This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Survey Solutions

Computer-assisted personal interview technology

see alternatives

Survey Solutions Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

A great software with excellent support team. Easy to manage surveys and a good version control.

Benson K.

Extremely professional and responsive. Survey Solutions is a very good product which I can't recommend highly enough.

Phil B.

A well developed software that can serve the purpose of most surveys. User-friendly, reporting features are superb, overall quality of the software is great.

francis D.

Cons

Unable to access data on the tablet without using the headquarter server. Data loss in case the version of questionnaire on the tablet is not found in the headquarter server.

Daniel A.

There are many limitations that are difficult to work around. Lots of information is still missing from the documentation available online, and this documentation needs to be made clearer.

Elena M.

Time limitation is restricted to just five months and then a renewal process needs to be done. Needing internet connectivity.

Helen S.

Overall rating

4.6

5

4

3

2

1

56

25

3

1

0

95%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


85 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, cost effective and user friendly

Reviewed 3 years ago

architect: extremely all around composed interface, quick to make and refresh extensive polls, a considerable measure quicker than in other programming bundles - complex yet straightforward: a consistently developing rundown of reason custom-made survey segments and the punctuation make the section limit to building complex surveys structures extremely low, no compelling reason to thoroughly consider...

Pros

Study Solutions has lured me by its adaptability, its strength and its overviews administration stage which is extremely easy to understand, rich and down to earth. It adjusts to client inclinations with month to month refreshes. What intrigues me most about Survey Solutions is its simplicity of learning. Easy to learn one doesn't should be a specialist in programming to outline polls on Survey Solutions. Moreover, great documentation and test poll formats are accessible to enable clients to take a snappy hand of Survey Solutions

Cons

Study Solutions offers obviously numerous focal points. For me, this is really the best CAPI application that exists. On the off chance that there is something that ought to be enhanced, it is the accessibility of documentation in French. For sure, almost no guide in French exists. What's more, the Designer, the instrument for outlining the surveys is to a great extent in English, which does not profit the french-talking.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I dropped all other CAPIs. I've already completed 16 surveys with Survey Solutions from 2015

Reviewed 3 years ago

Survey solutions have allowed me to discover that a data collection can be done easily without being frowned upon, for me, it is the solution for the collection of data, it is the best.

Pros

- Easy to use by non-programmer; makes questionnaire design very simplified - Data quality is guaranteed at each level of its workflow (from Designer to Interviewer); - Makes dealing the complex roster very easy; - Very convenience and user-friendly interface (designer and interviewer app); - Offline data collection; it's very useful in most of African countries with internet issues - Gives the HQ users control over the data collection process everywhere they are and with the browser of any device (smartphone, tablet etc') - Data can be reviewed instantly after synchronization - Reduces total cost of survey - Excellent support from the Survey Solutions team

Cons

- No documentation in French for francophone countries - It will be very helpful if the Supervisor can work offline like the Interviewer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Survey solutions is a user friendly easy to use platform to design surveys

Reviewed 4 years ago

Coding the survey is easier and more intuitive. The tester is a great tool to speed up the process.

Pros

Easy to use (add sections, questions, validations), nice interface and each new feature is quite intuitive to pick up

Cons

Updates are too frequent and sometimes interfere with the data collection activities already in the field

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very powerful platform for building and manage surveys. I have learned to use it in very short time.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Enhance the skills of design the surveys for official statistics.

Pros

I like because is easy to install, to configure and to admin. Also, is very easy to use it, in respect of build complex questionnaires. Collaborative work is very important nowadays and Survey Solutions allows this feature. For designing the questionnaires are not necessary high knowledge of programming or web design. Everything is possible just with the mouse and light keyboard intervention. The...

Cons

It is to easy to use and the speed of developing new features is very high. The speed of maintaining the updates into the support materials should be the same.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The most complete survey management suite and it's free.

