off of an electronic signal - nevertheless, it is still more cost effective even if our drivers have to pull into the weigh stations the first day or two after getting a new transponder. I think it would also be nice if there didn't have to be a seperate transaction for installing a new PrePass when it comes as a part of the BestPass.

ER
AvatarImg

Ethan R.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ethan Rice PrePAss Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Allows us to bypass scales, saving our drivers time and exposure to the DOT.

Cons

Integrating and keeping track of all prepasses can be frustrating.

LM
AvatarImg

Logan M.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great customer service

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Every time I call it takes no time to get connected with someone who is eager to help.

Cons

The website is difficult to navigate for a new user.

RP
AvatarImg

Ronnie P.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Pre-Pass

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I can look and see what is happening with any of my trucks using Pre-Pass.

Cons

Too many steps to see what is happening with each vehicle.

HR
AvatarImg

Helen R.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Good Service

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good

Pros

Very easy to use. Customer service is very helpful, and knowledgeable.

Cons

I can't think of anything. I really like this software.

GK
AvatarImg

Gerald K.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Transponders

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Simple and efficient for Drivers utilization.

Cons

Updating information on the server is very slow and time consuming.

DP
AvatarImg

Doina P.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Experience with Prepass

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Overall the website is easy to use and did not have any misunderstanding

Cons

The website run very slow and is time consuming.

DC
AvatarImg

Diana C.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Prepass saves you money!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

That it integrates with our software. It's easy for our Drivers to use.

Cons

Not that i know of, the cost isn't a factor.