This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

PDF Compressor

Multilingual document compression and conversion software

see alternatives

PDF Compressor Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

We are very happy with the compression ratios that we get with the product and we have tested many others with for the cost this is the best.

Ken A.

The app fulfills what it promises, reduces the size of the PDF and the main one does not lose the quality of the document. Very Useful for the corporate environment.

Mariana N.

It's a very good sofware which helps in the easy conversion and compression of the file without any watermarks.

Anitha B.

Cons

The licensing is royal pain - i would assume the majority of end users are business and corporate.

Matt M.

Can be difficult to get optimum output because there are so many options and combinations of options to select.

Linda M.

Setting up the watch directories took a little bit to get right but that could be our fault for not reading enough documentation.

Scott M.

Overall rating

4.8

5

4

3

2

1

29

9

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


38 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It's an invaluable tool that enables us to reduce the size of our PDF's and OCR with high accuracy

Reviewed 4 years ago

High quality, accurate OCR at the smallest possible file size.

Pros

It is fast, accurate and does exactly what we need - reduce our PDF's to the smallest possible size while retaining quality.

Cons

The licensing is royal pain - i would assume the majority of end users are business and corporate. We are not trying to violate terms and conditions, but we upgrade our computers, we move computers around - having to jump through hoops to do that is unproductive and wastes time.

Vendor response

Hi Matt, Thanks for your feedback on the quality of the compression and OCR you're able to achieve with PdfCompressor. Regarding the licensing, we do need to have some security measures in place to prevent license abuse. We greatly appreciate your business and want to ensure your experience remains a great success. Please contact us directly if you need further assistance!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I've been a user for 5 years creating documents for a history-based website.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's simply far better than anything on the market. I have tried everything from Acrobat Professional and Luratech's products to separate OCR apps like Abbyy, and nothing gets the results that PdfCompressor does.

Pros

Pdf Compressor has the best combination of readability, size reduction and good OCR of any of the products on the market. I have tried everything available, and no other one offers the deep ability to create custom configurations for different kinds of source documents, ranging from reprocessing of very large PDFs to assembling jpg or tiff raw scans. My final PDFs go on a website that documents the history of the radio and broadcasting industry, and users like the smaller downloads and never have complained about being able to open and view the PdfCompressor files, no matter what viewer they use.

Cons

The file selection and output menus default to options I never want. While I easily get around that, the software should enabled custom defaults such as "combine documents" and "don't send failed pages to another directory". The file selection menu should also have a configurable setup, such as a standard "open from" location. And the file display should obey Windows standards, such as CTL-Click to select multiple files or folders.

Vendor response

Hi David, We couldn't be happier to hear one of our longer-standing clients so satisfied with PdfCompressor. I've submitted your feedback regarding custom defaults to our product management team. Thanks for your support!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Involved with prototyping and purchasing of the software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Colored documents were made available black and white and file size was reduced to a significant amount.

Pros

Easy of use. Ability to convert different kinds of documents to PDF. Batch processing. Speed. Definitely an advantage with different OCR combinations. Significant reduction in the file size.

Cons

Need to have ability to convert documents into different file types. Can improve on ways to incorporate paper documents and convert them into electronic format

Vendor response

Hi Sonali, Happy you're seeing results with CVISION's OCR speed, document compression ratios, and ease of use. As stated with other reviewers above, we can provide expanded file conversion to PDF options including Word to PDF, Excel, and generally MS Office, in addition to other file formats. Please let us know what your specific needs are and we can get this addressed!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

pdf compressor

Reviewed a month ago

this application helps me to reduce the size of the photo as i want

Pros

free no need to buy software to install on computer, does not burden the computer work because it is enough to open it using a browser

Cons

requires internet access, the rapid development of services sometimes causes some free pdf compress sites to become paid at first

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A workhorse of a product never any issues with the software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Eliminated need to store medical records. Allowed ease of use for our work from home coders and allows scans to be archived so not continually taking up bits.

Pros

Ease of use. We have trained multiple staff members and they all have no issues with the product. It works will with our business hub machine.

Cons

License volume not scalable during contract period. Our scanning needs differ from January through December so it would be nice to not overpay some months

Vendor response

Hi Sharon, Glad the software functionality is working so well for you. Regarding licensing, we do have some options to help with your concerns, including annual licensing and/or using volume packs to handle peak processing periods. Please reach out to us if you'd like to discuss more. Thanks for your feedback!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We originally purchased PdfCompressor licenses to process scans of our local newspaper (1922-1970).

Reviewed 3 years ago

We get electronically-searchable museum archives - our patrons get access to thousands of pages of historical documents that they would otherwise be unable to search.