Reviewed 9 months ago

Was a joy to work with, especially when developing a Census (SuSo API) App for the CSO St.Lucia, based on the R package and to (hopefully) serve the CARICOM region in the monitoring and control of the upcoming 2021 round of the Housing and Population Census.

Pros

It is complete. There are many options when it comes to survey tools, each with a particular suitability. However, when it comes to conducting large scale, governmental surveys and censuses, there is no need to look further. Survey Solutions can accomplish this objective at 0 cost. It has been tested exhaustively and has been adept at exceeding expectations, from questionnaire design to survey management and enumeration.

Cons

It may be a bit of an overkill for small scale, online, near real time or mobile surveys and surveys involving big data analysis.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent free survey tool with free hosting and great support

Reviewed 3 years ago

Thanks to survey solutions we have been able to convert a Fijian village household survey originally designed as a pen and paper interview to be performed using smartphones and tablets with minimal internet. The free hosting of the server also means we are not limited by the total lack of infrastructure in this area of the country.

Pros

The significant amount of functionality available in the whole survey solutions ecosystem, all available at no cost. Ease of questionnaire design with validation and skip logic Free hosting of the survey server and the ability to do a local server if desired. Ability to do the surveys offline in areas that do not have internet connectivity. Great user interface for the interview and tester applications to ensure the survey process is as easy as possible Multiple language setup is not hard and enables seamless switching between languages in both the application and web interface. Fantastic support responsiveness. The youtube designer videos were very useful.

Cons

There is no inbuilt data analysis. The formats available for export are not easy to use without either paid software or significant development time. Any changes to the survey, no matter how small (even translation or question tweak) will update the interview version, meaning the user must either export interviews performed with both versions and somehow externally merge them or else run with a suboptimal questionnaire to avoid this issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I have used Survey solution in household and agriculture surveys in many countries in Africa

Reviewed 3 years ago

1. Reduced cost for the programmers. I can program my questionnaire now 2. minimizes data error. The validation and enabling conditions are helpful in minimizing data errors from the field. 3. The software has also survey management tool and this helped me to follow up data collection progresses remotely with out travelling to the field. 4. encourages team work. multiple people can program the CAPI at the same time on the same questionnaire 5. Responsibility of each team member is clearly defined.

Pros

Simple to program Makes life easy for survey management easy to export data user friendly and not complicated for non programmers and field workers free of cost

Cons

Highly dependence on Internet connection Need for offline programing and data backup (specially in some African countries the internet infrastructure is poor)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent CAI solution featuring one of the best user interfaces for interviewers I have seen.

Reviewed 4 years ago

It provides a reliable computer assisted interviewing platform, that has a very low entry threshold into development and a very steep learning curve. It has provided me with a means to capture very complex survey questionnaires and implement them in challenging environment with poor internet connectivity.

Pros

Excellent interviewer interface; Very strong facility for dealing with complex rosters; Very low threshold into questionnaire development, while allowing for full power of C# in validation functions; Collaborative questionnaire development environment; It's free; Features free and fully supported cloud central database capture facility; Very strong support to data management on the server side;

Cons

My cons are not so cons as they are a wishlist of functionality that would make this software even better. Lacking field supervisor app to manage the interviews locally while in the field and with no internet access; Inflexibility in using stored data to support the interviewing while maintaining the flexible allocation of interviews; Lack of question database support (neither public nor private); Lack of CATI functionality

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My experience with survey solution has been very interesting. I hugely rely on this application.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The scripting flexibility, making it easy for someone who has no background knowledge of computer programming to script and upload questionnaire on the application. I am also very excited about the supervisory role (Accepting and Rejecting of Interviews), which ensures the data that is sent to the headquarter is of good quality. Ability to restrict interviewers to the number of interviews you actually want to do per sector or enumeration. It also interests me to know that I can actually sit in a spot and monitor what is being on the field at the real time. Finally ability to download/export data in SPSS and STATA format

Cons

1. The use of the internet to design questionnaire 2. Inability to download questions designed on rostering and those without rostering in a single data file

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! There are ways of including roster variables in the same data file as single variables, generally by giving each occurrence of the roster variables individual names (such as age_01, gender_01, educ_01..., age_02, gender_02, educ_02, and so on). Most analysts find this arrangement more cumbersome than merging the 2 files.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

excellent free solution that provides transparency during data collection

Reviewed 4 years ago

This product provides my organization with a FREE tool we can use with partners around the world with varying degrees of experience conducting CAPI surveys. I hope Survey Solutions sparks a drive toward standardization in features of CAPI software, to improve the quality of data collected in international surveys.

