App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Datasite Diligence Virtual Data Room Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

80

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.82/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Secure service, easy to use and customisable, great customer service to onboard and then take down projects.
Good, would generally recommend as a good site for M&A deal due diligence.
Generally easy to use, good access, good support functionality.
Some of the features can be a bit restrictive, and permissioning can be confusing.
A major critical feature that is missing is unique identifier (ID number) for documentation. The reference for documents change if you change the order, which is a massive cons.
It is on the pricier side and with constantly changing functionality, can be difficult to keep up with what's new.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


80 reviews

Recommended

DC
AvatarImg

Devashish C.

Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use VDR platform with lots of functionalities

Reviewed 4 months ago

Very good overall experience, we are using it repeatedly over years across many projects

Pros

Easy to use Redaction tool Giving access to password protected file without sharing password Managing user access and restricting file access as required Q&A

Cons

Nothing comes to mind as the tools I use are sufficient

Vendor response

Greetings, Devashish! Thanks for leaving Datasite Diligence a review. We're so glad to read that you've been able to take advantage of so many of our tools - redaction, permissions, and Q&A - wow! We truly hope you continue to choose Datasite for all of your future deals, and we look forward to partnering with you again soon. Warm regards and thanks again, The Datasite Team

JS
AvatarImg

Jonathan S.

Security and Investigations, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Datasite for VDR

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Datasite Diligence Virtual Data Room met the needs of the company, acting as a secure environment to share documents.

Cons

The Datasite Diligence Virtual Data Room does require a lot of manual effort to set up folder structures and levels of access.

Vendor response

Hi there, Jonathan! I'm so grateful that you took time from your day to share your review with us. We're really glad we met your team's needs. I'm also glad you mentioned that it's a manual process to setup the data room - you're not alone in that sentiment. In fact, we JUST released an update (Templates) that will help you set up future projects much faster. I'll include a video link below, and be sure to reach out to Datasite Assist (service@datasite.com) for your next deal - they'll help you get all set up! Again, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to working with you again very soon! Warm regards, The Datasite Team Templates: https://datasite.hubs.vidyard.com/watch/CbVgJhPqWazFJkWDcdyttn?

JK
AvatarImg

Joshua K.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Helps save time in diligence

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

The diligence feature helps keep everything in one place for Q&A to stay easily organized, track outstanding items and coordinate across a large team. The features are easy to use and intuitive.

Cons

A lack of optionality on priority of requests or additional details we would often provide in an excel diligence tracker has led to some confusion with Q&A responders, so additional optionality on the labels that questions can have would be helpful.

Vendor response

Hi there, Joshua! I'm so glad using Datasite Diligence has saved you time, and that you've discovered Q&A to help your team stay organized. I appreciate your detailed suggestions on how to improve Q&A, and I've shared them with our Product Team. Again, thank you so much for your feedback. We look forward to supporting your future deals. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

ML
AvatarImg

Max L.

Management Consulting, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product and a clear leader in the market

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Datasite is straightforward to use, has strong name recognition, and is a go-to product in most diligence.

Cons

There could have been more warning before closing data rooms, but archive features should enable access if needed.

Vendor response

Hello there, Max, and thank you so much for taking the time from your day to share your feedback with us. I'm so thrilled with your kind words about Datasite, and that you consider us a market leader. I'm also glad you mentioned where we can improve in the closure process, and I've shared that note with our Product team. Datasite Archive is our newest option for retaining a copy of the data room after closure; you can read all about it here in case you're interested: https://www.datasite.com/en/products/archive Again, thanks, Max! We look forward to hosting your next deal. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

AC
AvatarImg

ALEJANDRO C.

Investment Banking, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Datasite for Due Diligence

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

The ease of use and the file management

Cons

Not allowed to download files and maintain the security settings

Vendor response

Hi Alejandro, thank you for sharing your feedback with us! Glad to see you've found Datasite to be a good system for file management. I've attached an article with more information on download permissions that I hope will help clarify. We've got a few options for downloaded files, including watermarks and Revoke Access Control that might be useful for your next deal. If we can assist in any way, please contact us (info@datasite.com). We look forward to working with you again soon! Warm regards, The Datasite Team https://datasite.my.site.com/datasiteassist/s/article/Download-Options

JF
AvatarImg

John F.