Pros

Our use is now intermittent, as we scan a variety of historical documents for our museum collection, but the software ease-of-use always allows us to become productive immediately. Scanning may "preserve" the documents, but it's the OCR that makes them accessible to our patrons. The quality of the OCR has been absolutely outstanding! Having electronically-searchable archives is a great contribution!

Cons

We would like to share our OCR licenses between two machines, but have not figured out how that might be done. It's a "background" task for us right now, and when it becomes a priority, I'm sure the folks in CVISION will provide us with the right insight.

Vendor response

Hi Fred, We greatly appreciate when our long-term customers speak so kindly of us, and we're happy you're so thrilled with the OCR quality. As always, please get in touch to discuss your needs. Thank you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Solid PDF Utility Application

Reviewed 3 years ago

Much simpler to generate OCR'd PDFs that using the multi-function printer.

Pros

It runs reliably without issues. It allows users to dump multiple files into the input directory for processing. Batch processing is quite convenient. There are so many adjustments, you can fine tune your output files to your exact specifications.

Cons

The fine tuning process can be a bit of a trial and error process. Processing of large CAD files can be slow.

Vendor response

Blake, Thanks for your feedback. I've forwarded your comments to our product management team regarding the CAD files. Happy to hear batch processing is a simple + convenient operation for you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Once setup runs well. Easy to maintain

Reviewed 3 years ago

See previous comments

Pros

Doesn't crash. Auto Renewable battery. Set and forget. Watched folders. Easy to change settings and customize. Can edit the XML file without the UI.

Cons

Understanding all the features. Doesn't convert Word or images to PDF Getting new Spare Battery from customer service to work correctly.

Vendor response

Hi Alaina, CVISION actually does have options available for MS Office to PDF Conversion (Including Word to PDF). I will have someone reach out to you to discuss, or you can message info@cvisiontech.com with specific questions. Thanks!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

We have been using a long time and are happy with the product

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We are very happy with the compression ratios that we get with the product and we have tested many others with for the cost this is the best.

Cons

There are not very many things that we are not happy with in the product. There could be better upgrade options to make it easier.

Vendor response

Hi Ken, I'm submitting all the feedback here to our product team for review, thank you! "Very happy with the compression ratios" at the best cost - That's great to hear! Glad your implementation of PdfCompressor is going so well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Saves gigabytes of space on our network storage

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The compression works great and doesn't lose too much qulity. The OCR functionality allows us to search scanned documents, which we didn't have before PdfCompressor. We set up two watch directories, one that's used twice a week and one that's use at the end of each month. The one at the end of the month gets older files, before 2010, pulled in that need to be compressed and OCR'd. This uses up our monthly allowance of pages.

Cons

Setting up the watch directories took a little bit to get right but that could be our fault for not reading enough documentation.

Vendor response

Hi Scott, Sounds like your implementation is continuing to run efficiently. If you ever need more monthly volume or a pack that doesn't expire to fall back on, we can help you there. Otherwise thanks for taking the time to review, much appreciated!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

CVision distributor

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Reliability, capacity to handle high volumes, precision in usage patterns, good support and reaction time from the company.

Cons

Evolution of the solution with regards to new technological standards is not so evident, there should be more possibilities to use it with ECM new standards.

Vendor response

Hi Alain, Thanks for your feedback on the reliability of the current features you're using in the product. Regarding your comments on evolution, we actually do have some newer features we can discuss with you, including MS Office to PDF conversion and more. Please reach out to us sales@cvisiontech.com to talk further!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Works perfect

Reviewed 4 years ago

We had to import in a short time a lot of documents into our document management system and CVISION helped us doing that without breaking our heads over it how to get this done in a timely matter

Pros

easy implementation and easy to use. We have not really found any disadvantages or flows for the software.

Cons

the way the licensing is setup is a little complicated. We rather have a license with unlimited usage

Vendor response

Hi Ad, Thanks for your feedback, glad the solution is working perfectly in line with your expectations. If you require more volume please reach out, we'll work with you to determine the best choice for your needs!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We've been working using PDFCompressor since 2015 and it's a wonderful experience

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Output quality, hot folder, features. Overall the application works charming even for months without monitoring.

Cons

as for our current daily use, there's nothing that we don't like. Even the system runs well without any monitoring for months. But maybe you could enhance the output process speed

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Ronald! Happy to see another strong recommendation of CVISION's PDF Compressor solution

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

One thing every graphic designer needs is a good PDF compressor. And this is the one to get!!!!!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love having a compressor at my fingertips. When using many large format PDFs it is important to have a good compressor to be able to email without using a link.

Cons

One con I have is the speed of the compressor. It would be nice to be instant, wouldn't it? It is still a great software though!

