This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops

Virtual desktop infrastructure for application delivery

see alternatives

Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Our internet speed and signal is as good as it gets in our location, so we know we have the best chance of success there.

Simon P.

Desktop virtualization, Cloud computing and servers are the strongest assets of Citrix, providing a good security standard. Great end-user experience.

Daniel Q.

The great qualities of this are: You have a powerful virtual machine to connect to from everywhere, anytime. By reducing the physical cost and maintenance you save a lot money, space and time.

Sergio D.

Cons

That said, when error messages occur for other reasons, the error message is either 'unknown' or a number that means nothing to the tech company we employ.

Simon P.

At least once a week there is an issue with it loading. Additionally, there are lags in the software that have nothing to do with internet speed or access.

Gabrielle B.

The need to use the internet explorer browser to run the plugin turns out to be the downside of the service as this makes the process slow.

Felipe P.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

51

42

15

3

0

84%
positive reviews
94%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


111 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

One of the best app which delivers secure Linux desktops and apps single management console for pc

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The most good running and using tools in real time which can help usn getting connected to the cloud desktops almost all the enterprise application companies prefer to use this tool which make employees to connect to cloud desktop to work. It reduces the cost and increase efficiency on Microsoft azure. It has hdx technology for optimised.user expirence this is the reason the app.is available.on. mobile devices too. Provides virtual desktop to complete our business needs it is secure robust and collectivily cost less. It give employees.the freedom to work from any where while cutting IT costs

Cons

There is no least thing to speak about this. But when this opened in mobile its page seems.loading slow but due to some connectivity issues. and another thing a chnage required is the UI part that can be changed removing the un required options

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Citrix VAD review

Reviewed a year ago

Has been a very productive and good learning experience to work with Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops. I have deployed various versions and editions of the product since XenApp 6+ both in lab/POC as well as in production environments.

Pros

Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops is the leader is user desktop virtualization and desktop as a service (daas) services. It provides the ability for true hybrid architectures when combing on-prem with Citrix Cloud (cloud.com).

Cons

Installation is not supported on the Linux operating system. Would love to see Citrix expand their architecture to Linux as a host operating system for Citrix VAD.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Citrix 7.x Virtual Apps and Desktops review

Reviewed a month ago

We are solving remote access issues due to the pandemic, but also for users to globally collaborate and share work loads. We are able to utilize a larger workforce to facilitate heavy client demands. We are also able to allow more employees the ability to work from home more effectively.

Pros

Multifactor authentication, secure remote access using Citrix Gateway, controlled access to Desktops, servers, and applications. It is an invaluable product for any Enterprise.

Cons

The LTSR products don't support all platforms, which makes is difficult to stay on the same version when OS platforms are replaced. If the Citrix workspace application could be more platform supportable instead of needing different versions, would make the client experience easier and more efficient.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Every Day Another Challenge

Reviewed 7 months ago

In short, Citrix cannot please everyone, but the printer issues need to be addressed (you could be the first in the world!) and the internet issues need to be addressed. Our internet speed and signal is as good as it gets in our location, so we know we have the best chance of success there. Please make Citrix more understandable to the people who license its use and pay handsomely to do so. Thank you for making some of the issues transparent and therefore easier to report and fix .

Pros

This software looks good, is simple to use and I understand it. It is also very good at telling you what it is doing, even if it stalls or freezes. It is also easy to reset, which is a good thing as you can manage internet drop outs that may occur that you cannot blame on the operating system. So, in effect, very informative even when it encounters a crisis which is a really good and honest approach. I wish Windows was so honest in its approach.....

Cons

So I should first of all tell you that I use a MacBook Air and run Citrix on this every day. There is an obvious 'culture clash' here I feel. When I use Citrix to open a website that moves or animates in some way, such as www.rolex.com, which it is my job to use, it freezes every time. However, during various investigations with this error it has become apparent that even a still image can cause this....

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Citrix Review

Reviewed 3 months ago

I have a total of 3 years of experience with Citrix Virtual Apps. and I love to use it because of the security the product is providing.

Pros

As we are working in the financial market and need to secure the finance/money of the customer who is using our application and we also have to deal with banks. So Client gives us the Citrix workspace/ virtual apps to connect their cloud/private servers to deploy the product and maintain them as well. Because Citrix provides us with a virtual private network to access the server and the only authorized person who has a password and multi-factor authentication code can use the server. Due to which the chance of hack is low.

