App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Axure Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.4

/5

104
90%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.19/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

Axure can be a beast but it's great for very large scale super detailed projects. If you need to easily tie requirements into your UX work, Axure is perfect for you.
Best tool for creative wireframes which supports many integrations like Jira & Slack.
I have been choosing among different solutions, but finally stick with Axure, because IMHO it has the best interface and the widest set of opportunities to implement actions.
The software requires much effort to create detailed prototypes, asking you to know a bit of coding logic to work with it. It's also terrible for UI design.
Also, sometimes it can be frustrating the way some of the simple interactions have to be built to work as the user expect.
Learning to use Axure is complicated. Mostly because of the ton of options, and partly because it is difficult to discover how the internal mechanics operate.

Axure users...

Visio-logocaret
listing-logo

Visio

Sketch-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Sketch

Adobe Illustrator-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Adobe Illustrator

InVision App-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

InVision App

How would you rate Axure?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


104 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Axure review 2022

Reviewed 14 days ago

Nice tool for creating responsive apps and is very easy to use, suitable for medium and large enterprises. Highly recommend it

Pros

Best tool for creative wireframes which supports many integrations like Jira & Slack. Axure is pretty much better for prototyping which enormously helps to save time and enhances workflow with quality results. It's easy to work with and provides a responsive drag & drop editing experience. The tool is very beginner-friendly with a good customer support service.

Cons

Pricing plans are too high. This doesn't always favor everyone especially individuals with low budgets. I'm wondering why it's only available in English? Does it mean, French users or any other user can't work with it? I look at it as a #1 handicap. developers should look back to it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Axure RP 8 - still going strong

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was trained on Sketch at the beginning of my career, and when I transitioned jobs, I argued for Sketch, since I wasn't familiar with Axure. Now that I have been using Axure for 2+ years, I don't think I'll ever go back to Sketch. Axure saves me time while allowing me to communicate design concepts and information architecture.

Pros

One of the best things about Axure is that you can write text within elements. In comparison, in Sketch, you need to add an additional text element. For low-mid fidelity wireframes, Axure is way more efficient than Sketch. The second best thing is how well balanced the features are- everything is there in one place. You got your creation covered (complex interactions included), you got the generation of a share link without needing to export the screens to another app, you can also collect feedback via the discussion panel. Widgets are customizable, there's plenty of user help available on the web regarding how to do various things... Axure is great for rapid prototyping.

Cons

Collaboration features are mostly non-existent, but that can be solved by storing the .rp file in a cloud, such as Google Drive Stream. I wish the widget names would save when pressing 'enter' on the keyboard instead of clicking out of the field, but that is a minor issue. In Sketch, I do still prefer the way they use symbols, in Axure the masters vs panels seem to be a bit convoluted.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

I wouldn't buy it again

Reviewed 4 years ago

I used Axure several times, once for a smartwatch-project, the other times for smartphone app-projects. Then I switched to InVision. Why? Because it was painful to handle Axure. I don't like it and it feels like the developers didn't like what they do. And here's the problem. I want to love creating prototypes and I want to love the prototypes. But I can't love it all using Axure.

Pros

You can create good prototypes for many different devices with Axure and it will do as it should with routing, sound and functions. Through some lines of code it will offer you more if you like and if you find it.

Cons

The user interface is not the strength of Axure and the prototypes you get don't look good. Yes, it's a prototype, but a good look - somehow - or a good feeling would support to carry over what you want to create. Instead you get something that looks like it stands on legs made of wooden sticks. Crafting the prototypes isn't feeling fine and you can waste a lot of time because it doesn't feel natural.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

UX-oriented must have

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

It provides the process side of designing instead of UI oriented solutions of similar type. The community around the app is very helpful.

Cons

It gets complicated in case of complex interactions, so you need to spend some time on particular solutions.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The Best Software for UX Work

Reviewed 3 years ago

Axure allows us to quickly and easily put together high fidelity prototypes to share within internal and external stakeholders. The functionality is powerful enough that our prototypes often get mistaken for full working builds of software.

