App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

DataGrip Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

31

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.84/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

caspio
kintone
quickbase

Pros and cons

And the simple interface to using the database is great. And some shortcuts are very useful to improve the development time.
Without a doubt one of the best db management tool out there that easily competes with big names. The auto completion is one of the features I enjoy the most as it works perfectly good.
The superb features and capabilities of DataGrip facilitate and expedite our job. We are able to manage multiple databases at once.
This software tends to slow down and perform worse since it uses a lot of resources, which indicates that it is being used frequently.
It needs to work on the intellisense and while using it I faced that system was lagging.
For fetching suggestions of database sometimes not work. Some time its stuck so need to work on performance.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


31 reviews

Recommended

SP
AvatarImg

Shubham P.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Smart SQL editor for professional database developers

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall Experience-1. Quick Data fetching for urgent requirements.2. Saves time on writing DML queries while editing RDBMS directly.3. Provides option to dump the data in different formats like CSV, Clipboard, etc.

Pros

The things I like the most are-1. Documents are available which brings much help while implementing to the current system.2. While creating tables & columns it provide suggestive names.3. Gets a lot of supportive libraries.

Cons

Cons feels while integrating the data grip are-1. Its a very heavy app which take a lot of time & space.2. Due to this the perfect hardware requirement increases and increases the cost.3. No free version available to use and decide to consider

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The most advanced database administration tool in the market

Reviewed 2 years ago

As data analysts querying the Data Warehouse all day long, DataGrip is our tool of choice for manipulating data. DataGrip is very customizable and is a comfortable work environment for us. It has all the connectors we needed. However, DataGrip is very much a technical tool and looks like one, with a very difficult learning curve and no onboarding at all.

Pros

Datagrip is certainly the best designed and most advanced tool for database management and using SQL databases and data warehouses in general. It is very complete and there aren't any features missing. It is also very customizable to suit the developer's needs.

Cons

DataGrip is a very technical and professional tool. It is not designed to be friendly or easy to use, it doesn't offer any onboarding, so it has a long learning curve until one feels comfortable and confident using it. It also has so many features most users end up not exploring.

KR
AvatarImg

Keerthi R.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

DataGrip for Enterprise

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Datagrip comes with a lot of functionality, it has very good integration with git, and the autocomplete feature is really helpful when writing queries. We can also add lots of packages and plugins that can be useful.

Cons

Pricing can be expensive for smaller companies.

JL
AvatarImg

Jose L.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

DataGrip randomly disconnected from my DB and now wont connect

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

When it worked I loved the functionality. and the ease of use. but unfortunately I cannot get it to work and connect to my postgres DB

Cons

that it disconnected out of nowhere and I had to switch to something else

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

vijay b.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Database Management IDE

Reviewed 2 years ago

Datagrip provides a great experience to work on the database. And its's reduce a lot of time of development.

Pros

It's a good software tool to write queries and create databases and tables. previously we used Postgres compare to datagrip it's quite good. Because of datagrip backup the queries in a history. and the simple interface to using the database is great. And some shortcuts are very useful to improve the development time.

Cons

Fetching the table suggestion is not great because we have to refresh sometimes. and also they have to improve to performance of IDE overall.

RG
AvatarImg

Ralica G.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

On a rocketship to the database!

Reviewed 10 months ago

I have been using this software for several ears now daily and it has become an inseparable part of my workprocess.

Pros

Supports a whole wheelhouse of databases.Cheap!The visual table editor is a pleasure to use.Command line for ease of development

Cons

I have no cons from my experience using DataGrip

KT
AvatarImg

Keith T.

Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great database tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

very nice and convienent, love the many features

Pros

Has a ton of features like any intelliJ product, many plugins and tools, same layout as everything else, and

Cons

running a query is a bit awkward when there is another prompt/popup, especially if i want it quick. the window that the query results pops up in is also a bit awkward and could use more customization.

MP
AvatarImg

Martin P.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

IDE application for various database types

Reviewed a year ago

DataGrip is a useful and provides extended functions. You can easily backup and restore database data. Using this tool is more intuitive than other products offer. There are still some bugs but overall experience is great.