Cons

Sometimes the plugins we are using to connect to the virtual network got crashed. Due to which we have to reinstall and configure the server configuration again.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Virtualized your servers with Citrix

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall is the best for virtualized your applications and desktop instead of going with physical Its and cost space effective and ease of access choose with minimum range product and serve you requirement

Pros

Citrix is the platform where you can do physical to virtual conversions. Citrix allows you to configure deployed the severs with end requirement Citrix is the platform where the customers can get their servers with less cost as compared to physical It allows you to perform failovers overs the host which helps you avoid downtime and provides a high SLA. best and recommended software for virtual desktops and application Instead of wasting the money on building, the physical application server virtualized your applications and virtualized your desktop which helps to runs with minimum hardware with maximum servers

Cons

Its have minimum features as compares to other virtualization platforms Citrix provides rare updates of features you can say that it's a static product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Enterprise software for virtualization of Apps and Desktops

Reviewed 9 months ago

Its been a great experience over the years and the product keeps maturing over the day and supportability by major cloud providers and hypervisors makes it more favorable for enterprise to adopt the CVAD.

Pros

Citrix Virtual Apps & Desktops formerly called as citrix XenApp and XenDesktop is an enterprise software for your organization's virtualization needs of apps and desktops in a simple and secure manner which is compatible with majority of the cloud providers like AWS, Azure and supports on-premise hypervisors like MS Hyper-v, VMware Esxi and Citrix Xenserver. Its easy to deploy and maintain with the help of VM management techniques like Citrix MCS and PVS. It becomes to easy to manage your server work loads and VDI workloads which supports a range of operating systems like WIndows server 2016/2019/2012 for hosted server desktop and application needs, Windows 10/7, linux VDI needs. Overall Citrix is a market leader for virtual apps and desktops based solution for enterprises.

Cons

Licensing costs are slightly on the higher side and frequent updates will make it tougher for enterprises to perform upgrades on a frequent basis.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This Software is a Great One!

Reviewed 2 months ago

My overall experience with this software is very nice. I have been using it for more than five years and I am satisfied with its features and functionality. I am confident that my files inside this software are secured and well-maintained.

Pros

What I like the most about this software is that it is user-friendly and I know that the virtual environment where my files for work are saved and accessed is secured.

Cons

What I think is the room for improvement is the technical issue where it sometimes closes on its own and the files are not auto-saved.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simplistic, but solid

Reviewed 9 months ago

Overall, I like Citrix. It enables me to login from anywhere, access whatever I need, and use apps that aren't on my computer itself. It's not perfect, but it's certainly useful.

Pros

I can access a bunch of server apps from anywhere. It's pretty easy to use, too.

Cons

Every so often, either the server or Citrix (not sure which) glitches and I have to refresh the apps or sometimes even restart the program. A minor inconvenience, though.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Citrix review

Reviewed 4 months ago

Good, would be better with desktop shortcut integration.

Pros

Once you log in, has easy access across its multiple applications. Has excellent customer support if problems arise.

Cons

I don't like having to open up the Citrix application interface in order to access a particular program shortcut that is already on my desktop. The shortcut should be seamlessly integrated with the user interface.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The department was installing a work productivity and document management solution.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We had a site license for the Cirtix Desktop and had purchased maintenance and upgrade protection sogoing to the XenDesktop solution was easy. We implemented a server based access to each of the new programs and all 20 users had the same experience of ease of access. The MS office programs integrated smoothly as well. The local resource demand was minimal so we were able to keep a local mirrored data file that only strengthened our data protection efforts.

Cons

The communication software for the enterprise is Apache. We invoked LDAP thinking it would uniformly connect. We were wrong, We tried several workarounds even going so far as to use the POP3 boxes from the MS Outlook readers. The final connections were a hodgepodge of Apache nataive e-mail containers, LDAP addresses and MS POP3 boxes on some of the PCs. Citrix support was able to isolate the problem with the main Apache program. We did identify a training need and in year three it was all working the way intended. Fortunately no one out of the department was aware of our very inelegant solution.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Much better and faster compared to XenApp

Reviewed 4 years ago

Obviously ease of use with everyone being manageable on one platform. Security

Pros

Allows complete virtualization which lets our company/remote users use dummy workstations with all our data stored in a remote and secure location. Faster compared to its predecessor (XenApp) which opens up apps instead of a complete virtual desktop. The speed is also noticeably quicker on XenDesktop (At least 3x faster) compared to XenApp.