Pros

- Extremely powerful prototyping toolset - All the "fit and finish" features you need from Illustrator or Sketch

Cons

- Team and cloud functionality needs more features - Documentation and customer support isn't always helpful

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent for teams using multiple apps and services.

Reviewed 9 months ago

Overall this was a pleasure to use and refreshing to allow people to use what apps they like but still be able to collaborate and not have a mess trying to keep everything together.

Pros

A big plus for Axure is the plugins and interactions available for a larger number of other apps. This is great for teams who have people using more different UX apps and work best in one and not the other, but this brings everyone's work together easily.

Cons

Depending on your needs and how many people need access, the price can get steep quickly and may be a detractor for some people but it does carry a lot of value for the money.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool loosing its market

Reviewed 2 years ago

Honestly, it is a great tool of its purpose.

Pros

It is by far the best tool to create hi-fi interactive prototypes. No other tool comes close to its features to create interactive behaviors. These prototypes are so good they can be used for intensive user testing, as users are not able to tell them apart from real apps or websites. I can mock with Axure in a couple of weeks what would take a dev team months to code and deploy. And that can save huge amounts of development costs.

Cons

Learning to use Axure is complicated. Mostly because of the ton of options, and partly because it is difficult to discover how the internal mechanics operate. But the biggest con is that when I look into the UX design job market, practically there are no positions requesting knowledge of Axure. Everything is Sketch or Figma, that while great to create UI mockups are no rivals of Axure when creating interactive prototypes. However Axure has lost totally its market appeal. Probably Axure should have bought Sketch or Figma when it realized it was going to be overwhelm by these tools in the UI authoring arena. Also unlike Sketch, Axure does not have a 3rd party plugin market. And this closedness has reduced further more its utility.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Puissant mais complexe

Reviewed 2 years ago

La prise en main a exigé de longues heures de pratique et de lectures de tutoriels. Puis c'est la phase de découverte du logiciel qui exige beaucoup de temps pour comprendre toutes les arcanes du logiciel. Enfin, après de très longues heures de pratique on découvre un monde caché de fonctionnalités qui libèrent la créativité et la finesse de création de prototypes HD. Une fois le logiciel maîtrisé, il permet de tester des concepts rapidement ou encore de tester des workflow complexes avec des utilisateurs, ravis d'une telle richesse fonctionnelle.

Pros

Possibilités de créer des prototypes très riches et ajouter des micro-comportements très utiles pour mener des tests utilisateurs complets.

Cons

La courbe d'apprentissage du logiciel est longue et parsemée d'embuches. Le plaisir de travailler avec Axure est un chemin long mais le résultat est incomparable avec d'autres outils.

Showing original review in French. See translation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Don't use words , use flow

Reviewed 9 months ago

in overall when i want to use minimum text and maximum demonstration i'm using it, saving lots of dev time and demo help to provide the best solution to the stakeholder

Pros

very ease to create porotypes that demonstrate the actual behavior ad the desire flow. save time of development and miss communication, sharing the the generated link with the prototype 1st to stakeholder to approved and verify that's what he had in mind / resolved the pain and for developer to understand the required behavior

Cons

i would expect Axure to give user on creating new prototype to choose the dimensions of the canvas per device (Mobile, tablet, pc) on upgrading to new version old projects were not supported, i had to scout for solution

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Axure is so expensive, but has great features to back it up.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall great product, but really expensive! People will pay for it because it serves multiple purposes within the design world! Great support if you need help and good training resources to learn more.

Pros

You can prototype for ios, android, desktop and web. It's great for complex interactions, sharing, generating HTML files. You can prototype and wireframe within the product and it provides a lot of really juicy features that support good documentation of your products.

Cons

There is definitely a learning curve. Axure needs to implement some type of guidance or additional training within their products. Put in step by step guidance for each feature, it'll help your users to learn more while actively living in the products. Also create some good templates for your users to utilize.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

If you want to make their jaws drop when you say "no, this is just a prototype," use Axure!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Faster feature implementation

Pros

Axure makes interactive prototypes so easy, and has saved us millions of rounds of back-and-forth for people who "need to see the whole picture" or "feel the workflow end-to-end" before they can give feedback. There is not a substitute out there (everything else just creates hotspots and links). The support team and training materials are also awesome. This tool makes me so happy and makes me look professional as a UX designer. I've used it for everything -- from workflows to high-fidelity user-facing usability tests.