Pros

- Easy to implement with organizations new to CAPI data collection - Great support from the WB Survey Solutions team -The Survey Solutions Designer takes the 'mystery' out of survey programming and makes this a feasible task for those without a significant programming background. - User friendly interface that is easy for interviewers to learn and use. - Easy to test and update questionnaires - Easy to review cases from multiple levels using multiple metrics at the same time. (i.e. supervisor reviews individual cases in the field and headquarters runs a report looking at aggregate data.) - The map report. Clients really like this feature! - Data export files in multiple formats. The files are clean and ready to use. - It's FREE and available to researchers worldwide

Cons

- format of paradata output is somewhat cumbersome, and not as easy to work with as the response data output.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent, cost-effective software for implementing all kinds of surveys. Great user support!

Reviewed 4 years ago

An easy transition into the world of CAPI. With the help of Survey Solutions, the SIB is leading the region in the implementation of CAPI surveys. This also opened many doors for us in elevating many other processes, such as payment, control forms, data-processing, and real-time progress tracking. Everything is now mostly automated based on daily exports of Survey Solutoins data.

Pros

1. Its free of cost. 2. It is intuitive and easy to learn and use. 3. It is constantly updated and improved. A new version is released on a monthly basis. 4. The support and development teams listen to the customer's needs and take action. 5. Very clean user interface at all levels of the software. 6. Very easy to implement on a large scale as compared to other survey software. 7. Comprehensive set of tools for every level of the survey. 8. Mostly great documentation of functionality and features. 9. A polished, robust, well thought-out product, which a team behind it that seems to really care about delivering the highest quality. Thank you, World Bank.

Cons

1. No offline support for data-exchange as of yet. It would be extremely helpful in certain environments where there is no connectivity but there is a need for constant exchange. If this is made possible, we are likely to use Survey Solutions for the Belize 2020 Census. 2. Constant rearrangement/redesign of the supervisor and HQ components. We appreciate the improvements but it causes somewhat constant...

Vendor response

Thank you for your thoughtful review! Regarding point 3 among your Cons, you can hide disabled questions entirely by selecting "Hide if disabled" check box". Regarding pont 6, it is now possible to transfer cases between interviewers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

reliable, very easy to use software with all the complexity you need for socio-economic surveys

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- designer: very well designed interface, fast to create and update large questionnaires, a lot faster than in other software packages - complex yet simple: an ever growing list of purpose-tailored questionnaire components and the syntax make the entry threshold to building complex questionnaires structures really low, no need to think through complex loops or fiddle with identifiers - collaboration:...

Cons

In the future it would be great to see more flexibility around the allocation of interviews in the field to allow field teams to quickly react to local conditions and to manage their visits more effectively. In particular, - the ability to locally generate interview files with pre-filled information (e.g. for an endline survey) - local offline reallocation of interview files

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I'm using Survey Solutions since 2014 for many surveys such as household surveys, employment surveys

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Survey Solutions has seduced me by its flexibility, its robustness and its surveys management platform which is very user-friendly, rich and practical. It adapts to user preferences with monthly updates. What fascinates me most about Survey Solutions is its ease of learning. Very easy to learn one does not need to be an expert in programming to design questionnaires on Survey Solutions. In addition, good documentation and sample questionnaire templates are available to help users take a quick hand of Survey Solutions

Cons

Survey Solutions offers unquestionably many advantages. For me, this is actually the best CAPI application that exists. If there is something that should be improved, it is the availability of documentation in French. Indeed, very little guide in French exists. In addition, the Designer, the tool for designing the questionnaires is largely in English, which does not benefit the french-speaking.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to learn, easy to train and easy to use.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Improved data overall quality. Reduced data cleaning time. Simplified field logistics. Reduced interview length.

