This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

TIBCO Spotfire

Data visualization and analytics software for any industry

see alternatives

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Great product when taken full advantage of. Really great getting networked data to populate.

John F.

Spotfire turned out to be a great investment to increate out analytical reporting capabilities, especially automatic to daily reports.

Greg A.

The software allows a multitude of visualization options and charting types. The built in integrations (with R for example) are incredibly powerful and save a lot of time.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

This was never intuitive for me, so I would just mess around with the axes until it looked like I wanted it to. Occasionally, this would become frustrating.

Rachel O.

Support from Vendor in the area of customer service is weak.

Jason B.

Joining data tables could be confusing if not properly paid attention to.

Olaoluwa A.

Overall rating

4.3

5

4

3

2

1

23

25

3

0

0

94%
positive reviews
98%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


51 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Future of Data Management

Reviewed 3 months ago

I m working in it for free years and I love it

Pros

This can be used across multiple data platform

Cons

Complicated administration takes time to understand infrastructure

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great visualization tool for large data sets!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is extremely customizable so we have been able to create efficient templates that fit many of our process development engineering workflows. It links well with other systems to aggregate the data, and then using the tools we have created, we are able to easily line by/color by/trellis by a number of different experimental parameters to understand complex studies and DOEs with ease. It is a huge step up from our old workflow of graphing using Excel.

Cons

It can be difficult to learn how to customize complex templates with our giant data sets, so we had to specialize a small team of admins to create templates and troubleshoot issues. However, as an end user, it is very straightforward.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spotfire for Life Science

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

ability to quickly identify outliers in the datasets

Cons

support documentation for external domain authentication is lacking for advanced infrastructure

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Higher Learning Curve But Great Software

Reviewed 6 months ago

It has a steeper learning curve than I'm used to in software, but once I got more comfortable, I was able to really enjoy it. There are tons of things I can do with with the data here that don't require editing the query. I'm able to create a variety charts, including pivot tables, and there are options to filter and un-filter things from my data table.

Pros

There are lots of different features available and lots of customizations you can make to your reports. I like that I can apply transformations to the data in there without having to modify my queries. I like how much I can do with my charts, and I really love the feature that highlights the rows of my data table that went into a particular part of my chart when I click on it.

Cons

It isn't as user friendly as what I'm used to (I'm used to Microsoft programs like Excel or Word, where everything is very straightforward). There was a longer learning period with this software before I was able to feel comfortable with it. The help guide here is kind of general. It doesn't have explicit instructions for everything, so I'm just experimenting a lot of the time to figure out how to do what I want to my report or chart. Also, it doesn't seem to have a feature that can automatically email you excel files. You have to log in and export the report yourself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Comprehensive Analytics Tool

Reviewed a year ago

Once I had some training on Spotfire, I never looked back and use it frequently when processing large amounts of data.

Pros

I love that Spotfire is able to process large file sizes extremely quickly, which means filtering millions of rows in seconds and making it easy to find and sort filter options. In addition, the visualizations in the tool are practically limitless and allow users to make incredibly complex but extremely useful and informative reports.

Cons

Spotfire is not easy to use and requires training from an experienced person to use. It is not nearly as user friendly as its competitors.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Spotfire is perhaps the best big data and data visualization software to work with R

Reviewed 3 years ago

I find that this software is the easiest to work with R, and the visualization/analytical capabilities make it generally worth the cost.

Pros

Spotfire has a nice user interface that is easy to figure out and set up automated tasks. Perhaps the biggest advantage of Spotfire over other data visualization tools is its connection with R and the ease in which one can connect R scripts with Spotfire visualizations. The beginning process of visualizing data and the suggested visualizations that Spotfire offers is nice, although it does require a few more clicks if you don't like the suggestions Spotfire suggests.

Cons

Spotfire is more expensive than other data visualization software, although I can see why. Spotfire has a host of additional graphical capabilities and analytical capabilities that I think justify the extra cost. It took me a little while to figure out how to set up the analytical models, but once set up, things run smoothly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Tibco Spotfire Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very nice to use Business Intelligence tool, have user friendly interface and the basic functionality is easy to self-study. At a low cost and not so customized Dashboarding requirements Tibco Spotfire is very efficient.

