This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Udutu Guru LMS

Hosted course authoring & learning management system

see alternatives

Udutu Guru LMS Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

I love that they have a free option for small businesses to use as they grow and scale while still providing a great user experience. I am so thankful and grateful.

Bridget G.

We Odl Department of University of Bucharest, Romania we are proud to use Udutu like a platform of odl learning. It is easy to use, they have very good customer service.

Cosmin G.

Easy to use, dozens of features and options and it's free if you want to use on your own lms. Best free entry learning course ware out there.

Steve A.

Cons

I always find myself struggling to make the formatting correct and matching other slides.

Courtney S.

We are trialling UDUTU LMS in a moderate size water utility for emergency training.

David T.

I attempted to find help with many things, but it never gave me an answer, but in fact was very confusing.

Ross H.

Overall rating

4.5

5

4

3

2

1

25

22

0

0

0

100%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


47 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for start ups

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I love that they have a free option for small businesses to use as they grow and scale while still providing a great user experience. I am so thankful and grateful!

Cons

There is nothing that I disliked about the software.

Vendor response

Thank you Bridget. We are glad that our product is useful for your start up!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I used the Udutu eLearning Authoring Tool Mostly and It was Great

Reviewed 4 years ago

I recommend Udutu if you want a quick way to get eLearning to your audience, know what you want, and that means you don't want the fanciest features. If you do any kind of training that changes a lot, this is an excellent tool because it is nimble and allows changes to be made quickly. For me the biggest benefit was the time saved getting people to review drafts because the tool is web-based. I could just share a preview link or make people a user so they could log in directly and suggest or make changes.

Pros

First of all, the free version of the Udutu Authoring Tool was excellent. Then I started paying because I wanted the ability to customize the interface. Udutu may not have had all the features of an install/application authoring tool, it had just what I needed to create eLearning tutorials with images, text, video, audio, and quizzes. Plus, because it was cloud....it was so easy to collaborate with others in my organization. That might have saved me dozens of hours during a development project not having to publish and share drafts. I could just share a preview link on the web to get feedback.

Cons

The features hardly ever seemed to change in the 2-3 years I used it. It does not have the ability to create simulations or to record audio/video in the tool (you have to do that with other tools then upload the files to Udutu) so keep that in mind.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Learning the tech way

Reviewed 4 years ago

I used udutu to create a learning module for my company but could not accomplish all but one feature which allows changing subtitles language for the video But overall udutu is good to learn and efficient for quick accomplishments

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Terrific user friendl program and the Best customer support in the modern age

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use UDUTU for several online courses, and have done for several years now, I have not trialed their LMS as yet but if it is as efficient as the course builder I would guess it will be excellent.

Pros

Ease of use, does what it says on the box, and real customer support,\! when a glitch became apparent they said sure we can fix that, they even called me back on my time, and took time to understand how UDUTU worked for me.

Cons

occasionally as with all programs, something changes and I would like more notifications when it happens.

Vendor response

Thank you Roy! Always a pleasure working with you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The LMS and the Udutu team have been A+ in helping us host our online courses.

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are easily able to upload and host our online course programs.

Pros

As an administrator, we have found the system to be very well organized and easy to use. As well, I have found the ability to track students, their curriculum, and their progress to be instrumental as we grow.

Cons

We have very little complaints. As the Udutu team is very responsive, we find that the LMS gets improvements based on our feedback and comments.

Vendor response

Hi John, Always a pleasure working with you. Glad you've found our LMS easy to use and key to your stellar growth. Thanks for the review! - Stu & Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I think the UI looks great and clear.

Reviewed 5 years ago

pros - UI look and feel and is easy to use. Cons price - is a bit high compared to other LMS authoring tool - looks like an old application

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Christine , Thank you for your review. Much appreciated. However , I see that you are not too impressed by our LMS pricing :> I can assure you that Udutu's LMS is one of the best valued LMS solutions out there in the market worth every cent you pay for it. Our cost per credit (i.e user per course) at $5 is one of the lowest in the industry and you can independently verify that by reviewing other...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It was very easy to use and understand.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Development and implementation was very easy/ Corrections were a breeze to make. It is easy to learn how to use.

Cons

The help document/application is not helpful at all. I attempted to find help with many things, but it never gave me an answer, but in fact was very confusing.

