App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Eclipse IDE Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

183

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.92/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The Auto Doc Features, Inbuilt Console, Now the Dark Mode made eclipse a good Ide to work on. I recommend to fellows for working on it and the Best Part It's Free.
So for different projects and different languages you do not need to switch the IDE. Really loved it and really recommend using it.
Development with Eclipse is a hiccup free experience and has pretty reliable integration with GIT and contains lots of plugins to extend its features.
Setting up of eclipse is a tad tiresome. If you are not used to use this IDE, it will be hard to understand the project explorer.
Uses more RAM and becomes slow. Difficult to use for languages other than Java.
Nothing to dislike but it not support web development and it takes more memory location.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


183 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mohammad A.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

"One of the best IDE for project development specially for java."

Reviewed a year ago

#Great compatibility.#Free to use Eclipse IDE.#Highlight in syntax when while writing code.#Inbuilt terminal to see the output of the code, which saves time. We don't need to go to CMD every time.

Pros

#Eclipse is a most used open source IDE (integrated development environment) for java development. #It provides best platform on which we software engineers develops apps specially in java and websites code. #It helps us by providing no of features related to development like importing libraries, sharing files, file management, better UI and many more.#We can also Push and Pull the code on Git-hub directly.#It also helps in writing bug free code by assisting while writing code i.e. auto suggestion. This IDE is famous for java development.

Cons

#It need large memory footprint in computer memory.#As it is heavy tool so it takes time to launch and sometimes slows down the system.#We don't get so much features for other language other than JAVA.# Web development is also not supported.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ritesh J.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Not beginner friendly

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Eclipse is one of the best IDE out there. I used this to complete of my college project Course Management System. What i like about this is the ability to create java swing UI with drag and drop features which saved me a lot of time.

Cons

When i used this to create UI of java swing there was a bug in MAC OS which was it refreshes every time i drag and drop component which drain my battery fast

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Music, self-employed

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Switched to Software With Better User Experience / GUI

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall the benefits of it being free and having lots of basic tutorials available did not outweigh the issues of the user interface and poor experience. I decided to go with IntelliJ IDE and was much happier overall.

Pros

As a former user, I'd say that the biggest benefits of Eclipse (while I used it) were the low price and the dearth of web content on using it. I was exploring Java applets as a tool in handling some internal tasks on a Intranet, so I wasn't even sure whether Java was the right choice for me. Being able to fire up a free yet capable IDE and follow some tutorials allowed me to test my proof of concept fairly quickly.

Cons

What led me to go with another product (IntelliJ IDEA) was the fact that the user interface and experience are just not enjoyable. The approach to debugging is very convoluted. I don't code very often, so at first I assumed it was normal. After trying a few other IDEs I realized that the whole Debug View approach seemed needlessly complicated, as a layperson. The UI is not very presentable, and it has some delays in refactoring and displaying that perhaps are a side effect of it being needlessly complex. Also, the dearth of tutorials and plugins were good at first but then I ran into the issue that the software is changing so much that the tutorials and plugins were oftentimes irrelevant or rendered obsolete.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rakesh M.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best open-source IDE - Highly Recommended for Developers

Reviewed 7 months ago

This is the best IDE for professional developers with ease of access to all the configurations and API integration. They provide a market place, there we can get more additional features that our project requires. And I am using this IDE daily for my daily software developement routine.

Pros

Simple user interface with various configuration made this IDE more attractive and proven its quality in the market. we can adjust all the configuration to the advanced level to deal complex projects in simpler manner.

Cons

Though the user-interface is simpler, it looks older. So that it needs to be modernized. Mobile development and live server integration are the areas need to be improved in Eclipse IDE.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Serhat C.

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Developer Friendly

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

We use the Java IDE to manage the code written in c++ to access the devices on the ATM and check their status and make the outputs meaningful. These devices are devices such as card reader, cash dispenser, receipt printer, pinpad. Using Eclipse IDE is a blessing for the software developer because it pleases the developer with every feature. My favorite features are code completion, extensible plugins, drag and drop feature, simple and straightforward interface, meaningful bugs, debug mechanism and most importantly community support.

Cons

I am very happy with Eclipse IDE, I love every feature of it.

KT
AvatarImg

Keith T.

Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Good for java dev

Reviewed 2 years ago

good depending on what you wan to do with it

Pros

good features for java development and some compile options. so many different java platforms and this is able to maintain all of them and switch. good plugins for java frameworks.

Cons

using a plugin for an alternative language, even something like ColdFusion which sits on top of Java, is very cumbersome and not that great.

LY
AvatarImg

Lsb Y.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IDE for automation

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Great variety of plugins and variety of frameworks available Integration is easy

Cons

Memory issues with low RAM computers Many options to understand at times

CN
AvatarImg

Claris N.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ECLIPSE IDE REVIEW

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

It has numerous plugins available that can be installed to add functionality for different programming languages, frameworks, and tools and this allows developers to customize their development environment to meet their specific needs.

Cons

The user interface of Eclipse can feel inconsistent since it combines elements from different platforms and can vary depending on the plugins you use and can be confusing for users.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Eclipse IDE opinion

Reviewed a year ago

I would recommend Eclipse to anyone interested in Java programming, it's powerful enough to do great things.

Pros

Eclipse is one of the best IDEs that I have tried, it offers a lot of features that make programming easy.

Cons

The only thing that I do not like it's the interface, basically because it looks old compared to other IDEs in the market.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bishal D.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Making Coding Easy for Me!

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Eclipse IDE is my go-to tool! It simplifies coding with its user-friendly interface and real-time error checks. Whenever I'm stuck, the helpful community support is a lifesaver. It's not just software; it's my coding buddy, boosting my confidence every day.

Cons

I feel a bit sluggish using Eclipse, especially when handling large projects. And installing plugins is a bit confusing and there are not many plugins compared to other IDE.

BL
AvatarImg

Blong L.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Perfect for backend web testing in Java

Reviewed a year ago

8/10! Great for beginners learning to test and easy to use. Perfect intergration with Jenkins. Love that it has cucumber implemented and I can just shorten my test to make it readable for others to read. Maven built in is so useful.

Pros

This is where I learned Java and practiced my first intern job of backend testing for my company's website. Great for beginner and easy to learn, has a nice organized structure on the left panel that you can customized with accordingly to whatever project you're doing.

Cons

It gets buggy with syncing and sometimes JARs don't work properly you have to move them around or either manually/auto through maven repository to work well. Also it can crash if running too many test, so I use multiple computer instead. So much error (red text) while testing, always have to figure out how to fix them. Wish they just create a template or a way to fix these issues without having to figure it out, such as logj4 errors and compatibility errors. Wish I can have a in-app browser instead of having to switch screen and back to Eclipse over and over when testing browser.

OD
AvatarImg

Osman D.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Eclipse_02-07-2022

Reviewed 2 years ago

I use it every day to development applications.

Pros

Eclipse is great to develop Java code. It has great extensions that can fetch from marketplace.

Cons

Eclipse debugging need improvement to debug features.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Abhuday T.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Robust IDE for Software and web application developers

Reviewed a year ago

Its a very versatile tools which can be customized to fit the need of all kind of developers.

Pros

It supports all the modern features like debugging, source code generation, refactoring, deploying application on server. It is easy to use and supports integration with github and SVN. Its very powerful when comes to testing of project and support various types of plugins.

Cons

It can be difficult to maintain some time and developer need to depend a lot on the eclipse community support for solutions.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Farhan M.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I will recommend all fellow developers to use Eclipse IDE

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Extensibility: Eclipse's core strength lies in its extensibility. The IDE is built on a modular architecture, allowing developers to add functionality through a vast array of plugins. This extensibility makes Eclipse highly adaptable to different programming languages, frameworks, and project requirements.Language Support: Eclipse provides excellent support for a wide range of programming languages, including Java, C/C++, Python, JavaScript, PHP, and more. It offers features specific to each language, such as syntax highlighting, code completion, debugging, and refactoring, ensuring a productive coding experience across various development domains.

Cons

Resource Intensive: Eclipse is known to be resource-intensive, especially when working on larger projects. It can consume a significant amount of memory and processing power, which may impact the overall performance of the IDE and slow down the development process, particularly on less powerful machines.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pratham S.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Widely Used IDEs For Automation And Development

Reviewed a year ago

It offers a variety of editors, and the night mode in more recent versions makes coding easier for developers. The community support there is outstanding for learners. Additionally, it offers a private code repository and a unified workspace.