Banking, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great interface and ease of use

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

The functionality and interface is superior

Cons

Expensive compared to other options

Vendor response

Greetings, John! I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're glad you've found Diligence easy to use with great functionality. We're constantly releasing new tools and features, so to make sure we're maximizing the value of your investment, be sure to contact us (info@datasite.com) for your next deal so we can give you a tour of the features that will be of interest to you and your team. Again, thanks for the feedback! We look forward to hearing from you soon. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

AB
AvatarImg

Alexander B.

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Data Room Company

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

The Datasite VDR is very easy to navigate and is user friendly.

Cons

Sometimes large files take longer to loan, so speeding up the website would be helpful.

Vendor response

Greetings, Alexander, and thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! I'm so happy to see you've found Datasite easy to navigate and use. I've shared your comments about slow file loading with our Product Team and I thank you for letting us know so we can address it. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your perspective with us. We look forward to a continued partnership. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

MH
AvatarImg

Maddy H.

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use data room

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

The Datasite Diligence Virtual Data Room is easy to use and allows multiple documents to be uploaded.

Cons

At times the data room can be slow, given the number of documents that need to be refreshed.

Vendor response

Dear Maddy, thank you so much for taking the time to review Datasite. We are really glad you've found Diligence easy to use. I've noted your feedback on site slowness with our Product team - thanks for sharing that too! Again, thanks for sharing your experience and we look forward to a continued partnership. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

OS
AvatarImg

Omar S.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great vdr

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Excellent vdr features and overall solution

Cons

Initial complexity setting up vdr but customer service has been helpful

Vendor response

Greetings, Omar! Thank you so much for reaching out to leave Datasite a review. I'm so glad our services have provided a solution for you and your team. We're actively working on simplifying the setup process, but in the meantime, please continue to lean on the Datasite Assist team for help - that's what we're here for. Again, thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We look forward to working with you again soon. Best regards, The Datasite Team

AK
AvatarImg

Audrey K.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to Run Diligence

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Datasite makes it easy to upload files quickly, view new uploads, and has great 24/7 customer service.

Cons

Some of the features can be a bit restrictive, and permissioning can be confusing.

Vendor response

Hi there, Audrey! Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm so glad you've had good experiences with uploading and with our Datasite Assist team. Be sure to lean on us for assistance with permissions - we can definitely help with that, too, whether it's training or drafting permissions on your behalf. Again, thank you so much for leaving us your feedback. We look forward to working with you again soon! Warm regards, The Datasite Team

LB
AvatarImg

Louise B.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great services

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Très intuitif, pour les clients et pour le conseil

Cons

Rien à signaler, très bonne expérience de mon coté

Showing original review in French. See translation

Vendor response

Bonjour Louise, L’équipe Datasite vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience de notre plateforme sur Capterra. Nous sommes ravis de savoir que vous êtes satisfaite de Datasite. Nous avons apprécié vous accompagner tout au long de vos projets et espérons retravailler avec vous et votre équipe prochainement. Bien cordialement, L'Équipe Datasite

LP
AvatarImg

Larysa P.

Individual & Family Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Product

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Datasite is very user friendly and the value can't be beat. It's a critical tool in getting our deals done and efficiently transferring data between parties in a secure environment. Additionally, their customer support is quick to react and troubleshoot any questions we have.

Cons

There really isn't much to stay negatively about Datasite.

Vendor response

Hi there, Larysa! Wow, your review was so detailed and thoughtful. Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to share your experience with us. We are super glad that our product has helped you complete deals, and that our Datasite Assist team has been there to support you along the way. We hope you continue to choose Datasite, and we look forward to hosting all of your coming deals. Thanks again! Warm regards, The Datasite Team

ER
AvatarImg

Emanuele R.