Pros

It is free. It includes most of social research CAPI mode features. It is also rather flexible concerning the exporting formats. Data management and data collection progress are easy to monitor. Interview assignment easy to handle with new version. Forum/FAQ is very helpful and keeps getting richer.

Cons

C# language is not always easy to use and/or to understand. For QC happening directly on the field, the Google Chrome interface is not the most adequate: developing a QC or Editor app would be excellent, for QC to happen on tablets (could include re-interviews on a number of items, etc.). The error compilation and error description needs more details and solutions.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! Any browser can be used for the questionnaire designer or for survey management. A browser is not used on the tablets for data collection, it is our own application developed in C#, which we feel is far superior to those developed in Java since it can include multiple questions per screen, multiple colors, and use our own formats. Your ideas are interesting will be past on to our developers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best CAPI solution on the market, maintained by a very pro-active development team.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Cost savings, improved data quality and timeliness, better field management.

Pros

Survey Solutions is an excellent survey management solution, not just field-based data entry. There are many pros: - built in question skips and validations - real-time quality control by Supervisors and Headquarters - visualisation of spatial coverage - secure data storage on a cloud server - significant time and cost savings compared to paper-based collections. The software support and development team are second-to-none. Extremely professional and responsive. Survey Solutions is a very good product which I can't recommend highly enough.

Cons

The Survey Solutions team are so good, that they release updates every month (which is basically unheard of anywhere else). This has huge advantages when it comes to bug fixes, but it does create potential complications in the field if interfaces and functionality change after training has been undertaken or once staff have started field work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CAPI software of choice for multiple surveys in multiple countries

Reviewed 4 years ago

My team has implemented surveys 12 surveys in 7 different countries. All have gone smoothly, and I am able to closely monitor them from abroad.

Pros

It's hard to point out what I like the most about this software. The built-in case management tools make managing large surveys with many teams a breeze. Furthermore, the easy to use Questionnaire Designer allows people to learn how to build surveys quickly, and share them easily between colleagues. The Questionnaire Designer also allows for easy translation. We often design surveys in English, but...

Cons

Probably what I like least about the software is that the Questionnaire Designer is online. I often do tedious tasks like questionnaire design while traveling. Since, I cannot use the Designer offline, it prevents me from doing this task on the road.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A free, user-friendly software that allows for timely design & implementation of complex surveys.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Documentation: We like the updated on-site resources such as FAQs/YouTube videos, user forums & guides, and public questionnaires Interviewer Interface: Intuitive design, user-friendly for enumerators; non-enforcing plausibility rules Monitoring: Excellent way to monitor/review data processed in the field at different hierarchical levels in real-time Paradata: Can track data on length & GPS location of each interview and technical characteristics of tablets/synchronization process Longevity: Frequent updates

Cons

Designer: Pre-specified roster designs make modification of roster length cumbersome for enumerators. More complex rosters/sections can involve a lot of skipping back and forth Documentation: Documentation of complex validation with C# expandable; more support of complex C# validation functions would be useful General: There were some extremely rare issues with interview crashes and missing/reappearing interviews Translation sheets: Issues with crashing during uploading of translation sheets

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Survey Solutions is very user friendly and fun platform to build and design our Questionnaires.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Cost saving and ease of use.

Pros

The Questionnaire designer is easy to use and very flexible. It caters for most of our business needs with constant enhancements and improvements being added. The API is also freely available to allow Business specific development. The Headquarters software is also very easy to use with limited but very helpful reports. Synchronization to and from the tablets is also very quick and seamless.