Pros

* User friendly interface and ease of access. * Good design and functionality for graphs. * Low cost. * Ability to embed Python, HTML, and JavaScript. * Plenty of data source options.

Cons

* Hard to customize some visualization objects. * Few default functionality for computations especially on cross tables * Sometimes the text editor is auto changing the code layout once saved.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Spotfire is good dashboarding tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

It enable us to deliver useful and competitive dashboards.

Pros

can use javascript for integrating charts not existing on spotfire. best export tool to pdf and powerpoint. far away better than other tool.

Cons

bad text editor for javascript. iF the javascript errors, you need to restart the whole IDE. small community support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Analytics Tool for Visualization Reports

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and create visual reports, more exciting design and layout for analysis.

Cons

Need more manuals training for the advance features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Data Analytics and Data Manipulation

Reviewed 2 years ago

Helps to generate value for the business and report out the data.

Pros

Graphs and charts available helps to analyze the data. Integration with Python also helps to analyze and manipulate the data as per the requirement. Documentation is very detailed. User community very supportive.

Cons

Integration with R is also required for statistical analysis and prediction using the data.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best Reporting Tool Around - HANDS DOWN!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall TIBCO has saved a lot of time and money by allowing our company to make quicker and more informative business decisions based on the depth of the data we are able to display. Additionally, the ability to import data from a broad spectrum of inputs makes this software a "must-have" for any organization that is serious about its reporting capabilities.

Pros

Spotfire is the gold standard when it comes to analyzing and presenting your data in a meaningful way. There are so many robust options and metrics that are at your disposal and once you master the tool, it can really help take your reporting to the next level.

Cons

Admittedly, there is a steep learning curve to mastering this tool, but that is to be expected. Once a basic understanding is reached, I do believe that the use will be able to start using some of the more advanced features in no time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tibco Spotfire - An Analytical Tool- Get Actionable Insights

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I personally work on Tibco Spotfire for more than 4 Years. Best things are: 1) Ease of use for all category of users (End user, Developers, Statisticians) 2) Intuitive, Drag Drop 3) Continuous New enhancement in new version so it always remains uptodate with latest trend in technology. Recent example is a "Recommendation" feature which is excellent and enable one as analyst even though you don't know about technology.

Cons

They should come with some cheaper version so that small scale industry and small budget people can take advantage of this product which is so immense powerful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A good analytics tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've used the demo version for a few days, feeding it with some use cases that I normally process with another top-brand tool

Pros

If you are used to BI tools, setup and learning curve are very straightforward. It is very easy to connect to the usual relational data sources, I would say easier than many other rival products. The off-the shelf visualizations are very attracting and some of them can pinpoint data patterns that would otherwise go unnoticed. Even better, the visualization wizard actually analyzes your data before suggesting a default visual. Machine learning is built on the tool, by following a simple tutorial you can start training ML models on your data.

Cons

When accessing a data source, you can only join tables, but you cannot - for instance - specify custom SQL instructions. The desktop tool cannot JOIN data sources coming from separate DBs. (a feature that I often use, in a competing product) As I said, there are some very good visualizations, but they are hard or impossible to customize. I found some situations where compiling a dialog box (perhaps with illegal Machine Learning parameters, given my inexperience with the tool) and pressing "OK" did nothing and did not show any error or warning message. Without some informative feedback, these dialogs are unhelpful for the novices.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Visualization Product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Having a background in R or Python programming is beneficial to fully using Spotfire's capabilities.

Pros

TIBCO Spotfire can be used to create quick and clean visualization plots. It is not difficult to use and can be easily learned.

Cons

There have been significant changes in the recent versions. Joining data tables could be confusing if not properly paid attention to.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

More a visualization tool (interactive), decent BI tool

Reviewed 4 years ago

We were able to help the client visualize their complicated data in an easy to understand format using pie charts, heat map, etc. that they were able to update easily to run different potential scenarios.

Pros

It's a great visualization tool when itegrated with a more robust BI (Business Intelligence) tool. The filtering capibility of this tool are impressive! On a side panel, as you keep applying filters, on the other side, you can easily visualize the results. I remember taking all the training online which was easily available and we were also able to contact a representative for questions. They also help with professional installation.