Cons

Axure is not a traditional design tool to replace high-fidelity photoshop mockups or sketch vector assets. Its implementation of master widgets do some of the things a designer might need, but it is still not the same as what you get with a final-asset tool that traditional designers would use. The mobile-responsive flow is also a little wonky sometimes. There are breakpoints you can design for but not fluid design states.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I really like Axure because it scales to your needs and is easy to use!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've found this tool replaced my need for separate tools for wireframes, interactive mockups, etc. This is a truly encompassing tool with good forum support. It takes a couple of hours with an existing project to mock out a look and feel for new modules, things that would take my Dev team days to accomplish.

Pros

It's flexible and works if you want a quick wireframe or if you want an interactive functional demo. It's got good online support in forums and training videos and the price was much better than other tools I tried (like iRise). It's fun to work in and build demos and the dynamic panels are tremendously powerful.

Cons

Ever want to review different color schemes for you mocks? Good luck. The one downside of Axure is that dynamic panels (which are wonderful) are essentially all spaghetti code. You build a different page and show it. Once you have a lot of pages a color scheme change isn't a simple css edit, it's hundreds of little changes made using the formatting bar...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great way to create easy to use prototype

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, Axure has helped us accelerate our product design process.

Pros

The designers in my team and I use it to create prototypes on the go that I can share with our users during my user researches. I like the way you can share them easily, there is no limit as to what you can create with them.

Cons

I would really like to have more tutorials as to how to create a specific experience. Even though the docu is good, there's just something missing there.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best prototyping tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am a heavy user of this program. Axure helps to create prototypes of the websites before the web development step. It helps me to discuss and to arrange all the details with the client before web development stage.

Pros

It is one of my favorite tools. As a web developer, I need a tool to prototype future websites. I have been choosing among different solutions, but finally stick with Axure, because IMHO it has the best interface and the widest set of opportunities to implement actions. Especially its work with dynamic panels and its ability to implement animation.

Cons

Works slowly with large files, freezes often, the back-ups aren't 100% accurate sometimes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the strongest tool for dynamic prototyping

Reviewed 3 years ago

One tool for all your prototyping​ need, be it animation or a simple drop down.

Pros

These days you have dozens of tools available for prototyping but none of them are as strong as Axure, the usp here is dynamism. Whilst most of the prototyping tool lets you work with static screen, Axure allow you to make it dynamic without writing a single line of code. You can build a complete design system in Axure which is a​ one-time​ investment​ but goes a ​long way in saving time.

Cons

No mobile support yet, considering the complexity and logic it lets you handle not sure how possible is the ​mobile version.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A powerful design tool with a learning curve.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Axure has improved our UX prototyping process and is invaluable to our team.

Pros

Axure is a great tool for creating interactive prototypes. It allows for deep interactions and linking. Coupled with the ability to download and use widget libraries (drag and drop prebuilt components) it's possibly to quickly build engaging prototypes.

Cons

While axure is very powerful it does come with a learning curve to truly use all of it features. Another con is that documentation on the advanced features is a little light. The forum is helpful but you will end up asking questions around more complicated processes while learning.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A great interactive prototyping tool for developers or designers with graphic design software exp.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I love that you can make FUNCTIONAL prototypes with this software! Being able to present a "working prototype" is a huge benefit of this tool. With the use of "behaviors" and "widgets", you can ensure that the stakeholders get a interactive demo BEFORE you start development! I also love the fact that you can have "pages" that when published can mimic a real working website. The publisher feature of Axure allows you to share prototypes with clients or stakeholders and get feedback from an unique URL. There are so many pre-made widgets out there as well that can be imported for use right in the prototype, making it truly adaptable to development frameworks, like Google Material Design.