Cons

Citrix Director could be updated as there are still some features I find redundant/confusing. When remoting into a user's PC, it does not allow us that functionality on the sessions tab, you must type their name on the search bar to access that functionality, which is weird. Also some worries about the memory on these servers as Citrix is still known to have memory clocking issues, which means we would need to restart the server occasionally to run functionally.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Dedicated VDI - Is a good idea?

Reviewed 2 years ago

Medium overall experience.

Pros

Citrix has the capability to host several applications on your particular account, along with a dedicated VDI (if applies). This allows you to not waste the performance of your computer, and navigate through the different applications using the dedicated resources that the vendor provides. This can be a good idea, or not, depending on how many resources are dedicated to your particular VDI.

Cons

Customer support for sure. If you are running in a rush, and you need to have your issue resolved ATM, forget about it. Citrix customer support (at least based on my experience) take a lot of time to fix something, and several times I had to google, or research about the issue, and fix it by myself. The fact is that, most of the troubleshooting needs to be done from the Citrix IT side, and this can take a while to happen.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Access your apps from anywhere

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have users that want to be able to use MS office applications on their i-pad or other tablets. With XenDesktop we are able to give them access to these applications on almost any device with a web browser. We are also able to use enterprise applications shared from one location without having to install the applications on each users computer, making upgrades much easier and faster. We just install the application on the server and it is ready to go to all of our client computers.

Pros

XenDesktop is the best remote desktop software we have been able to find. It seamlessly presents your applications on any other device from remote locations and the end user cannot even tell that it is a remote program that they are using.

Cons

It was a little difficult to setup but with the help of our software vendor we were able to get it done. The licensing can be a little expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing software for your business needs.

Reviewed 3 years ago

This software is great for my line of work and allows all employees to access the our network on our own computer with individual logins. I really enjoy the functions and the capabilities of this software and I believe you will as well. The customer support is amazing and it's definitely worth the money.

Pros

Citrix has quite a few benefits to it. I use this system daily and it provides a wide range of access to computers in your office but also remotely. You can add it to one device and then utilize it on multiple devices. It also allows for you to have controlled user access depending who you have on your staff. Each user has a unique ID and password and they can also set up their own layout that displays once you login.

Cons

Depending on your size of your company you may experience the network going down, freezing up or sometimes it just quits.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A simplified technology world!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Its easy to use, it saves you a lot of money, time, space and maintenance. Perfect for multitasking schedules.

Pros

This is such a great VM software. By having the right software you are able to manage and process data even faster. The great qualities of this are: You have a powerful virtual machine to connect to from everywhere, anytime. By reducing the physical cost and maintenance you save a lot money, space and time. It is safe and any user you provide with access to it can easily connect to the virtual machine and do their job anytime.

Cons

Sometimes its a bit slow. But it TOTALLY will depend on the network traffic you are having. On the other hand when the network is working fine, you have the world right on your hands.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

XenDesktop gets it done

Reviewed 3 years ago

Issues with our previous virtualization software often crashed sessions. This was a big issue when working in our hospital/clinical setting. Often times sessions locked or crashed when a provider was attempting to provide care. Since we already were utilizing other Citrix products, it made sense for us to roll out XenDesktop as our VDI resource. Once we made the switch to XenDesktop, issues with our VDI environment dropped tremendously.

Pros

Really easy to launch/troubleshoot Virtual Desktop Session via XenDesktop. We were using another virtualization software that often locked or crashed virtual desktop sessions. Once we made the switch to XenDesktop, the calls to our support center dropped regarding locked or disconnected sessions

Cons

For our environment, Citrix has to be downloaded and utilized in order to launch a virtual session. Our Citrix client host tons of other company applications, which is not needed just for a virtual desktop.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing performance, allows virtualizing OS and Apps. Top for VDI deployments.

Reviewed 3 years ago

-Reduce TCO for IT department. -App virtualization helps my company to track weekly or monthly sales results and cash flow.

Pros

-It's perfect for business and educations environments, when hardware requirements change every day you can add more memory or space with a few clicks. -Access anywhere anytime, Citrix Receiver app works on almost every mobile device (tablets, cellphones, etc) -Companies with remote employees can protect his data using VDI environments. Lawyer's buffet uses this product against government threats to illegally obtain clients data. -Logs and Reports help IT departments to track issues fast and efficient. -IT departments support for different hypervisors environments, such as XenServer, Hyper-V, and VMware ESXi.

Cons

-Not available for MAC OS, because of apple restrictions. -Salesperson sometimes forgets hardware, software and services requirements. Need an experienced partner to develop VDI projects and then deploy it. -Security products it´s a must-have, sometimes users forget that the cloud it is also vulnerable.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A new era of workstation

Reviewed 2 years ago

Citrix (XenDesktop) is a approach that took position of conventional workstation in business. It's more power efficient, and easy to access from anywhere which you may not need to be on your computer all the time. I usually use it for CAD/CAE works in my company which offers the best for it.

Pros

Citrix (XenDesktop) brings a new understand of workstation which you can access from anywhere from any device. It is fundamental for job takes too much time which you can check them whenever you need out of your office. It's also more energy efficient efficient when consider cloud based workstation.

Cons

Login may take some time which may be about the capacity purchased. When I tried to restart desktop, it may not happen.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Virtual Desktops for your School

Reviewed 7 months ago

This is a great solution for home office either in normal times or any others like pandemics. Your office is never far away with Citrix VA & Desktop.

Pros

This software solution brings your office desktop together with your favorite apps, to any place that has access to internet. The security protocol is very good which makes this product a reliable one. The web interface is easy to access and easy to use.

Cons

The initial setup and configuration is not very easy and can be time consuming. The system price overall is high.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Citrix

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I've utilized several of the Citrix platforms and I have to say I enjoy this platform most of all. Citrix allows for the use of Windows in a virtual environment. It is a must have for our agents daily work and it provides security and cohesiveness within the organization that spans across different locations and scopes of expertise. That, perhaps for me, is the best feature of Citrix. Having the ability for each member of the team to use the same software, access the same programs regardless of their personal OS or location is why we use it. Having another level of security and "control" for lack of a better word is also key in using a virtual environment that is essential to our company.

Cons

There is not alot of cons to be said about Citrix. Of all the various platforms and programs that our company use, Citrix is the most used, most reliable and most stable. My review of Citrix remains positive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

XenDesktop is an amazing time saver

Reviewed 4 years ago

XenDesktop is a huge time saver and can make you look like a hero to the executive staff. We saved money overall by saving massive amounts of time involved with provisioning users.

Pros

This product will increase your productivity, it allows you to have the same desktop experience on whatever device you choose to use. Executives love this product as they always seem to have new technology whether actually increases their productivity or not. If your going to use VDI there is only one clear choice.

Cons

some users may experience bad animation, powerpoint and video when resources are not properly allocated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Efficient but needs improvements

Reviewed 2 years ago

I’ve been using this program for a few months but I have several suggestions for improvements. For what the program does, I feel that it is extremely useful. However, it’s a highly used application by thousands of our employees and could use a “tune up.” Glitchy programs should not exit in this day and age.

Pros

The best feature of this program is that it’s very secure. We use it for a wide range of sensitive customer related task. It keeps info obtained very safe. The apps are also very simple and can be altered if needed. Also, all programs have bright and colorful graphic designs and brands. I appreciate the amount of creativity that went into each logo.

Cons

This product is very glitchy. I use it to my virtual call center apps. At least once a week there is an issue with it loading. Additionally, there are lags in the software that have nothing to do with internet speed or access.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for hosting, remote access, etc.!

Reviewed 4 years ago

We can easily host our client application and allow them access remotely on a large scale. It allows all of our users (internal and external) to log in and use their system.

Pros

We use Xendesktop for our hosting platform for our clients. It allows us to run multiple servers/applications from one central location and allow multiple users access to it at once. It is easy to use, quick, great connection, and best of all makes our client lives easier

Cons

There are intermittent connection issues and duplicate account sessions that need to be monitored. Nothing awful

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Citrix allows us to deliver a workable environment fast and secure

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall I enjoy this product and it makes my life 10 times easier.

Pros

I love the features that Citrix Xen desktop has to offer, application and desktop delivery. I am excited to get into app layering and delivery as well.

Cons

Customer support is pretty intermittent in terms of getting someone who knows what they are talking about. Sometimes the way they want you to set things up is counter-intuitive and isn't as straightforward as you would hope. like setting up a desktop to deliver vs an application.