Spreadsheet Server Reviews

Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

4.31/5 (13 reviews)

Pros
  • Distribution scheduler allows you to schedule them during off hours
  • Great tool for connecting to multiple databases and generating reports with Excel add-in functionality.
  • Spreadsheet Server is critical in allowing us to produce financial statements that are integrated into our financial software.
  • This software uses ERP live data with Microsoft Excel. You can easily create spreadsheets, has advanced filter options and what not.
Cons
  • Slow to build reports, slow running really large reports
  • Needs minor improvements and few bug fixes. Other than that it is a good software. I would recommend it.
  • It takes a little time and training to fully understand the queries, how they work and associate one query to another.
  • Conflicts with some other Excel add-ons; occasional issues with some users and PCs; custom GL doesn't have all the features of a standard GL version
100%
recommended this to a friend or a colleague
Donald McLellan

Low cost; easy to use; effective reporting solution

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-08-11
Review Source: Capterra

Replaced all our financial related reporting; very flexible and easy to train new users

Pros
Excel based; relatively easy to learn; works out of the box with simple install; has replaced all our internal financial and management reporting

Cons
Conflicts with some other Excel add-ons; occasional issues with some users and PCs; custom GL doesn't have all the features of a standard GL version

Response from Global Software


Thanks for your feedback, Donald! We appreciate learning more about our users¿ experiences. Our recent update, Spreadsheet Server 14.6.4, includes several enhancements. Contact us at customersuccess@globalsoftwareinc.com to upgrade today!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

Karl Shaw

I use Spreadsheet Server only twice a year but at those times it's critical.

Used occasionally for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-01
Review Source: Capterra

Because Spreadsheet Server is connected to our general ledger, when we enter a journal entry we get immediate updates in the financial statements.

Pros
Spreadsheet Server is critical in allowing us to produce financial statements that are integrated into our financial software.

Cons
Our financial statements contain many tables and schedules. Because of this, Spreadsheet Server has to look into almost every general ledger account in our system. This results in an initial load time each day of approximately 15-20 minutes. Excel is unavailable for any other use during that time.

Response from Global Software


Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that Spreadsheet Server is such a critical part of your financial reporting environment! Our team has just issued a new release, V 14.6, which should significantly improve your load time. We¿ve received very positive feedback on this enhanced capability. Please reach out to your customer success representative for more details or email customersuccess@globalsoftwareinc.com .

Thank you,
The Spreadsheet Server Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

Ray Boonzaayer

We use this product as a replacement for Oracle FSG reports for departmental and location reporting.

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-08-11
Review Source: Capterra

Reporting times dropped from 3 to 4 days to overnight.

Pros
The product offers great flexibility, looks at the live data and all hierarchies. Distribution Manager and Profile Scheduler really enhance the reporting functionality.

Cons
Performance is slow particularly for transaction based reports. Updating to the very latest software was of great help but we had to move the transactions to a table for quicker queries. This allowed reports to be able to complete overnight (around 8 hours) but we are limited to only a periods worth of data at a time for transaction based reports. The translated ledgers are not currently working but consolidation ledger are so not a top priority but something to fix in the future.

Response from Global Software


Thanks for your thoughtful response, Ray. We¿re happy to hear that you are experiencing success with your reporting times. We have an even more recent update for you, Spreadsheet Server 14.6.4, which includes more enhancements. Contact us at customersuccess@globalsoftwareinc.com to upgrade today!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

Vaibhav Mali

A neat spreadsheet for you detailed reports

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-12-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
We had a very peculiar situation where we wanted to make sure that all the data from our project development team, testing team, product implementation team and finally QA team would be on same page and would deliver the product to consumer as required, but the biggest task was how to get 10 different people living across the globe and sharing the same spreadsheet, so we searched and found out Spreadsheet server, that gave instant solution to our long lingering problem. As the same spreadsheet was used to collect and replay the data, it was easy enough to be accurate and to hunt down in case of discrepancy. Super joyed with the software

Cons
There are lot many layers created in the software to "Drill down"to get the results, once you are used to that, you feel it easy. But getting used to the same takes some time and then you can generate reports as required

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

Ayushi Mundra

Amazing accounting tool. Recommend.