Vendor response

Hey Ross, Thanks for the feedback! We're continually working to refine our support options (in-app walk-throughs, our Knowledge Base, video tutorials, etc.) to make it easier to find what you're looking for. Of course, if you ever have any questions you're free to email or call us for some one-on-one support! - Stu

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Shallow learning curve to get all you need

Reviewed 6 years ago

We are trialling UDUTU LMS in a moderate size water utility for emergency training. Although in the early stages we have found that UDUTU LMS is quite easy to learn especially given that this is my first LMS. I have hit a few blocks which were rapidly overcome by a very responsive and bend-over-backwards support service from UDUTU. Given I am in Australia I was getting feedback on most of my questions within an hour or so when I expected a 24 hour turn around. A couple of elements I found dificult to locate but managed to work my way through using the available guidance provided. Those familiar with this type of software would probably find no problems at all. Overall this is a very easy to learn, easy to use and effective product.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks very much for using Udutu and for this review David. We appreciate having you as a client. Please don't hesitate to contact us if anything comes up in the way of questions!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use. Lots of templates to help users to create e-learning objects easily.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Pros - easy to use. Highly customized templates. Cons- not flexible enough to accommodate customized needs.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Khang, Thank you for your review. I see that you are in need of additional customizability options. Please feel free to contact support to discuss your options in that case. I am sure the Udutu support will be able to provide you with an implementable solution that caters to your needs. Please note that even though the Udutu platform provides extensive customizability options by default , we still have to maintain a single standard for a consistent user experience , because of which some advanced users have to discuss options with support( which is free). For 99% (3.9 Million) of our users , this is not the case and they find the default customizability options within Udutu more than adequate for their needs. Thanks- Sedan@Udutu

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Perfect for small organization

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are a small church (600 in attendance). We needed to put our membership class in an online class format but could not afford the fees of the bigger online solutions. Udutu was perfect and the monthly expense is very reasonable. Took some time to learn the software, but once that happened it was straightforward. Highly recommend, especially for smaller organizations like ours with limited budgets.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Ron , Thank you for your review. We are glad you found Udutu's products useful and engaging. To speed up the learning process, you can always use the wide variety of tutorials, manuals and content available on the website which normally makes the learning process very easy and simple . Additionally , we are always available in case you have a particular query. Thanks- The Udutu Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quick and Straightforward

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have used this software as an educational tool to guide students through lab sessions. The sequence of slides supported by embedded videos, and questions to check learning have been very useful. The SCORM facility means it can be imported into the LMS system in use in my workplace. It is a quick and easy system that gets you going quickly, and there are many features which I have not explored, particularly the various online assessments options

Pros

Easy to use and produce a professional looking resource

Cons

On occasion there is not a template that suits my needs

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Useful

Reviewed 5 years ago

I use this software to do project for the university. At the firt it isn't simple to use but when i understand how use it ...it is became very useful and pratical.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Silvia , Thank you for your review and your great overall rating. However I see that you had some difficulty learning the tools initially. Here at Udutu , we take user experience very seriously and so we have taken additional steps to make this process even easier for future users considering your comments. Moreover a new user can use the wide variety of tools, tutorials and support available on the website(http://www.udutu.com/index.php/tutorials/) to make the learning process easy as pie. I hope you find great use of our services going into the future as well. Thanks - Business Manager@Udutu

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use Authoring tool and very cost effective.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have kicked the tires on Moodle and many other Authoring tools and LMSs, and UDUTU.com always makes the top 3. It is the least expensive by far.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Howard, Thank you for your review and your perfect 5 star overall rating. At Udutu , we work very hard to make the user experience and value we provide to our clients as world class. Our customer support is also free for our 4 million users and 70K customers, which can sometimes lead to a temporary delay in response due to the enormity of our free support program. But still , we will take your 4/5 star review of our free support seriously and will improve even further. Thanks again for your review and please feel free to contact us anytime! Thanks Sedan@Udutu

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overall a nice LMS

Reviewed 5 years ago

I mainly use Udutu for creating SCORM packages to incorporate in our Moodle classes. It is a nice resource but there are several formatting issues. I always find myself struggling to make the formatting correct and matching other slides. If this issue was resolved, Udutu would receive 5 stars from me!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Courtney , Thank you for your review. It seems like you are running into some formatting issues.I can assure you that formatting slides with Udutu's LMS is a easy and straight forward process if you take help of the resources and tutorials available on the website. If you are still finding it difficult , please give us a call anytime and we will guide you through the process step by step. Regards, Sedan @Udutu

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy and understandable software, rich in ways to give shape to different paths of learning