Pros

DataGrip uses the common UI/UX as other popular tools from Jetbrains vendor. The application is designed as IDE which provides support for lots of database server types. You are allowed to run scripts right in the console but interface also provides some powerfull functions in context menu. Data editor and viewer is also available. You can backup and restore dumps really smoothly using simple dialog.

Cons

Creating some new tables pass the validation process but the script failed to run. It will be better to implement extended validations to handle problems when the script. When I backup my database settings the sources are not backed up and I can't restore them. I also have some problems when entering empty values in table view data editor.

SD
AvatarImg

Simon D.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Datagrip is a consistent interface to all your databases

Reviewed a year ago

Excellent tool and if you use databases every day, with multiple projects, then you can't go wrong.

Pros

Logical and well thought out interface with the ability to organise pain and projects just how you want them. Very good connection options and speedy and quick responses with the ability to build complex queries.Very good syntax highlighting and intelllisense like parsing of code and queries.Ad-hoc filtering on result sets is very useful.

Cons

Sometimes the schemas remain hidden and you wonder why...until you find them.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

DataGrip - Multiple Database Manager

Reviewed 2 years ago

We were working on SQL server only but then we started multiple databases like postgres and mysql then we implemented the Datagrip in our organisation and it helped us a lot by reducing the switching time of different databases. Somehow it require some more in intellisense and more RAM too. If you are thinking of managing your multiple DB then this is a good option.

Pros

Datagrip has helped us to manage the multiple Databases using single IDE. Earlier Only SQL-Server was there but when we started Postgres and My-SQL too then it helped a lot as the switching time was reduced.

Cons

It needs to work on the intellisense and while using it I faced that system was lagging.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pinki K.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best IDE for Postgresql

Reviewed 2 years ago

Its very good experience using this tool it reduces lots of time and increase the productivity.

Pros

Best part is it provides suggestions of query as well as scheme, table, function etc. Names which reduces the time. And so many shortcuts are there to open definition of Store procedure or function. And can execute multiple select and show the results.

Cons

For fetching suggestions of database sometimes not work. Some time its stuck so need to work on performance.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Prakash C.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best database IDE

Reviewed 2 years ago

Its quite good experience using this tool before that we are using PGadmin which is not that much easy to use.

Pros

We are using it to connect Postgres database for writing queries. Its very easy to write query as it provides some auto complete query by default and provide some shortcut keys for opening definition of SP or function.

Cons

Need to work more on some default query parameters and some time its problematic while refresh the data scheme.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sabino Eduardo Q.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simplemente un gran aliado

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

DataGrip es simplemente un gran aliado. Esta herramienta es una maravilla para gestionar bases de datos. Sus características de autocompletado y resaltado de sintaxis hacen que la escritura de consultas sea fluida y rápida. Además, su capacidad para conectarse a múltiples bases de datos a la vez ha mejorado significativamente mi productividad. Además, la visualización de datos es intuitiva, lo que facilita el análisis. En resumen, DataGrip ha elevado mi rendimiento al siguiente nivel.

Cons

Posiblemente un punto negativo de DataGrip es su costo, ya que puede resultar un tanto caro para usuarios individuales o pequeñas empresas.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

BT
AvatarImg

Barış T.

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Manage database with Datagrip

Reviewed 2 years ago

We used this application to store the information coming from the front end pages we wrote in our company, we transferred the information to the database and managed it thanks to this application.

Pros

The interface of the application is simple and user-friendly. Easy to use. Same interface as other Jetbrains apps. You can connect to your database and manage it easily.

Cons

There is nothing wrong with the app. Users will notice.

AC
AvatarImg

Anil C.

Marketing and Advertising, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Database platform to use

Reviewed 2 years ago

I used Datagrip to store my python database for our AI content hub project.

Pros

Datagrip has essential features for database collectors, to set your all data and cover it.

Cons

Datagrip has no any bad feature, it has many imports and you can save time it's complications.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Connect to your database using DataGrip to write efficient SQL !