Cons

I selected and implemented this tool at a cilent site. Where the visualization features were pretty robust, we needed to integrate this with a stronger BI tool to be able to do complicated analytics. It can a bit pricey but it's meant for bigger organizations, hence not that big of a concern.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best reporting tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ease of use, the way you can set up reporting to show exactly what you want to see, along with the UX.

Cons

The reports aren't the easiest to set up, although they do show incredible amounts of data in great visualizations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good software but not user friendly

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, I like using it and will continue to use it. However, I would like a smoother interface.

Pros

Once you learn how to use the software it is very helpful. It is extremely helpful when using CSV files that are too big (too many rows) to use in excel.

Cons

The biggest drawback is that the software has so many functions and buttons, that it is very hard to know how to use all of the buttons. It is kind of overwhelming. It may be helpful if they make the look more simple and consolidate buttons by type (kind f like how has all its functionalities sorted by tabs).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Visualization Dashboards and Reporting

Reviewed 3 years ago

Making dashboards for top management so that they can drive growth by making decisions by looking at the data.

Pros

Dashboards are used to make business decisions which are data driven and are very powerful , intuitive in nature. Data can extracted from any format almost.

Cons

You got to spend years to fully utilize the tool. It is such a powerful tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spotfire is solid visualization software.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

This product is easy to use. The start up is fast, and the visuals are great to work with. I like the front end design elements. Everyone I have demoed Spotfire for has been impressed by the visuals, details on demand, filters, highlighting functions etc. I enjoy developing in Spotfire and learning more and more about it.

Cons

Modifying custom SQL is very finicky in the information services library. For example, after optimizing the SQL in SQL Server, Teradata, etc, you still have to fix the individual elements and joins, which is frustrating because, in my opinion, getting the code correct should be more difficult than jamming it back into the Information Services.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spotfire is Indispensable for Data Visualization

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use Spotfire to explore and visualize data from clinical trial, economic and financial databases. It is my go to method when exploring new datasets to get the quickest and best insights.

Pros

It is blazingly fast. I work with datasets that have hundreds of thousands of entries, each with dozens of fields. Spotfire makes analyzing this data real time a snap.

Cons

The learning curve is a bit steep, it takes a while to learn how to use it well. But the investment is well worth it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Spotfire is a great visualization software

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great product when taken full advantage of. Really great getting networked data to populate.

Pros

The customizability and ability to create templates is amazing to tailor the different features of the product for all types of business pages.

Cons

The software is hard to manage in terms of set up and updates to the templates. You have to have decent knowledge about scripting to do advanced things.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have worked with Spotfire since version 3.0 as a developer and BI PM

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The product continues to be developed and offer business a user enabling and powerful tool for visually analyzing data.

Cons

Support from Vendor in the area of customer service is weak. Implementation as companies is done with little or no training making support a vital feature to organizations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Tool for Data Visualisation

Reviewed 2 years ago

The analyst version of Tibco Spotfire is quite handly to identify patterns and draw insight from the data visualisation tool.

Pros

- A convenient platform to organising and arranging large volume of data to identify patterns and trends

Cons

-This platform is not convenient for small set of data. - Convenient only for quantitative data analysis.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Works great for creating analytical charts

Reviewed 2 years ago

Spotfire turned out to be a great investment to increate out analytical reporting capabilities, especially automatic to daily reports. Being able to use multiple types of data sources to get the data into a central repository has helped a lot.

Pros

I like being able to combine multiple data sources to create data analysis and charts that reflect complexities that would be difficult to other explain. Using spotfire and automating the reports makes reporting so much easier

Cons

There is a learning curve to setting up and using Spotfire and sometimes it seems as though there is a lot of manual setup that could probably be more easily accomplished with wizards.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Sporfire on the go!

Reviewed 4 years ago

You need to fully understand each function to appreciate this software. But once grasp, I assure you that you will never regret that you use this software,

Pros

This tool is too great specially for us who are analyzing large data. I really really recommend this application.

Cons

No cons were added to this review