Investment Management, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ER Survey Review

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Ease of use, various functionalities, clear layout

Cons

Expensive vs. alternative providers, but more user friendly

Vendor response

Hi there, Emanuele. Thank you so much for taking the time to review Datasite Diligence! We're so glad you've found Datasite easy to use and user-friendly. We look forward to working with you again soon. Best regards, The Datasite Team

SW
AvatarImg

Steven W.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Datasite review

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Very secure, easy to use, and multifunctional. Good support for any issues that may arise through the process.

Cons

Certain features could be implemented in future releases, such as bulk Q&A deletion. Also, any work to make the entire system faster overall would be very well received.

Vendor response

Hi there, Steven! I'm so glad to read your detailed review of Datasite Diligence. Especially glad that you've found us secure and easy to use, and that you've had the chance to work with the Datasite Assist team, too. Your note about system speed and bulk-deleting Q&A correspondences is super helpful, and I've shared it with our Product team. Feedback like yours shapes the future of our products, and we are very thankful for it! Again, thank you for taking the time to review us, and we look forward to working with you again very soon. Best regards, The Datasite Team

RN
AvatarImg

RAM NIWAS M.

Business Supplies and Equipment, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Best Dataroom Provider

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

It is very easy and has all the best features that a customer can use in due diligance.

Cons

Pricing. rates are very high. If we can reduce it, it would be very helpful.

Vendor response

Hi there, Ram Niwas! Thanks so much for taking the time to review Datasite Diligence. We're thrilled to hear that you've found the data room easy to use, and that you consider us the best. That being said, we appreciate your feedback on pricing as well, and I've shared your notes with the team. For your next deal, I invite you to contact us (info@datasite.com) so we can give you a personal tour of all the latest and greatest features, and make sure you're maximizing your investment with us. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we look forward to hosting your next deal. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

IO
AvatarImg

Ilhan O.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Secure and reliable virtual data room provider

Reviewed 4 months ago

Not the most budget friendly choice but the most reliable option in the market.

Pros

It is a quite user-friendly and secure software.

Cons

The price is quite expensive compared to competitors. Bulk downloading is much slower after the recent changes in the software.

Vendor response

Hi there, Ilhan! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Datasite Diligence with us. We are really glad to read that you've found us reliable and user-friendly. I've shared your note on bulk downloading speed with our Product team - definitely something we'll look into, thanks for noting that. With regard to pricing, we'd love to chat with you for your next deal (info@datasite.com) on ways we can ensure you're getting the absolute most value possible from Datasite. From new features and tools to work the Datasite Assist team can take on for you, I'm sure there's more we can do for you and your team. Again, thank you very much for your thoughtful review. We look forward to working with you again soon. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

TM
AvatarImg

Tom M.

Entertainment, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use

Reviewed 4 months ago

Very satisfactory and does exactly what I need it to do.

Pros

The platform is intuitive and easy to use throughout the life cycle of a transaction. Users throughout our business have been able to log in and upload information quickly and efficiently. The various options to restrict/open content to different users is very helpful as is the customer support which is seemingly available at all hours of the day.

Cons

Charges relating to 'Special Media' and what constitutes 'Special Media' could be clearer otherwise the experience has been positive throughout.

Vendor response

Hi there, Tom! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of Datasite Diligence. I'm so glad you've found our permissions features helpful, as well as our Datasite Assist team, who truly are available 24/7/365! I also appreciate your feedback on special media, and I've shared it with our Product team. Meanwhile, if you have any questions about specific file types, definitely reach out to your sales representative, or the Datasite Assist team (service@datasite.com). Again, thank you very much for taking the time to review Datasite! We look forward to serving you and your team again soon. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

GV
AvatarImg

George V.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Long standing relationship, would recommend

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Secure service, easy to use and customisable, great customer service to onboard and then take down projects

Cons

Adjacent product offerings are now extensive which has gotten to the overwhelming point

Vendor response

Dear George, we appreciate your taking the time to leave Datasite a review. Glad to hear you're happy with our Client Services team! We strive to find our customers the tools that will best support their goals and project types, and we'd love to talk to you about your next deal so we can make sure you're using the right applications for the transaction. Feel free to contact us at info@datasite.com for more information. We hope to work with you again very soon. Best regards, The Datasite Team

RK
AvatarImg

Rebecca K.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Safe and secure software that is easy to use.

