All categories

Learn why GetApp is free

Phabricator

Open-source software development and project management tool

Phabricator Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


9 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Phabricator is the best hands down

Reviewed 4 months ago

Super useful software, that's really well built with the option to make it more serious or leave little developer quips in.

Pros

Phabricator makes it really easy for you to move from setup to creating tasks and projects. It's secure, open source, multi-functional and honestly just amazing.

Cons

Not all the features are available right away, so it does require a little configuration to ensure it works the way you want it to.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My favourite code review too

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall, I have enjoyed phabricator more than any of the alternatives I have used — it makes code review feel intuitive and lightweight; and integrate it in my daily workflow.

Pros

The ability to view code side-by-side; intelligent diff calculation; macros make reviewing fun; simple, intuitive and easy to understand state machine for the commit

Cons

Features outside of code review and browsing code are quite rudimentary, and as a result I end up using other tools for task management, etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A powerful tool that needs fine tuning

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'm happy with the solution, but I sometime feel frustrated not being able to address/find proper solutions to what seems to be simple/common situations for this kind of tool

Pros

Phabricator is an easy to implement and free tool, that can be used as a task/bug manager/tracker. It's pretty versatile and offers various pre-installed tools/plugins, with a lot of possible parameters to play with in order to create Projects, related tasks and link this to your repository solution (we are using Git). It offers the possibility to work with lists or board (kan-ban style), it has a free sprint plug-in that allows to Phabricator to be used as a scrum tool. Being free and stand-alone, it allows integrators/developers to come up with their own scripts and/or plugins.

Cons

It's a bit confusing at first, since the information can be presented in different style, at different places and, therefore, can be interpreted in different ways. The development is slow and a lot of features requested by paying customers as much as free users seem to take a long time before being addressed. It's understandable but could be a downer for potential users. The community behind it is not as active as other solutions, so finding a solution to your problem could take time and effort.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple and efficient

Reviewed 7 months ago

It's been good. Has most things in one tool (tasks, project management, code review, code explorer, paste bin etc).

Pros

It's simple. Things work well within the system. You can refer objects by just their ids. Code review is easy. Task and project management is simple Very good command line support

Cons

I love it. The only thing that others may not like is that it's not as full featured as JIRA. But that may be a feature

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Engineers

Reviewed a year ago

It's a good product to have all of the bug reports in one place.

Pros

Good tool for users to contact and work with Engineers. Since Engineers might be staring at lines of code for hours, they will be slow to respond to emails. This is a good tool to contact them.

Cons

It looks very dated. It can be very hard to maneuver around if you are not familiar with the interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Good for edge cases, but GitLab is better overall

Reviewed a year ago

Phabricator was chosen as the "standard" for my company's software development workflow before I started. The only redeeming value I can see in it is support for Mercurial and not being open core. That's it. I loathe using it and having to administer it and am thankful I've been provided with the opportunity to use GitLab for my own projects. I'm hopeful that we'll be able to switch more projects to GitLab over time because that seems to be significantly more fleshed out.

Pros

Phabricator is an open source product, not open core, so you're free to spin up an instance that has 100% of the available functionality. It has a broad set of tools, including some, like Herald, that are clever. Phacility is responsive to customer needs despite being such small company.

Cons

Phabricator is designed by developers for developers, and it shows. As someone who's gone from Ops to DevOps, nothing about it seems designed for someone like me. The names of the products are confusing and are probably supposed to be "funny." They aren't. Nothing about "Diffusion" screams "project repositories," for instance. The interface in general is not intuitive; I get frequent questions from...

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

No live update make this tool frustrating

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Works very smooth and has little to no issues performance wise

Cons

UI is meh, no auto refreshes or auto updates on boards make it frustrating. I have to manually refresh the page in order to see comments on tickets

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

For Engineers

Reviewed a year ago

I avoided having to use it if at all possible and am glad we moved to Trello

Pros

We used this software to help our company get organized with ordering supplies and keeping up with employee needs.

Cons

It was not easy to use. The engineers found it very useful for their flow, but regular employees had a hard time navigating and understanding how to make requests using the system

Overall Rating

    Share this review:

    This reviewer only left a rating

    Reviewed 2 years ago
    Pros

    No pros were added to this review

    Cons

    No cons were added to this review

    Select your country

    © 2010-2021 GetApp. All Rights Reserved.
    GetApp® is a registered trademark of Nubera eBusiness S.L. Nubera eBusiness uses its own and third-party cookies. By using the website you are accepting the use of these cookies. To get more information about our cookies click here.