This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Phabricator Logo

Phabricator

Open-source software development and project management tool

see alternatives

Phabricator Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.1

/5

15
73%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.57/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

The ability to view code side-by-side; intelligent diff calculation; macros make reviewing fun; simple, intuitive and easy to understand state machine for the commit.

RB

Ravi B.

Phabricator makes it really easy for you to move from setup to creating tasks and projects. It's secure, open source, multi-functional and honestly just amazing.
AvatarImg

Mark D.

Definitely a great experience. I would recommend Phabricator to all my friends who work in different industries.

ER

Earlie R.

UI is meh, no auto refreshes or auto updates on boards make it frustrating. I have to manually refresh the page in order to see comments on tickets.
AvatarImg

Ahmad A.

Phabricator's interface is incredibly confusing.

JS

Justin S.

I have fundamental problems with the way that Phabricator is designed. First, Phabricator is deployed as a Git repository and extensive amounts of manual setup.

JS

Justin S.

Phabricator users...

How would you rate Phabricator?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


15 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating

Maximal pain for minimal gain

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Justin: Hi. I'm Justin, DevOps engineer, and I give Phabricator a two out of five. For more reviews like...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

best tool to use for Tech stacks

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Phabricator has such a large array of tools for coding I can test everything inside their suite.

Cons

I haven't had any major issues using phabricator to work with my code and the fact that is free and open-sourced means fewer updates on the program itself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Phabricator is the best hands down

Reviewed 2 years ago

Super useful software, that's really well built with the option to make it more serious or leave little developer quips in.

Pros

Phabricator makes it really easy for you to move from setup to creating tasks and projects. It's secure, open source, multi-functional and honestly just amazing.

Cons

Not all the features are available right away, so it does require a little configuration to ensure it works the way you want it to.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A powerful tool that needs fine tuning

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm happy with the solution, but I sometime feel frustrated not being able to address/find proper solutions to what seems to be simple/common situations for this kind of tool

Pros

Phabricator is an easy to implement and free tool, that can be used as a task/bug manager/tracker. It's pretty versatile and offers various pre-installed tools/plugins, with a lot of possible parameters to play with in order to create Projects, related tasks and link this to your repository solution (we are using Git). It offers the possibility to work with lists or board (kan-ban style), it has a free sprint plug-in that allows to Phabricator to be used as a scrum tool. Being free and stand-alone, it allows integrators/developers to come up with their own scripts and/or plugins.

Cons

It's a bit confusing at first, since the information can be presented in different style, at different places and, therefore, can be interpreted in different ways. The development is slow and a lot of features requested by paying customers as much as free users seem to take a long time before being addressed. It's understandable but could be a downer for potential users. The community behind it is not as active as other solutions, so finding a solution to your problem could take time and effort.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Must have if use monorepo

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Phabricator is a great tool for medium to large company. It provides everything need for a large group of engineers and is perfect for monorepo.

Cons

It doesn't have a good per-repo permission control or customization.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Better than Github

Reviewed a year ago

Definitely a great experience. I would recommend Phabricator to all my friends who work in different industries.

Pros

I really like the interface of Phabricator. It's definitely user friendly.

Cons

The search engine can be improved when searching for this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Phabricator - Full featured Diff Reviews

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Its not just the diff being reviewed, its wrapped between all the contextual info as well. - Phabricator does a great job surfacing all the information like passing/failing tests - Your git stack is avaialble as part of the diff review, lets you see how the feature is evolving As close to pair programming as it gets at a distance.

Cons

The setup can be a bit complicated given you want to host your codebase on the web. To take full advantage of a CI features, you'll wire up the unit tests and deployment machines to test each diff and how it affects the big picture.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple and efficient

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's been good. Has most things in one tool (tasks, project management, code review, code explorer, paste bin etc).

Pros

It's simple. Things work well within the system. You can refer objects by just their ids. Code review is easy. Task and project management is simple Very good command line support

Cons

I love it. The only thing that others may not like is that it's not as full featured as JIRA. But that may be a feature

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

No live update make this tool frustrating

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Works very smooth and has little to no issues performance wise

Cons

UI is meh, no auto refreshes or auto updates on boards make it frustrating. I have to manually refresh the page in order to see comments on tickets

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

For Engineers

Reviewed 2 years ago

I avoided having to use it if at all possible and am glad we moved to Trello

Pros

We used this software to help our company get organized with ordering supplies and keeping up with employee needs.

Cons

It was not easy to use. The engineers found it very useful for their flow, but regular employees had a hard time navigating and understanding how to make requests using the system

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Maximal pain for minimal gain

Reviewed a year ago

For a free service, Phabricator is okay, but realize that Phacility, its parent company, is largely a one-man show. I wouldn't entrust my company's productivity to something with that sort of "bus factor." Be aware that if you *are* using Phabricator because it's free, Phacility doesn't respond to any feedback from you. Which I suppose is fair, given that it has to make money somehow. I have trouble thinking of reasons to use Phabricator over integrated platforms like GitLab (and even GitHub) that offer a more comprehensive, more thoroughly documented, more robustly backed experience.

Pros

Phabricator is entirely open source, so there's no need to worry about licensing fees. It supports multiple version control systems, which may be helpful in mixed environments. Its rule engine for notifications, Herald, allows us to set up complex notification schemes based on specific criteria.

Cons

I have fundamental problems with the way that Phabricator is designed. First, Phabricator is deployed as a Git repository and extensive amounts of manual setup. No easy deployment and upgrades for you! GitLab, which is a significantly bigger project, can be deployed as a single Linux package. This wouldn't be so painful if Phabricator's documentation was up to snuff, but it isn't. There are many aspects...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My favourite code review too

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, I have enjoyed phabricator more than any of the alternatives I have used — it makes code review feel intuitive and lightweight; and integrate it in my daily workflow.

Pros

The ability to view code side-by-side; intelligent diff calculation; macros make reviewing fun; simple, intuitive and easy to understand state machine for the commit

Cons

Features outside of code review and browsing code are quite rudimentary, and as a result I end up using other tools for task management, etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A fantastic way to improve product and process areas.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I loved that I was able to escalate issues with local geographic issues to a global team.

Cons

The CX is not the best if you're outside of a software engineering position. But it helped improve processes in a global company for me.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

go-to change management tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

easy to use great open source option for code submission and review tool for code changes and approval processes

Cons

github has a free trial for sampling the software and has beeter infrastructure automation offerings

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Engineers

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's a good product to have all of the bug reports in one place.

Pros

Good tool for users to contact and work with Engineers. Since Engineers might be staring at lines of code for hours, they will be slow to respond to emails. This is a good tool to contact them.

Cons

It looks very dated. It can be very hard to maneuver around if you are not familiar with the interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review