Reviewed a year ago

The tool to experience databases in a different way. Use it understand more !

Pros

The database client tool helps you to connect to most of the latest databases and explore the data easily using its feature loaded utilities . The database tables can be modeled and relationship between the tables can be established .

Cons

The product could come up with community edition as a free service to experience it . The product only comes up with 30 day free trail , which is not so great !

HD
AvatarImg

Hasan D.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Perfect tool for Database Management

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The support for multiple programming languages

Cons

DataGrip is a paid tool and may not be affordable for all users.

MS
AvatarImg

Madhusudan S.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A trustworthy and effective tool for concurrently managing several datasets

Reviewed a year ago

Using DataGrip for database management and administration in my company has been advantageous to me. Because of its intuitive panels, it has made creating and managing different databases easier for me and saved me time. It has also made the system practical and easy to use. Because of its extensive support for numerous database engines, which I use on a daily basis, it has become into a resource that I cannot live without.

Pros

This tool is easy to use and appealing to me because its panels and interface are for handling both local and distant databases. The superb features and capabilities of DataGrip facilitate and expedite our job.We are able to manage multiple databases at once.

Cons

This software tends to slow down and perform worse since it uses a lot of resources, which indicates that it is being used frequently.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

alexandra a.

Design, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Poderosa herramienta de base de datos

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Me encanta DataGrip, es una herramienta con un diseño excelente y va maravilla para gestionar bases de datos en general. Su diseño es muy completo e incluye muchas herramientas para simplificar porcesos. Además, es posible personalizarlo para adaptarlo a mis necesidades como desarrolladora.

Cons

DataGrip es una herramienta muy poderosa pero enfocada a personas con conocimientos avanzados. Así que alguién con una noción básica de manejo de bases de datos requerirá mucho tiempo en poder desenvolverse por la plataforma.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

MD
AvatarImg

Masoud D.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Exceptionally good db management tool!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was using other apps to manage my db needs but when I got to know DataGrip I realized how easier life can be when using the right tool!

Pros

Without a doubt one of the best db management tool out there that easily competes with big names. The auto completion is one of the features I enjoy the most as it works perfectly good. The ability to connect to different database engines makes a tool to fit all db needs! Another fantastic feature that DataGrip offers is the result pane which provides you with a lot of tools and features to convert,...

Cons

The only thing that I would change about it would be the shortcuts.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Datagrip_04-07-2022

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

For developers, data monitoring, data sniffing and SQL editor features make it really easy to use. also the data migration capabilities are great for migrating to live systems.

Cons

There is a wide range of alternatives for developers to use many similar capabilities at no cost.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Datagrip review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's interface is easy to use . It's helps to move data from devices . It's functionality are excellent. Easy to understand. Manage multiple databases at same time

Cons

Here i face advertisment issue and its Security level issue .

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Carla M.

Design, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Muy buena herramienta para gestionar bases de datos

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Me gusta DataGrip porque es muy intuitivo y fácil de usar, con esta herramienta puedo gestionar bases de datos de forma segura y eficiente. También cuenta con funciones muy interesantes y que me ayudan a agilizar procesos durante el tratamiento de los datos.

Cons

La curva de aprendizaje es intermedia, pero una vez superada puedes aprovechar al máximo esta herramienta.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Eduardo Q.

Design, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DataGrip Una excelente opción para manejo de bases de datos

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

DataGrip posee un entorno de desarrollo intuitivo y fácil de usar. Permite gestionar bases de datos de forma eficiente, además tiene herramientas que son de mucha ayuda para agilizar los procesos de tratamientos de datos.

Cons

Usar su plataforma puede llegar a ser algo complejo si no se tiene conocimientos avanzados de gestin de base de datos.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Reseña datagrip

Reviewed a year ago

Experiencia muy buena, lo recomiendo totalmente

Pros

Me gusta la facilidad de uso que tiene, además se trabajan las bases de datos muy bien

Cons

No hay nada que no me haya gustado, lo recomiendo totalmente

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation