App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

On-Screen Takeoff Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

157

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.45/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The Customer Tech help is absolutely outstanding. I am so pleased with every interaction I have had with your company.
We like most that it is pretty user-friendly and easy to train on. The Customer Support has been amazing every time we've called.
The ease of use for this software is one of the important features that it has. You do not need to have all the technical knowledge regarding estimating for using this.
This product suffers from the same thing that plagues most other takeoff software. The loading times to open a project with a lot of items taken off are high.
Sometimes the databases can crash, losing hours of work. Another feature I wish it had was preconstructed conditions so you wouldn't have to build them.
I HATE having to rename pages one at a time that are combined; your competition has this feature that does it automatically (and its much cheaper)-you guys should have had this a long time ago.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


157 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jeffrey E.

CEO

Construction, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Be Here Now

Reviewed 7 months ago

Transcript

Jeffrey E.: My name's Jeff. I'm a senior estimator. I give On-Screen Takeoff a five out of five, qualified....

JR
AvatarImg

Jay R.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Estimating with OST

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, my experience with OST has been great. We are able to get through take-offs quickly.

Pros

What I like most about OST is how easily one can load plans and keep track of all jobs.

Cons

What I like least about OST is that you can't modify a take-off until you remove the attachments.

CG
AvatarImg

Chase G.

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

On Center's On-Screen Takeoff software has equipped our PM team with the appropriate tools needed.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

On Center's On-Screen take off is built to be easily set up in a team environment. Giving the tools to effectively execute a take off to qualify a bid, they also provide learning resources online.

Cons

On Center's On-Screen take off is capable of a lot, however the one set back we have seen in our office is that when exchanging keys (which are needed to be able to save changes and can only be used by one device at a time) we realized that On-Screen disables any use when remotely accessing your device. This makes it very difficult as an IT Professional when trying to remotely correct software/user issues.

CS
AvatarImg

Chris S.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Can't work with out it.

Reviewed 4 years ago

seeing is believing.

Pros

Simple and intuitive. quick and accurate pricing in QB.

Cons

Need the be able to order material through quick (send PO) and track inventory. Quick books integration for job costing. Hot link within a hotlink. scale function in 2nd window.

AM
AvatarImg

ANGELA M.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Data overload

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use this product because it's the product of choice within my company, however, I prefer to print the blank take off form and fill it in manually because there is just so much data on the program.

Pros

This is the software of choice by our Project Managers & Estimators it is very thorough and holds a lot of data. It gives the bottom line as well as a detailed breakdown of costs.

Cons

I feel like there is data overload with this program. It has the options to input so much data it's almost overkill. It becomes a bit overwhelming when looking through all the info and the "extra" info takes longer to perform the take off on a project.

MN
AvatarImg

Mike N.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

you need this ..

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good Multiple colors are incredible

Pros

layer and conditions features are very useful

Cons

can take a while to upload large set of drawings and it should automatically name the sheets by a pre determined title or number - but not a major woop

GL
AvatarImg

Gabrielle L.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Our full office functions on OST and we enjoy it thoroughly!

Reviewed 6 years ago

easy take offs

Pros

We like most that it is pretty user-friendly and easy to train on. The Customer Support has been amazing every time we've called.

Cons

Conversions can at times be slow and renaming pages is very difficult compared to other products we have used.

DC
AvatarImg

Don C.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

On Screen Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use On Screen every day performing concrete estimating. On Screen allows me to move swiftly through my take offs saving valuable time.

Pros

That you can dump directly into a spreadsheet

Cons

needs to be a little easier to simply write words or notes on the drawings.

CI
AvatarImg

Craig I.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Takeoff Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have used it off and on for 14 years and still recommend it

Pros

Speed, accuracy, adaptability, and real time integration with Quick Bid

Cons

Somewhat dated user interface. Oasis does not integrate with Quick Bid in real time

TR
AvatarImg

Tim R.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Horrible customer service

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have used both Quick bid and Ost for about 4 years now and the company i work for has used it a bit longer. The person who trained me was a very early user of the product. Compared to a scale and a spread sheet this product is awesome. However as we started growing as a company and getting more users product became glitchy. at that time we where told to move to a sql database (They do not support...

Pros

Takeoff program works very well, lots of different options to show differences in conditions. Quick bid works well sometimes. and you can customize the naming conventions, link items, and do multi condition takeoff. As i mentioned if it wasn't for the poor support and the horrible recommendation to switch to sql that they do not support i would probably be writing a completely different review.

Cons

Customer service they will answer phone and call you back. I think it's so they can tell you that they cant help or support you.

mr
AvatarImg

mike r.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

estimator

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

compatibility, ease of use, great tools for detailed takeoffs

Cons

scrolling issues, condition properties window highlights style first in lieu of name.

NO
AvatarImg

Neil O.

Construction,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Estimating Tool

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The product provides a legend for multiple quantity take-offs which allows the user to estimate the job fully. This is also great during construction to provide adequate materials onsite.

Cons

There is nothing that I do not like about this product as the features provide you exactly what you need during the estimating phase. Color coding can mimic other materials but it's understandable that you can only provide so many configurations.

JA
AvatarImg

John A.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product that drives excellent productivity

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease of use and flexibility customizing conditions for different building materials

Cons

Not compatible working through Citrix Receiver

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Onscreen Takeoff for estimating

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have used Onscreen in the past for doing Heavy Civil construction takeoffs, linear footages, areas, and counts. Its easy to organize various groups. Changing line styles and colors makes the organization process easier as well. Overall it is a great tool to use for estimating. Many functions are 1 push button to start and change, which saves time throughout the process.

Pros

The best part of this software is the user friendly features for what it is designed for. Doing various takeoffs.

Cons

The process for importing and exporting files can be a bit tedious in comparison to other takeoff programs.

MS
AvatarImg

Maria S.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easiest for take-offs!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I liked the ability to organize and derive quantities in different ways. One line item can yield several quantities in different units of measurement. You can also organize information by level, segment... You can also store your custom line items in a library for future use.

Cons

The program works best pulling from files saved on your C drive, but I would prefer to team to work from a centralized location, not from each individual's C drive on their computer.

TS
AvatarImg

Timothy S. K.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

OST - Commercial Level Estimating

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The ease, accuracy and time saving elements come to mind first.

Cons

For my company and level of use, its a bit pricey.

AB
AvatarImg

Akshata B.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One stop shop.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Easy to learn and use. Everything in one software. Worth the money. I would recommend this product to any organization who work on a lot of high end estimates.

Cons

No cons but they could try doing new features like adding color to areas to differentiate between them.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

mario p.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Works well Easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago

Allows drawing takeoffs to be completed very quickly.

Pros

Captures take off data which is easily inserted into excel for you to use in a standard spreadsheet.

Cons

It is not truly backwards compatible. Newer takeoff data will not work in an older version of the software.

MM
AvatarImg

Matthew M.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

On Screen Take off has taken bidding to a whole new level!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Keep up the great work! I enjoy seeing the added features in the updates and you guys cease to amaze me!

Pros

The software is easy to use and learn and offers almost all the functions I need to complete a takeoff. The time and money saved by using this program can be clearly seen and makes my job fun!

Cons

I really don't have many negative things to say about the software, all of my issues have been address via the support staff!

AM
AvatarImg

Aditya M.

Civil Engineering, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for Construction Contractors!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have used OST for residential and commercial construction projects. It has been a great tool for general estimating. However, whenever I had projects which are very specialized, this software did not help much. for example mechanical/electrical station construction. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for something to start in estimating and costing.

Pros

The ease of use for this software is one of the important features that it has. You do not need to have all the technical knowledge regarding estimating for using this. It has been great software for all kinds of estimates. I can manage my drawings, create multiple layers, and group the quantities within few clicks to get perfect quantities. It is very fast, does not require much of a space on hard drive and works perfectly!

Cons

This software does not support Building Information Modelling (BIM). You can only get the quantities from this software. It does not identify CAD files and does not have a smart algorithm to identify the elements. You have to click, drag and set everything up manually. It does not do automated quantity recognition.

JS
AvatarImg

Joseph S.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great quick software for doing takeoffs for bids.

Reviewed 5 years ago

It is a fast way to do square footage takeoffs. It is the fastest software and easiest to use for that application. It saves quite a bit of time.

Pros

On screen is very easy to use. It is a quick way to do takeoffs for any roadway, subdivision, or other projects that you need to get a square footage on. It an also do linear measurements and aid in counting objects that are to be done per each. This is our go to software when we need to do a quick square footage of a project.

Cons

This software is not any good at doing earthwork takeoffs. If you need to do any type of earthwork take off you will need two separate software applications. There is no real easy way to do arc or circle takeoffs. You have to click multiple times in the arc or circle and get as close to the line as possible.

EA
AvatarImg

Efrain A.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

On Screen Take Off Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very good

Pros

Very Easy to Use. It is the first take off tool that I ever used and have had no problem.

Cons

Some times no intuitive enough. It is the First Take Off tool I use so sometimes it was hard to find a common function.

MC
AvatarImg

Marshall C.

Construction,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have had over 15 years experience with this product

Reviewed 9 years ago
Pros

Within the program, I like the ability to use it the way I see the project. It is flexible to the old guard and the new age user. Once you have the understanding of how each quantity is captured, you can set up your styles and types to make sense of the number and what it is relative to.

Cons

How much it costs and the annual fee. It is a very good product, just expensive. If you set up Quick Bid to estimate when you are doing your take off, it becomes a slow process. When you enter all the components into the line items, any time you change them, the program completely recalculates the estimate. I had a $25 million estimate and had a few changes to add and delete. It took a long time to recalculate when I added and subtracted information.

DS
AvatarImg

Dan S.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

ability to create basic assemblies that I can modify as needed for individual projects. this is a big time saver.

Cons

We have had some glitches with uploading plans from our drop box. Other than this I have no complaints.

LT
AvatarImg

Lucy T.

Construction,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I have tried other Takeoff software, but this is the best for me. I like this product because it is user friendly and has several built in tools that others may not have. In addition, other software can be limited in functions or available tools. I also like that the customer service representatives are friendly and helpful.

Cons

The export function to excel gets stuck at times other than that its good. I would like an option to measure segments on a page to accurately scale a page. As it is, a scale has to be either selected or created which could be a hassle when the page does not have a scale in which case you just have to guess until you get the right measurement you're looking for.

AO
AvatarImg

Amber O.

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Reduces the amount of time required to do a take-off and ensures that our old hand-written take-offs are always available on the server to ensure proper project historic records when there is a turnover of staff.

Pros

Speeds up the process of doing a take off and allows anyone else to pickup where another user left off

Cons

Importing drawings can sometime be finicky but the customer service support team is great and quick to reply when you need help.