Vendor response

Thanks for the kind words Jessica, glad you're finding it easier to email your documents with our solution. While we won't claim "instant" processing, our compressor is capable of processing multiple pages per second, and the software comes equipped with multi-threading technology. This enables you to process multiple documents simultaneously for faster processing. Hope that can help you reach the speed you're looking for!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I find this program to be invaluable. Fantastic tool. I'd recommend it to anyone

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

How simple it is to use. This program has never failed me. I am still amazed at how well it works.

Cons

Nothing really but this survey is making me type something in this field so I am doing just that.

Vendor response

Hi Derek, We think it's just great that you only had to type into the cons box just to fill space. Thanks for taking the time to review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

First off, customer service is superb! Questions are always answered with a quick turnaround.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am able to gather all of my critical documents into one place and convert them into searchable files. It has saved hundreds of hours of going through individual documents looking for one or two things because using this program allows me to locate it more expeditiously.

Pros

The ease of use is the best feature. It is easy to learn and does the job that it says it will do. Support is always available if a problem arises.

Cons

Every once in a while, when I have multiple large files, it will take longer than I anticipate for the job to be finished.

Vendor response

Glad you're getting so much value out of our solution. We appreciate the positive feedback especially from a long term client. Thank you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Use the Kofax plugin

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

No issues or problems. Easy to configure & use. We use the Kofax plug-in for converting our documents to PDF. Never had any problem with processing large batches.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Mike, Glad to hear everything has been going well for you. Thanks for reviewing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

We use this program to compile pdfs for scanned historic theses, books, journals, newspapers

Reviewed 3 years ago

Better quality of OCR and appearance of text pages. Can set it to run overnight and still turn off the computer. Ability to try different settings to get optimal visual appearance.

Pros

Easy to use. Fast processing. There are many options to select from to optimize the appearance, OCR and compression of the text/pictures.

Cons

Can be difficult to get optimum output because there are so many options and combinations of options to select

Vendor response

Hi Linda, Glad the OCR quality and PDF optimization settings are working out well at K-State! If there's anything we can do to explain any specific options, please contact us. We appreciate your long-standing relationship with us and hope to continue to make your PDF processing a success!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

A few years ago I heavily relied upon PDFCompressor for both compression and OCR.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Not using now.

Pros

Acrobat improved OCR in native application, provided some compression ability, provide batch mode, and cost of storage went down making compression far less necessary.

Cons

It is now too expensive. Plus it does not have the autocorrection capability of native Acrobat. I started using back in 2004-5.

Vendor response

Hi Alan, Thanks for your feedback. While we don't use Acrobat's auto-correction, since you last used the product we've incorporated the ability for PDF Compressor to use dictionaries to improve accuracy, essentially the same net benefit to the user. In addition, CVISION leverages its expertise in image processing to maximize OCR accuracy in ways that Acrobat does not.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review on PDF Compressor

Reviewed 3 months ago

It's a very good sofware which helps in the easy conversion and compression of the file without any watermarks

Pros

Easy to compress the file into a single format and absence of water mark

Cons

Unnecessary add while using the software.It makes confussion occationally while uploading the file

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

PdfCompressor

Reviewed 2 years ago

The Pdf reducer is a must have, at least in the free version.

Pros

Pdf Compressor or Pdf Reducer but from ORPALIS, is a very simple yet powerful document compression software up to 80%. After scanning a document, I always use it because it doesn't take up much space.

Cons

Again it is about price, I think it should be available to every user. But the free version also offers many options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Purchased to help process, store and review medical records for litigation.

Reviewed 4 years ago

A robust compression and OCR program capable of handling industrial volumes of records.

Pros

The OCR recognition of medical records resulted in the lowest error rate compared to several other OCR recognition programs I tried. The compression rate was the best of all of the programs.

Cons

The interface initially was somewhat difficult for me to follow; regular use, and the assistance of Tech Support, greatly assisted in this regard.

Vendor response

Hi Jerome, Thanks for your feedback. CVISION is proud that we're able to provide you with high accuracy OCR and leading document compression rates, especially at the higher volume tiers you work with. We greatly appreciate your business!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

PDF COMPRESSOR

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

So helpful to organisations and individuals to keep files offline or online

Cons

PDF COMPRESSOR software is amazing software but does not always scam artists

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to set up PDF engine which does its work with no surprises

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software can be easily configured to suit our needs, and once it is set up, it just runs without creating troubles or issues. we have not experienced any so far, in the couple of years we have been using it.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Very happy to hear our PdfCompressor solution has been easy to set up and utilize in the way that you were looking for. We greatly appreciate your business!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Does what it's supposed to!

Reviewed a month ago

I don't need to compress pdfs very often, but this has been one my go-to tools for the job.

Pros

It's easy to use. It's effective at what it does. It does a better job than most pdf compressors at reducing the size.

Cons

It's not really a con because it isn't made to do anything else... but it would be handy if you could edit the document before compressing.