Cons

It was easy for me to get up and running using this software given my background and experience with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator. I think without some background in those applications, this software may have a learning curve. Also, it may have limitations when compared with web-based versions when it comes to portability of your source files. The constant updates can be annoying to keep track of, as I often end up with multiple installations instead of a true upgrade, but that could be user error or lack of knowledge of proper Axure updating on my end.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I've been using Axure for creating high fidelity prototypes for 2+ years.

Reviewed 4 years ago

I'm able to visualize my ideas to my team. It's a crucial step in our design process.

Pros

I love that you can create high fidelity wires with full interactions. I'm capable of creating something that's fully interactive and looks like a complete website without ever having to write a line of code. It really helps me speak to my designs.

Cons

I wish there was a spec sheet to hand off to developers. Often when I hand over my wires, they have to replicate what I've created just by sight.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great for UX Prototypes, but has a huge learning curve.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Axure is a love and hate relationship. It has a steep learning curve at the beginning, but once you are above the learning curve, it gets better and better. The functionality built in the software is awesome and you can literally make an exact experience as if you were coding. Use of libraries and other features can help you get started with basic set of tools and help you speed up your workflow.

Cons

The learning curve is steep and a challenge. You question yourself on why you are putting yourself through the learning when there are easier options available. Axure also allows you to do a lot more than other options, and if you are looking for the perfect prototype, you can spend hours figuring things out on axure needlessly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best tool to create interactive prototype

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Whatever is possible in the current UI/UX, this system will provide all the option. You will be able to render this into the multiple devices and check the output.

Cons

Since tool is having a lot of features, tutorial should be embedded with it otherwise its very difficult for the user to find out which features to use or not to use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Wonderful tool to wireframe

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I enjoy how intuitive it is to start creating right away. I use Axure to create wireframes and prototypes of applications. Additionally, when I find myself not understanding how the software works, I reference the online materials provided and am able to quickly resolve my issues. Axure provides wonderful documentation and tutorials for beginners, which really led to my understanding of the software and its capabilities. One of my favorite features include being able to comment on the pages and specific elements of the prototype. Another one would be being able to share a prototype through a link, especially being able to put a password on it so only people that I want to access it are able to. I highly recommend Axure for those looking to create mockups and prototypes.

Cons

Something that would really help me create prototypes faster would be providing more templates or drag and drop options. An example of something that would help my line of work is having drag and drop options to make prototypes for mobile apps. Some of the elements might be just having cell phone bodies, or popular cell phone UI buttons and widgets ( ie. back buttons on either iPhone or Android). Axure allows me to create nice prototypes from scratch but I would enjoy being able to use already made elements.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good tool for creating mock up for complex application

Reviewed 4 years ago

We are reducing the business and development conflicts by generating the mock ups.

Pros

The tool comes with a lot of standard function which is used day to day basis for designer and developers for different application development practice. Learning curve is less compered to it's competitors. You can publish your design and allow user to review and share your feedback. You can also take the output in to your local folders and share with developers so that they can refer as the base of the design and development. The out of box copy feature allows a lot of style and content copying which saves a lot of time.

Cons

The default graphic set is not vast so you might have to rely on some external graphics. Many of the common graphic components are missing, I hope they add quickly

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

High quality tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It's fairly simple, even for beginners, to create a great looking and full featured prototype of a project.

Cons

In the beginning, the UI didn't seem to be the most fluid or user-friendly but you quickly learn your way around.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great App for all UXers

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great for prototyping both basic websites and complex solutions, has plenty features that automate the process, teamwork regime is a blast

Cons

Paid version is a bit pricey, some controls are not very intuitive, other than that it is a great software for any professional UX expert

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing tool for wireframes

Reviewed a year ago

love it, have been using it for years and have introduced so many people to it

Pros

I'm a long time fab of Axure and have used it for so many projects! it is a very easy to use, yet has so many featured and customizations. I also really enjoy collaboration tool which helps a few people to work in the same project effortlessly

Cons

sometimes animations can be tricky, but other than that it is amazing tool anybody who works with prototypes can ask for