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, very easy to use, great way to send data securely whilst maintaining protection. Ideal for administrators to send information and documentation to external clients.

Pros

This product is easy to use and a great way for sending sensitive information and data online in an encrypted manner. documents are easy to find and the bulk upload option makes things efficient for adding multiple documents in one go. It is also handy receiving email notifications when something has been uploaded to the site.

Cons

When a document has been uploaded, it takes a while to appear on the send data list. It would be nice to see the speed increase for appearing on the site.

Vendor response

Dear Rebecca, thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We're thrilled to hear that Datasite suits your needs. We also appreciate your note about processing times, and have shared this with our product team. We wish you the best, and hope to serve you again soon! Best regards, The Datasite Team

RE
AvatarImg

Robert E.

Banking, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good product, happy customer

Reviewed 4 months ago

Absolutely no complaints, very happy with the product.

Pros

Very easy and straigh forward. Reasonably priced, fantastic customer service.

Cons

May be slightly more expensive than competitors so I feel I should have a look around the market from time to time.

Vendor response

Greetings, Robert! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're definitely glad to read that you've experienced fantastic service from the Datasite Assist team. With regard to pricing, we'd welcome you to contact us anytime at info@datasite.com so we can ensure we're maximizing value for you on your future deals - we release enhancements and new tools constantly! Again, we're really glad that you've had positive experiences with Datasite. We look forward to hosting your next deal. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

PS
AvatarImg

Peter S.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and intuitive data room technology

Reviewed a year ago

Very satisfied - an essential tool for M&A work

Pros

Very easy to use, intuitive and secure. Particularly like the drag and drop faciity and also the ability to vet pre publishing, also setting teams up

Cons

Hierarchy around teams can be cumbersome

Vendor response

Dear Peter, thank you for taking the time to review us. We're thrilled you are having such a positive experience with our applications. Your note about teams is quite helpful, and our product developers are actively exploring ways to improve the user grouping experience. We look forward to working with you on your future deals. Best wishes, The Datasite Team

MJ
AvatarImg

Millie J.

Legal Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Review of Datasite

Reviewed a year ago

Positive and helpful experience.

Pros

Redaction and search tool. Easy to use.

Cons

Sometimes difficult to get hold of support.

Vendor response

Dear Millie, thank you for your review! We're especially glad to hear you've found redaction and search to be useful. Those can be major time-savers. On your next deal, we'd love to make sure we're meeting your needs. Our service team is available 24/7 via phone and email, and you can also reach us at info@datasite.com. We hope to support your next deal. Best regards, The Datasite Team

JS
AvatarImg

Jia Shun T.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Efficient Platform for Due Dilligent Processes

Reviewed a year ago

It made our due dilligent process an smooth one.

Pros

Having the platform to upload all the relevant documents while at the same allowing differing access for the various groups involved.

Cons

Overall, the datasite dilligence virtual data room has proven to cater to all our requirements.

Vendor response

Thank you, Jia Shun, for your lovely review! We are very happy to hear we are meeting your needs, especially in an area as important and sensitive as permissions. We look forward to supporting your next deal! Best regards, The Datasite Team

JM
AvatarImg

Jie M.

Oil & Energy, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ease of use

Reviewed a year ago

Very easy to use.

Pros

I like the automatic update when there is new documents being posted with links that can take you directly there.

Cons

I don't have anything dislike about the Datasite

Vendor response

Hi there, Jie! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're thrilled that you are happy with Datasite. Can't wait to support your next deal. Warm regards, The Datasite Team

AS
AvatarImg

Anthony S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great tool! Simple to use. Competitive Pricing

Reviewed 8 years ago

The software is easy to use. I especially like their customer support. They are always available for live 24/7 support with product experts that really know how to make managing multiple contracts at once while not being hit with additional costs like most competitors I've tried.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi there, Anthony! Thank you for your kind review. We're proud of our Service team and happy to hear you had such a great experience. We hope to work with you again soon! Contact us at info@datasite.com to get a quick tour of our latest applications and innovations. Best regards, The Datasite Team