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-08-08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
SpreadSheet server seamlessly integrates live ERP data directly into Excel. It generates various account based reports that are flexible as per need.

Cons
Needs minor improvements and few bug fixes. Other than that it is a good software. I would recommend it.

Response from Global Software


Thanks, Ayushi! We¿re happy to see that Spreadsheet Server is working so well with your ERP data. Our latest update, Spreadsheet Server 14.6.3, includes several enhancements. Contact us at customersuccess@globalsoftwareinc.com to upgrade today!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

Karan Uppal

A good value for money. Highly recommend!

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-10-10
Review Source: Capterra

I am extremely satisfied with this software. It is helpful in creating complex reports and data analysis.

Pros
This software uses ERP live data with Microsoft Excel. You can easily create spreadsheets, has advanced filter options and what not.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

Gail Olney

SS Server

Used occasionally for free trial
Reviewed 2019-03-26
Review Source: Capterra

We built quite a few reports but it took fewer than our old system due to ability to run them various ways.

Pros
Distribution scheduler allows you to schedule them during off hours

Cons
Slow to build reports, slow running really large reports

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

Yeshuwanth Ladda

Low cost; easy to use; effective reporting solution

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-03-31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
The best thing is that I get to use excel to build the reports and make them look the way I want. All without having to get custom reports built by the accounting software vendor.

Cons
If connecting to multiple databases, report generation is often slow. Can take time running very detailed reports. Can have issues when enabled in Excel when opening a new Excel document.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

Greg Beckman

This helps enable you to build reports in our accounting software and make then look the way we want

Used monthly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-07-20
Review Source: Capterra

Better reporting with being able to customize the look.

Pros
The best thing is that I get to use excel to build the reports and make them look the way I want. All without having to get custom reports built by the accounting software vendor.

Cons
It takes a little time and training to fully understand the queries, how they work and associate one query to another.

Response from Global Software


Great to hear from you, Greg! We¿re excited that you¿re experiencing so much success with Spreadsheet Server. We¿re here to make sure your experience is always a positive one. Our latest version has many enhancements, including ease of use! Contact us at customersuccess@globalsoftwareinc.com to upgrade.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

Matt Shirey

Great tool for connecting to databases and running reports

Used monthly for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-06-07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Great tool for connecting to multiple databases and generating reports with Excel add-in functionality.

Cons
If connecting to multiple databases, report generation is often slow. Can take time running very detailed reports. Can have issues when enabled in Excel when opening a new Excel document.

Response from Global Software


Thank you for your review. We are always interested in learning more about your experience with Spreadsheet Server. Our team has just issued a new release, V 14.6, which should significantly improve your load time. We¿ve received very positive feedback on this enhanced capability. Please reach out to your customer success representative for more details or email customersuccess@globalsoftwareinc.com .

Thank you,
The Spreadsheet Server Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

Dale Litchford

Great Product

Reviewed 2017-04-26
Review Source: Capterra

We use Spreadsheet Server extensively. It has great functionality, is easy to use and saves us quite a bit of time. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Response from Global Software


Awesome feedback! Great to hear about your positive experience with Spreadsheet Server, Dale!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

Dann Maienza

Cool new tool for Financials

Used weekly for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-04-26
Review Source: Capterra

So far with the free license it is pretty cool to use. Going to discuss other options with our rep soon.

Response from Global Software


Hi Dann, Thank you for your review! We look forward to your continued deployment of Spreadsheet Server!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting

Akhilesh Patel

Rating only

Reviewed 2018-03-16
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Minimize review


Spreadsheet Server

Connect your ERP to Excel in real-time for Finance reporting