Reviewed 5 years ago

1.The seperate slides are automatically filled with different parts of content. In some cases I would love to see an easy way to use different styles for text, to fill the slides in a more aesthetic way. 2. Some YouTube movies were by the conversion loosing quality in convincing power, because the personal expression of speaking persons seemed somehow slower and by that somehow overdone, unnaturally enlarged. Apart from these two cons I loved to work with Udutu. Ik tried some Dutch alternatives, which were certainly of a less value. I especially love the possibilities to create different paths in following the information for different students.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Used it for past 10 years

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very easy to use, intuitive and price is effective.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Tanya , Thank you for your perfect overall rating.However I am disappointed to see the two star rating you gave our customer service. We at Udutu pride ourselves for our exemplary customer service( which is free for all) and so its a bit of a surprise to see this. Nonetheless, I apologize myself and on part of the team if we were not able to properly address your concerns. I can assure you that we don't take these issues lightly and will make super sure that you are happy & content the next time you deal with our support. Regards Sedan

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Course tracking

Reviewed 7 years ago

Used the LMS to track the online course we developed for parents, At $19/month it fit the budget and allowed us the flexibility to only pay for the course when we needed it (2 months at a time). Another advantage we found was that we could stop and start the tracking as needed and all our information was kept intact so we could pick up right where we left off. Overall this LMS suited our needs perfectly due to the cost and the flexibility it allowed us in tracking our course.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks Sarah. So glad it's proven to be a useful tool for Girls on the Run. A great program that both my daughters have enjoyed and benefitted from.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Exelent LMS, and a free authoring tool!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I used the authoring tool provided by udutu to create a learning app for my graduation thesis, and the final result was awesome. I gives you a easy to use interface, compatibility with most of the necessary file types (video, audio, pictures, text....), and its very versatile. The option to link the slides with buttons engages the learner and allows him to navigate through the slides as he wishes. Overall an excellent software :)

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks Vasco! We are always here for you if you need any additional help or support. The Udutu Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We are proud to use Udutu

Reviewed 5 years ago

We Odl Department of University of Bucharest, Romania we are proud to use Udutu like a platform of odl learning. It is easy to use, they have very good customer service. Thank you Udutu for making learning so easy

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks Cosmin! For Udutu , our customers are our top most priority and we do everything possible to keep our customers happy. We are glad to hear that you found our support and customer service similar to what we have envisioned- that is to be it awesome! So thanks again! - The Udutu Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Ease of Preparation and Delivery

Reviewed 5 years ago

I used the software to design a course for an education course I was doing in Curriculum Development. It helped me to show the possibilities in terms of the effective application and integration of technology in teaching. The software gave me significant scope and allowed me to show that a course can still be rigorous and engaging even though it is not offered using the face to face modality. I think it worked very well and I passed the course so I am very happy.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very Easy to Use

Reviewed 5 years ago

We used it at my school to make a 'freshman seminar' sort of class. I picked it up very quickly!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Cristena , Thank you for your review. Here at Udutu , we work super hard to make the user experience as smooth as possible. We are glad to hear that you think along similar lines and found the user experience and user design quite intuitive. If you have any queries going into the future, please feel free to contact us. And thanks again! - The Udutu Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Outstanding

Reviewed 5 years ago

There are too many pros to list. It does exactly what it says on the tin. Easy to use, dozens of features and options and it's free if you want to use on your own lms. Best free entry learning course ware out there.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Thanks Steve! Our home users are a very big part of our success and its people like you who give us the motivation to keep serving our customers to the very best of our abilities. We sincerely thank you for your comments. The Udutu Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I am one of the first to use the LMS and it has been great.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I think the LMS is really easy to use. Navigation is very easy to understand. I have always had a great experience with UDUTU and the customer service they provide. Anytime we have requests UDUTU has always been very quick to respond and take care of any issue we have. There are now continued enhancements that will allow us to do amazing things in the future in which will make my job much easier.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I found this software to be pretty good.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I like the ease of the use of this software.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Pamela, Thank you for your review. I am glad to know that you are finding Udutu's LMS very productive and user friendly. A great user design / user experience is at the core of the Udutu LMS's philosophy and we work very hard to keep it this way. It makes me very happy that you see it the same way as well. Regards Sedan - Manager@Udutu

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Service!!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I tried Udutu out for a little while. The first thing I noticed is how easy it is to use. I went away for a little while and came back and I was able to pick back up right where I left off without any problems. I truly like the experience. I havent had any issues with them as a software or as a company. I would recommend them to ANYONE I know that is looking for a learning platform.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review