Pros

It has the greatest code-writing recommendations and an easy-to-create framework. A very large community is available for any needed assistance. It contains many significant features, including automatic syntax validation and assistance with code reworking. I find that Eclipse plugins work best for me because they make it easier to integrate different supporting plugins into the IDE.

Cons

The time it takes to open and run the code can be extremely long. It crashes when I run numerous workspaces or projects. If Eclipse offered connectivity to a database server and the ability to create basic queries, that would be useful.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Niranjan K.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Not able to compete with modern day IDEs

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Java development was good with this tool. Debugging support is great. Keyboard shortcuts are nice.

Cons

Eclipse used to be my first IDE for java developments but it didn't change much with time. It is now pain while working with Eclipse.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Eclipse IDE for Java Development

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

A useful IDE for developing in JAVA. I used it to code Java with Spring framework and it was easy to use.

Cons

Using Eclipse IDE the projects take time to run.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best IDE for Software developers

Reviewed a year ago

Overall I like Eclipse IDE and I use it daily in my development process. Using It I can write code quickly and easily and using some plugins it can show issues with code and same time fixes also.

Pros

I am using it for Java development and I mostly like auto code completion, auto import of packages, Tomcat, and Database integration Although it provides a lot of features.We can quickly create a Jar or War file as per our need.It also supports integration for build tools like Ant and Maven.

Cons

The only issue I see with this is It consumes a lot of RAM and sometimes it is slow to open a large project.

MS
AvatarImg

Mahipal Singh B.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Eclipse IDE Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience with Eclipse IDE is good. It helps me to do the development in an efficient way. And also gives me suggestions to make my project efficient.

Pros

For Developers, it is one of the best IDE in the market for application development. It is easy to use and also memory efficient. It always gives you suggestions while developing the application. With the plugins feature, we can easily integrate with third-party software like the new Relic.

Cons

As of now, I don't have anything which I don't like about this software.

NP
AvatarImg

Nuno P.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A good IDE with unlimited possibilities

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Since this is an open source application, the plugins available are numerous. We may end up using it as a diagram modelling tool just because there is a plugin for that.

Cons

It is a very resource intensive application, so if you want to handle more plugins your machine will need more RAM.

JM
AvatarImg

Jacob M.

Government Relations, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Average editor for development

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

JavaEclipse has long been popular among Java developers. It offers powerful features for Java development, such as a Java compiler, project management tools, and code analysis capabilities. The IDE supports various frameworks and libraries commonly used in Java development.

Cons

Despite its powerful features, Eclipse has occasionally been criticized for performance issues, particularly when working with larger projects or complex codebases. Users have reported slow startup times, occasional freezes, or delays in tasks like indexing or code analysis.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mohammad W.

Automotive, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The All in one IDE

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Very simple and easy to use with a lot of options and customizations that lets you pick whatever is most suitable for you. Support for all types of coding via an internal market that has all the needed extensions. Big community of users that help fixing bugs.

Cons

Sometimes setting up eclipse for specific jobs might be a bit frustrating.

KG
AvatarImg

Kunal G.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Best Java developement ide

Reviewed 4 years ago

It was a best experience with eclipse as its versatile operation helps to work with all popular language like c, c++, python, and Java. It integrate with most of the tools and installing of extension are very easy. It have an autocomplete feature which help user to code with less error and quick

Pros

This has best user interface almost you can use it as ide for java, c/c++, python as because of its versatile operation. Good for project developement and management, it have an excellent debugging capacity which process the code fast

Cons

Nothing to dislike but it not support web development and it takes more memory location

SM
AvatarImg

Sairamya Madhavi Devi P.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Most recommended IDE

Reviewed 3 years ago

Since I have been using it since a long time, I am very comfortable with all the features however easy/complicated they are.

Pros

My main language of work is java. All my academic projects, professional projects were all on eclipse IDE. I find it very simple and useful to maintain java projects.

Cons

Setting up of eclipse is a tad tiresome. If you are not used to use this IDE, it will be hard to understand the project explorer.

SA
AvatarImg

Sajal A.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Eclipse: Java Development IDE

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It is a great tool for Java Programming. We can integrate different plugins for ease of development. found it very easy while debugging the application and founding the root cause of errors. Code completion feature makes coding quite easy. Also it is free of cost

Cons

It requires more RAM for debugging and sometime it crashes. Opening multiple instances is a nightmare.