Cons

Locating Assignments/Interviews in the Headquarters software sometimes proves to be a bit challenging. Also not easy to remove Interviews from the Headquarters software after it has been approved by Headquarters agents and as a result the list of Interviews that is displayed to the Headquarters agents grow drastically.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Its useful, but there is still a lot of room for improvement, particularly with program limitations

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like the ability to download the data whenever, as data collection occurs. For simple surveys this software is a great tool. I love the multiple language possibilities.

Cons

Survey Solutions has a long way to go to develop a program that is able to address many normal survey needs, especially when it comes to agricultural surveys. There are many limitations that are difficult to work around. Lots of information is still missing from the documentation available online, and this documentation needs to be made clearer. Especially when it comes to trouble shooting with sample uploading, which is a very difficult process in survey solutions, and when it comes to programming more complicated skips and references in Designer. The software would benefit greatly from an excel type template that people could write their specs in an upload instead of having to copy and paste questions over into designer, something more akin to ODK.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Outstanding software only and even better support

Reviewed 4 years ago

Faster questionnaire design and no need for printing. Faster turn around time from going to field to analysis, Great for going paperless, After extensive research this product ticked all the boxes

Pros

Ease of use, rapid deployment and all round end to end product. The support is the best I have had the privilege to experience.

Cons

Some designers have expressed some nice to have customisation, features, and integration with other software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I started using the solutions since last year and found it very good among others solutions used

Reviewed 4 years ago

The software help in data collection, it easy to configure and monitor quality of data. Features and functionalities were friendly to used.

Pros

easy to use conversion of dataset in to any format you want. Quality control. Overall data management. Questionnaire design Qquick responds from support. Reliability. good for data streaming. It's free to the client and client doesn't need to install or update the software Good performance. No need for hardware because is using cloud server. full control of data and software

Cons

The solution require internet. and skills. Not free for clients, it's limit time requested. local hosting require hardware and 24/7 support

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The software works efficiently and effectively.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Timely data collection

Pros

The software is very convenient and has user-friendly interface. Its very much easy to learn and develop applications with very few logic. It contains all functionalities required for conducting a survey. It makes supervision very easy and most importantly it allows only interviewers to edit data not supervisors. It has several data formats and data can be downloaded any time it is required. Support team works and helps fast

Cons

I think it would be much better is data could be stored temporarily in the device during data capturing, so that in case the tablet gets broken before synchronization, we can be able to retrieve that data.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Its been a great experience

Reviewed 3 years ago

-Decreased data processing time -Decreased time for questionnaire design - Easy to train users -User friendly system

Pros

Flexibility of questionnaire design,ability to have multiple people design the same questionnaire and easy to use

Cons

Changing versions even when you make a small update,changing data types even when original variable was not adjusted but the version changed

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

CAPI review

Reviewed 3 years ago

The survey solution really helps in designing the better questionnaire and collecting the good quality data and it is convenient for the interviewers while doing the data collection compared to PAPI.

Pros

The ease of collecting good quality data which lessens the burden of data cleaning and validation.

Cons

There is no flexibility in the change of synchronization point and the user id of the enumerators. Sometimes we give enumerators two ids/servers, as we have two different servers for the data collection. For them to log in with a different server, they need to uninstall the software and the do so. So, the frequent need to change the synchronization point is a time consuming for the interviewer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

the features allow a wide range of control over the quality of the data.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Thanks to the use of this product I managed to have an employment contract. it also allowed me to improve my knowledge in terms of CAPI

Pros

The use of a roster in different sections. Creation of a unique automatic identifier when creating the questionnaire. Look up tables

Cons

The new way of importing questionnaires. this new one is more complicated and longer than the old version where it was necessary to choose to import the sample or census mode.

Vendor response

Parce que je ne parle pas français, please forgive me for responding in English. The new import method is a response to user requests to increase mode flexibility to enable collection from multiple respondents from within a location who have not yet been identified. This can be useful for a household listing within a village or district, for example, or for a complete census. Sample mode is the default.