App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Adobe Audition Logo

Adobe Audition

Audio editing software for accelerating production workflows

see alternatives

(4)

Adobe Audition Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

169

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.44/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

It helps me a lot in the process of editing the songs I use in some videos, the integration with Vst's is fantastic and very stable. I recommend this audio editor without a doubt.
Overall its great, even if you are a beginer or proseffional you can get amazing results. I think its the best of its kind for the price you pay and what you get for it.
Overall, this is a great multimedia tool to provide you excellent studio quality sound. And above all, it is worth every dime that you spend to achieve the projects that pros only can.
In my experience adobe audition is useless and should only be used if you don't have access to another audio daw.
There is no MIDI implementation in Adobe Audition.
The only downside to Audition is the learning curve for interacting with its many many tools.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


169 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Zach Y.

VP Ops

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Powerful Audio Editing for Pros!!

Reviewed 4 months ago

Transcript

Zach Y.: Hi, my name is Zach. I'm a creative director at my company. I give Adobe Audition five out of...

GG
AvatarImg

Garry G.

Principal

Consumer Services, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating

Audition - stellar audio editing tool

Reviewed 5 months ago

Transcript

Garry: Hi, my name's Garry. I'm the VP of international support. I give Adobe Audition five stars out...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Hothifa H.

Civil Engineering, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Me experience with Adobe Audition

Reviewed 9 months ago

I do not think that there are negative things in this program or missing something important because it is actually a professional program for everyone who wants to produce a wonderful work

Pros

What I liked and really impressed me the most is the artificial intelligence that distinguishes this program in many features such as mixing sounds, mastering and sound recording, which brings you the work in the way you want and that you wish without requiring a lot of training to use it

Cons

I do not think that there are negative things in this program or missing something important because it is actually a professional program for everyone who wants to produce a wonderful work

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Adobe Audition Leads the Field

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I have been using Adobe Audition (and its predecessor incarnation, Cool Edit Pro) for decades at this point. I have used it to record half a dozen indie rock albums, make music mixes for radio programs, and record multiple podcast episodes. Adobe Audition can transform anyone's computer into a powerful, fully featured recording, mixing, and mastering studio. It is easy to use and has all of the features industry professionals expect: waveform editing, waveform manipulation, multitrack recording and mixing, mastering filters, and more. All of these come wrapped in a fairly easy to learn, easy to use palletized Adobe format. What's more, Audition's synergies with other software (both within the Adobe family and through plugins) means that users are never working in a "walled garden."

Cons

Over my two decades using multiple versions of Adobe Audition, I have found little that I don't like. In the early days, I encountered some stability and performance issues with the software, but those don't seem to affect the most recent versions (from the past decade). I could nitpick and wish that some functionality present in plugins was in-built into the software, but that is obviated by the fact that plugins are easy to find and integrate. Probably my biggest gripe with the current iteration of Adobe Audition is its shift to a subscription, software-as-service model. This expense can put this powerful software out of reach for many aspiring recording engineers.

ss
AvatarImg

sipho s.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The observation

Reviewed a year ago

Adobe Tryout is strong, cross-stage sound altering programming that is in its very own class. For instance, Tryout has specific devices for tidying up or reestablishing sound and offers accuracy, nondestructive altering for corporate and business video, just as webcasts.

Pros

Solid sound reclamation, sound-expulsion, and clamor decrease instruments. Great sound system waveform proofreader. Helpful representation devices. Sticks to film and transmission guidelines for sound.

Cons

Needs MIDI help. Just accessible through a costly month to month membership.

RL
AvatarImg

Richard L.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Audio Audition

Reviewed 3 months ago

Every week sermons are recorded on my laptop while live broadcasting at church. It allows me to carefully edit and monitor and save to broadcast on the air the next week's pre-recorded programs.

Pros

Capability to listen and edit plus mix music tracts for backgrounds in sermons.

Cons

After using Audacity it was more complex

SL
AvatarImg

Samuel L.

Professional Training & Coaching, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple, intuitive and does what its supposed to.

Reviewed 2 years ago

17 years using this for audio production for radio and podcasts. I have thought it in college and students love it once they get used to it. It is simply a genius piece of software and you can transform audio that is of low quality with a few tweaks here and there.

Pros

Whether you are looking for a simple audio edit or a complex multitrack session Adobe Audition has it all. I've been using this since it was called Cool Edit Pro in 2004 and it only gets better with age. Once you get part the overwhelming feature rich UX you are going to love this software.

Cons

It does have quite an extensive amount of features and therefore it can have quite a steep learning curve. Probably not the best software for the none techie who isn't intimidated by loads of buttons and options. Apart from this, I love Audition.

MM
AvatarImg

Maurice M B.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Adobe passed this Audition

Reviewed 6 months ago

Someone told me that she couldn't belive that I have the audacity to speak very highly about this program. She felt it was too hard to use. To me, I probably don't have too much audacity though, because I switched from the open source sound editor, Audacity, to this work of art. If you're a user of the Adobe Creative Cloud package, this is a simple, natural choice. You can take control of every aspect...

Pros

There are several methods for editing audio. This is the best I've experienced for noise reduction!

Cons

Ok I want to be fair, I've never done a tutorial on the use of Audition. I'm a kind of open-and-use kinda guy. But it took me much longer to figure some stuff out, than other packages. Do a tutorial, read a manual or a blog post, and get up and running much faster than I did.

RD
AvatarImg

Roan D.

Media Production, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Adobe is the master of mastering

Reviewed 6 months ago

I'll be loyal to the end because Adobe audition has been loyal to me from the beginning.

Pros

The compression results after conversions are done has no known competitors that currently challenge Adobe audition for the top honor.

Cons

Sometimes it lags a bit and eats a lot of your processor speeds and performance drops if project is a bit too big.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Thomas M.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

My favourite audio editor

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It has a clean and attractive interface. It has powerful audio features and effects, and is compatible with most popular plug-ins.

Cons

Adobe software is pretty expensive. And it does crash from time to time.

NT
AvatarImg

Nathan T.

Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Best if you have Adobe softwares

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

It's easy to use, you can edit a file separately

Cons

It's difficult to mix many songs with the multipist fonctionnality

ET
AvatarImg

Elvis T.

Arts and Crafts, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great software.

Reviewed 22 days ago

Great overall output is what I get because that is what I need to compete in the market, and it gives me that.

Pros

It makes goog sound great especially when it comes to vocals, features a convenient to access, the interface is simple even for beginners.

Cons

So far I love the software, no critic at this point I'm still new to it.

RH
AvatarImg

Ryan H.

Publishing, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Not What it Used to Be

Reviewed 2 years ago

If I had one word to describe today's Adobe Audition, it would be "Disappointing." Thanks for stripping it down and increasing my workload and overhead.

Pros

The integration of Adobe products has improved workflow. I like moving seamlessly in and out of Premiere Pro.

Cons

Adobe's habit of dropping key features like dynamic EQ or pitch correction has left us with a bare bones UI that requires too many expensive plug-ins to make it useful.

CA
AvatarImg

Conor A.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Great Solution for Audio Technicians and Video Editors Alike...

Reviewed a year ago

Using Adobe Audtion has been a welcome experience when it comes to editing videos and managing audio for such videos - moving over from other software solutions, I love how 'un-clunky' Audition is. Full intergration for Adobe libraries make seamless editing when switch between software.

Pros

I love that the software, as with most of Adobe's solutions are extremely intuitive and simple to use. Being able to sync audio along to video tracks makes for super smooth editing, especially when editing testimonials & interviews.

Cons

Coming from an video editing standpoint, some keyboard shortcuts were originally against what I intuitively knew from NLE video solutions, but this is totally personal preference and it is great that this can be completely customised.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nuno P.

Animation, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It's the program I use for audio editing and recording.

Reviewed 2 months ago

It's a good program for complex and simple audio editing, being easily incorporated with other Adobe programs.

Pros

I use it mainly because of it's integration with the other Adobe apps, Premiere Pro and After Effects. It's easy to create tracks and record audio in a multi-track composition. It's good for complex and simple projects.

Cons

It's price is a Cons. Audacity it's also a great product and it's free. I don't use it in super complex project so I don't know which is beast, but I know both are good, while one it's paid and the other it's free.

CM
AvatarImg

Curry M.

Marketing and Advertising, 501-1,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great option for those looking to learn more.

Reviewed 2 years ago

As a Videographer who needs to learn to use sound editing as a tool, but doesn't have the education of a Sound Engineer, this is a fantastic software only limited by what you know. I've heard many say that Logic is a much better option, or even Pro Tools, but it's hard to argue with Audition's functionality when accessible through the Creative Cloud. I would typically much rather try to resolve any audio issues or projects within Premiere Pro, but there are certain limitations and details missing that are an absolute need, that Audition does have. Give it a shot and you won't be disappointed.

Pros

You can pretty much do anything sound related. Recording options, tons of compressions and EQ templates and effects to get you started which are endlessly customizable. Far beyond my ability is isolating frequencies or removing them, but I have seen it done. The creativity also knows no bounds, as through Audition I was able to recreate the sound effect of a phone conversation. It's very visually appealing as well, great use of color and the interface is overwhelming, yet it exudes professionalism.

Cons

As is the issue with all Adobe software, there is a steep learning curve. Half the battle is knowing the tools there are to apply, but the other half is knowing where they are in the program. It could more than likely be better laid out to in a more user-friendly manner so the overwhelming factor decreases. This is where other programs like Logic excel.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Greatest Audio Software Ever!

Reviewed 6 months ago

It's the audio editor for anyone who works with audio or videos.

Pros

It has everything an audio editor needs, from the beginner to the maestro! So many effects to make your sound truly professional. Audio repair tools such as noise reduction are top-notch when compared to other software like Audacity or Ocenaudio. I also like the effect rack! It reduces my work time by about 50%. Finally being able to integrate it with various plug-ins like Fabfilter or Izotope or with video editing apps like Premier Pro, is simply what makes it stand out!

Cons

It can be hard to find the effect you're looking for sometimes. Can be quite hard to navigate too.

DI
AvatarImg

Davide I.

Internet, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The reference for audio editiing

Reviewed 9 months ago

I can edit my radio show every time i need.

Pros

Really complete software for everyone who are looking for a small edit or big one.

Cons

It is hard to use effects if you are a beginner.

TR
AvatarImg

Tony R.

Entertainment, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Adobe Audition passes the Audition!!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Audition solves the problem of "time". Who doesn't want to save time?! Import my files, quickly work out my arrangements, cut and paste at will, add plug-ins seamlessly... what more could you ask for!?!?

Pros

I love the ability to import audio tracks from my DAW and then mix in Audition. The process is seamless and much easier than staying in my DAW. I also use Audition for theater productions. I load up audio tracks and set queues which I can then access just by pressing a number and hit play. It's a great way to have a complete theatrical soundtrack at your fingertips and then be able to play it live.

Cons

Literally nothing. There is just nothing to complain about with this software. I've had it forever and I'll use it forever. Make it cheaper? :)

GG
AvatarImg

Garry G.

Consumer Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Audition - stellar audio editing tool

Reviewed a year ago

Very positive. Audition has facilitated the clean up of a thousand thousand tracks. Be it removing amp noise from a headbangers Marshall stack to tightening up the timing of a snare - it works

Pros

The ease of use is the main draw. It simply works how you expect it to work.

Cons

Earlier versions of Audition integrated directly with my DAW. For reasons unknown to me that stopped at about the time of version 3 being released. To be fair, the DAW mfg may be the problem here.

MO
AvatarImg

Marouane O.

Music, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Adobe Audition Review

Reviewed 10 months ago

Adobe Audition has been my companion for so many years. I have probably mastered over 50 tracks using the software and my clients were absolutely blown away every single time.

Pros

I really like the mastering filters and the waveform displays and manipulation options. It's everything you could ask for if you're serious about creating quality music.

Cons

The program can be a little bit intimidating for first time users since it's so rich functionalities wise. It really takes a while to discover the things you can do with the software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Evelyn S.

Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Audition best option to edit audio

Reviewed 2 years ago

Is really great, I edit my podcast there, I made a short intro jingle for my videos and also edit voice over for video production

Pros

What I like the most about using Adobe Audition is its integration with Adobe Premiere, it makes it really easy to work together and link the audios on my videos.

Cons

At the beggining I had some trouble to understand the interface but after seeing some of the tutorials Adobe offers I improve my skills on it

GK
AvatarImg

Geoff K.

Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The solution to audio production stress

Reviewed 9 months ago

Audio production, mainly in advertisment jingles e.t.c

Pros

The features that I love most in Adobe Audition is the compressor, how it allows you to adjust to your best desire. I should also mention that you can also save presets for your work so that in the next project you find it easy to add your effects just in one click.

Cons

I haven't seen or met any problem with the software ever since I started using adobe audition and am not quite sure of what has to be added.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Esther T.

Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Audio simplified with Adobe

Reviewed a year ago

I have loved most of the features,i enjoy using Adobe audition and easy to train the interns with because their features are not complicated.

Pros

I like it mostly that one can merge different audios however they want. The fact that files can still be exported and imported to this app,edited and played timelessly.

Cons

It's the best tool for editing audio but not everybody can afford especially the individual users .A bit expensive .

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Christopher M.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Functional Podcast Editing and Mixing Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Adobe Audition is an easy and professional audio production application that I will continue to use for my student podcast assignments.

Pros

As someone who teaches writing and communication at the college-level, I use Adobe Audition as the my main software for student podcast assignments. My university provides students access to Adobe software, and it works well on both Mac and PC platforms. Students have been using Audition each semester to produce their own podcast episodes about their research topics, and many have praised the ease of the software even though they may have had no experience with audio recording or production before.

Cons

The input and output selections for separate tracks is not as intuitive as they could be. Each audio track has to be assigned a specific input and output when it could easily be defaulted to main input/output on the device running the software. Finally, the application saves metadata files separate from the actual media included in the project, which can make exporting or sharing a project before final mixdown slightly difficult.

GH
AvatarImg

Gisselle H.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

"Get the best sound with Audition"

Reviewed 4 months ago

Audition is a very versatile software as it has powerful tools for professional sound production and I highly recommend it because it is easy to use and offers advanced mixing, editing and sound effects features.

Pros

With Adobe Audition CC, you can record multi-track sessions, edit audio files, create music, mix audio tracks, create and edit soundtracks, and more. Audition helps you easily remove unwanted audio elements, as well as fix dialog and production audio. It also lets you work with the industry's leading formats.

Cons

It is expensive and you must practice to master its use.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Thilina D.

Insurance, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Audio Processing Made Easy with Audition

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has a variety of options and features that has been enabled for a user to use to maximize their potential without being overwhelmed.

Pros

It supports almost all audio types that are available and very easy to use once you get hand of it.

Cons

Audio hardware mapping is sometimes erroneous with the ASIO panel. I had to manually set up audio devices quite a few time because of it.